Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Ocean Front Condo for Your $$. Ranked A++ by Travel Guide!

Bedrooms 1
Space 686 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

First I would like to address. Many have asked why I have so little reviews. I have my properties advertised on many various vacation rental sites, so, by booking through me, I am able to make sure I NEVER double book anyone. If I allowed this as an option, I can guarantee that would be an issue. Ever since Expedia purchased this site; they do NOT allow people to post reviews, if I don't allow bookings directly through their site.At times I can offer LAST MINUTE SPECIAL PRICING and I do ALL-Inclusive pricing. That way you don't get a quote and then they add all the taxes due, after you thought that was the final cost. This is not just Ocean view. This is OCEAN FRONT property. My condo is now even listed as one of only two (2) condos at Wailua Bay View in the New Hawaii for Dummies travel book on page 438. As being very CUTE,with a great view.I have put a lot of hard work into my two condos at Wailua Bay View and lots of pride too.

THERE ARE SOME LAST MINUTE SPECIALS AT TIMES!!The sooner you book in advance, the better the DEAL! Wailua Bay View #205 is a second floor premium unit in this oceanfront condo building, with an awesome view of the ocean.On Oceanside just a stones throw from the Famous Old Coco Palms resort, where Elvis would stay and filmed movies, such as Blue Hawaii! With FREE DSL high speed wireless internet access, free local & long distance telephone calls to mainland is available in the unit. FREE use of security safe also available.

And, Brand New triple pane sound-proof windows in the bedroom, adding for a quiet nights sleep.

All new TEAK furniture, very HIGH class. New sofas, Queen sized sleepers too. New Teak outdoor furniture. I spent thousands and thousands on these upgrades. Yours to enjoy!

There are at times some last minute specials . Work with me and I will work with you.

The private lanai overlooking Wailua Beach is furnished with comfortable outdoor furniture, positioned to allow a clear view of Wailua Bay and the coastline looking toward Lihue.(more photos upon request).

There is a lot of new livingroom tropical furniture with all the comforts of home. Including 2 color TV's, VCR, DVD player, stereo radio. The newly condos hold all the comforts of home, plants, beautiful pictures and a lovely ceiling fans all with a very Tropical feeling and look. The couch also serves as a thick pull out queen sized bed. With the sounds of the ocean from the lanai you'll drift off to dreamland in no time.

Need to catch up on business while on vacation? Kitchen counter doubles as a desk for your portable computer. I have two telephones, both cordless for your convenience, the other with digital answering machine and speaker phone and data port for local dial up internet connections, in addition to the Wi-Fi internet access,three way calling, caller ID etc.

The kitchen in Wailua Bay View #205 have been completely redone in in travertine tile and are well equipped for monthly rentals as well as weekly stays. Large appliances include full size refrigerator with ice maker, full size range oven, built in microwave and dishwasher. And many small appliances plus both are fully stocked with dinnerware, serving pieces, glassware, cookware, bake ware, linens, picnic ware and coolers for your use.

And if you don't want to stay and cook there are many Kauai restaurants within walking distance or just a short drive from Wailua Bay View.And now right across the street the Famous Wailua pizzeria 'Brick Oven Pizzeria' is now open. Eastside restaurants include many in Kapaa, Wailua, Lihue.

The bedroom includes a king size bed, large closets, full size dressers, brand new air conditioners, television, telephone, new ceiling fans and lots of additional bedding and linens. With the air conditioners on and the shutters closed it will filter out any potential noise and light, so you can get a good night's sleep. I even provide white noise machines for the extremely light sleepers. I have thought of everything.

The bathroom features a tub and shower, medicine cabinet and also upgraded with travertine tile. The laundry area includes a stacked washer and dryer. The linen closet holds plenty of bath towels, beach towels, hair dryer and assorted sundries, furnished for your convenience.

Whether you stay at Wailua Bay View to enjoy the pool, barbecue area, walking to the beach, on a brand new walk-path and bicycle path to nearby shops and restaurants, or take advantage of our easy drives to Kauai's North Shore, East Shore, South Shore, West Shore beaches and attractions, you'll find Wailua Bay View a comfortable place to spend your vacation on Kauai. I have put a lot of time into making it a place where I would love to live and in hopes to make it that way for you too.

A short drive takes you to nearby Lydgate Park and Kamalani Playground, Wailua River State Park, Fern Grotto, Sleeping Giant, Waterfalls, Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau and strolling paths. Also nearby are Kauai activities and adventures such as hiking, kayaking, helicopter and airplane tours, golf courses, water-skiing and more.Wailua Golf course is one of the best muni. course in all 50 states and only costs about $49.00 with cart, for a non-Hawaiian resident.

Also, ask for last minute booking deals? Sometimes there are spots that come up last minute. I may be able to provide nice discounts!!

Thanks for looking at my listing!


Here is writeup, others provided on request:


The 1 bedroom was very spacious with a large living room and walk out balcony. The sound of the surf carries through to the bedroom at the rear of the unit. The condo was a quiet building. It is close to several restaurants and a good base from which to explore the island. We would definately stay there again. The guestbook indicates that many couples return each year. The development directly across the bay rents a single room--not a condo for FOUR times the price.

Transient Accommodations Registration ID number is W48645207-01

More Details

Ted H. Franse
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

About Ted H. Franse

This is a picture of Me and My Girlfriend up at Waimea Canyon on Kauai,( The Grand Canyons of the Pacific). We went riding on two Harley's for the entire day. What a great way to take in the beautiful sights on the island. I go almost 6 times a year and either go with My girlfriend or my Son or both or alone to do work in my two ocean front condos at Wailua Bay View.

Ted H. Franse purchased this condo in 2004

Why Ted H. Franse chose Kapaa

I have always loved the tropics, so I own 9 different vacation properties, which are also on VRBO. 7 in Key West, Florida, and these two on Kauai at Wailua Bay View, in Kapaa. The reason I purchased in Kapaa at Wailua Bay View, was the view and being so close to the Ocean. What a great sound to hear the waves crashing and the view is to kill for. Kapaa also provides a great central point for going either direction on Kauai.Versus the other islands? I have been on them all, but Kauai is so peaceful. It's like Maui 30 years ago.

What makes this condo unique

The peace and quiet. You can do everything like on any of the other islands, ocean sports, surfing, zip-lining,riding,hiking,kayaking,big camp fires on the beach right on Wailua Bay, or just do nothing and have a glass on wine or a cold beer and sit on the Lanai looking and listening to the waves.The people on Kauai are real nice too, very friendly!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Aug 16, 2010 | Trip type: Couples My husband and I spent a week at Wailua Bay View in unit #205 for our honeymoon at the end of May. We found this unit on VRBO and the owner, Ted, was excellent at answering any and all questions we had before we booked.

We arrived and parked and received a parking pass from the property manager who was very friendly. The unit is on the 2nd floor, facing the Bay. You enter and on your right is a good sized bedroom with an AMAZING king sized bed. Seriously, it had to be one of the best beds I have ever slept in!! There was an AC unit in the room. Next to the bedroom is a stackable washer and dryer (So handy!) and then the bathroom. All the towels and rugs were fluffy and nice in the bathroom and the water pressure and temperature were perfect. Further into the unit is the completely stocked kitchen and breakfast bar. We wanted for nothing when it came to utensils and dishes, etc. There were cooking items I didn't even recognize, that's how thoroughly stocked it was!! And there was a dishwasher!

The kitchen opens to the living room with a couch, tv/entertainment center, cd player, and table and chairs. There is a large ceiling fan to keep the room cool. Beyond that is the lanai with the most amazing post-card perfect views of Wailua bay. We felt at home right away. We stocked up on food at the Safeway down the highway and ate almost every meal on the lanai. Sometimes we had a gecko guest on the lanai watching us eat! :)

We used the BBQ's down at the pool one day and that was really handy. I swam while my husband cooked- perfect! The location of the condo is awesome: exactly halfway between the north and south coasts. You can walk to Smith's family luau (a neat experience if you've never been to a luau- the grounds are amazing!) and Coconut Marketplace (shops, bars, and restaurants).

We never ever had a problem with the noise in our unit. You couldn't hear the highway over the crashing waves! The beach in front of the condo was a little too rough for swimming but it was nice to watch the surfers. We swam on the North Shore mostly.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 22


Kapaa Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Floor Area:
  • 686 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Room 205 now has a new King bed, Queen size Beds (1) Room 203 has a new King bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Both units have brand new additional pullout Queen sozed Sofa beds in living room area on Ocean side.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Completely renovated both condos.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Great Ocean Front Condo for Your $$. Ranked A++ by Travel Guide!
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 35 reviews

Just what the doctor ordered!

