Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Free Night! Oceanfront 2+2, Air Con, No Stairs, 1200 sq ft, Walk to Kahalu'u

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Ground Floor Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Call Joanne

310-489-9725

SPECIAL: BOOK 6 Consecutive NIGHTS & GET 7th NIGHT FREE (Except Ironman in Oct)

For SPECIAL please call Joanne

(Please Note: VRBO Website Quote does not reflect SPECIAL Discount or Daily AC charges.

All Tax is included in our Total Quote. Contact Joanne at 310-489-9725 for Total Quote.)

'Calypso' is right ON THE OCEAN. Ground floor (NO STAIRS) set among Palm Trees, with only grass and lava between you and the Pacific Ocean. 2 Bedroom (King Sized Beds), 2 Bath Condo is in Desirable Building 1, at the gated Keauhou-Kona Surf & Racquet Club.

CLOSE TO SNORKELING. Walk or drive (2/10 mile) to Kahalu'u Beach Park, Hawaii's Best Snorkeling Beach according to West Hawaii Today

A/C (see notes, Add AC Charge $20/day)

** FEATURES 'CALYPSO' IS COMPLIMENTED ON **

-------------------------------------------

DOUBLE WIDE OCEANFRONT LANAI with 4 Chaise Lounges

HOW CLOSE WE ARE TO THE OCEAN !

BINOCULARS FOR YOU TO USE

2 QUALITY KING SIZE BEDS

WASHER DRYER INSIDE

WALKING DISTANCE TO THE MARKET

BOOGIE BOARDS

VOLLEYBALL GRASS COURT

WI FI

OUR LIBRARY

DVDS FOR CHILDREN

NO STAIRS

*** What Else 'Calypso' Offers You ***

---------------------------------------------

2 Bedrooms & 2 Baths

Quality Linens

2 Child Sized Futons

High Speed Internet (Roadrunner Hardwired)

2 TVs, DVD players

Fully Equipped Kitchen

Heated Pool with Shallow Area to Practice Snorkeling

Beach Equipment including Boogie Boards & Ice Chest

Tennis Rackets

Library Stocked with: Island Guidebooks, Reef Guides for Divers & Snorkelers, Children's Books, Hawaiian Lore etc.

Phone (Local calls free)

** Some Fun Things to Do Near 'Calypso' **

------------------------------------------

Walk to nearby Kahalu'u Beach Park (Hawaii's Best Snorkeling Beach), follow map to Ancient Petroglyphs, or walk to Surfboard Rental Shop.

Walk to Shopping Center (grocery store, cinema, drug store, post office...)

Mornings: Spot Dolphins, Whales, Outriggers from your Oceanfront Lanai.

Hawaiian Evenings: Enjoy the Kona Sunset from your Lanai.

Explore Tide Pools, Stroll to Keauhou Bay, Walk to Hawaii's Tiniest Church, Catch the Beach/Shopping Trolley.

*** Our Policies ***

--------------------

HOUSEKEEPING: Initial cleaning is done prior to your arrival, cleaning fee $155 is charged upfront. The master bedroom is furnished with a king-size bed, and the second bedroom also has a king-size bed. Please enjoy 'Calypso' as you would your own place. There is NO SMOKING ALLOWED in or around this unit or any building in the resort.

Standard Check in is 4 PM; check out is 11 AM.

RESERVATIONS: We require an advance deposit of $300 within 7 days and notification of the exact dates of your arrival and departure, how many people in your party, and need your address and mobile phone number. This will confirm your reservation. Once confirmation is made, your balance is due 60 days prior to your scheduled arrival. The $300 deposit also serves as a damage deposit and will be returned within 14 days of departure.

Add AC Charge $20/day

High Season: Dec thru March $255/nt

Ironman Terms: 7 night minimum, Specials do not apply for Ironman

CANCELLATION: Your deposit is refundable if cancellation notice is given 60 days prior to scheduled arrival. No refunds of deposit or prepaid rent will be given if cancellation is less than 30 days of scheduled arrival date.

More Details

Owner
Joanne Hadley
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

Amenities

Keauhou Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2), Child Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sofa sleeper
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
11% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Free Night! Oceanfront 2+2, Air Con, No Stairs, 1200 sq ft, Walk to Kahalu'u
average rating of 4.8076925 based on 26 reviews
5

"Calypso"

  • 5 of 5

Very nice...clean...great sunsets...right on the Ocean.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2006
  • Stayed: May 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 4
5

Definitely recommend

  • 5 of 5

Pros:

1.) Amazing location - Truly there can't be many condos with such a wonderful location as this one. Right on the water. Facing the sunset. It's about 10 minutes or so from the heart of downtown and we loved being out of the traffic yet just around the corner from a grocery store, drug store, etc. We will never, ever ever settle for a condo that is not on the water ever again.

