Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing Lake Views/100ft Private Beach/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets/Seneca West Side

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Queen size sofa bed, 1 Full ModernBath & Kitchen - Sleeps 6

Relax in this beautifully decorated lake front cottage on Seneca Lake's west side. Unlike most Seneca Lake rentals, you will have 100 Feet of private, level lake frontage, sitting on almost an acre of land at the end of a private drive. Looking out at the lake from the back deck you will notice that you are at the widest point of Seneca Lake. The cottage is only minutes from most of the region’s premier wineries and a few blocks from the Seneca/Keuka Outlet Trail. You are also a short drive from the towns of Penn Yan, Watkins Glen, Geneva, Hammondsport and Seneca Falls. This cottage is immaculately clean - sleeps 6, and includes a lakeside hot tub, a dock, and 100 ft of level lake frontage. The kitchen and bathroom are meticulously maintained and the entire cottage was completely redecorated just a few years ago (new paint, decor etc.). The cottage is pet friendly and serves as either the perfect romantic honeymoon getaway or family lake vacation. We also do weddings. We are the highest rated accommodation in this area and have earned the Awarded for Excellence every year.

Romantic Destination Weddings: We do creative custom destination weddings, combining our cottage with our country inn, The Savannah House Inn and with a local winery. We still have openings for reservations for weddings in 2010. Plan a reasonable getaway wedding in the heart of the Wine Trail, on the water and at a local winery. Very unique - very cool. Your guests will be talking about it for years.

More Details

Owner
Pat Hoke
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2017

About Pat Hoke

I'm married with two children (a girl and a boy) and I work with a small technology company in Fairfax County VA. I'm also a partner in a family run inn that sits just 7 miles south of our cottage, overlooking Seneca Lake. I grew up in northern Virginia, outside Washington, DC, and graduated from George Mason University. My family has had a cottage on Seneca since 1930 (my grandparents), and our whole family has a great attachment to the lake. Since I was a child, it was a dream of mine to one day have a place for my own family on Seneca Lake. In 2007 we made that dream a reality, and now we would love to share this beautiful spot with you!

Pat Hoke purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Pat Hoke chose Dresden

I love Seneca Lake and I wanted to have my own cottage, just as others in my family do. This area happens to be one of the most choice locations on the whole lake. It has easy access all year, an awesome view of the lake, lots of privacy, and plenty of land to add on in the future. It's also one of the most convenient locations to the wineries and to shopping.

What makes this cottage unique

This cottage sits in such a unique setting, with around 100ft of private, grassy, level lake frontage. It's also very private, with only one distant neighbor. The cottage sits on the widest part of Seneca Lake and because it faces north east, you have an extremely expansive view of the lake.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The cottage was perfect for our Thanksgiving getaway. As newcomers to the area, we had no accomodations suitable for entertaining our out-of-town guests, the parents! The cottage was cozy and quiet but clean and well appointed. The kitchen was spacious and the veiws are awesome. Thanks to Pat for getting our TV glitch sorted out right away; I couldn't imagine a Thanksgiving without football!

Anyone looking for a getaway anytime of the year should look into that cottage. Cheers!
Nov 2009
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Dresden Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Bathroom is very clean and modernized.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • The entire cottage has been recently renovated giving each living area it's own unique tone and feel all to coincide with the overall cozy 'cottage-like' atmosphere. Enjoy warm and inviting colors all tied in with the restored wood floors throughout. The cottage has AC available with ceiling fans in every room. Feel like getting some fresh air or relaxing with a glass of local wine? Enjoy the lake-side hot tub for hours of peace and relaxation.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(67 traveler reviews)

59% Complete
28% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Amazing Lake Views/100ft Private Beach/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets/Seneca West Side
average rating of 4.4179106 based on 68 reviews
5

Peaceful hidden gem

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed for a last minute 3 day getaway and LOVED this place. We have been visiting the finger lakes for many years and typically stay in Geneva. We figured we would change things up a bit and try a new place closer to the water and we LOVED it! It was awesome to wake up to such a beautiful view and sit on the patio sipping on coffee (AM) and wine (PM) :)

We also love to cook so it was great preparing our meals at the cottage and having a lakeside view.

There were a few houses surrounding us but we didn’t see any neighbors...it was secluded and peaceful and EXACTLY what we were hoping for.

The hot tub was a nice bonus and my husband enjoying paddling around in the boat.

The owner was extremely accommodating with out last minute request to rent the property. We are already planning our next visit back!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Crystal we are delighted we could accommodate you on short notice, and that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do our best to maintain our cottage and to keep it very clean. It's gratifying to know you appreciate it. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We certainly look forward to your future visits. Best regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Adorable and Cozy

  • 4 of 5

My husband was performing nearby so we rented this cottage for two snowy nights. We loved the cozy living space so much we decided to sleep on the pull out couch (with memory foam mattress!) as to not miss the sunrise over the lake. Very comfortable and quaint, not to mention quiet and peaceful. The comforts of home - WiFi, cable, and a fully equipped kitchen - gave us everything we needed. The only imperfect thing was the heat was on and off. We couldn’t figure it out at all. But there was a radiant floor heater that kept the space warm. We’d definitely come back in spring/summer.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute cottage with breath taking view!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for two nights. Gorgeous sunsets and sunrises, plus some snow. The cottage is very clean and convienent to great hiking.the bedrooms are tiny which wasn't a problem.

The only draw back was our first night there the furnace was not working. Patrick the owner, came right over to try and fix it. We had an infrared heater. He had a repair man there the next day and we were toasty.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kathy for sharing your experience and being so gracious the first evening. We're glad you had a good time and hope you come again. Best regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Will return!!!!

  • 4 of 5

The only reason I didn’t give 5 stars is because there was not enough toilet paper or garbage bags available. Other than that, we had an amazing time. The location was quaint and quiet. The view was amazing. I would stay at this exact location again without a doubt. Thank you for allowing us to stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Melissa your comments are very much appreciated and we're pleased that you had a great visit. FYI - we include the following instructions in our info email to each guest - "WHAT YOU BRING: anything disposable or consumable - paper towels, plastic wrap, trash bags, condiments, coffee filters, laundry soap, fabric softener, bath soap, charcoal starter, charcoal, matches, etc." We do provide enough of some items, like toilet paper, to get started. We would be pleased to have you stay with us again. Thank you, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very quaint and nice. Very easy to find . Easy to journey the Seneca Lake Wine trail. Beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

Incredible views of Seneca Lake. Nice room for the dogs to run. Nice fire pit and hot tub. Very very clean home and everything was as was stated in the description. We really enjoyed our time and will visit the area again hopefully soon.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John thank you so much for the wonderful comments. You're a great guest and we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rochester, New York
4

Very nice little get-away; great location.

  • 4 of 5

This little cottage is quaint and charming, set right along Seneca Lake. Great views! As other people have commented, the bedrooms are small but this was not a problem for my husband and me. We loved the spacious dining room table and living space with 3 separate "conversation clusters"! My favorite time in the morning was sipping coffee on the rattan loveseat looking out at the lake! The cottage is perfectly situated for touring the wineries and visiting Montezuma to look for eagles!!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jeanne we loved your descriptions of your experience at our cottage. Couldn't have said it better. Thank you for taking the time to send it. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Enjoy all that the Finger Lakes region of Upstate New York has to offer. You are only minutes from the regions premier wineries and in the heart of the Finger Lakes wine trail. Enjoy local geologic wonders such as Watkins Glen or Glenora falls, or explore the many nearby towns such as Penn Yan, Geneva, Seneca Falls, Hammonds Port or Canandaigua. If you enjoy hiking or mountain biking, the cottage is walking distance from the scenic Keuka Lake outlet trail that connects Keuka Lake with Senca Lake, and follows the historic canal that once served these two lakes. Feel like exploring other lakes besides Seneca? Within one day you can visit almost all of the region's lakes from this location.

For more photos, go to http://www.savannahhousevacation.com/CottagesANDCabins.html

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Wine Travel Card $0
All linens and towels $0
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 4.0%

$25/day or $150/week for pets, with permission. We accept all credit cards.
We are rated highest in this area for accommodations on Trip Advisor - and Trip Advisor Award for Excellence every year. Cancellation after 1 month prior to arrival date is nonrefundable for any reason. Fee is $50 to cancel up to cancellation date

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties