Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury 4300 Sq. Ft. Rustic Log Cabin on Stream 'Shadow's Creek'

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 4,300 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 BR, 1 Loft, 4 BA, Sleeps 12

This hand-drawn, custom log cabin fulfills every family and mountaineer’s dream vacation.

Built above a rapid stream and overlooking a stunning ridge near Whiteside Mountain (home of the highest sheer cliffs in the Eastern U.S.), this three-level rustic home hosts four bedrooms (one king, two queens and two twins) with a loft (two twin SS), library (one twin SS) and one Queen SS in the Great Room; as well as four-baths (three claw-foot tubs with showers, master has separate tiled shower and guest has tiled stall shower). When was the last time you experienced a wall-mounted, pull-chain, toilet tank? You will at Shadow's Creek, all toilets are replicas of that by-gone era! This lodge is beautifully decorated throughout with countless vintage antiques and gorgeous bespoke furniture.

Just because you’re surrounded by nature, doesn’t mean you have to rough it. Enjoy all the modern conveniences of home, including washer/dryer, dishwasher, central air conditioning/heating, ceiling fans, land-line telephones with nationwide free calling, Dish satellite TV (186 channels), Wi-Fi internet, a DVD player, and VCR with a VHS video library (yes, people still have those…we did say the house had antiques).

Go beyond standard amenities with our loaded game room, complete with flat-screen smart TV, billiards, air hockey, ping-pong, Foosball, cards (poker, War or 21, anyone?) and chess/checkers! So throw some logs in either of the home’s two stack stone fireplaces and cherish time with friends and family or snuggle up to watch your favorite flick - whether it be a blast from the past, an all-time classic or the latest film you’ve been wishing to see.

In the mood for watching something not on a screen? Take a walk outside on the cabin’s large covered decks. Breathe in the fresh air and take in the luscious forestry surrounding our nearly 3-acres of property. At night, gaze out at one of the starriest skies that would leave even Vincent van Gogh star-struck. With the home itself elevated up 3,800 feet, there are no city lights obstructing your view. Find every constellation and maybe even catch a falling star.

For the iron chef in you, our fully-equipped gourmet kitchen meets even the most ardent culinary demands. Cook Southern favorites like grits, fried okra, pulled pork or chicken and waffles. Go a little more traditional with staples like skillet-seared steak, pizza, pancakes, eggs and bacon. If worldly cuisine is more your pace, the double-oven and Daco 6-burner gas cooktop island can take on even the most complex recipes: from paella to pierogis, from “fish n’ chips” to miso salmon, from gyros to falafel…or maybe keep it simple with wild blackberries you can pick right outside and toss into a fresh salad! Better yet, share a special moment with your kids, or become one yourself, and make some S’mores in the backyard fire-pit.

To build up that appetite, get back to nature and escape the hustle and bustle of the “real world”. Venture out into the great outdoors and rough it in the woods on your own camping expedition. Though be careful, “this is bear country”! Hike upstream to a nearby waterfall or visit the numerous other falls in the surrounding area, including Whiteside Falls; the highest falls in the eastern U.S.

Thrill-seekers, dare to cliff dive into a natural pool, or take a tamer glide down a natural water slide at “Sliding Rock” (call for directions to these secret local spots). Just want to take a cue from The Eagles and "take it easy"? Play a round of golf at the Historic High Hampton Inn or rent a pontoon boat out on Lake Glenville to do some fishing or inter-tubing.

If you long for a little bit of society, the quaint town of Cashiers is only 5.5 miles away! Sip a coffee at Buck’s Coffee Cafe (a personal favorite) or stock-up on supplies at the local Ingles grocery store.

If you’re interested in renting this beautiful dream home or have any questions what-so-ever, please do not hesitate to contact us! Kindly note, however, in order to maintain the cabin and keep it in the best condition for you and your fellow guests, we ask you to not bring your pets (no pets allowed) and to please no smoking (it is a house made completely of wood after all). Thank you for your consideration!

Should you decide stay at Shadow's Creek (named after our beloved Black Labrador Retriever, "Shadow"), kindly leave a review on VRBO/HomeAway to tell us about your stay! Thank you!

More Details

Property Manager
Sharon Shortt
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 9, 2017

About Sharon Shortt

Our cabin was built in 2000 - from clearing the land, to watching our 765 foot deep fresh spring water well be drilled - it was a huge project. It took over two years to build!

Why Sharon Shortt chose Smoky Mountains

Living in Florida - lakes were not appealing to us - a rapid creek is exactly what we wanted - and got with this propety!

What makes this cabin unique

This is an "Authentic" LOG CABIN

"Hearing" the beautiful rapid creek, is so soothing. Walk into the cabin and leave the hectic pace of life outside the front door...

Amenities

Cashiers Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 4300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Town
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • NO TOILET PAPER PROVIDED
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Loft - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Twin Size
    Library - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Twin Size
    Great Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Size
  • Master has Slipper Tub and Stall Shower - on Main (2nd level) Bedroom 2 connected to bath with Clawfoot Tub with Shower (on 3rd level) Bedroom 3 across from bath with Clawfoot Tub with Shower (on 3rd level) Bedroom 4 connected to Bath with Clawfoot Tub with Shower on 1st level Library across from Guest Bath with Stall Shower (Main/2nd level) Great Room access to Guest Bath with Stall Shower (Main/2nd level)
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Air hockey, Bed Linens provided, Ping pong table, Foosball, Card table, (BBQ), Billard, NO PETS - DEFINITELY NO SMOKING

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
Luxury 4300 Sq. Ft. Rustic Log Cabin on Stream 'Shadow's Creek'
average rating of 4.375 based on 16 reviews
5

You can hear the stream/waterfall from the porch!

  • 5 of 5

This property has it all. My wife, two children and I were very comfortable. It is located very conveniently to Cashiers and surrounding areas. We sat on the porch with a cup of coffee and listened to the water! We went hiking one day and kayaking another without having to travel very far. Once we got back from our activities we could unwind in the game room. Entertainment options were limitless. Pool, ping pong, air hockey, foosball to mention a few. The kitchen was well equipped. The bedrooms were very comfortable. The owner was very easy to work with. They even had firewood delivered for us. The pictures do not do it justice! You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic property for unwinding from a hard days work

  • 5 of 5

Our crew of seven enjoyed our stay with family style cooking, relaxed play (football, ping pong and pool) and comfortable bedding.

A very short walk to the creek and small falls was pretty zen in such a fantastic natural backdrop.

Would highly recommend and hope to stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not great

  • 1 of 5

First of all, the owner sent us a contract that was not current.

It sent us out of our way, over 30 minutes, to collect a key from an agency that had not worked with this owner for over a year.

Then we opened a very old dusty sleeper couch and bugs flew out.

One of the shower bathtubs was broken.

The photo of the house on the listing is of the house next door.

This is a log cabin and you could hear footsteps, toilet flushing etc. all over the house.

The kitchen was very nice and very well equipped.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We contacted HomeAway Support and they corrected the "gliche" that caused the outdated contract to be sent. We were unaware that the old contract was automatically being sent out. We take pride in the cleanliness of our cabin. Our sofa sleepers are used quite often, so it is very surprising that it would be dusty, etc. Yes this "is a Log Cabin" - therefore, the wood floors are not normal wood floors as you see in conventional homes, they are thick wooden planks and are independent of each other, not tongue & groove. We have never heard these types of complaints in all the years of renting our cabin, I can only assume an "authentic log cabin" is not something you are familiar with or desired. Equipment in a home can malfunction, i.e., a shower, a faucet, as soon as we are made aware of a problem, it is repaired. This is a $1 Million dollar log cabin, we do not allow it to fall into disrepair. The pictures of our cabin have been verified by HomeWay - you can even see the plaque at the front steps that reads "SHADOW'S CREEK" - very curious of why you would say they are that of our neighbor. They do not even have a log cabin. Unfortunately, after I received the highest electric bill in the history of our cabin, I asked my caretaker if she would have any knowledge of why. She advised that upon her arrival after your departure, all the windows were open and the air conditioning was blasting. Not very courteous, thoughtful or environmentally friendly.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely wonderful

  • 5 of 5

My (fairly large) family stayed at this house over the weekend, and it's absolutely everything it was rumored to be! It's beautiful and secluded and just loaded to the gills with rustic charm. The house is just *enormous*, clean and well-provisioned. I certainly hope we have another opportunity to stay at this residence.

We didn't have much extra time for activities around the area, but there was an Ingles just up the road, and we were able to cook breakfasts for everyone in the fabulous kitchen! Two ovens and six burners (or eight... I can't remember at this point) meant multiple people could cook to keep everyone fed.

The creek is JUST out back, a minute's walk down a gorgeous, well-maintained path through the woods, and has a sweet little clearing with a large rock to sit on if you want to just relax and enjoy the sound of the little (very little) waterfall.... spoiler... I absolutely did want to do that. :) It was fantastic.

I would definitely recommend this home!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It warms our hearts to hear that our guests loved our cabin the way we do! We think it's a very special place and we are so very happy they felt so too! Hope they can return soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice time!

  • 4 of 5

Our little family always enjoys our time in the Cashiers area and this was no exception. We loved the game room - it was one of the reasons we stayed there since the weather can be unpredictable (the area has a LOT of annual rainfall). We're also a "cooking" kind of family and the kitchen is well supplied. The Cashiers Sliding Rock is so close and we hiked Whiteside Mountain. There are many waterfalls to visit and Brevard is close, too. We'd recommend this for all who enjoy having a stay away home in the Smoky Mountains.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Family Mountain House

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have 4 boys and stayed at Shadow's Creek with 3 cousins and their Mom. We booked online and had no idea how AWESOME this house was going to be until we got there! Couldn't ask for anything more - gorgeous location, privacy, river running through backyard, incredible play room with pool table, ping pong, board game table, air hockey, football, etc.! On top of that the kitchen was the most well equipped I've ever stayed in - nothing they didn't have! Log cabin atmosphere and decor and plenty of room with huge porches in back and front and in both 2nd and 3rd stories. Firepit in back. Seriously we felt like we found a hidden gem! Explore right out the front or back door. Short drives to hikes and sliding rocks and town. Boys had a blast, adults had a blast. We can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Sliding rocks, Waterfalls, Cliff diving. Cabin situated on 'rapid creek'

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Boating, Snowmobiling, Wildlife Viewing, Rock Climbing, Horseshoes

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59

June and July are a minimum of a full week rental.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund