Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stylish corner 1BR apartment on Nob Hill, great location

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 30 nights


About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This gorgeous apartment is a part of San Francisco history and is located in the same building where writer Dashiell Hammett wrote The Maltese Falcon. It's located at the corner of Leavenworth and Sacramento Streets, 1 block from Grace Cathedral and in the same neighborhood as luxury hotels renting for $400+ per night. You can have your own luxurious Nob Hill neighborhood experience at a fraction of that price, while enjoying all the amenities of home.

This one bedroom 520 sq. ft. unit is furnished with elegant antiques, oriental rugs, and a wonderful ultra-plush pillow-top queen bed. Hardwood floors throughout, high ceilings, and bay windows give this sunny corner unit a classic San Francisco look and a bright and airy feel.

The newly remodeled granite / cherry / stainless steel gourmet kitchen features a host of amenities, including all new gas range, refrigerator, dishwasher, and microwave oven. The kitchen is fully equipped for cooking and dining, including Calphalon cookware. The eat-in kitchen and living room are combined into one space for a more open feel.

This unit comfortably accommodates up to four guests with the Queen bed in the bedroom plus a sleeper sofa with new foam mattress in the living room. A charming wire cage elevator and laundry service in the basement provide added convenience.

Highlights of this unit's features:

- Free WiFi internet + cable TV + US long distance phone service

- TV and entertainment system with CD/DVD player and iPod hookup

- Elevator in building (the apartment is on the 2nd floor for easy walkup as well)

- Fabulous roof deck with 360 degree views of the city skyline and the Golden Gate Bridge

- Laundry in basement

- Bathrobes and all linens / towels provided

- Iron and ironing board

Location, Location, Location!


Our apartment really IS centrally located:

- 1 block to California and Hyde Street cable car lines

- 1 block to Grace Cathedral

- 2-3 blocks to Fairmont, Mark Hopkins, and Huntington Hotels

- 3 blocks to shopping, restaurants, and nightclubs

- 8 blocks to fashionable Union Square with theaters, shopping, and dining

- 2 blocks to Trader Joe's

- 1 block to smaller full service grocery store

- Convenience store across the street

- 10 minutes by cable car to Lombard 'crookedest' street

- 15 minutes by cable car to Pier 39 / Fisherman's Wharf / Ghirardelli Square

Please note: a one-time cleaning charge applies to each reservation.

Keywords: Classy one bedroom apartment on Nob Hill

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 30, 2017

About The Owner

Silicon Valley computer executive + travel & tourism entrepreneur

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2007

Why The Owner chose Downtown

Excellent neighborhood. Convenient to places we like to visit while in San Francisco. Close to grocery stores, restaurants and bars, popular shopping areas, fancy hotels, and a nice park.


Downtown Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Wonderful roof top deck with views of city skyline and Golden Gate Bridge. Elevator in building.


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
Stylish corner 1BR apartment on Nob Hill, great location
average rating of 4.133333 based on 15 reviews


  • 4 of 5

Nice building in a convenient location. The main area living room, kitchen eating area are spacious and comfortably furnished. It is a very comfortable apartment to base a San Francisco stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time I have stayed at this property. It's a great location, close to cable car stop, shops and restaurants. The roof deck has great views. The owners of this property are a pleasure to deal with.

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2014
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Wonderful Stay

  • 4 of 5

We had a very nice stay at this apartment. Clean and pretty. Well located to catch bus or cable cars or short walks to Union Square and Chinatown. Good access to groceries and some small fun restaurants. Owner worked with us on some special arrangements and responded to emails in a timely manner. We would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 5
Kansas City MO

Winter escape

  • 3 of 5

Excellent location. Very centrally located. We bought MUNI passes at the airport and went all over the place on public transportation. The bus is right in front and 1 block over is the cable car. The MUNI pass is also for the street cars. We went to Golden Gate Park (DeYoung Museum), Davies Symphony Hall, The Farmers Market at The Ferry Building and Fisherman's Wharf (Scoma's Restaurant) all by public tranportation. We ate at Nob Hill Cafe and my wife had a spa day at Nob Hill Spa, each within walking distance. We even ran into someone we know from home, on the streets of San Francisco! Trader Joe's is the best grocery store close by at 3 blocks away (although a woman there hit me up for cash in exchange for her food stamps).

Noisy, yes. I won't lie. It's not quiet, but you are in a very metropolitan area. After about 10pm it is much quieter. And, all the hot water you want. My wife takes long, hot showers and she never ran out of hot water!

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: February 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Los Angeles

Fantastic stay.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this beautiful apartment for several days to celebrate our anniversary in San Francisco. I am so glad we decided to stay here vs. a hotel. The apartment is in a great location, close to everything with easy transportation. The apartment itself is elegant and well appointed. It has charming crown molding throughout the unit and a pretty bay window. There are beautiful antiques throughout the unit and very nice oriental carpets on the floor. Very tastefully decorated. We have stayed in other rental apartments in the U.S. and abroad and this unit is by far the nicest. Very charming, comfortable and a great value. We highly recommend! Thanks for the great stay!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 6
Hampshire, UK

Not recommended

  • 1 of 5

Reading some reviews would lead you to believe this is a cosy, antique-laden hideaway in a pretty part of Nob Hill. It isn't. It is dilapidated, not very clean, and situated on a busy corner where the passage of people, trolley buses and trucks bring a level of noise through the ancient windows that is, on occasion deafening.

The photographs of the apartment are flattering. They don't show that the few windows that are not completely obscured by trees are clouded by street grime. Nor the layers of dirt on the louvre blinds and paintwork or the dust in corners of the rooms. It appears that the rooms were reconfigured for photographic purposes because the layout is quite different now.

Because something is old, doesn't make it antique. A delaminating and rusting bath is unpleasant; peeling paintwork may be passed off as shabby chic but it isn't good in a bathroom. A curtain arrangement round the bath that feels like showering in a plastic bag is awkward and uncomfortable. 'Antique' dressers with drawers that require brute force to open and contain evidence of previous guests are not 'cute'. Door locks that require the skills of an experienced burglar even with the keys are simply inconvenient.

Minimum equipment is provided, no hand soap and a paucity of cleaning materials stowed under the kitchen sink alongside a used lavatory brush. When we asked about an electric kettle we were told they were sold in local stores if we wanted to buy one - nice. But entirely in character - the owners recommend their guests ask the concierges of Nob Hill hotels for local information rather than offering the suggestions that we received everywhere else on our travels.

The noise in the apartment makes it impossible to spend an evening in (one reason for renting for a week). The building is old with sash windows that don't baffle the noise at all. The corner is a stopping point on a busy trolley-bus route. Chico's Market across the road is a magnet for all the loud people in the area. There’s constant traffic noise and a the local fire truck passes several times a day, sirens blaring. Internal noise is not much better. Guests are asked to avoid disturbing the residents of the building - a courtesy that is not reciprocated. Noise travels through the walls and floors and a window that looks on to what appears to be an internal ventilation shaft.

It will come as no surprise that we would not recommend this apartment to our friends - or even people we don't like very much.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This woman rented an apartment in the middle of the city and then complained about traffic and pedestrians, as though we were supposed to block the streets off during her visit. She rented an apartment with character in a 100 year old building in a charming residential neighborhood and then complained that the windows were old. (All the windows work perfectly.) She complained there was no tea kettle, when there was one sitting in the middle of the stove, albeit an artful one not a $10 KMart model. She complained that there are trees on our street. She got a 10% discount off our normal rate and expected the place to be a new construction luxury apartment. And on and on. The apartment that will satisfy her is not available at the price she is willing to pay, if it exists at all. We try hard to please all our guests and accommodate their needs whenever possible, including early check-in, late check-out, etc. I'm sorry we could not please this guest. Our other guests' reviews and high occupancy rate are testimony to the value and enjoyability our apartment offers in an excellent and convenient location in Nob Hill.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 4



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Insurance $59


No smoking or pets, evidence of smoking or pets in the apartment will result in a claim against the security deposit or damage waiver policy for cleaning expense of up to $400.

Fully refundable up to 45 days before check-in. Cancellations within 45 days of check-in forfeit nightly rental fee + tax; deposit and cleaning fee will be refunded. Rental fee can be applied toward a future visit within 1 year of original check-in date.

Please indicate your acceptance of the above terms in your request to book so that we may confirm your reservation more quickly. Thank you very much for your interest in our apartment!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.