Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

ENJOY THE HOLIDAYS AT THE LAKE! Cozy Muir Mountain Cabin

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Easy winter access. Cabin has 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, new stove (sleeps 8)

Come enjoy our Cozy Mountain Retreat. Custom newer Cabin with Log accents. Sit on the spacious deck around the firepit while planning your choice of fun activities. The Mountain and Lake scenery is stunning. (Grimes creek is a short stroll and the Lake 1/4 mile away, Vallecito River 1/4 mile walk away. Stores, marina, restaurants are one mile away). The cabin is well furnished including an antique wood stove. high speed Internet and Satellite TV are available. There is a varitety of DVD,s, Blu-Ray & VHS movies.

The Kitchen is modern and well equipped, including a new stove. Games and puzzles are provided, as well as informational brochures about local points of interest and activities. You may even get a glimpse of some Deer in the yard. We hope that you enjoy this delightful cabin and area as much as we do.

Wildlife abounds at Vallecito Lake. You may see Deer, Elk, Eagles, Raccoons, Wild Turkey, Mt. Sheep, and much more. Great Fishing!! can be found at Vallecito Lake. Pine & Vallecito Rivers as well as many local Streams. These are all only a short walk or drive from the Cabin.

The Lake is open to recreation of all types. You can even rent a pontoon boat & fishing gear at the local Marina. Fishing is excellent with many game fish including Trout, Kokonee Salmon, Northern Pike Walleye.

If Four-Wheeling is your thing, there are miles & miles of off Road trails to explore. You will find even more miles of Hiking trails following our two Rivers into the largest Wilderness area in the lower 48.

Ride the '1880's' Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, slide one of the exciting zip-lines or visit Mesa Verde Anasazi Ruins. Visit Silvertons Mining Town, or soak in the healing hot water in Pagosa Springs, Ouray, or Trimble Hot Springs.

There are just as many Winter activities such as Snowmobiling, Cross-Country Skiing, Snowshoeing Downhill, Alpine, Nordic Skiing. Enjoy Dinner Sleigh Ride at one of several popular local Ski areas.

Vallecito has: three Restaurants... Two grocery stores (one with gas pumps)... two liquor stores...a Marina... horse back riding...ATV Rentals....Boat Rentals and more. Durango and Bayfield are close by and have great restaurants,famous Micro-Breweries, gift shops, and many more amenities to chose from.

Thanks! Have Fun! at Muir's Cabin!

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Tiffany
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

Why Tiffany chose Bayfield

Our Family origanlly built this cabin for all to enjoy.

What makes this cabin unique

We love the solitude along with the incredible scenery and Mountain Views. We have had loads of fun on The Lake and Hiking as well as off-roading in the mountains.

Amenities

Bayfield Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 2 Queen size Beds, 2 twins in loft, 1 double bed, 1 portable Baby Crib
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
15% Complete
ENJOY THE HOLIDAYS AT THE LAKE! Cozy Muir Mountain Cabin
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 13 reviews
Denver, Colorado
5

Peaceful, clean, beautiful, decorated with taste

  • 5 of 5

We (my husband and I and our children ages 4,7,10) loved the house with PLENTY of space, great views, peaceful surroundings, and everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable home complete with everything we needed for our stay. It was perfect for us.

  • 5 of 5

I grew up vacationing at Vallecito and hope to return permanently one day. In the meantime, I love spending several weeks a summer there and this adorable home is perfect. I have returned 3 years in a row and have not had a single issue or bad experience. The owner/property manager, Tiffany, is so easy to work with and she responds to emails immediately. She is honest and thorough- no scam here; everything is EXACTLY as promised. The home is adorable, comfortable, cozy, clean, and equipped with everything you could possibly need! Even though I brought most of the household items (soap, paper towels, dish soap, spices, etc) you could literally arrive at the cabin with only your clothes and have everything you need! Tiffany has thought of everything! We would hike, backpack, kayak, ride horses, or fish but have a beautiful home to come back to at the end of the day complete with satellite tv and wi fi. It truly is the best of both worlds. We enjoyed our coffee in the morning on the gorgeous wrap around deck or read our books sitting on the master bedroom deck with nothing but a view of snow covered peaks to the north. The location of the home is perfect- it is easily accessible and has plenty of parking for guests. It's a short yet beautiful drive into historic Durango- we made several short day trips into town. I can't say enough good things about this home. I love it and plan to return every year until I buy my own. The overall experience was outstanding and I wouldn't change a thing. The neighbors are lovely. The locals are warm and inviting and if you are looking to get away from life for a bit, this is the perfect destination. It's just perfect! The house is so clean and extremely well maintained. The owners have done a great job. I highly recommend this beautiful home for your next Vallecito getaway.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Colorado Springs
5

Nice Clean, Easy access,

  • 5 of 5

Overall our stay at the Cabin was great, I found Tiffany easy to work with. Easy access off the main road easy to find, we also had use of the garage. We make a yearly trip to Bayfield area and we most likely will try and book this house again, depending how many of us there will be next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Rio Rancho, NM
1

Beware!!!

  • 1 of 5

It takes a lot for me to write a bad review but I can't let this one go without warning others. We almost had to cancel our entire vacation the morning of our arrival. I Booked this cabin with Tiffany a month prior to our stay. Emailed her a few times regarding the initial payment. She asked for all up front and I did not feel comfortable since there was no official business name or number I could find, unable to pay by card and we had never rented from them before. We rent cabins in the area all the time and no one has ever asked for all the money up front, and I have always able to search for and find a legit business name and verify by calling the phone number. This was not the case with this cabin. We still agreed by email to send half by check through the mail and the rest cash upon arrival. Attempted to email and call multiple times starting a few days before we arrived to get instructions and ask why they hadn't cashed the check, no response. The day we were supposed to drive down I had all the kids and my parents packed and ready however still could not get ahold of Tiffany. She finally called me back after ringing her nonstop and she actually told me she had no idea who I was and we did not have a cabin booked. When I reminded her of our conversations and that I had all the emails saved she miraculosly remembered but told us we never officially booked (If I could, I would attach all the emails) Immediately placed a hold on the check I mailed since she hadn't cashed it. I understand things happen but to be so unproffesional to deny even speaking with me was so off putting, at least admit to the mix up/mistake, apologize and move on. Searched and called everywhere on the Lake for 2 hours that morning, no cabins in the area were available at the last minute but we were able to book with Durango premier! They were amazing, great prices, newer/modern cabins and breathtaking view and location.

As much as we love spending our summers at Vallecito lake for the past 20 years, We will now be spending them in Durango/Purgatory area. Perfect distance from all activities we love and many other beautiful lakes to fish from.

This cabin may be all 5 stars when you actually stay there but unfortunately my family will never know.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that Vanessa had a lack of communication about her inquiry. When she inquired about booking, her husband was not happy with payment arrangements, fearing a scam. VRBO has a good reputation and in 10 years we have never had a complaint. We did not hear back from them. In the meantime we got 4 more inquiries. I then tried to contact Vanessa both by E-mail & phone with no response. We rented to other guests for those dates. I was speechless when she called the morning they were leaving to ask directions to the cabin. She had never confirmed or sent a deposit. I am glad that these young people found a new place to explore and hopefully learned a life-lesson. Tiffany
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Fantastic Time!

  • 4 of 5

We just returned to reality from our fantastic time at the Cozy Muir cabin. When we arrived everything was clean and inviting. The rooms are bright and warm and the kitchen is well stocked with all the necessary cooking utensils. We were able to enjoy our morning coffee on the porch and watch the sunrise. The cabin is located very close to the lake and the neighbors are friendly. I would recommend taking your own pillow, note that it is a charcoal grill, not propane, and the stove only has two working electric burners. Other than that, plan for a relaxing and enjoyable time. Should you have questions or concerns, Tiffany is very friendly and helpful. We are already planning our next trip back. Thanks for a rest filled long weekend, it was a great way to welcome fall.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
albuquerque, nm
1

Warning

  • 1 of 5

We stayed in this very cute cabin for a weekend. We got to the cabin and found out the half of the burners on the stove did not work so it took us a while to make dinner. The next morning we woke up to find out the refrigerator did not work over night and all our food that we had for the weekend went bad. I did not call the owner since Iam not one to complain. 3 weeks now passed, I emailed asking when I'll be getting my deposit. Tiffany then replied stating I would not be getting my deposit back do the condition my group left her home in. She stated the coffee table was broken,the coat rack out of the wall and that our kids got into everything. I feel that if all this was wrong she should of called us immediately and notified of these issues not when I emailed asking about our deposit. The coat hanger yes came out of the wall when I hung my back pack but it seemed as if it had been that way since I just had to push it right back in. I can say there was NOT a broken coffee table and for my kids getting her stuff, being a rental home you should not have anything there that is valuable and do not want others handling. I was really excited and looking forward to staying in this cabin since there were so many good reviews. Lesson learned, call owner as soon as you find ANYTHING and EVERYTHING wrong with the home as soon as you're aware. I have rented with VRBO for over 7 years now and have never been through anything like this.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In ten years of vacation renting our cabin, we have been very happy with the way our guests have respected and taken care of our home. We have never had to withhold a security deposit until this group. Furniture was broken, broken beer bottles were left around, etc. What a mess! It took two days to clean and get it back to normal. The security deposit did not begin to cover the damage. Their angry response to losing their deposit is not accurate, to say the least.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Damage Deposit $175

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.