About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay7 nights
House, 3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-8)
Chicxulub, the nearby fishermen small town, is close by and it provides for all your grocery and drugstore daily needs; it also has some small restaurants and amenities. You can also book fishing trips and water sports classes (windsurf, kayak and water ski).
We built this house for our own family vacation and will be pleased to have you as our guests. The house is fully equipped so you need not worry and be completely focused on relaxing and enjoying your vacation time. You can book for a week or for a full month at a time. If you're looking for peace and quiet or for a fun time plan, with our location you can enjoy the best of both worlds since we're located 15 min. away from the closest
town, but at an accessible distance from all commodities.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within two days
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 03, 2018
About Georgina Montalvo
We're the Montalvo's, we built this house from scratch looking to set a vacation place on a tranquil environment where we would share sunsets and sunrises.
Georgina Montalvo purchased this House in 2008
Why Georgina Montalvo chose Chicxulub Puerto
Beachfront is gorgeous and at the middle of Emerald Cost of Yucatan. The sea is very tame and easy to spend mornings or afternoons enjoying quiet baths under the Mexican sun.
What makes this House unique
The house is located on a very safe neighborhood and a caretaker of the house that lives nearby is ready to attend all your needs. You can enjoy the mexican sea breeze right on your bedroom.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Great month on the coast.
The house is located 23.5 klm from Progreso so the map is a bit misleading but still a lovely spot and the drive into Progreso or Chicxulub wasn’t an issue. There were a few minor issues at the beginning which were quickly worked out with Gina and Juan Carlos. Hopefully the feedback I provided to the owner to provide necessities such as toilet paper, paper towels, soap etc. will prevent any reoccurrences. The beds were very comfortable and we had new sheets, lovely. The furniture was comfortable and adequate for 5 or more. Although the house is attached and we did have neighbours for most of our stay it wasn’t an issue. The pool is a good size for cooling off and the ocean is lovely, warm and sallow. The house is a bit older and there were a few maintenance issues but nothing that severely impacted our stay. My rating is based the minor issues we experienced at the beginning of our stay otherwise I would have rated it a 4 Star. Good value for the money. Karen and Rob Toronto Canada March 2018
The property is advertised as brand new house which is not a new house, is probably newish compared to the other houses in the neighborhood but by no means is a new house, the bathroom faucets are rusty and severely damaged from sea salt conditions because the house is not air tight.
The location in vrbo is wrong the house is 20kms from Chicxulub on the way to Telchac Puerto, is right in the middle of Progreso and Telchac Puerto so it is 20-25 minute driving to the nearest town to get groceries or go to a restaurant. The beach is quiet which at the end after the shock of how far the house was, we were ok with the further than expected location, it seemed better than staying at Chicxulub where is more crowded.
Honestly I wasn't happy with the misrepresentation on the vrbo map is way off from where house really is, it should be fixed on the map so you know what you are getting yourself into which is a good drive to anything.
Shared wall with the neighbors which we knew, luckily we had good quiet renters next door but still you give away your privacy you can hear every conversation at night next door.
The ocean is full of seaweed and the beach littered with trash as well as the empty lot next to the house, the sheets in the main bedroom were so old and worned out that had holes on them, super itchy uncomfortable fabric not what you are expecting on a vacation rental.
Only one hand towel eve though there are 2 bathrooms, the kitchen cabinets are stinky and rusted hardware kind of depressing to wake up to rusty hardware everywhere in the house.
The pool is gross kind of dirty it has a film on it, there is probably no way to keep it clean as it is only a pool with no pump to clean the water.
There is a constant bad bad smell in the house from mold and sewer, shower hot water is limited need to take quick showers, toilets tricky to flush.
The area felt isolated even though there a houses all along the coast, we were warned to lock everything even when taking naps upstairs which is ok common sense safety, we had an unease feeling in the area due to a high number of break in and burglaries in the area, mainly opportunistic theft but still not relaxing on vacation.
On the good note
The view is great from the balcony and the patio which we enjoyed, Carlos the housekeeper was very helpful and takes good care of the home.
Nice hammock in the main bedroom with great relaxing view, kids loved the hammock, great private sandy area for the kids to play
Im so sorry to hear that, we have never had a review like yours! , we didn’t know the location was wrong... sorry for that, even though the adress is fine and specifies that the house in the kilometer 23, We are modifying this right away.
About the bathrooms we change everything every 6 months, unfortunately this 6 months are due now on january.
About the seaweed on the beach... this is natural an normal in this season, just as trees on autumn, if you had not seen it before it is because hotel tend to cleen it before guests wake up.
The pool is cleaned twice a week and if its needed it can be cleand on demand (we never got a call or text on this issue)
Having an open pool right next to the beach is complicated, a simple wind can make it look like it has not been cleaned.
Every time the property is rented, a house keeper cleans it and makes sure every single thing is in order, once again if this was not the case, a call or a text would have been enough to fix everything you are telling me.
About security... that was just a comon sense advice, we have left all doors open all night and never had a single problem... but we try to take care or our guest as much as we can.
I’m really sorry to hear you had this problems, we will work on making sure our next guest know they can reach us any time and that we will do everything to solve the problema right away.
Everything was perfectly clean and modern. Georgina is a lovely person and Juan Carlos is very friendly and helpful
Will definitely go back again
Perfect Vacation House
The house is nice and spacious. We stayed for 2 weeks. The kitchen was well equipped and the living room was great for watching movies. We enjoyed eating meals in the patio; it allowed our children to eat quickly and jump back in the pool or go to the beach. A wall divides the patio and the pool from the neighbors house which makes it a perfect size for the kids to swim and provides privacy. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. The main bedroom has a nice balcony with a great ocean view (perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sun set). We really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely rent this house in the future. :)
We love to receive you! And love you spend a wonderfull time in the beach house!
GOOD & BAD
We stayed here for the month of May and found the house to be nice and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and the sitting room well furnished. The main bedroom has a comfortable new bed and a lovely balcony facing the sea. The pool is more of a dip pool really and is shared with the next door house. I would imagine that this would make it very crowded if both houses were occupied at the same time.
Bad Things: The wifi internet that is offered is only a plug in 'stick' and will only provide very limited daily usage for about a week. The owner told us we would have to buy anymore time that we needed. We were very unhappy about this as the house is advertised with internet so one assumes, as is the case everywhere else, that it is unlimited.
The beach and sea around this area is full of seaweed most of the time. Although the house is in a great position, we could neither sit on the beach or swim in the sea as it was just too dirty.
Would probably NOT stay here again.
In the nearby city of Progreso you can find all kinds of water activities, seafood and international food restaurants, shopping centers, movie theaters and medical services, Merida Colonial City (our state capital) is 50 minutes away and includes many tourist attractions such as Mexican nights, museums and day trip tours, It has all American commodities and franchises such as McDonalds, Burger King, TGI Fridays, KFC, Costco, Sams Club, Wal-mart and Starbucks, Yucatan has more than 300 Mayan sites, natural wells and ruins, including the new seventh wonder of Chichen Itza; Colonial sites and monasteries,You can both visit the sites on your own or access tourist information and day trips; the closest Mayan site of Xcambo is 10 minutes away