2.) Fantastic customer service. They were great to work with, quick responses, quick return of our deposit, very trustworthy. We had no previous experience with them and never met the owners but we would rent from them again in a heartbeat. They provided some great tips as well.

3.) Very clean condo. Nicely decorated.

4.) This condo is especially good for seniors since it is a ground floor unit. We put my 85 year old father and his wife along with my sister with Parkinson's and her husband in this unit and this was very convenient.

5.) The complex (Kona Surf and Racquet) was beautiful. This was one of the unknowns that we weren't sure about before arriving. It is top notch. The pool was nice and wonderfully warm and the grounds were immaculately landscaped and well taken care of.

6.) Their unit maintenance man was very responsive to the one minor issue we needed help with.

You might want to know:

The sliding doors need to be replaced but the owners are already obtaining a bid. Until they are replaced they are very difficult to utilize.

You don't go to the Big Island because of all the white sand beaches. Between the condo and the water there is black lava rock. At one time there was a walking path along the water but with the ocean impact parts of it are broken up. We loved watching the dolphins, sail boats, kayaks and other vessels but don't go expecting a place to lay on the beach inside the complex. Great snorkeling beaches are close by though.

We appreciated their hospitality very much and highly recommend both the unit and the customer service we received. Wish we were still there!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The views, location and comfort

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the Calypso. Our family of 4 had a great experience there. The views were great, the place was clean and the grounds were very well maintained. We spent 12 days there and it felt like a second home to us. A return to the Calypso is in our near future.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great experience. Fantastic location.

  • 5 of 5

Overall had a good experience. The place is in a great location viewing the ocean. Even saw humpback whales one morning from the porch. Close to a few shopping centres. Place was clean and tidy. Only thing is it's a bit outdated but that didn't bother us.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice property and great location

  • 4 of 5

The property is located in a lovely neighborhood and very close to Kahaluu Beach Park, which is the best snorkeling location we found so far, comparing captain cook fairwind tour and Kapula state park. The view to the ocean is great.

In terms of amenities, we love the snorkeling equipiment provided and the cleaness in general is good. Since we have four adults and a kid, we are a little upset about the lack of a third bed for sleep aside from the two bed rooms but maybe we misunderstood how 5 people could be accommodated.

Overall, we recommend the stay given its location and location and location.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in "Calypso". In addition to the 2 King Beds, we provided you with two stackable futons with sheets for your 4 year old as discussed. We had also told you about the queen sleeper. I am sorry if our discussions were not clear. We hope you will return before long. Aloha!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Pretty views, adequate accomodations

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at three different places during our trip to the islands and unfortunately this was at the bottom of the list-when compared with the others. A few cleanliness items-sheets on one bed were stained and appeared unwashed, some dishes in the cupboards were dirty. The air conditioning, which we were upcharged for, struggled to cool the main rooms, however the back bedroom was quite cool. The property was adequate and I can see how it may be a struggle to maintain with all of the humidity thus peeling paint, rusty basket in the dishwasher, some marks on walls and a small hole in one place. So, adequate. The owner was helpful in passing along recommendations of things to do and places to go.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback Dennis and Sharon. Based on your inputs, we had our contractor order a more powerful air conditioner to ensure the main room is cool. We originally thought that the air conditioners were adequately doing the job, so we're truly sorry this one didn't quite operate correctly during your stay. Regarding the sheet, and dishes, we have asked our cleaners to double check for these type of things during their work. You are correct, being right on the ocean does cause anything metal to rust and paint to peel, etc. It's a constant battle with the elements. To All Future Guests: Please notify us right away if there is any problem or concern. That way we can have it fixed while you are still vacationing :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Add Cleaning Fee $155
Refundable damage deposit $300

Add AC Charge $20/day
High Season: Dec thru March $255/nt
Iron Man Terms: 7 night minimum, Specials do not apply for Ironman Event (which is 2nd week in Oct)
Damage Deposit is 25% of total rent amount during Iron Man period.
Pool is scheduled for renovation thru Sept 30, 2016

CURRENT SPECIAL:

BOOK 6 NIGHTS ANYTIME & GET 7th NIGHT FREE

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties