Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Wesgate at Sugar Beach - FALL SPECIAL - only $130 per night !

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

A BEACHFRONT 2 bedroom/2 bath condominium

2017 FALL SPECIAL !

**BOOK 5 NIGHTS OR MORE FOR TRAVEL BETWEEN 9/1/17 and 10/31/17 at only $130.00 per night !! **

Why drive to the beach? Be ON the beach !

At The Wesgate at Sugar Beach, you'll be ground floor and beachfront...

Just 3 small steps from this condo to the white sand beach !

You'll get no closer to the water than here at 'The Wesgate'

Our 2 bedroom / 2 bath condo is less than 75 feet from the turquoise blue Caribbean.

There is a gate from the condo gallery (patio) directly onto the beach.

Strap on your snorkel gear and head into the water.

The snorkeling is great at our artificial reef just a short swim away from the beach.

We even provide the snorkel gear !

Pour a cool drink and relax under the swaying palms to the sound of gentle waves slapping the shore while being caressed by the warm island breeze.

The gallery is comfortably furnished for evening relaxation and al fresco dining.

This large outdoor living area has an unobstructed ocean view.

The Master Bedroom feature a King size bed and sliders doors open to the gallery providing a sea view right from your bed....wake to the sun rising over the shimmering Caribbean Sea...

The guest room features a Queen bed and sliders that open to a garden area view.

Need a little extra sleeping room? We even have a blow up mattress for your use.

The condo features central A/C should you need it...or just open the sliders and enjoy the offshore breeze.

Two bathrooms ( each with shower/1 with tub/shower combo) are stocked with plenty of towels, soap and shampoo.

The full kitchen has plenty of dishware, glasses and utensils and all major appliances including microwave,blender and even a Keurig coffee maker, so bring your favorite K-Cup favorites !

There is even a washer/dryer for your use.

The spacious living room has plenty of comfortable seating, dining for (4) and Cable TV, DVD and FREE WiFi

The sliders open to the gallery providing a fantastic breeze and view.

Sugar Beach is a beachfront, security patrolled complex located close to Christiansted for dining, shopping and sight seeing.

It has a fresh water pool with plenty of deck space, gas grills,basketball and tennis courts and direct beach access. There are 2 restaurant/bars within walking distance and 2 grocery stores that are a short drive.

A rental car is not a necessity but is recommended.

A selection of activity brochures will be available upon arrival or at the front desk. Prior to check in, be sure to ask for a link to our website for some great sightseeing and dining choices as well as our beach guide !

Ready for a cool drink in your hand and sea breeze in your hair?

Email me today to claim your spot on the sand at The Wesgate at Sugar Beach !

Ready to purchase your own little slice of Paradise?

Your Reservation Manager, Earl Parson is a licensed St Croix Real Estate Agent specializing in the representation of Buyers in Home and Condo Sales on St Croix.

Contact me today for more information !

More Details

Owner
Ben Achenbach or Earl Parson
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 16, 2017

About Ben Achenbach or Earl Parson

This property is proudly managed by Earl Parson and Ben Achenbach of R&R Realty. R&R Realty has cultivated it's niche in the St Croix Vacation Rental market by offering quality properties in great locations and a unwavering dedication to Customer Service and Guest Hospitality. Ben Achenbach is your Reservation Manager and will handle your St Croix Vacation from booking to check out...every step of the way ! Earl Parson oversees the Vacation Rental Program for R&R Realty, is a licensed REALTOR° specializing in the representation of Buyers in Home and Condo Sales and the 2018 President of the St Croix Board of REALTORS°

Why Ben Achenbach or Earl Parson chose USVI/St. Croix

Your owners live in Rochester, NY on Irondequoit Bay, but being in St. Croix right on the beach is their second home. The husband is a retired Ironworker and the wife retired also. She served on the board of Sugar Beach and he has worked on a number of committees to keep Sugar Beach a beautiful place. Their desire is make Sugar Beach your first choice in a vacation destination.

They purchased The Wesgate in 1982 and never thought they would be able to do it. But they had faith in their dream and here they are, 33 years later and loving St. Croix a much as they did 33 years ago.

What makes this condo unique

A Note from your Owners:

We love the restaurants on either side of our condo. When I do not feel like cooking, we just walk down the beach and enjoy. Having the kitchen fully equipped makes cooking on vacation a pleasure. The washer and dryer in the condo helps because we do not have to pack many clothes. Since all the towels, beach towels and linens are included , lighten the suit case, also. I love the K-cups and we have the machine for your use. Bring your favorite coffee. And for us women, there are hair dryers. The hot water on demand makes showers and washing and dishes washers work with no limit to hot water. Central air is there but I do not think you will need it because of the breeze, that is always blowing in.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have stayed in this condo many times. It is beautifully furnished, very well equipped and located at a great spot. I would recommend this condo to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation on the pristine beach. I am looking forward to going back very soon.
Feb 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Estate Golden Rock Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom # 1 Master - 1 king , California King
    Bedroom # 2 Guest - 1 queen
    Extra Sleepig - Blow up bed
  • (1) King bed in master bedroom , (1) Queen bed in guest bedroom, (2) Two Blow up beds , A Pak n Play is free upon request
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
The Wesgate at Sugar Beach - FALL SPECIAL - only $130 per night !
average rating of 3.75 based on 5 reviews
5

Wonderful location!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I stayed for 5 days and it was perfect! The private beach is beautiful. Breezez and The Golden Rail are just at the ends of the beach and both have great food. Not far from town and the people of St. Croix are amazing! Call Prince if you need a taxi, he's the best! We will be back and will stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anonymous! Thank you for the great review and we certainly hope you and your family will come stay with us again. Were glad you got a hold of Prince! Hes the best! Thanks again... Ben
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall, we were quite pleased.

  • 4 of 5

Nice location as a base for touring as well as going into Christiansted for various purposes. We got off to a rather rough start with a seriously leaking toilet as well as 2 to 6 roaches in every single kitchen drawer and cupboard. A can of Raid took care of that for the rest of our weeks. It took several days for Ben to get a plumber but it was taken care of.

The snorkeling was interesting in front. Beach walking was pretty good especially for chaney hunting. Sargasum was washing in by the wagons full - a late summer norm we understand. The fellows raking up the sea grass and sargasum did yeoman service and became excellent advisors on things local.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Larry! We apologize for the issues you had while staying in our unit. We assure you and future guests that those issues have been dealt with. We are happy you were able to enjoy the amazing snorkeling that is available two steps away as well as the experience of the island. We hope you consider us for future bookings on St. Croix. Thanks! Ben
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Easy Fix, But the opportunity to make things right was denied immediatly.

  • 1 of 5

We stayed here with friends week of April 17th. Overall, the location is wonderful and the property was fine with just a few maintenance details (nothing to get upset about) however; the ad clearly reads, snorkel gear included, maid service before and after stay. It's not reasonable to expect customers to stock your rental for you. The story is they just handed over management to another Realitor because of issues similar to what we encountered. We were the first renters under the new managment. The rooms were not cleaned. Hair on floor especially in the guest room against floor boards, roaches (dead and alive) in every room, silverware drawers had roach droppings in them we had to clean everything including the trays. We had roaches run across counters while cooking. One garbage bag in the whole place, No coffee filters, One bed had blood spotted sheets and was clearly NOT clean linens (they just made the bed from last tenants) We had to do laundry first night... No laundry soap. Privacy doors were off the track and we had to re-hang them. There was no gate key to the rear patio so we had to wait for the Realitor to arrive to get it open. One bathroom was absolutely soiled and not cleaned. Our friends had to clean it before they could use it (toilet was terrible). We were reimbursed for 2 sets of snorkeling gear that we bought and zero attempt was made to compensate us for the hassle of stocking thier rental for them. We left it in way better shape then we found it. We fail to see why it was us, the customer, that had to deal with the shortcomings of their previous management here in St. Croix. An olive branch was needed here because of what we walked into...but we got a resounding "sorry about your luck" This was our second stay at Sugar Beach but we wouldn't have returned if this would have been our first experience. We don't get much time away & we sure didn't expect to spend a day of our vacation hunting for supplies that are advertised to be included. More than the issues, it was the manner in which we were told "she's not willing to do anything to make it right" that pissed us all off. Clearly, previous management was lacking and they hired a new manager to fix it. But, they should not have rented the unit until all issues were fixed. This was a lot of money for us and we expected some compensation!! They EARNED this review, they were given the chance to make things right and flat out stuck us.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Benton, I humbly apologize for the issues you experienced while trying to get away and have a vacation. We did not want you to be dissatisfied with your stay and wish we would have been able to rectify these issues while you were there. Unfortunately being in the midst of a transitional period cleaning procedure wasn't held to our standards and certain details were not attended to. We did use your feedback to resolve everything mentioned and appreciate your communication of these issues to us. Thanks again Benton Ben
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Clay, New York
5

March getaway

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the Westgate condo for the month of March 2016. We loved everything about the condo and also the island of St Croix. The condo was more than adequately supplied with everything you would need in the kitchen. Being on the ground floor we had easy access to the water. Just had to open the gate and walk about 30 ft and you could be in the water. The breeze blowing through the condo was terrific. We did not have to use the air conditioner once. It was wonderful to go to sleep hearing the waves crash all night long along with the amazing breeze. We loved this condo so much we are planning on returning next year. We have traveled to many different islands and St Croix is one of our favorites along with Hawaii which is a much further distance. The island of St Croix is a wonderful place to have a nice quiet, relaxing vacation which is what we look for when we vacation. If you want a laid back place to visit, St Croix is the island to choose. I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends. The only thing that takes a little getting used to is driving on the opposite side of the road. If you don't rent a car there are a couple of supermarkets within a half to three quarter mile away.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Estate Whim Plantation Museum
St. George Village Botanical Garden
Captain Morgan Rum Distillery
Rowdy Joe's
Gov. Juan F. Luis Hospital & Medical Center
"I received great care when I was ill."
La Reine Chicken Shack
"The best Chicken you ever eat."
Cane Bay Beach
RumRunners
Mount Pellier Hut Domino Club
"This is a must do on your vacation. Feed the pigs."
Rainbow Beach Club
"Eat at the Restaurant and swim at the beach. This is living."
Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Henry Rohlson Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Breezez & Seinis Golden Rail
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Christiansted
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
The Buccaneer
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Breezez & Seinis Golden Rail
Nearest Beach
Sugar Beach - onsite
Car: recommended

Sugar Beach is located conveniently close to Christiansted for shopping, dining and sight seeing, but is an amazingly private location. Since the island is only 27 miles long and 7 miles wide, you are just a short distance from everything.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $250

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed

Please add 12.5% for VI Hotel Tax

VRBO now adds a service fee to the traveler.This fee is calculated on a sliding scale of 4% to 10% of the total booking. The charge applies to the cost of the rental and will not exceed $499

A $250.00 refundable damage deposit is required for this property.

Cancellation Policy is 60 days prior to check in for full refund

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.