Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beachfront Home with Sunrise & Mt. Baker Views

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Great Family Beachfront Home where you can watch the sun rise over majestic Mt. Baker, stroll the long beach or just relax in one of the lounge chairs on the patio. This beach is noted for agate hunting and is a great spot to start your kayaking trip. Children love to make forts from the driftwood on the beach

The home has been remodeled yet still retains the cozy atmosphere of 'Grandma's Beach House'. It comes with everything needed for a fun getaway. The kids can play on the beach and the parents can watch from the patio. The Kitchen has been totally remodeled and the furniture almost all new. There is a large Family Room, Living Room with Queen Sleeper Sofa, Master Bedroom with Queen Size Bed and guest bedroom with 2 Twin Beds and 2 baths. It comes with BBQ,TV,DVD,VCR, picnic tables & lounge chairs. The home has a delightful history which we have set down in writing for you to enjoy. SECOND BATH REMODELED THIS YEAR. PET FRIENDLY

Keywords: House

More Details

Property Manager
Virginia Barry
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 9, 2018


Lummi Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen Sleeper Sofa
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
7 Minute Ferry Ride and 6 miles to Casino


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beachfront Home with Sunrise & Mt. Baker Views
average rating of 4.9130435 based on 23 reviews

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Great house - great location - great hosts! We will be back!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very well hosted with everything you need, super clean and the linens so lovely.

  • 3 of 5

We planned this getaway as a mini honeymoon after our wedding on Christmas eve. The home was very well cared for and cozy. The owner had turned on the living room gas fireplace and got the front end of the house warm when we arrived late into the evening. We had super easy access, well written instructions. Unfortunately I had gotten food poisoning and our first night was not fun, I needed to get to the doctor and we were worried my new husband was the next person to get ill. We only stayed one out of the two nights booked. Haven't heard a response yet from owner if we might get a refund for the other night not used. We couldn't sleep in the bedrooms because there was no heat via the baseboards (which smelled as if they were going to catch on fire) and we couldn't get the portable heaters going. We both slept in the living room close to the gas fireplace. It was unfortunate experience. This place would be better in the summer. Again the house is outfitted with everything and an adorable "Bar" area but the heat issue in the bedrooms for winter use definitely needs to be addressed.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I went over and checked the heat in the bedrooms. There is no thermostat as they are electric baseboard and each one has a knob on it to adjust the heat. They were working just fine. I could detect no smell from them. I don't understand what might have gone on that you did not get any heat. I have had many guests stay at the home during the winter with no problems. I am also available to correct any issues that might arise. I wish I had known, I would have sent someone over to take a look. I know it is disappointing when you have to cancel. We do have a cancellation policy and it is posted on the site. I have to adhere to it. It is 60 days for full refund.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property/home was well maintained; and everything we expected/hoped for

  • 5 of 5

Our over-all experience with this property was 5 star; it met our expectations/requirements completely. Home was well equipped with needed amenities and the personal touches and information provided through out were a very nice addition.

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great open space and you have the best view of Baker

  • 5 of 5

Had a great stay with my family. Plenty of space and great open kitchen. Loved being right on the water!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

Lummi Island, Grandma's Beach House: a well-cared for, beautifully appointed and sited house.

  • 5 of 5

Virginia Barry has put together an artful, comfortable house on Lummi Island and we enjoyed a three night respite there midweek in early August. Everything we could have wanted or needed was provided as a matter of course. The setting, with views of Mount Baker, was icing on the cake. We marveled at the quiet and at the soothing sounds of water lap-lapping on the shore. We looked forward to daily deer sightings and to star-gazing at night, far from city lights.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The best beach on the Island!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at "Grandma's Cottage " on Lummi Island. The Cottage was well stocked with all the comforts of home. We only needed our food and clothes. We spent most of our time walking the beach and enjoying the incredible scenery. Evenings were spent playing cards, laughing and making memories. This was a wonderful place to relax and step back from the worries of the world. Nicely decorated, comfy beds and plenty of areas for visiting. Every Grandma should have a cottage, even if it is for just a weekend!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Beach Store Cafe
Great food and a fun place to meet other vacationers and the locals. Bar available. Music ...
Willows Inn
Rated by the New York Times as one of the 10 best restaurants in the world worth flying to. ...
Car: necessary

Casino, 7 minute ferry ride then approximately 6 miles. Hike to the top of Lummi Mt. and get an absolutely spectacular view. There are quite a few walking trails in the area. Bring your hand held GSP and go Geocaching. It is a great 'scavenger hunt' for adults and children.




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $141.05
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $20
Service $75 + Tax
Pet Fee per night per pe $20 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.5%

Cancellation is 60 days before arrival. Within 60 days you may rebook up to 6 months or if I can rebook your dates I will refund with $50 fee. Bike and kayak rentals available. Book early as they go fast. Good hiking trail and several walking trails. This is an Artist's Island with many venues. Artist's Tour Memorial Day and Labor Day weekends. Well worth going to. Peak Season also includes Thanksgiving and Christmas weeks.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.