check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Custom Cedar Home - Pool - Partial Ocean View - Gated Community

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Warm, spacious, cedar home overlooking the home's natural warm pool and a partial ocean view with palm trees and lovely ocean breezes. The geothermal pool is private and relaxing, the open and covered decks are large, with a spacious open living room area for casual comfortable living. Three bedrooms, two queens, one with two single beds, all with ceiling fans. Very short walk to ocean shoreline, large warm 'Champagne Pond' and further on 'University Pond', ocean pools to snorkel and swim with green sea turtles!! Located in private gated community. Your home away from home, with beautiful sunrises, open skies while cruising on the deck...hear the ocean lulling you to sleep.

Kapoho is country oceanside living not for those who want city life, it is a quiet, relaxing community!

Currently the map is completely inaccurate, if you google map 14-4987 Kapoho Beach Road, Pahoa, HI 96778, it will be accurate. Trying to get corrected with vrbo/homeaway. Feb, 28, 2016

We are at 14-4987 Kapoho Beach Road, Pahoa, HI 96778.

Keywords: Beachhouse

More Details

Paula Uusitalo
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 13, 2017

Why Paula Uusitalo chose Pahoa

We purchased the land in 1984, built the house in two phases, 1992 and 1998. It was wonderful to be able to raise the kids there during the years before high school. Swimming in Champagne Pond and quiet community was wonderful.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

Custom Cedar Home - Pool - Partial Ocean View - Gated Community
average rating of 4.8076925 based on 26 reviews
Los Angeles, CA

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

What a great escape! If you love to be near the

water and love to snorkel and explore, come on and

stay at this wonderful house.

The best snorkeling on the Big Island is here with

the Champagne Pond two blocks away and a view

from the deck like nothing other in the early

morning and at night. Stars for days and days to be

a star in this great retreat. If you like remote, this is

for you. Pahoa, which is about 20 mins away has

some great restaurants and a cash only market and

a great natural foods store. This place is changing

like crazy, so get there before the natural life is all

lost. Last 'real' Hawaii is here.

The conservation area, which is a short walk or

drive, is spectacular with snorkeling pools of

splendor. Coral and sealife everywhere.

Watch the tides so you know when to see the sea

turtles in the Champagne Pond. They come and go

with the high tide.

You'll sleep like a baby here, with the winds and

rain that happen to pass in the evening and early


Too splendid for your get away. Enjoy.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Wonderful host

  • 5 of 5

One of our friends auctioned 3 nights stay at this house at Rotary Fundraising over a year ago. Paula was very accommodating and patient with our request and communicating with her. We truly appreciate that.

1. It is easy to find.

2. Nice secluded house with great lanai to sit and enjoy coffee in the morning.

3. Close enough to town of Pahoa and even Hilo.

4. Wi Fi was great to have since we did not have coverage at that area.

Just keep in mind:

1. There are stairs from parking area to house so if you have a lot or heavy luggage or bad knees, it may be an issue. And lights were not working so good idea to have flash light. (Or use phone)

2. Screen does not close tight.

3. Both bathrooms have louver door so not completely private. Main bathroom wall is partial so you can hear pretty much everything if you are in kitchen or living room.

4. No AC. Bedrooms has ceiling fan so it helps but only one floor fan in living room area and it can feel bit stuffy if you are used to AC.

We walked to Champagne Pond in the morning but did not use it since we were busy going to lava boat, visiting couple of friends near by, driving to Kona and kept busy whole time.

We ate at Black Rock Cafe and Kaleo's Grill in Pahoa and they are both recommended by Paula's housekeeper and pretty good. Coffee at Sirus was very good also. She had granola ball and it was really good. We loved Green Papaya salad sold at truck at Pahoa Sunday Farmer;s market. Highly recommended.

During the summer, there is Bon Dance (Japanese Summer Festival) on Sat at Pahoa YBA Kaikan. They had some Japanese snack foods for sale. Some wore traditional Japanese summer kimono. It was fun dancing with kids to senior. Something different to try.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to have donated our home for the Rotary District conference (Hawaii statewide). These were the guests of that donation. We are happy that this person felt welcomed, among other things. All the lights should be working so if they were not, I do not understand why we did not get a call. The screens are a new style wrap-in a sleeve, so the view remains clear, so they do not close totally on top or bottom, until 2014, the big sliders had no screens and all was fine. On the bathrooms, we have vacation rented for 14 years now, after having to move to Hilo from our home, and have had many many repeat vacationers. The ventilation is very good, it is an open air home, most people are outside on the deck, etc. or obviously not concerned. On the AC, the house has a wonderful ocean breeze (the trade winds) through the sliders and windows, and the other bedrooms have ceiling fans, AC is not needed in this home, the guest lives in Chicago. This is a beach house. Comments by Paula
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Marvelous Memories

  • 5 of 5

Our whole family has stayed here several times...there are 9 of us and it is set up perfect for us.... grandparents, parents and grandchildren...

. We love the warm pond on the property.....and so close to Champagne Pond...We hope to stay every year!!!! Thankyou Paula for your warmth and sharing your hale with us.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Carefree Kapoho house

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. Lovely house in a fantastic setting. Swimming and snorkeling are just moments away. Owner is a wonderful woman. The only negative I could mention was a few screens need fixing but it wasn't really a problem. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great beach location, but major bug problem

  • 2 of 5

We recently stayed at this rental property for a 2 week visit. The house is, shall we say "rustic"? It's a decent amount of space for the price, and is conveniently located within walking distance of Champagne Ponds beach, which is very difficult to access if you are not staying within this gated community, so that is a huge plus. That said, I don't know if it was just the time of year or what, but there was a serious infestation of small flying beetles (best thing I can compare them to is box elder bugs on the mainland), there were hundreds, if it thousands of them, and they were everywhere. The screens on the sliding doors were not sealed, so we had to leave the doors closed to minimize the number of bugs getting in, which made the living space very hot and stuffy. At night, we had to leave almost all the lights off so we weren't pelted by the bugs, and we spent every morning sweeping up dead bugs and eggs off the floors. Also, the listing notes the house has a crib, which was a large part of why we selected this house over others, in reality, it's just a Pack N Play, which isn't the end of the world, but it would've been nice to know that was what we'd be getting (I asked about this in advance and was told it was NOT a pack n play, but a "portable crib with a matress and crib sheet", it was a pack n play w the standard thin pad that comes with it.)

Overall, if the bug issue was resolved, the place would be a decent spot for the price, though I wouldn't recommend it for families with young children (babies, young toddlers) as the only access requires you walk up a lot of stairs, the closets w cleaning supplies, etc. are only covered w curtains, the screens aren't sealed, etc.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Alyx, I am very sorry to hear about the "coconut" beetles. On occasion, they come out of the back woods but thought they were subsiding in volume, not on the increase. I wish you had called, would have sent the handyman and cleaning lady-who lives very close by, to help deal with them. Just because you rent a place does not mean you have to handle such isues. We purchased the screens the house has, so that the view is still there in front, and not blocked by large screen doors. They do close tight, but are a little loose on the top. Sorry they did not help with the bugs, the large side windows will allow breeze. For the port-a-crib, being a first time grandmother just now and never used cribs myself, I do not know what a pack-n-pay is, again so sorry if there was an error there, I would have looked it up if you had asked me, do not remember this ask you write about. The house is a craftsman built natural wood beach house, not a fancy home, the Finnish drying racks in cupboard work really well for dishes and all, no need for a dishwasher among other things. We have vacation rented the house since 2002, with lots of families, young children and babies; they have enjoyed the house tremendously, left wonderful notes in our guest book and have returned for vacations. Many do not want to comment on line, because they want to be able to return. The larger heavy bottle cleaning supplies are on the low shelf, they will be moved, the smaller ones are high, and the screens are not secured at the top, the bottom is pretty tight, they slide out of a casing so the sides are completely there and protective. We do have two expandable child gates, that many use. Again, I am sad that you did not call about the bugs, we are happy you enjoyed Champagne Pond, happy that the house took care of your regular needs and we hope you enjoyed our pond as well, it is wonderful for relaxing. Paula
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed here for a weekend. My 4 boys were in the geothermal pool from when their eyes opened in the morning until evening. Having the pool available was a convenience to keep an eye on them as I made meals. The walk to champagne pond was very short and easy to find. The water is nice, clear and warm in both ponds.

There was enough room for 10 of us to stay comfortable with the sleeping arrangements. The main bathroom opens up into the living room area so we just left the door closed and used the door from the back side by the washer/dryer. The lanai was nice to lounge on in the evening. The WiFi was helpful since we had no cell service and could I Message everyone as needed.

We would absolutely suggest this lovely home to anyone that wants the vacation without all the foot traffic like the beach lots probably get from visitors swimming in the ponds.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Pahoa Town
Nearest Golf
28 Miles
Hilo Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Pahoa town
Car: necessary

At our home you can walk to the large warm tide pool 'Champagne Pond' and 'University Pond' for swimming/snorkeling, walking, jogging. A car is needed for the orchid farms, County public hot pond, Pahoa (8 miles), farmer's market, Volcano, Hilo & vicinity, active Kilauea volcano (Volcanoes National Park), waterfalls, tropical gardens, local entertainment & cultural shows, I'imiloa Astronomy Center, observatories, the mountains: Mauna Kea, with its observatories and Mauna Loa, much to see!


Rates & Availability

Kapoho House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.25%

Weekly rate, $750 is for the first four persons, 12 or older, additional is $10 per person. Taxes, GE and TA, 13.25% apply. For three and four night stay there is a $60.00 cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kapoho House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2012 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa (1) Futons (2)
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Private natural arm geothermal pool, house phone and voice mail service, top line WIFI internet service, Dish TV, Smoke free home (smoking permitted on decks only); easy going country living

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties