Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Lake Wisconsin Cabin with Breathtaking Views!

Bedrooms 2
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Tucked away in Sunset Bay is your opportunity to enjoy life!

This unique piece of heaven on earth offers you picturesque sunsets from across the bay, your own pier to dock a boat, a variety of wildlife from eagles and hawks flying over head to deer across the road eating in the field, and easy access to numerous attractions and things to do. What better way to spend time with family and friends then at your very own private cabin on Lake Wisconsin!

The cottage offers an open atmosphere where you can enjoy the views that Sunset Bay provides you from almost every room, and it can comfortably sleep 6. Master bedroom overlooks yard and lake, and 2 twin beds in second bedroom. Master offer dresser to store your personal items, and there is ample closet space to keep other personal belongs (like luggage) out of the way!

Home has hot water heat, 2 window air conditioners, mulitple fans, and a fully equipped kitchen. Bathroom offers tub and shower, and there is linen closet in hallway. In the evening, utilize the fire pit and enjoy a warming fire in the cool night air, tell stories, make s’mores and loads of memories to take home with you!

Hang out on the large covered porch overlooking the lake and 60 feet of frontage. The level lot makes hanging out or fishing on the pier fun and easy. Loading up your boat becomes an effortless task!

Due to an unfortunate circumstances, we are no longer accepting pets.

Public launch is .35 miles down the road, and there is ample space to park your boat trailer on the property.

Lake Wisconsin offers excellent fishing and boating. There are many opportunities for a variety of outdoor recreational activities in all seasons. Come and enjoy life, bring your boat, fish and swim but most of all - relax and enjoy your vacation! Contact us today for more info!

Cabin offers bathroom with tub/shower combo, refrigerator with top freezer. Extra features include sofa sleeper and matching glider in living room, covered patio with large table and 6 matching chairs - a great place to eat dinner at and enjoy the sunsets! - TV with Roku, Wi Fi and more!

More Details


Lodi Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub/Shower combo with handheld shower head makes it easier to clean the kids and your feet! Shelving above toilet offers place for toiletries.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sofa Sleeper in Living room.
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


3.4/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
Private Lake Wisconsin Cabin with Breathtaking Views!
average rating of 3.3888888 based on 38 reviews

Cottage needs major repairs!! A Beautiful view

  • 2 of 5

I would give this cottage 5 stars because the lake view is beautiful and being right on the lake. The house brought the stars down to the 2.

I was looking so forward to being on a lake again. We had a trailer on a lake for 35 years and the owner decided to close the park. I found this and thought the price was reasonable. After entering the house it was very disappointing. My 1986 trailer was in better shape then the house.

The smoke detector was removed and I was not comfortable with that. I tried to vacuum the couch and glider on arrival because they looked dirty. I blew a breaker just plugging in the vacuum. The floors are slanted and soggy, not much water pressure in the kitchen. The bathroom shower was OK pressure. No windows open so you have to use the air conditioners which did keep it cool. I'm not sure if they would do that if it was really hot and humid. The grill was rusted so we used aluminium foil to cover the grates. The back porch was really nice but the door knob was gone and a rope was used to open it.

We did take our boat and that aspect of the vacation was wonderful. The pier was great to tie the boat to. We left it in the water the whole time we were there. (We had beautiful weather) The fire pit we used to cook some dinners over. It really needed to be cleaned out it was full of ashes.

If we wouldn't of had a boat I would have been totally upset because the description is not completely right on the cottage. We were outside and in the boat most of the time. If you overlook all the problems with the house which we only slept in. The location was great. We really liked Lake Wisconsin it was our first visit to that lake. There is lots to do on the lake.

I just feel the owners have a great location and I do know they are trying to sell it but some maintenance goes a long way.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay and your review of our cabin. We were surprised to read your review here as we never heard from you during your stay that at any time the accommodations made you feel uncomfortable. A quick phone call or text from you and we could have had the smoke detector reinstalled, trouble shot the breaker issue, and I wonder if someone in your party may have accidentally turned off the water pressure switch – it happens once in a while, and then you have very little water pressure throughout the cabin. We do not understand which windows you are referring to as many of them open and with them and the front and back doors open on a nice day you can get a good breeze blowing through. The large picture windows of course do not open! We do maintain the cabin and appreciate your input! We do not have control over how other renters treat our property, yet do our best with upkeep. Thanks again for your review and your stay. We wish you all the best with your future travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not worth the $$

  • 1 of 5

We really wanted to love this property. The unfortunate truth is that the only perks were being right on the lake and Flo is very sweet (which actually made it difficult to complain about the property itself).

The cottage is in disrepair, with a floor that is slanted and spongy. There are some pretty obvious electrical problems that should be addressed for safety reasons which become more alarming because the smoke detector has been removed. There were dirty socks from the previous guest, used soap on the sink and tub, and a rag for a doorknob on the back door.

It really just felt like this was a way for the owner to bring in cash for unsuspecting guests. For the price, some money should really be going back into the property. It appeared there were some "bandaid" repairs (example: new carpet over flooring that literally feels like you may fall through it). We are actually surprised this listing remains on VRBO

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michelle - Imagine our surprise when the first time we heard about your dislike for your accommodation was when this review was posted. We take peoples safety VERY seriously and had no idea the smoke detector was tampered with/missing. As you never informed us of this, or the other concerns you stated in your review, during your stay, there was nothing we could do to correct the situation. We can not correct what we do not know is 'wrong'. We do not use this cabin as a "a way for the owner to bring in cash for unsuspecting guests". As mentioned in the description and prior reviews, this is a very basic cabin, nothing fancy, and for that it is priced as such. Again, we thank you for staying, and wish you all the best on future travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Location!

  • 4 of 5

We were very satisfied with the location of the property and cleanliness of the house.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Susan! Thank you for your review! Glad to hear you and your family had a nice time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Warning! This place is a dump! Doesn't even deserve a star.

  • 1 of 5

Upon arrival we were disappointed. The place is a complete dump. We didn't consider staying when we opened the door. $600 down the drain. It was totally disgusting. I called to let them know we were dissatisfied to say the least and she asked what specifically did not meet our expectations. I simply said everything. There was absolutely nothing about this "rental" that I could say anything positive about. It smelled musty. The beds were unbelievably uncomfortable. The entire structure needs to be torn down. Problem is, it is located in an area ruined with other trashy yards and "houses". 5 dumpy cars right next door and junky RVs parked on both sides of the property. The lake view is a joke because the actual property ruins it. Hard to believe HomeAway allows this.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kathleen – Thank you for your honest review of our rental. Unfortunately we have a very different recollection of what was said during that phone conversation. I appreciate you posting your honest opinions here vs sharing them with me when we spoke. Wishing you all the best and hopefully you granddaughter was still able to catch some fish while you were there!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect for my kids and me

  • 4 of 5

This little place on the lake is VERY reasonably priced, ON the lake, has a great view and close to lots of options in the area. We had a few issues upon arrival, but Megan was prompt with help and happy to do so. The wi fi had changed but not the instructions (and worked great when connected), the instructions for how the TV works was missing (a bit complicated but we weren't there to watch tv!) and a couple of other very minor things. If you want the Ritz Carlton, look elsewhere and pay a LOT more. If you want something reasonable for 3-5 people this might be the best value on the lake.

Also, a couple of people who reviewed this place mentioned the obvious...get out ON the lake. Go rent a boat (preferably a pontoon) over at Burhops, which is the next bay over from Sunset. Also get a bit of firewood for the fire pit, and bring some chairs to sit around the fire at night.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lodi rental on the lake

  • 3 of 5

Our stay was for three nights with our four kids. The property suited our needs but probably wasn't what we expected as far as the condition of the house went. It was quite basic, older, nothing fancy at all. Small things like the doorknob on the bathroom door didn't function and made it impossible to close all the way. No working smoke detectors that I could see. Using the larger toaster oven would cause all of the electricity to go out in the cabin and this occurred 3-4 times in a row while heating up pizza for lunch so it would probably make it impossible to cook a meal? The house was built in 1945 according to the marketing flier that was present since the house is for sale. It was rather obvious that the home showed it's age. Back yard was very nice. Nice fire pit. Good fishing off the dock. Next door neighbors had music (radio) audibly playing outside (country music) almost the entire weekend. The gas grill looked nice but was not working properly and I had wanted to cook some fish we caught on the grill but no luck. I didn't call the landlord because that was the only meal we planned to use it for and it was too late by the time I learned this. The owner of the home was nice and very responsive if I ever had a need, like when we accidentally locked the keys inside when we went to dinner and she had it unlocked immediately. I am wondering if she maybe had a relative living or working right nearby? Again, the stay was fine, but probably not what we had expected.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2017

About Megan

As our family has been vacationing up in Lake Wisconsin since 1999, when this property came available it was an ideal situation! Our parents have a place in Sunset Bay as well but we realized we still spent more time at their place, so why not rent out a great private little get away for others!?! It is a wonderful setting, close to Madison, the Dells, Sauk City, Wollersheim Winery and so much more, that it allows you the chance to get away from it all and yet remain so close to everything!

Megan purchased this cabin in 2008

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hey Y'All! We have a blast! Too much work and not enough fun though! Weddings - they can do that!! This offered us the perfect spot to be close enough to help out with all last minute wedding plans, yet gave us some space to relax and enjoy too! Really enjoyed the stay and meeting you! May God bless and keep you in your little piece of Heaven!
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 20


Hillcrest on Lake Wisconsin -- CLOSED
"Great food and views! Fun place to dine!"
Sunset Bay Public Boat Launch
"Landing Type: RAMP Municipality: TOWN OF WEST POINT Number of Launch Lanes: 2 Launch Surf..."
Fitz's On the Lake
"Tradition in the area to enjoy great food with a scenic view of Lake Wisconsin; Fitz’s on th..."
Gibraltar Rock County Park
"State Highway 113, then west on County V one mile, then south on Gibraltar Rock Road 0.2 mil..."
"201 Junction Rd Madison, WI 53717 608-827-8800_"
Walmart Supercenter
"920 U.S. Hwy 12 Baraboo, WI 608-356-1765 A & W, Dollar Tree, and other shops located in cl..."
Merrimac Ferry
"Merrimac Ferry is Wisconsin's only FREE ferry! It crosses the Wisconsin River between Sauk a..."
Sunset Harbor Bar & Grill
"On the shores of beautiful Lake Wisconsin! This Bar & Grill has been in operation in the Lak..."
Wisconsin State Capitol
State Street
Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center
Camp Randall Stadium
Hooker's Resort
Olbrich Botanical Garden
Marcus Eastgate Cinema
"5202 High Crossing Boulevard Madison, WI 53718 (608) 242-2100 The Marcus Eastgate Cinema fe..."
Moosejaw Pizza & Dells Brewing Co.
Tanger Factory Outlet Center
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
"Water park, movie theater, and more!"
Public Swimming Pool
"Lodi Public Swimming Pool Goeres Park Fair Street Lodi, Wisconsin 53555 608-592-3247,..."
"1040 U.S. 12 Baraboo, WI 53913-1077 608-355-0685 Store Hours: Sunday: 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM Mo..."
Circus World Museum
Devil's Lake State Park
Lake Wisconsin Country Club
"N1076 Golf Road Prairie du Sac, WI 53578 To Golf: 608.643.2405 Dining: 608.643.4554 Open t..."
Wollersheim Winery, The
"The Wollersheim Winery of Prairie du Sac, Wisconsin, historic vineyard and producer of award..."
Devil's Head Resort
"Coin Laundry (Across from Piggly Wiggly) 806 N Main St Lodi, WI 53555 "
D&D Piggly Wiggly
"805 North Main Street Lodi, WI 53555-1261 608-592-7570 "
Fitz's On the Lake Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Sunset Bar and Grill
Nearest Point of Interest
Public Boat Launch
Nearest Point of Interest
Merrimac Ferry
Nearest Point of Interest
Merrimac Ferry / Ice Cream Stand
Nearest Point of Interest
Gibraltar Rock County Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Devil's Head Golf & Ski Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake WI Cabin Rental
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Piggly Wiggly-Grocery Store
Nearest Point of Interest
Public Swimming Pool
Nearest Point of Interest
Wollersheim Winery
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Wisconsin Country Club - Golf and Dining
Nearest Point of Interest
Baraboo Golf Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Devil's Lake State Park Entrance
Nearest Point of Interest
Circus World Museun
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Wal-Mart Supercenter
Nearest Point of Interest

Close to Wisconsin Dells, Madison, Spring Green, Devils Head Resort, Devil's Lake State Park, Cascade Mountain, Baraboo, Sauk City, Wollersheim Winery, Lake Wisconsin Country Club & Golf Course, Portage, Poynette, and so much more!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Rates based on 6 person occupancy. Additional charges apply for Extra Guests. $25 per guest/per day over 6 people. Maximum of 8 Guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties