House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 4 (4 adults)
Tour this property
- english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Smoking is not permitted anywhere on the premises.
Minimum age of primary renter:21
Max guests:4 (sleeps up to 4 adults)
Quiet hours are from 10 pm to 8 am.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Charmed by the lake...kinda
My family and I spent 5 nights at this cottage while visiting Yosemite, and our stay was a mixed bag. Let’s start with the positives: the beds are very comfortable, the showers always had hot water, the neighborhood is quiet, and the kitchen had more cookware than we would have ever needed. The location and relative proximity to Yosemite is also great. <br />
Now the not so positives: the refrigerator broke our first night at the cabin. The maintenance workers came the next day and claim to have fixed it, but it never really got cold. In the process of fixing the fridge they removed our frozen food from the freezer. They neglected, however, to put the food back when they were done. By the time we returned that evening, our frozen food was ruined. <br />
The other appliances are very outdated, to the point where they don’t work properly anymore. The oven would not heat up past 250 degrees, the central air would shut itself off after a few hours (despite us resetting the program) and we lost power during the night. <br />
The cottage has a landline phone, but long-distance calls are not allowed. This, coupled with no cell phone signal and no WiFi makes it difficult to contact loved ones if necessary. You have to drive into town for any cell service. Understanding that the property clearly states no WiFi, given the fact that long distance calls also aren’t allowed and the area has no cell towers, I have to question the decision not to offer even basic WiFi as a courtesy - especially given the high rate of international guests.<br />
Lastly, to call this property “by the lake” is a misnomer bordering on false advertising. Yes, there is a lake nearby, and we had access to it, but the nearest access point was more than a mile away on streets where drivers had a tendency to ignore speed limits. It was not within walking distance, was not even visible from the property, and we weren’t able to park at the marina on the weekend.<br />
Once you get to the marina, however, it is a wonderful place to spend the afternoon and the amenities available are top notch. We had a great time swimming in the lake and riding on the rented boats. <br />
All this being said, if we had to return to this property on our next trip to Yosemite we would, but we’d really rather not.
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize maintenance forgot to put your frozen peas back in the freezer and understand what a frustration that must have been. Since your stay they have confirmed the oven heats up to 500 degrees and that the central air is working. A new refrigerator will be in the home before the end of August. We hope to have another chance to impress you!
Was not as nice as it appears in the photos. In need of updating equipment in the kitchen was lacking and from the 70's. The fridge was broken and had been for a month before we arrived as previous holiday makers wrote about it in the visitors book. The bath mat was filthy. Needs TLC and updating then would be fine. Sofas and beds fine. Not a good location on the complex, near the entrance gate and a drive to the lake and swimming pool. Good location for Yosemite and would stay on the complex again but there are far nicer properties available for similar or better price.
It is not as good as it looks in the photos. All the kitchen equipment needs updating, the fridgefreezer was broken and it is not near to the lake. It's close to the entrance gate. We still had a great time at Yosemite but would not recommend staying in this particular property. I would hope that there are nicer properties on the pine mountain lake complex.
We are sorry to see you were disappointed. The fridge is in working order, and we have sent your other comments to the owner. We hope to have another chance to impress you someday!
A Nice Mountain Cabin
We have family in PML and visit at least once a year. This year was a very large gathering, so we rented our own place. This quaint cabin was clean, comfortable and well decorated for that "cabin feel", but a little run down in a few areas like the kitchen and baths. The living room furniture is nice, and very comfy, as were the beds. It was near 100 degrees during our visit, but the central AC was more than up to the task, and was very quiet too. The refrigerator didn't work during our visit, as we found out our first morning when pouring room temp milk over our cereal. There was an apartment sized fridge in the dining room, so we moved our food there. All of the appliances are pretty dated, but they worked OK other than the fridge. The cabinets were stocked with the basics as far as dishes, pots and pans, glassware and utensils, but bring your own salt and pepper, spices, sweetener, cooking oil, etc. <br />
Great place to stay
Great house. Clean. Quite neighborhood. Comfy beds. Would definitely recommend if you’re visiting Yosemite or just wanting to use the pool and/or lake in the community