Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

North Shore beachfront, luxury with hot tub and air conditioning

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This prime beachfront home on the famous Banzai Pipeline is one of the deepest beaches in Hawaii, is privacy gated with 4 bedrooms, 3 baths, two story home with beachfront decks on two levels. Built in 1992 by owner, its clean, light colored tiles and carpet is still one of the better homes on the North Shore offered for rent. The home allows more privacy having the second story with its own family room and 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. The first floor has the living room, kitchen 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.

From November through March, the North Shore's winter waves attracts world class surfers from around the world. While spectacular, caution is advised. The beach in front of the house extends a long way beyond Sunset Beach, with a high concentration of the world's greatest surf spots and ocean. A life guard stand is in front of our neighbor's house, providing guidance for swimmers and surfers.

The nearby town of Haleiwa is most charming with innumerable art galleries, shave ice, shops and restaurants. In the other directions is the Turtle Bay Resort, with golf, tennis, restaurants and very nice beaches as well.

All 4 bedrooms are air conditioned by solar power. We also have a Jacuzzi hot tub in the yard. We do our best to maintain the property and provided the highest level of luxurious amenities possible. The beach in front goes forever, it seems - great for walking on the beach, as well as the beach view from the house. The other side of the house is a bike path going along the best beaches in the world.


Keywords: Home w/ enclosed garage

More Details

Rai Chu
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2018

About Rai Chu

You have heard about whining to a spouse saying 'when are you going to get me a spot on a number 10 beach' (rated from 1 to 10). Well we looked for many years and finally found the perfect spot on a high noll in front of Rock Piles. We then tore down the old house owned by a Hollywood movie writer, so we could build the nicest possible house on this lot. This house has been the spot for writers, photographers, surf industry and other surfing affcionados during the high surf season. Then the rest of the year from March to early November it is great for those who are more timid in the ocean. Anytime its great to sit on the deck and read a good book while watching and hearing the crashing waves.

Rai Chu purchased this house in 1992

Why Rai Chu chose Haleiwa

This has always been my favorite area of Hawaii - a great beach town with great restaurants, art galleries, interesting shops, great shaved ice and most of all great & beautiful beaches. These beaches have charisma. I wanted a # 10 (rated from 1-10) as far as beaches go and found my paradise here. It is a total get away, very quiet and serene, while during world class surfing events and big wave season, it is difficult to find parking or a place to hang your hat. You can be very satisfied that you have this place to rest and relax.

What makes this house unique

The beach from our house goes on forever for long walks and sight seeing, shelling, swimming or just watching the surfers, boats or other beach goers. Also in season, whales can be seen in the distance. Directly in front of our house is 'Rock Piles' where you can sit between the rocks and let the waves crash over you. The best time of day is the hour or two before sunset, when the sun is low in the sky and casts a golden glow on the beach. Then we stop everything to watch the sunset on the horizon ... just another perfect day in paradise.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are having the time of our lives, not only having our family all together, but this is a perfect place and truly delightful and beautiful. We love this beach and will be back, most certainly.
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 1


Haleiwa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only ...
  • After 9 p.m. keep voices low or on the beach.
  • No more than one visitor per guest on the rental agreement at any time during the day without prior authorization of owner.
  • Rinse / shower sand on feet and inside bathing suits before entering the spa or inside house or cleaning fee will apply.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 king , 3 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen futon bed in family room upstairs in addition to the 4 bedrooms All bedrooms have air conditioning.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
This house is almost new construction, great yard facing beach, views of the beach for miles - shaded yard & picnic table, accessible deck area with reclining chairs to watch the waves or for relaxing or chatting with friends.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
North Shore beachfront, luxury with hot tub and air conditioning
average rating of 4.909091 based on 23 reviews
Carlsbad, California

Perfect Beach House for a Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a beach house to rent for our family vacation. We hadn't taken a family vacation with our 3 children (ages 22, 27, 28) in 10 years. We finally found Rai's beach house that had 4 bedrooms. Perfect for us (even though one of our kids could not make it due to a new job). Our son and daughter who did travel with us brought their significant others. From the first day to the last we had a wonderful time. The house is in a great location. We felt like we had our own private beach in our backyard and watching the surfers was really fun! Having a hot tub in the backyard was also a plus! The house is very close to shark's cove where the kids snorkeled and other amazing beaches, like Waimea Bay beach and our favorite was Sunset Beach. We also liked the Giovanni shrimp truck and Matsumoto's Shave Ice in Haleiwa - both long lines but well worth it!!! We drove toTurtle Bay hung out at the beach and had a great dinner there. Another fun adventure was going to the Waimea Valley Park where the kids swam up to a waterfall and climbed a rock to jump into the water. We were at Food Land almost every single day, lol. The house had everything that you need. It is in a safe location, and Rai and her assistant Trish were very helpful and easily available via text and email. Overall, our vacation was so much fun!! We would definitely consider staying here again!!!

Mark & Gladys

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mark for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed our property as a home base to launch you adventures. We hope to host you again, soon. Rai
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salt Lake City, UT

Exactly what we wxpectewd and hoped for

  • 5 of 5

This house is just steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. We were here in the winter and the waves were much too big for our kids to get in the water, but we were minutes from a number of other beaches with smaller waves door snorkeling and boogie boarding.

The house itself was comfortable and slept our family of 8 easily. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in this house.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful stay! Highly recommended and would...SHOULD...stay again!

  • 5 of 5

Group consisted of five adults, one teen, and a toddler.

My tongue is firmly in cheek here when I say: the can opener didn't work very well. The point is that everything was so good that in preparing to write a review and thinking back about the pros and cons, the only remotely not-positive thing that I could come up with was something so insignificant and inconsequential that it didn't matter at all.

Pros? Oh, boy...that part, on the other hand, was easy!

The kitchen was fully equipped. And I mean fully. Coffee grinder? Check. Blender? Check. More than enough of everything to cater to seven adults and a baby? You bet.

Linens were nice, beds were comfortable, towels were ample, and there were a ton of beach towels. The washing machine and dryer were no joke; clean, new, and high efficiency/capacity. Lots of hidden finds around, and we ended up discovering something new every day. Snorkels, fins, and kids' sized boogie boards? Garage. Scrabble and other board games? Upstairs cabinets. I won't spoil any more. :)

The home itself was clean and the grounds were well-maintained. Water pressure was good and we didn't run out of hot water at any point during the stay. Between the AC in every bedroom, abundant fans, and comfy beds, sleep was pleasant and comfortable.

I could go on and on about the property itself, but just suffice it to say that it's a great house in a prime location and you should absolutely do it if you're thinking about it.

As far as the process and the people involved, totally painless. The owner, Rai, was a pleasure to work with in preparation for the rental and her property manager, Tricia, was amazing while we were there - quick to respond and absolutely on top of things when we needed help.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cameron Park, CA 95682

Excellent beach-house

  • 5 of 5

Rarely do you rent a vacation property

that is better than the advertised features ! Well, this house is a perfect example of

actually looking better in reality than

the picture is in the ad. It was clean and well

equipped with all the amenities you need to

set up a ‘home away from home’! The

furnishings were comfortable and cozy, making it a welcome home-base to a group of

people who just want to have a relaxing over-do vacation. This is truly deserving of a 5 star rating!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Los Angeles, CA

Great location and Vibe!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here with my family of 5 and my 82 year old mother in law and were completly happy with the choice! Excellent communication from the owmer and the property manager. Beds were comfortable, the house was clean and the ocean so close was wonderful! Only sanfu was the spa was not working, which they tried to fix but could not during the time we were there.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive review. We have attempted to keep the traffic at the house within reasonable boundaries, and begging our guests to wash off so things do not wear out and break down, requiring constant maintenance.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Best ever!

  • 5 of 5

My family & I had an amazing time staying at Banzai Hale Beach house. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary. Even before we arrived I felt reassured all things would go smoothly as our correspondence went in a timely manner & getting into the house was easy. We called Tricia to let her know when we would get there. She let us know some guests were leaving the same day we were checking in & needed until 3 O’clock this was acceptable, as we were already on the Island & planned a tour of Dole Plantation a short distance from the house.

Upon arrival it was fun to watch the whole families reaction to their new accomedations. The beach was just a few steps down & the house was perfect for our 6 kids (18,16,15,13,7,7) & 4 adults (My wife & I & 2 grandparents). There was plenty of space for everyone & we never felt crowded or on top of each other. Our first evening we hung out on the porch sipping wine watching the incredible sunset as the kids explored the beach. That week we all got to take advantage of the many activities the North Shore has to offer. We would walk to Sharks Cove daily & enjoy the many fish & big sea turtles. My 7 year olds & I would play word games on our walks and enjoy chasing the many rosters that lined the bike path. The older kids would walk to the grocery store & food trucks. My wife & the older kids took private surfing lessons that was a short ride away as I took the twins and grandparents to Haleiwa for shopping & the BEST Shave Ice on the planet! I took the older boys on a deep sea fishing excursion, another day I took my 7 yr old & older kids on a Shark dive. My wife took her folks to the Cultural Center shopping. We took all the kids to Waimea Falls & they got to swim right up next to the falls. I have to say this was our favorite family vacation by a long shot & we have been on quite a few.

The house was more than we needed as the kitchen was fully stocked with all the cook & dishware we needed. The beds were comfortable & rooms had AC. Nice job decorating to make it feel “beachy” & comfortable. I never felt scared that the kids would be to harsh on the place as kids can be. The bathrooms were plenty big & there were plenty of towels & linens. As the week went by we would comment on how each sunset was better than the day before! We would sit on the porch or hot tub for hours & just stare at the ocean. Rai we can’t thank you We are already trying to figure out when we can get back to this slice of heaven on earth!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Kau Kau BBQ truck
Health Food Restaurant
North Shore Tacos in Pupukea
Mexican Restaurant
Sharks Cove Grill
Seafood Restaurant
Aji Limo Truck
Hawaiian Restaurant
The Spot
North Shore Shrimp Truck
Seafood Restaurant
Shave Ice
Pupukea Grill
Sandy's Sandwiches
Sandwich Shop
Banzai Pipeline
Banzai Bowls
Panda's Thai Food Truck
Thai Restaurant
The Sunrise Shack
Tsue's Farm
Haleiwa Beach House
Seafood Restaurant
Anahulu Shave Ice
Chicken Wings Restaurant
Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill
Rajanee Thai Haleiwa
Thai Restaurant
Teddy's Bigger Burgers
Hamburger Restaurant
Fine Dining Restaurant
Island Vintage Coffee
� 아아니아
The Elephant Truck
Thai Restaurant
Kua Aina Sandwich Shop
Hamburger Restaurant
The Elephant Shack
Thai Restaurant
Ray's Kiawe Broiled Chicken
Chicken Restaurant
L & L Drive-Inn
Barbecue Restaurant
Pizza Restaurant
Storto's Deli & Sandwich Shop
Sandwich Shop
CRISPY GRINDZ ACAI BOWLS and brazilian food
Camaron Shrimp Truck
Thai Bo
Thai Restaurant
Camaronshrimp Shrimp Truck
Hawaiian Restaurant
Crispy Grindz Pastelaria
Banzai Sushi Bar
Sushi Restaurant
V Land Tacos
Hapa Tacos
Cholo's Homestyle Mexican
Mexican Restaurant
IL Gelato Cafe Haleiwa
Advance Restaurant Management
Barbecue Restaurant
Breakers Restaurant & Bar
Seafood Restaurant
The Beet Box Cafe
Organic Restaurant
Haleiwa Juice Works
Cafe Haleiwa
Polynesian Tattoo Factory
Zane's Simply Shrimp
Okina Cafe
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Seafood Restaurant
Delice Crepes haleiwa
Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Car: necessary

Turtle Bay Hilton nearby with tennis, golf, horseback riding and great restaurants. Polynesian Cultural Center further on road about 15 minutes drive together with Brigham Young Univ. and Morman Church. They have really improved their shows and cultural displays as one of the foremost Polynesian entertainment in the Pacific.

The area has many dining opportunities with varied cuisine, as well as casual outdoor eating by the beach or by the country road.




Additional information about rental rates

departure cleaning $300
Pet Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.9%

payments are non refundable unless the dates are re-rented, then 75% is refundable, plus expenses.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties