Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sleeps 18 Great for Family Reunions

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Space 3,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

6 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, Sleeps 14-18

We have just upgraded Mingo Lodge again. You will certainly enjoy the beautiful new granite counter tops and refrigerator that were added this summer. We can now accommodate up to 18 guests and offer additional amenities such as pool, shuffleboard, darts and a new 47' high definition TV and entertainment system. It is the perfect place for family reunions or large group outings.

We are located in Mingo, West Virginia just 4 miles from the entrance to the Snowshoe Ski Resort, just a short 17 minute drive to skiing at the top of the mountain or 7 minutes to the Raven golf course. Our house provides all the amenities to make your winter or golf vacation a memorable experience. What more could you ask for? Comfortable accommodations, great location, wonderful views, privacy, high-speed wireless Internet service, a 47' high definition TV,a pool table, shuffleboard, darts and yes that essential hot tub. You won't have to worry about getting stuck in a tacky, threadbare property- Everything is New and Clean.

Mingo Cabin is nestled in a 71 acre, wooded parcel located along Route 219. Access to the property is easy and ample parking is available. While many guests will be interested in the downhill skiing offered by Snowshoe, true outdoor types will enjoy the opportunity to explore our 70 acres. An old logging road has been upgraded to provide access to the entire property. It is well suited for snowmobiling, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. Hunters will enjoy pursuing their favorite game which abounds on the property.

The house which was completed in early December 2007 offers a modern, open floor plan, all new appliances and all the finishing touches one associates with quality new construction. The large master suite has a king-size bed and comfortable couch, a great place to retreat to with a book if you happen to get snowed in. It is served by two bathrooms, one containing a large soaking tub and the other by a separate stall shower. The remaining two bedrooms are fitted with queen-size beds and have convenient access to a third bathroom. Luxurious linens, thick cotton towels, essential toiletries are provided. All bedrooms have their own walk-in closets.

On the lower level you will find the game and TV area which includes a pool table, shuffleboard and darts. In addition, there are 2 bedrooms with queen size beds and a bedroom with 2 bunk beds. The fourth bathroom is located on this level.

The hot tub is located on the deck at the rear of the house. There is also a Chemenia and gas grill on the deck and ample room for sitting and enjoying the outdoors.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

About Owner

Since leaving the corporate world Bruce Burba has been involved in home building, land development and real estate sales.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We arrived for a four day weekend from northern Virginia, Charlottesville and Charleston, SC. Two birthdays were celabrated on what was likely the best skiing/snowfall weekendof the season......9" plus. Lots of food and football filled the house. Everyone had a funfilled and comfortable stay in your lodge. We found you on the internet and the directions you provided were perfect.



Thank you for making oue 2012 ski vacation a special one.
Jan 2012
  • 1 of 21

Amenities

Valley Head House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
  • +Convertible Bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
Notes:
Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer. Mountain View. Free Long Distance.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Sleeps 18 Great for Family Reunions
average rating of 4.678571 based on 49 reviews
5

Wonderful family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 11 had plenty of personal space and a lot of things to do at this secluded home. Two main open areas for everyone to gather and spend time with everyone We also enjoyed Snowshoe Lake, Cass Train ride, a County Fair, the Observatory, playing in the rivers and telling ghost stories by the campfire. Would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a great place!

  • 5 of 5

Once we found the cabin (it's hard to find using Bruce's directions), we had a great time! We had 10 guys on our annual motorcycle trip and everything about the place was excellent. I highly recommend this location for a group!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5

My family vacationed for a week in this spacious cabin. Very clean, comfortable and neat with new landscaping---an oasis in the woods. We so enjoyed seeing the rabbits and deer in the yard while we ate breakfast...we actually saw a doe with 3 fawns- amazing. The kids really enjoyed the downstairs area with the TV, pool table and shuffle board. My only suggestion would be to have a rail on the front steps- for us older folks. It was a peaceful week, Thanks for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. I'll my friend build a guardrail.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Spacious, Quiet, & Beautiful stay at the Mingo Lodge just North of Snowshoe, WV

  • 4 of 5

We came to town for a family reunion just outside of Cowen, WV. The drive from Mingo Lodge to the reunion (about an hour and a half) was well worth it.

There were 8 adults, 3 children, and a toddler that stayed in total. We all had plenty of room for sleeping, cooking, and hanging out. My fiance and I had the Master Suite with the extra large tub and the walk-in closet. Very nice!

We took the kids for a nature walk down the extended driveway. They had a lot of fun. Because of the lack of strong cell phone reception in the surrounding area, the kids were forced to put down the phones, games, and facebook. It was nice to see everyone enjoying the great outdoors.

If you stay in this area, I highly suggest checking out the Scenic Highway (Route 150). It is a beautiful drive (and even more beautiful motorcycle ride) along the ridge tops.

The only complaint we had for the trip, was that the hot tub filter needed a change. We were all looking forward to being able to use it. All-in-all though, it was an A+ experience. Maybe we will get to check out the hot tub next time.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone if you are planning a trip to the Snowshoe, WV area.

Thank you Bruce for all of your hospitality and the chance to make some ever-lasting memories!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. I was finally able to locate a source that provides the correct filters for the hot tub. I had tried earlier to replace the filter but it was was not compatible . The hot tub now has a new filter.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A peaceful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We had seventeen young adults stay in the place and it was a good fit--as long as people are willing to double up in the king/queen beds and a few people are willing to bring their own bedding to sleep in the spacious downstairs area. (The dining area and the number of dishes in the kitchen is just a little short if you have a large group and you hope to sit down all together.)

This is neither a luxury property nor a barebones property. It is a solid, as-advertised vacation home. I recommend it.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Poquoson, VA
5

Great for Large Groups

  • 5 of 5

A group of 16 of us stayed at this house over MLK Weekend and had a great time. The owner is very willing to communicate and accommodate to specific requests. We were all able to sleep comfortably and having such a large downstairs open space was great to have somewhere we could all hang out together. It's a very private property and has tons of surrounding area to explore. It's about a 20 minute drive to Snowshoe Village. The price we paid was very minimal compared to similar properties, but that doesn't mean any amenities were sacrificed. If you don't mind not being right on the slopes at Snowshoe, I would definitely recommend this house. If our group wants to do another trip to this area, this will definitely be at the top of our list.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Other Activities: snowmobiling, snowboarding, wildlife viewing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Damage Deposit $500

Please confirm rates and dates upon booking
Dec-Mar Weekday Rate $275-500 per night.
Dec-Mar Weekend Rate $375-600 per night.
Dec-Mar Holiday Rate $475-750 per night.
May-October $199-299 midweek, $249-349 weekend.
Rates for extended stays are negotiable.
A cleaning fee of $100 is charged for groups of 4 or less, a $200 charge will be applied to larger groups.
Minimum Age Limit for Renters

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties