Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Rohrkemper's Lakefront Family Resort Swim, Fish, Golf, Bonfires, Htd.Pool access

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage sleeps 10. Four bedrooms , 2 baths, one pull out bed.

We have 2700 sf of living space overlooking Lake Arrowhead!! (aka: Buhl Lakes)We have an ideal family resort location, with swimming, fishing, and plenty of relaxation! You will have access to the built-in heated community pool a 5 minute walk from our home. We have 2 kayaks and a paddleboat with life jackets provided. We also have a bonfire pit for night-time sing-a-longs and roasting marshmallows. Winter skiing within 20 min. drive. Snowmobile to trails right out our door.

We have an aluminum boat for the fishing enthusiasts in your group!

Our Lakefront home has a spectacular view off a 60' balcony. There is an outdoor heated pool, which is a 5 minute walk from the house. Located in the golf mecca of Michigan, we have 29 golf courses within 10-30 minutes of the cottage.

We are within 15-60 minutes to skiing including Boyne mountain. Boyne mountain has an indoor water park (20 minutes away). Boyne Mountain also has a world class spa. Skiing at Treetops (20 minutes away)also downhill and cross country at both.

There are Two large family rooms with a TV in both. Perfect for families and groups with 2 separate levels of fun and each bedroom has a TV.

We have a dining room large enough accomodate all lodgers plus outdoor picnic tables on the balcony.

We are located on Buhl Lakes so you can look at an internet map. We are just west of Otsego Lake.

We are 45 minutes from Petosky and Charlevoix and 1 hour from Mackinaw City and Traverse City.

Casinos are located in Petosky (Odawa) and Traverse City (Turtle Creek).

If you are looking for a clean, roomy vacation home ours it the place to be!

More Details

Owner
Cheryl D Rohrkemper
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

About Cheryl D Rohrkemper

We are John and Cheryl Rohrkemper. We have been married for 43 years and have two adult children, Nicole and Michael. We have been enjoying our home since before 2000 , even before we owned it! We hope you enjoy your stay at our home as much as we always have. We have had some fun family/friend gatherings that have been very enjoyable and worth the investment!

Cheryl D Rohrkemper purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Cheryl D Rohrkemper chose Gaylord

It's centrally located and well built. It is on 3 lots with a fabulous view of the lake from the balcony. We wanted a home our whole family could enjoy. Golfers and Water enthusiasts alike.

What makes this cottage unique

Quiet privacy.

Golfing nearby!

Driving to Charlevoix, Petosky and Mackinaw.

Horseback riding at Lakes of the North.

Boyne Mountains' Spa

Guestbook comments from the owner

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your cottage Cheryl and John ! Tons of room, and very clean...with a lot of extras included. The lake view cannot be beat! Sits on a smaller lake and we were able to launch our boat, but for serious tubing and skiing the lake is a little small. Not a real biggie though, since Otsego Lake is just a 15 minute drive down the road for any water enthusiasts. Cheryl and John are very organized and attentive to any issues ( none!) or needs that you might have. Thank you so much for a lovely vacation!

Reviewed on another site/copied and posted by owner.
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 1

Map

Bennethum's Northern Inn
"All prices with booze. Lunch and dinner."
Otsego Lake Marina
Call of the Wild Museum
Gaylord's City Elk Park
Gaylord to Mackinaw City Rail-Trail
Aspen Park
Meijer
Black Forest
"Top 5 golf courses in Gaylord. One of our favorites. "
Natural Golf Course
"Top 5 golf courses in Gaylord. One of our favorites."
Alpine Tavern and Eatery
"Pizza, Beer and Wine. Fresh salads, sandwiches and entree's"
Diana's Delights
"Family Restaurant great fresh food. Breakfast and Lunch only."
The Ridge Golf Course
Castle Farms
Avalanche Bay Indoor Waterpark
Bearded Dogg Lounge
Sugar Bowl
Otsego Memorial Hospital
Odawa Casino
Turtle Creek Casino & Hotel
Treetops Resort
"Superb upnorth golfing!"
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Gayord, MI
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Gaylord, MI
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Black Forest, Marsh Ridge, The Natural
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Gaylord, MI
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Boyne Mountain or Treetops
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Otsego Lake
Nearest Point of Interest
Pool
Nearest Point of Interest
Mackinaw Island and Mackinaw City
Nearest Point of Interest
Gaylord
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Arrowhead aka Buhl Lake
Nearest Point of Interest
Traverse City,Turtle Creek Casino
Nearest Point of Interest
Petosky, Odawa Casino
Nearest Point of Interest
Charlevoix
Nearest Point of Interest
Boyne Mountain
Nearest Point of Interest
Treetops Golf
Car: necessary

Activities located on the lake and in the city of Gaylord and nearby cities:

Boyne Mountain Indoor Water Park, Boyne Mountain Spa, Skiing at Boyne and Treetops

Call of the Wild Museum in Gaylord,

Sportsplex with Indoor Swimming in Gaylord,

Rent a pontoon Call me ahead for information.

Shopping in Downtown Gaylord 15-20 minute ride.

Ice Skating on the Lake

SKate park in Gaylord

Walking Trails Gaylord

Walk around the lake 3 miles (easy walking)

Amenities

Lake Arrowhead Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Absolutely no fires in wood stove or you will lose your security deposit.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Blow dryers in each bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Blow dryers in each bath
  • Additional Vanity with sink in lower level outside of full bath with blowdryer.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , TV
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Family room downstairs w/TV
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , TV
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (6) Two each for 3 bedrooms, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Pull out bed in lower level family room. Air bed in laundry if needed. Max sleeping is 10 people. 12 allowed if they are children. Please note how charges apply.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Quiet family getaway Dock, Aluminum fishing boat, 2 kayaks, life jackets provided. Firepit firewood provided Pontoon rental available on the lake. Please ask for more information. Call Dorene: 989-614-0913 Bring your own beach chairs We have sleeping for 10 guests including children. If you bring sleeping bags, etc. we can accomodate 12 max. Our maintenance people do keep an eye on the house. If you need something tended to please advise on arrival. PLEASE READ ALL RULES AND ATTACHMENTS I HAVE SENT YOU. When you leave, The house should look exactly the same as when you arrived or charges will apply. ( except for housekeeping which means laundry and basic housecleaning only)

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Rohrkemper's Lakefront Family Resort Swim, Fish, Golf, Bonfires, Htd.Pool access
average rating of 4.864865 based on 38 reviews
Romeo, MI
5

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

Our week on this private lake was just wonderful. We were looking for a week of complete downtime, but this location is great for day trips to Macinaw, Traverse City, Petosky, etc. The cottage is very clean and roomy. We only had the four of us, but could easily have accomodated 10. The owner was prompt in answering any questions and following up on our stay. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage - would even consider renting again.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate good family renters like the Sunbathers! Thank you for staying with us. Anyone can post pictures on facebook. If you have some I would love to see them. Cheryl and John
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

Third Year in a Row -- Still Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

As it has been the last two years, the house was amazing, the lake was beautiful, and the experience was perfect.

See you guys next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You have started a tradition! Love that you are using the kayaks, boats, etc. See you next year. Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice property. Beautiful views and a great lake for fishing and tubing.

  • 4 of 5

Nice property with plenty of room for a large family. We really enjoyed the two level house! The teens and kids hung out in the lower level and the adults in the upper level. Had lots of time together in the large dining space. Bedrooms each had a tv too! "Master" bedroom could use some updating. The mattress didn't hold two people very well and was slightly uncomfortable. Otherwise, a great place to stay and enjoy a beautiful lake.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you enjoyed the house. Two levels helps everyone to have their own "space".We loved the lake right from the start even before we owned the house. Sorry to hear about the mattress and will take that into consideration in the future. We welcome you back next year or this winter if you ski.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious home - perfect for family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 loved this home. Everything was perfect and VERY CLEAN. The view of the lake is lovely and we had fun with the kayaks and rowboat. Plenty of activities right there. Never had to leave the property. We played a different game every night - they have them all - trivial pursuit, monopoly, checkers, life, sorry, uno, cards, and many more. Bonfire pit by the lake is awesome. Lots of room for everyone to spread out. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We welcome you back anytime. Thank you for taking good care of our home. We are glad to hear the games, kayaks, paddleboat etc. are being enjoyed. We are open year round if you want a Holiday getaway. Housekeeping is always glad to hear your comments on the house being very clean.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
flint mi.
3

Our vacation

  • 3 of 5

It was not as expected, definitely not worth the money I paid.almost everything was outdated.Lower level smelled of smoke and mildew.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The previous guests did make a fire in the wood stove that is strictly against house policy. (it is now zip-tied closed), so I apologize for the smokey smell. We do have all the modern conveniences of home including 6 new, flat screen TV's and all modern appliances including a washer/dryer. Our home is a combination of new amenities and a very clean "cottage" atmosphere. We understand that sharing a personal home is not for everybody. For a relaxed family atmosphere we have you covered.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Michigan
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

Great for a family vacation. Had all the kids, grand kids and one great grandchild and we had lots of room for everyone. Didn't need for anything had it all. All you need is your clothes and food. Very nice place, clean and well kept.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We especially welcome families for a fun week or weekend. We hope to see you back again. Thank you for visiting and taking good care of our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $500
Housekeeping $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Cancellations are subject to a $50 fee. You must be 25 or older to rent. Absolutely no event parties. (bachlorette, bachelor, wedding etc.)
*Cancellations can made 60 days prior to arrival only. Payment is made 45 days in advance of arrival. International Credit Card fees will be charged back to your security deposit refund. These are 3% of your transaction. They wil not apply to your security deposit if it is fully refunded. Master Card and Visa Discover American Express accepted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties