Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Detroit Lake Oregon Get Away!

Bedrooms 2
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Located in the forest above Detroit lake, this Cabin boasts the smell of fresh cut pine and tree top views with privacy. The owners have spent a lot of time to make the cabin a perfect get away. Move-in ready with all the amenities needed for food preparation giving you a feeling of home away from home. Cozily sleeps 6 with one room inside loft area of cabin with full size bed and a room below with two full size futons. This room below is ONLY accessible through the outside, has a separate entrance. Enjoy the cozy gas stove, surround sound TV (no cable) or venture out onto the large deck with forested view of the mountains and the small town of Detroit or just stay at the cabin and enjoy the hot tub nestled in the woods surrounding our cabin.

Close to great activities! Just minutes to the lake or Breitenbush River. The snow is usually at the cabin or less than 45 minutes away for snow skiing at Hoo Doo Ski Bowl. Snow parks are near or two hours to Bachelor Ski Resort. Breitenbush Hot Springs is about 20 minutes away for a day of food, fun and tubing in an old growth forest.

Located about an hour west of Sisters for great shopping or 1.5 hours to Bend.

For more information, please click on the link below.

Keywords: Knotted pine cozy cabin, near lake, forest, wooded A-frame frame, water frontage, mountains, romantic getaway

More Details

Rick and Teresa Maurmann
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2018

About Rick and Teresa Maurmann

We have been married since 2005. We have three kids and 2 Huskies. We love them all very much! My wife was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2007. We decided that life is too short to work so much and rarely spend family time together. We found our cabin in October 2007.

Rick and Teresa Maurmann purchased this cabin in 2007

Why Rick and Teresa Maurmann chose Detroit

Mostly for the Lake. But it now goes deeper than that. It is an oasis of calm, grounding and recharging for everyone in the family including the dogs.

What makes this cabin unique

It's endless. The best times for my wife and I is in the snow. Turn on the gas fireplace. Grab a book and snuggle up. Napping and reading all day with snacks and good conversation. The kids love any adventure outside. Walking around town, going to the lake or exploring the woods. We are just a few minutes to swimming, snow skiing, hiking and the hot springs or hanging out in the hot tub placed in the middle of our private forest.


Detroit Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Main level with a shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double
  • Double Beds (3) Full size bed Located in the master bedroom loft as well as one full size futon and a bunk bed with twin mattresses in the second bedroom located downstairs that is only accessible through the outside. For the adventurous ones we provide a four man tent that sets up on the back deck. The tent does not change the allowable occupants for the cabin.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
Detroit Lake Oregon Get Away!
average rating of 4.59322 based on 59 reviews
Yachats, Oregon

Charming place to stay in the winter, would totally recommend!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our three nights here. Arriving on Christmas day, we decided we wanted to have a "cabin" like experience in the woods for the day of Christmas and my birthday which followed up on the 27th. My significant other and I planned a ski trip to Mount Hoodoo, and this cabin was the perfect place to come home to retreat to. You simply can't find a place like this around Mount Hoodoo without paying double the price. The hot tub was a huge reason why we booked; it was well maintained, clean, and fresh, something we are very grateful for. We've had bad experiences with hot tubs through Homeaway in the past (to the point of needing medical attention), so this was a huge relief. Thank you Rick and Teresa for keeping the tub so squeaky clean and perfect for travelers!

Concerning the cabin itself: It was absolutely lovely to arrive to it so covered in thick snow. It looked like a little hobbit abode! Throughout the days/nights the snow would drop down from the old growth trees and loudly "plop" on the roof every five minutes, which was kind of a magical experience. The inside was quaint, humble, comfortable, and truly felt like a hidden cabin in the woods (even with having neighbors, its not very noticeable). Kitchen was well stocked, and I was able to cook up an entire Christmas dinner with the tools that were available. I also loved the touch of what appeared to be freshly picked herbs in little canisters. Two types of basil (including purple) and oregano. Clearly they came from a garden and were not store bought, thank you! Avocado oil was also available, which was awesome. We are super health conscious so all the healthy additions were a pleasant surprise. The bed was ultra comfortable and soft. And the tall, large cathedral windows offered a beautiful view of the surrounding old growth trees.

The only down side to the cabin is that the highway traffic is very loud, even into the night. Still, it was lovely to relax in the hot tub at night and look up at the silhouetted trees against the night sky. Cleaning to the point of getting it ready for the next tenants was a little over bearing, as we didn't have a very leisurely check out morning as a result. It took almost 3 hours to clean it to the standards asked of us, and my SO felt like he should have been paid for the work rather than in reverse. With a price this high, its difficult to cover all bases but I managed it, even though it took up the entire morning. Thanks for everything!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Angela, Thank you for the lovely review. I am so happy that all your concerns when you were considering our cabin didn't end up being an issue. Funny you mention the highway noise, I was there this past week woke up in the middle of the night and noticed how dead quiet it was and especially highway noise. It is so hit and miss on how busy Hwy 22 can be but I get it. I have experienced the same highway noise and have come to liken it to the waves of the ocean and just part of the experience. As for the cleaning, I soooo appreciate the time and effort you made to clean after your stay and have it move in ready for the next guests. Our goal is to NEVER have to charge a cleaning fee like MOST vacation rentals do and in this pursuit it is hit or miss on who actually takes time to clean like you did and those who kinda of "swipe it clean" making it presentable. My standards are like yours but the general public do not hold the same regard unfortunately. Because we do not live in town and finding house cleaning help in Detroit has been a challenge for now this is the best way to handle the cleaning issue. So please know I appreciate your efforts and most generally people are taking 1-2 hours to clean and do the shut down. It does take a bit more in the winter due to having to turn off the water and prep the cabin for winter safety. Also on this matter most other vacation rental owners have a check out of 11 or 12 in the morning and I have set it to 3 pm to give you that "leisure" time to clean after your stay. Thank you for the comments on the details such as "healthy food" options and all the lovely comments on the cabin itself and the hot tub. We do grow our own herbs and we are happy that you appreciated the soft touches of "home" that we try to provide. We strive to make this a B&B without the "hosts" hanging out with you and we are glad you chose our sweet cabin for your get away! Teresa & Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This was a quaint little cottage that was perfect for our needs!

  • 5 of 5

We loved it! Would definitely come back!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful space!

  • 5 of 5

Very welcoming and cozy space, host was very helpful. Definitely will be back in the future, thank you!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful place, wonderful stay!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our quiet stay at Tres bien. The cabin was beautiful and in a great location. The hot tub was well maintained and wonderfully relaxing. We were a little bummed that the gas stove was not working, but the heater worked quite well.

The steps leading down to the cabin entrance are a little rough. Even with a flashlight, our arrival after dark made for a little adventure carrying our things in.

Overall, this place is very clean, the kitchen fully stocked, and the area was beautiful. Tres Bien was the perfect spot for our New Year's vacation! Thank you Rick and Teresa

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We were very impressed with the property!

  • 5 of 5

We had a pleasant stay at this property! We enjoyed the hikes near by, the seclusion, near by towns, and the hot tub!!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Teresa & Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This photogenic A Frame cabin was the perfect spot to spend our weekend! If you're looking to stay in the Detroit Lake area, this is the spot. Private outdoor hot tub, back deck over looking the little town of Detroit, movies, board games, and even a cozy fire pit. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment and all the necessities you'll need. Thank you, Rick and Teresa, it was very enjoyable and we can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Ryan for such a wonderful review. We will welcome you back anytime. Our goal is to provide a beautiful relaxing place that people will want to spend their time at to relax. We appreciate that you took the time to share and I know this review will help others to decide to choose our sweet cabin. Thanks Teresa
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
125 Miles
Portland International
Nearest Golf
28 Miles
Elk Horn
Nearest Train
52 Miles
Salem Oregon
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Hoo Doo
Nearest Beach
110 Miles
Pacific Ocean
Car: recommended

Located on Detroit Lake this small town buzzes with activity in the spring ramping up to summer fun! Then in autumn falling quiet to winter snows and some rowdy storms that pass through the Cascades. Enjoy the Lake with two Marinas, a myriad of restaurants and three grocery stores. Check out the close by activities at the Insider Guide Link for other summer and winter activities.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 8.0%

$30.00 additional charge per occupant per night over 2 occupants. State and City tax of .9% per $1.00 Cancellation fee may apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties