check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Beautifully Decorated, Cozy Mountain Cabin

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This luxury three bedroom two bathroom cabin is the perfect hideaway retreat. It's nestled in Misty Ridge, a quaint neighborhood amongst the Blue Ridge Mountains. The cabin is just moments away from downtown Helen. This Northeast Georgia alpine village host an array of attractions and unique activities for you and your family. Your vacation will feel complete weather you decided to snuggle up to a warm cozy fire with your favorite book or make a day filled with wondrous adventures. Let this cabin be your retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

It is worth the trip, so come and make some memories!

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Colleen & Derek Smith
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2016

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

Beautifully Decorated, Cozy Mountain Cabin
average rating of 4.707692 based on 65 reviews
Coral Springs, FL
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Our family was disappointed with the cabin and lack of response from the owners.

One of the main reasons that I booked this cabin was for the fireplace, hot tub, and reasonable pricing. We stayed the week of Christmas. When we arrived, we tried to light the gas fireplace but it did not work. It was Christmas Eve and I didn't want to disturb the owners that night or on Christmas Day. So I called the following day and left a message. No call back. The next day, we thought that the fireplace may need a new battery so we went into town to get one. After changing the battery, we were able to start the fireplace! About 30 minutes later, we noticed the fire was out and the cabin smelled of propane gas! We immediately opened the windows to air out the cabin. That was scary. I sent an email to the owners letting them know - again no response.

The hot tub had hot water but the jets barely move the water. Another disappointment. They should also have towels to use after you get out of the hot tub.

None of the 3 bedrooms had dressers for our clothes or hangers in the closet. Very strange. I had to put our clothes on the floor in piles.

The air mattress must have a leak because after one night, it had almost deflated and was not usable.

We left early from our week stay. The power went out probably due to the windy conditions. I sent a third message to the owners to let them know about the power being out and that I had to figure out which power company services that property and I finally got a response. The owner stated they knew there were issues with the fireplace but someone had been out to fix it. Well, not sure if I believe that as we had to figure out what was wrong with it to get it going. The owner did offer to return half of the cleaning fee - not sure that $62 covers the trouble we had.

My recommendation - the property needs some improvements/repairs. A lack of response / action / consideration from the owners is probably what bothered me the most. It's dishonest to not mention that key features of the cabin are not functional.

Very disappointing!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property!! We had a blast. Anything and everything you could possibly need is provided.

  • 5 of 5

We could not have asked for a more beautiful place to spend Thanksgiving. Everything that we forgot to bring was available to us and we appreciate the thoughtfulness. We will definitely be booking again. My friends were floored.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Memories!

  • 5 of 5

The Cabin was perfect for 2 couples....The weather was wonderful and the accommodations were great!

Love, love, love the towels. In fact, we have planned a trip to Orlando to find some towels just like them..Haha...

They are going to be some expensive towels!! In all seriousness, the cabin was just what we wanted. Very comfortable

and secluded. Thank you, Derek and Colleen

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gilchrist, Tx
5

A Little Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was a perfect hideaway vacation. It was only about 1 mile off the road on a well-maintained dirt road. While there were other cabins along the road, the trees provided total privacy. We had our teenage grandsons with us and they were never bored. The foosball table was a lifesaver. They had the top floor and we had the bottom. The two beautiful state parks close by allowed for at least 3 hikes during the week. We rented a boat on beautiful Lake Burton right down the road. It would have been better if the weather had cooperated that day, but we had a great time anyway.

The only trouble we had was the spotty coverage with the Direct TV satellite. It could be because it's on the front of the deck and there are so many trees - but there were also on-and-off thunderstorms all week. We got to read several books, so that was fine. Thanks so much Derek and Colleen for providing a great vacation cabin for our annual "grandson" trip.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Family Memories

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was beautiful, clean, and well stocked. My family had alot of fun making smores in the firepit; relaxing in the hot tub, and sharing family dinners. Just a note, the VRBO location for the cabin is incorrect but the owners directions are accurate.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

WASPS!

  • 2 of 5

My sisters and I rented this cabin for a weekend getaway together. We had a very difficult time finding the cabin (be aware that it is VERY hard to find after dark and the cell phone coverage there is spotty) and upon our arrival were disappointed to see that the cabin was covered in dead wasps. There were literally hundreds of them on the floors, the windowsills, the rugs, floor mats, and even the beds. We spent the first hour of our stay sweeping and vacuuming. The following morning, when we set out, we discovered that the wasps were an ongoing problem. There was a nest just over the front door and there were tons of live wasps swarming the path to our car. We contacted the owners who said they'd try to get an exterminator out, but we received an email later that said the exterminator wouldn't make it out until Monday, and without apology, "could we just use the back or side door?" I asked the owners to refund our cleaning deposit since the cabin clearly hadn't been cleaned prior to our arrival, and I received no response.

'

  • Submitted: May 26, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Emily, we are very sorry for the trouble you had with the honey bee issue. As soon as we got the info from you, we spent the next few hours trying to get an exterminator out there. The cabin was most certainly cleaned before you arrived, but this was an unknown issue as the renter befor you had no problem with bees. I felt we responded quickly and thoroughly. After your departure, we did have to do multiple treatments, and the two renters since your stay have had no issue. We are happy to say the bees are gone. Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
101 Miles
Atlanta Hartsfield International Airport
Car: necessary

We are located right next to the Unicoi State Park. The area is very secluded and quiet. There are great hiking trails within a few miles, most notably is Anna Ruby Falls. There is also fly fishing & tubing on the Chattahoochee River & horseback riding.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Helen Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$185
Fri,Sat
$895
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $200

3 Night Minimum Stay for all Holiday Weekends (i.e. New Years, Memorial Day, Labor Day, Independance Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas, etc)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Helen Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Upstairs
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master on Main
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Full Size Bed Upstairs
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Twin Bunk Beds Upstairs
    Other (See Description) - Queen Size Blow-Up Mattress
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The cabin includes a queen size self inflatable air matress to accomodate sleeping up to 8 guest.

Partner Offers