House, 5 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 1 Half Baths, Sleeps 13 (13 adults)
- english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Smoking is not permitted anywhere on the premises.
Minimum age of primary renter:21
Max guests:13 (sleeps up to 13 adults)
Quiet hours are from 10 pm to 8 am.
Old, smelly, spiderweb covered, highly disappointing
One unit of the home was updated, but smelled too bad to stay in. We stayed in the other unit sharing the bathroom. It was old, very dirty especially considering the substantial cleaning fee. It is obvious they are not spending the cleaning fee on cleaning. There was a 2 foot long cobweb over the dining room table, and the home itself was it disrepair. The house itself was not level, slanting floors, tiny rooms with large furniture made it difficult to get around, and peeling paint everywhere on the interior. The outside of the house was completely covered in spiderwebs in the dock had been severely neglected. Deck furniture was wobbly. The pictures of the water Drew us to this property, the photos do not show the train tracks with hourly freight train service that runs through the night, along with the highway right next to it. It was loud, the river it was overrun with weeds, swimming was not an option. Highly disappointing overall, we left early in want of a good night's sleep and a clean environment in which to eat and bathe.
Beware of hiddens costs
Our main objection to this place is not the home itself, but the management company. The description on the HomeAway site does not mention what they charge for cleaning and that they require either a very large damage deposit or pay an additional fee for damage insurance, that actually doesn't cover a lot of the things that are most likely to happen when renting the place. Homeaway will not allow me to say how much these things were in the review, but the cleaning fee was more than twice what I have ever paid before, and I do these kinds of rentals frequently, all over the world. When they quoted me an overall price that was about more than the rental price, I figured it was a normal damage deposit. I was not informed about the actual extra charges until after I had made a deposit and there would then be a substantial cancellation fee. When I complained about the exorbitant cleaning fee, I was told that they use a commercial service and that is what they charge. I wonder who's relative owns the cleaning service.
About the house itself, it did not work well for our nine person family gathering in the Winter. To get from the lower unit to the main upstairs unit you had to go outside in the cold and climb some icy steps. The upper unit had a great living and dining area for the large group, but the upstairs kitchen did not have enough prep area for large meals. The dinner plates were too big for the dishwasher to operate, so we had to wash them by hand. Interestingly, the downstairs kitchen was better for a large group, and the dishes fit in its dishwasher, but the dining and living area there wasn't big enough.
We have come to Sandpoint for a Winter gathering a couple of times now, but we will look for a different place next time.
Thank you for reviewing this home. We are surprised that you felt that there were hidden costs in your reservation. When you placed the booking the rate was very clear. With every vacation rental there is a rental rate and then the total which includes housekeeping, fees, and taxes. This total was communicated and this property was selected based on this price. The price never changed. Our confirmations detail the costs associated with the rental so everything is clear. We are very sorry that you felt that the cost breakdown for your booking was not clear, this is an important part of our booking process and we will take a deeper look into these communications. We manage many homes in the area and hope that you would consider using us with another property when you return to Sandpoint. Thank you.