  • 5 of 5

This, our first Hawaiian Island vacation, was a reward for my wife, as she had cared for her father (with mild Alzheimer's) in our home for the last 16 months of his life, & although neither of us ever balked at the privilege of providing care for a man we dearly loved, it still takes its emotional & mental toll. That being said, the primary purpose of our trip to Kauai was to relax, relax, & relax some more, & Ted's second floor Unit #205 met that purpose to a T. The east-facing balcony lanai just outside the window wall in the living room, with its sliding glass & screen doors, allowed us to "chill out", whether we were having Kauai coffee in the AM or lunch or supper or Longboard Lager & wine in the evening. The bedroom at the other end of the condo was very comfortable & had plenty of closet space but frankly, since we live in the high desert of Albuquerque NM, with plenty of "beach" but no ocean, we slept half the time on the sleeper sofa so that we could be lulled to sleep by waves crashing on the shore below us. I have a bad back, but honestly I was comfortable on the sleeper sofa. We hardly used the bedroom A/C, as the trade winds blowing thru the east sliding screen doors to west-facing bedroom windows kept us coolly comfortable all the time, whether we were awake or sleeping in either room. I know that previous reviews complained about traffic noise, but we found that it was not any more bothersome than most any large city (we have sirens, too) unless one is well away from arterials, but then you don't get the beachfront ambiance this condo provides; & if you like rural, then you will love the rooster "alarm clock" provided by a couple of Kauai's feral chickens. The website's views shown were not misleading: Wailua Bay waves hitting the beach were incredible. The 7 minute walk to the beach can be done without crossing the Kuhio Hwy. The undertow was too strong for swimming while we were there, but Lydgate Park is a 5 minute drive to have Snorkling 101, & you can drive to the south (best snorkeling) & north shores in less than an hour. Kitchen was well-appointed with any pots, dishes, appliances, etc., that one needs to cook meals; if you prefer walking to eat out, then there are 5 inexpensive restaurants 1-2 blocks away; we never had a bad meal at any of them. Plenty of electronics for entertainment, but we didn't come to Kauai to watch TV. If we come back to Kauai, we want to stay here again. Mahalo, Ted, Marvis, & Lauren!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wanted to thank You for the time you took to put this response together. I appreciate it. It's nice when folks like yourself appreciate the work I put in so folks can enjoy their stays. Thanks Again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Corunna ontario, Canada

"Little Bit of Heaven"

  • 5 of 5

We spent 3 beautiful weeks in this condo! The owner was excellent to work with and easy to contact.The condo was well looked after and provided a lot of the necessities that we did not have to provide. This is our 2 nd stay at WBC and love the place and condos!It is well situated to visit most of the sites on the island! We hope to visit again and hope to deal with this owner again! A nice advantage of this condo is the new windows which completly shut out road noise!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see yah back soon. Ted The Owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hanover, Indiana

Anniversary Getaway

  • 5 of 5

The view is breathtaking! I can"t imagine a better ocean view on the whole island! The condo is in a great location. We were able to easily access the whole island. The location is not crowded with tourists like the Poipu. We also enjoyed the pool! The water temperature was just right! The kitchen is well equipped with anything you might need. It is an older building, but the view and location for the price cannot be beat!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the Kind words. I am glad you had a nice time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Roseville, CA


  • 5 of 5

This was by far the best family vacation on the islands we've had. The condo is perfectly located for easy access to the island sights and has a breathtaking view. The owner has gone above and beyond to make this a home away from home. Even two Hurricanes and an earthquak didn't put a dull on this condo's shine. I have already recommended this place to everyone for a Perfect family vacation. Thanks for the memories.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for the nice review. Most that have a nice time don't bother to write reviews. Only the few that can't be pleased. Thanks again. Glad the hurricanes weakened before coming ashore.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5

I gotta say, I just love the condo. The owner has done everything he can to make our stay very comfortable. We rented from the owner before. He is very responsive and is so easy to deal with. We also like that he does not gouge us with fees. He is a no haggle type of person, and is easy to communicate with. It’s nice to know he has been the same owner for years and has complete pride in keeping up his two condos there.

We had a lovely time and the new pathway to the beach is perfect, plus a new bike path too. Nice to see Coco Palms is coming back to life across the street.

Thanks again, for allowing us to stay at your condo.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2014
  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you very much for the nice review. I really appreciate the nice comments. Ted The Owner!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lynnwood, WA

Wailua Bay Area

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived at the complex, the property manager happened to be in the office and gave us a parking pass. This was our first visit to Kauai and the manager was friendly and gave us a lot of information about the local area. Our unit was on the 2nd floor, and faced Wailua Bay with a great view of the bay when viewed from inside the unit. The unit was well furnished and included ample dishware and towels. There was a washer and dryer. We found a notice on the door of our unit that stated the water would be turned off on October 21nd at 10:00pm for 4 hours. This was not a problem because we were notified ahead of the time and adjusted our water usage accordingly. The water was back on the next morning.

The beach access was not easy for my wife who has MS. Access to the beach is hampered by the abandoned remains of the oceanfront dining room of the Coco Palms Resort destroyed by a 1992 hurricane and several flights of stairs. The walk to the beach is along the heavily traveled Hwy 56. The remains of the dining room surrounded by a chain link fence is also visible when looking down from the lanai of the unit. We found the snorkel gear was not usable and the ice chest was not in very good shape. We left our new one at the unit for future guests and rented snorkel gear.

Noise from heavy the traffic was noticeable well into the evening and we could smell gas fumes from the gas station across the street when the wind was blowing from that direction. We needed to leave the louvers on the door open in order to get cross ventilation in the unit as there was only A/C in the bedroom. The A/C was adequate for the bedroom with the door and windows closed. The A/C on high and the white noise machine did drown out the traffic noise if you are used to sleeping in a noisy environment.

Our biggest disappointment was the fact we were not notified of re-construction of the pool area. The last two days of our stay were disrupted by constant jack-hammering from 8am-4pm while the tile around the pool was removed. This was the time we planned to stay at the unit to rest and relax by the pool. We had spent the previous week touring the island and my wife needed some down time before heading home. When we mentioned this fact to the condo owner, he never apologized, and only stated we should have gone to the beach to rest, or driven around the island instead.

We would definitely not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all, I do not provide updated snorkel gear or ice chests. Those are items left behind from folks that have stayed. 2nd of all, there is a Brand New pathway and walkway to the beach, for which cost the County Millions to build; and provides easy access to the beach. 3rd of all the work on the pool was brief and during daytime hours and you're rates were lowered because of these conditions. Next time maybe remember how little you paid, because I can almost guarantee that you couldn't stay anywhere in your local city for how little you paid. I guess everyone gets a bad review, and this is the only one I have. Can't please every "Human".
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


Makai Golf Club
Hideaways Pizza Pub
Pizza Restaurant
Hideaway Beach
Kauai Grill at St. Regis Princeville
Eclectic Restaurant
Kauai's Best Shave Ice
Nalu Kai
Bar & Grill
Mailani Dinner Show at St. Regis Princeville
Dinner Theater
Lappert's Hawaii
Ice Cream Shop
Hanalei Valley Lookout
Makana Terrace-St Regis
Hawaiian Restaurant
Federico's Fresh-Mex Cuisine
Mexican Restaurant
Lotus Garden Chinese & Thai Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
North Shore General Store
Pizza Restaurant
Lei Petite Cafe & Bakery
Sandwich Isle Deli
Sandwich Shop
Italian Restaurant
Nanea Restaurant and Bar
Fusion Restaurant
Pat's Taqueria
Mexican Restaurant
Hanalei Pier
The Dolphin Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Wishing Well Shave Ice
Dessert Shop
Postcards Cafe
Cafe Turmeric
Indian Restaurant
Tropical Taco
Mexican Restaurant
Kauai Burger Hanalei
Hamburger Restaurant
Trucking Delicious
Pink's Creamery
Ice Cream Shop
Hanalei Wake Up Cafe
American Restaurant
Kalypso Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
Chicken In A Barrel
Barbecue Restaurant
Village Snack Shop & Bakery
Breakfast Restaurant
Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine
Mexican Restaurant
Hanalei Bay Pizzeria
Pizza Restaurant
Bouchons Hanalei
Pacific Rim Restaurant
Federico's Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
Breakfast Restaurant
The Hanalei Gourmet
Hanalei Bread Company
Kealia Poke
Seafood Restaurant
Bar Acuda
Tapas Restaurant
Hanalei Bay
Anini Beach
Wainiha Kountry Cafe
Namahana Cafe
Trilogy Coffee & Tea Bar
Coffee Shop
Kilauea Fish Market
Seafood Restaurant
Kauai Juice Co Kilauea
Kilauea Bakery & Pau Hana Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Paco's Tacos Kilauea
Mexican Restaurant
Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Nearest Point of Interest
Wailua Bay!
Nearest Point of Interest
Coco Palms
Nearest Point of Interest
Wailua River Rafting
Nearest Point of Interest
Brick Oven Pizza
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Lygate Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Wailua Golf Course!

I have provided plenty of water toys in both condos.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fees $110

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties