Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing Lake Views/100ft Private Beach/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets/Seneca West Side

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Queen size sofa bed, 1 Full ModernBath & Kitchen - Sleeps 6

Relax in this beautifully decorated lake front cottage on Seneca Lake's west side. Unlike most Seneca Lake rentals, you will have 100 Feet of private, level lake frontage, sitting on almost an acre of land at the end of a private drive. Looking out at the lake from the back deck you will notice that you are at the widest point of Seneca Lake. The cottage is only minutes from most of the region’s premier wineries and a few blocks from the Seneca/Keuka Outlet Trail. You are also a short drive from the towns of Penn Yan, Watkins Glen, Geneva, Hammondsport and Seneca Falls. This cottage is immaculately clean - sleeps 6, and includes a lakeside hot tub, a dock, and 100 ft of level lake frontage. The kitchen and bathroom are meticulously maintained and the entire cottage was completely redecorated just a few years ago (new paint, decor etc.). The cottage is pet friendly and serves as either the perfect romantic honeymoon getaway or family lake vacation. We also do weddings. We are the highest rated accommodation in this area and have earned the Awarded for Excellence every year.

Romantic Destination Weddings: We do creative custom destination weddings, combining our cottage with our country inn, The Savannah House Inn and with a local winery. We still have openings for reservations for weddings in 2010. Plan a reasonable getaway wedding in the heart of the Wine Trail, on the water and at a local winery. Very unique - very cool. Your guests will be talking about it for years.

More Details

Pat Hoke
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

About Pat Hoke

I'm married with two children (a girl and a boy) and I work with a small technology company in Fairfax County VA. I'm also a partner in a family run inn that sits just 7 miles south of our cottage, overlooking Seneca Lake. I grew up in northern Virginia, outside Washington, DC, and graduated from George Mason University. My family has had a cottage on Seneca since 1930 (my grandparents), and our whole family has a great attachment to the lake. Since I was a child, it was a dream of mine to one day have a place for my own family on Seneca Lake. In 2007 we made that dream a reality, and now we would love to share this beautiful spot with you!

Pat Hoke purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Pat Hoke chose Dresden

I love Seneca Lake and I wanted to have my own cottage, just as others in my family do. This area happens to be one of the most choice locations on the whole lake. It has easy access all year, an awesome view of the lake, lots of privacy, and plenty of land to add on in the future. It's also one of the most convenient locations to the wineries and to shopping.

What makes this cottage unique

This cottage sits in such a unique setting, with around 100ft of private, grassy, level lake frontage. It's also very private, with only one distant neighbor. The cottage sits on the widest part of Seneca Lake and because it faces north east, you have an extremely expansive view of the lake.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The cottage was perfect for our Thanksgiving getaway. As newcomers to the area, we had no accomodations suitable for entertaining our out-of-town guests, the parents! The cottage was cozy and quiet but clean and well appointed. The kitchen was spacious and the veiws are awesome. Thanks to Pat for getting our TV glitch sorted out right away; I couldn't imagine a Thanksgiving without football!

Anyone looking for a getaway anytime of the year should look into that cottage. Cheers!
Nov 2009
  • 1 of 1


Dresden Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Bathroom is very clean and modernized.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • The entire cottage has been recently renovated giving each living area it's own unique tone and feel all to coincide with the overall cozy 'cottage-like' atmosphere. Enjoy warm and inviting colors all tied in with the restored wood floors throughout. The cottage has AC available with ceiling fans in every room. Feel like getting some fresh air or relaxing with a glass of local wine? Enjoy the lake-side hot tub for hours of peace and relaxation.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(70 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
27% Complete
7% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Amazing Lake Views/100ft Private Beach/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets/Seneca West Side
average rating of 4.4142857 based on 71 reviews

Peaceful hidden gem

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed for a last minute 3 day getaway and LOVED this place. We have been visiting the finger lakes for many years and typically stay in Geneva. We figured we would change things up a bit and try a new place closer to the water and we LOVED it! It was awesome to wake up to such a beautiful view and sit on the patio sipping on coffee (AM) and wine (PM) :)

We also love to cook so it was great preparing our meals at the cottage and having a lakeside view.

There were a few houses surrounding us but we didn’t see any was secluded and peaceful and EXACTLY what we were hoping for.

The hot tub was a nice bonus and my husband enjoying paddling around in the boat.

The owner was extremely accommodating with out last minute request to rent the property. We are already planning our next visit back!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Crystal we are delighted we could accommodate you on short notice, and that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do our best to maintain our cottage and to keep it very clean. It's gratifying to know you appreciate it. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We certainly look forward to your future visits. Best regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Homie feeling to it

  • 5 of 5

The cabin had a homie feeling to it with a beautiful view of the lake. I would defiantly come back in a heart beat.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Julia. We very much appreciate your comments and having you as a guest. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, great location, cozy

  • 5 of 5

Had a good time this weekend with my wife and dog. This property is clean and the view can't be beat. Would visit again.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ryan it was great having you and it was nice seeing you have a nice time even though it was hovering around zero your entire stay. We're glad you plan to come back and we hope you do. Best regards in 2018. Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Almost a 4 star - good place to stay Central location

  • 3 of 5

Wanted a central location to wine country and the cottage fit the bill. Had a little difficulty getting to the property due to some type of snafu with electronic instructions sent- not sure what caused that problem- vrbo or a mistype on the part of the rental agent. Had us go to the wrong place,- which had not been shoveled of snow that had fallen much earlier in the day... but was only a mile or two away from the right one. We arrived at correct property and it too had not been shoveled - snow was only a couple of inches - but made for a slippery messy move in (twice!).

Property was much like presented. CLEAN - the most important thing! Bedrooms small, but all you do is sleep there. the small roller suitcase does fit inside the closet. The cottage has a beautiful view. Couch comfy and newer..

Kitchen older - but again everything works! I give 3 stars because every thing was fine but not outstanding . I feel we all inflate our ratings - I would give 3.5 but the site doesn't let me. this is the first place i have stayed in 10 plus years of using vrbo that did not have an information binder. We had no instructions on how things worked, what's in the area, emergency numbers etc.- at least we didn't find any. there was a container on the counter with some local brochures. Being veteran renters we persevered.

Also I suppose because we were late season visitors there may not be a lot of folks using this cabin in the winter and so we had a different experience than many. The cabin's heating system is older and although the main living area was cozy, the bathroom and kitchen were a bit chilly as there is only one main heating vent in the floor that is in the most central location in the cottage. Again if you are there in more temperate weather this probably isn't even noticed.

We would stay here again- just because it isn't a 5 star review doesn't mean you shouldn't rent it. I suspect if we were early summer visitors it would be a 4 star review.

the landlord did apologize for the mix up and upon another day of snow, did plow. But if the property is rented out, there shouldn't be a snow covered entry patio and the driveway should have been cleared so it was visible in the dark....on arrival day. And btw neither property was shoveled, so it was not just because of the mix up. We let the landlord know the issues - we were not complaining! Sometimes they can't know what the issues are - they were responsive!

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pamela we appreciate your very nice comments and helpful suggestions. Our snow plow guy normally comes when there is about 3", but he doesn't adhere exactly to that. At the time you arrived, the snow had just begun to fall. In the end we had a total of about 2". As you mentioned, we did request him to come and plow your driveway. As for info binder, we're not clear because you also pointed out there were brochures in a folder. Over the years our experience with our guests has evolved and we have acted accordingly. These days everyone has a smart phone and we have found that the guests use their phones all the time to look for places to visit, rather than the info folder. Also - on the email we send you, we provide several useful items of information, such as the password for wifi, etc - and how to quickly reach someone. If I recall, you were able to reach someone when you needed them. Also - there is a phone at the cottage and in an emergency our guests can dial "911". FYI - all the living room furniture was new in early 2017. Further - all the kitchen appliances are new this year or last, as are the washer and dryer. The cottage rents often during Nov - Apr, including several times in the month in which you stayed. Comments from those guests and from nearly every guest who has stayed there since June 2007 have been excellent and very positive with few exceptions. Contrary to your experience regarding guest ratings, we have not found that guests tend to inflate their ratings. We have several other cottages and a motel for over 11 years and there have been times when we received a very uncharacteristic low rating based upon one thing. The other thing we have seen is that many times departing guests have voluntarily told us how much they loved our cottages and their stays, but never did a review. So we find that guest reviews are not easy to come by, with one exception - those who have an ax to grind are likely to "go public". We work very hard to provide a very positive experience for our guests, and we take any negative comments very seriously. This is a well maintained cottage in an awesome setting, with much privacy, and within only 5 minutes of the nearest town, including a 24-hour super market, with easy access even in the winter. The owners, a family with a long history of excellence in hospitality, are local and easy to reach, not out of town or a big business. Again, we appreciate you taking time to provide your comments for the benefit of others.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Adorable and Cozy

  • 4 of 5

My husband was performing nearby so we rented this cottage for two snowy nights. We loved the cozy living space so much we decided to sleep on the pull out couch (with memory foam mattress!) as to not miss the sunrise over the lake. Very comfortable and quaint, not to mention quiet and peaceful. The comforts of home - WiFi, cable, and a fully equipped kitchen - gave us everything we needed. The only imperfect thing was the heat was on and off. We couldn’t figure it out at all. But there was a radiant floor heater that kept the space warm. We’d definitely come back in spring/summer.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tessa thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to do such a nice review. We're sorry to hear you had a glitch of some sort with the heat. We could have helped you had you contacted us at the time, but it appears that you did not lose heat. Great that you enjoyed the cottage. Please come again. Regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute cottage with breath taking view!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for two nights. Gorgeous sunsets and sunrises, plus some snow. The cottage is very clean and convienent to great hiking.the bedrooms are tiny which wasn't a problem.

The only draw back was our first night there the furnace was not working. Patrick the owner, came right over to try and fix it. We had an infrared heater. He had a repair man there the next day and we were toasty.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kathy for sharing your experience and being so gracious the first evening. We're glad you had a good time and hope you come again. Best regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Enjoy all that the Finger Lakes region of Upstate New York has to offer. You are only minutes from the regions premier wineries and in the heart of the Finger Lakes wine trail. Enjoy local geologic wonders such as Watkins Glen or Glenora falls, or explore the many nearby towns such as Penn Yan, Geneva, Seneca Falls, Hammonds Port or Canandaigua. If you enjoy hiking or mountain biking, the cottage is walking distance from the scenic Keuka Lake outlet trail that connects Keuka Lake with Senca Lake, and follows the historic canal that once served these two lakes. Feel like exploring other lakes besides Seneca? Within one day you can visit almost all of the region's lakes from this location.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Wine Travel Card $0
Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning $75 + Tax
All linens and towels $0
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 4.0%

$25/day or $150/week for pets, with permission. We accept all credit cards.
We are rated highest in this area for accommodations and Award for Excellence every year. Cancellation after 1 month prior to arrival date is nonrefundable for any reason. Fee is $50 to cancel up to cancellation date

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties