Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Hayward/Minong Area - 'Chalet' for Rent on Big Bass Lake

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

MID JUNE - LATE AUGUST THIS PROPERTY WILL RENT BY THE 'WEEK' ONLY, FROM 9AM SATURDAY TO Noon FRIDAY (7 days/6 nights). Friday night the property will also be available for check-in by 7PM for an additional $250 fee (you must let us know at least one week prior to your stay if you wish to book Fri night).

Spectacular, Non-Smoking, Cedar 'Chalet' on very private 202 Acre Big Bass Lake. Sleeps 12 Max. Five miles west of Minong, Wisconsin; 20 miles west of Hayward, Wisconsin. Great private sandy beach with very gradual depth - perfect for kids of all ages (don't be fooled by other properties that are vague when describing their 'beach'). Notice the very low listing number of our property - which means we've been renting this home exclusively as a vacation rental longer than almost anyone in the area (and it is properly licensed with the state and county for rental purposes, it is properly insured as a rental, etc. - many properties are not since they are often owner occupied much of the year). Plus, we have a Property Manager/Handyman NEARBY. If you have ANY issues that arise during your stay our local Property Manager is here to help address your issue PROMPTLY. For more pictures and information on this property including testimonials from dozens of satisfied renters, please go online to haywardvacationrentalsdotcom. We want you to be assured that you are booking a quality property that is everything it is advertised to be.

New Golf Course, Public Beach (w/boat landing) nearby and miles of ATV & Snowmobile trails surrounding. Great lake, with crystal clear water, for waterskiing/jet skiing. One seasonal neighbor to the east, but NO neighbors to the west (over 1000 feet of vacant lakeshore).

Beautifully landscaped yard with three rock retaining walls, new sod, brick walkways, and a huge stainless steel firepit overlooking the lake. Take the steps straight down to the lake and new dock. Canoe, oversize swim raft and paddleboat included. Pontoon, fishing boat/motor also available for rental.

Interior is immaculate and very tastefully decorated. Pine ceilings and hardwood floors in great room, fireplace, attached gazebo with lake view and nice patio/lawn furniture set. Ceramic tile in all three full bathrooms (one on each level and one with new 6' jacuzzi tub). This place has it all, too much to mention.

You will be hard pressed to find a finer vacation home in the area. Bedroom Layout: King (firm) in upper master suite, king and queen on main level, king (softer) and queen (firm) in walk-out basement, as well as a new bunk bed with a full size mattress on bottom and twin on top in the basement. Basement is completely finished except for the floor that we have chosen to keep as cement for now (as that floor is very snow, sand and pet friendly down there as you enter the home from the lake).

Pet Policy: Pets are not allowed Memorial Day-Labor Day. Otherwise 1 or 2 dogs allowed, WITH PRIOR APPROVAL, but pets are only allowed in the basement which walks out to the lake (our lab loved it down there), due to pet allergies in our family (and for other renters with pet allergies). Cats not permitted. Dogs must be kept off of all furniture/bedding, pet waste disposed of properly and dogs are not allowed to go #1 or #2 in the very nice yard/lawn area between the home and water (ruins grass). Dogs are NOT allowed on upper two levels and you are expected to vacuum up the majority of pet hair prior to departure or a separate cleaning fee will apply. Other basic pet rules apply such as no barking allowed, no pet trespassing at neighbors, pick up pet waste, the normal 'common sense' rules that go hand-in-hand with being a respectful pet owner at a rental property.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 19, 2017

About The Owner

Our future owners of this property... With such an ideal, secluded location this vacation property is a diamond in the rough, for year-round fun, fishing, swimming, boating, snowmobiling and much more. Book today!

The Owner purchased this house in 2002

Why The Owner chose Northwest

You won't know until you book a stay...

What makes this house unique

Very secluded, quiet location on a dead end road in the heart of the northwoods...and perfect sunsets you'll never forget right from the deck/dock!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for letting us use your beautiful cabin. Everything was perfect for us. The weather was unbelievable, 83 – 85 degrees everyday. Fishing for Bluegills off the dock was super. Swimming’s great. Surely must be the greatest spot in the north.
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 29

Amenities

Minong House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 9:00 AM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Toddler Firetruck Bed (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Fireplace with Log Mantle, Central Air, Direct TV, VCRs, 4-5 DVD Players, Pizza Oven, Filtered Water, Coffemaker, ALL LINENS, FULLY STOCKED KITCHEN WITH EVERY COOKING UTENSIL/APPLIANCE PROVIDED, Charcoal Grill, ADT Security System, Canoe, 4 person commercial paddleboat, swim raft and dock, Outdoor and indoor dog kennels, 3 Season screen porch/gazebo, horseshoe pits, electronic dartboard, outdoor hammock, TVs/VCRs and DVDs in 3 bedrooms and Great Room and in newly finished basement near pool table/rec room area (great for kids), Many DVDs on site, Free High Speed Wireless Year-Round, Amenities subject to change without notice, Boat/pontoon subject to mechanical availability, Pet friendly Sept-May only - and pets are NOT allowed on any furniture and are ONLY allowed in the basement that walks out to the lake (they are NOT allowed on the 2 Upper Levels and there is a 4th 'pet friendly bedroom' which walks out to the lake)

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Hayward/Minong Area - 'Chalet' for Rent on Big Bass Lake
average rating of 4.822222 based on 74 reviews
5

Great Fall Get Away!

  • 5 of 5

This property was perfect for what we wanted. It was very secluded and peaceful. The view of the lake was amazing from the wrap around deck and if it is a clear evening,gorgeous sunsets! Picture perfect. We spent lazy days relaxing in the spacious home. Plenty of room for us and our 3 teens. The boys loved challenging each other to table tennis. The fireplace is awesome and very cozy to gather around. Beds were all very comfortable, not something we find very often in rentals. (We rent quite a bit)

I can't say enough about the seclusion, especially this time of year. Not one person around and no car traffic at all. We took hikes and hung outside a lot, just taking in the views.

The area was great too! Just a short drive into Minong for shopping and dinner. We took a day trip up to Duluth as well. Very close to Hayward for another day of shopping.

Kathy and Jason were great to work with and very responsive to messages from us. Check in and out was very clear and communication very good.

We look forward to staying here again sometime! Thanks

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Minneapolis, MN USA
5

Guys Weekend

  • 5 of 5

I just recently returned from a 3 night guys weekend with 4 other buddies at this house and we are already talking about going back next year.

The owners are awesome folks to work with. Any question was answered quickly and often with a sense of humor. Hopefully I can share a bit of whiskey with them in the future!

The house itself was perfect for our needs, with beds for everyone, a game room, big screen TV, a great deck which we were able to take advantage of with the unseasonably warm weather. Nothing like playing bags outside in February.

One thing to be aware of is that the internet is on the slow side. It did not impact anything, but it was difficult for more than one person at a time to check emails. If you have teenagers who would not know what to do if they were not connected, this could cause some issues in paradise.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5

I had a great time at the cabin. Everything was nice and clean and ready for us when we arrived. There was easy access to the lake. Wasn't a very busy weekend up there which was nice that we had pretty much the whole lake to ourselves all weekend. Everything at the cabin was great, it was very comfortable with all the space the cabin had!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great winter destination

  • 5 of 5

The ice fishing was good, but the cabin was better than expected. The owners were a phone call away and even had firewood ready for us. We had a great stay with the company some friends, and will surely return.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Certainly not what we expected!!

  • 1 of 5

We rented this property for a fall weekend getaway. After reading reviews and the description of the property by the owner we felt confident it was a well maintained, clean property. That was NOT the case. This property had a few nice updates like the new windows and pine interior siding but make no mistake by the photos that the rest of the property is not what it looks like. We took several pictures but we were unable to post in our review. The first thing we saw when we get to the property is a note indicating if EVERYTHING is not in like new condition to call them. We were overwhelmed....where would we start. We didn't complain for fear we may not get our deposit back which is why this review comes so late. We waited until we received our deposit back. There is a reason there are no pictures of all bathrooms on there site. They are run down and had black mold in the showers. In the loft shower there was a note on shower door to "please do not move shower head...it may cause a leak in the wall". Fireplace....I'm surprised another renter used it because we had a note telling us not to use the fireplace for insurance reasons. We were told a gas grill... no gas grill...charcoal grill! Outdated televisions, appliances, and a dishwasher that we didn't even want to use for dishes! There was no smoke alarm in the loft bedroom, that's illegal and dangerous!! When stripping the beds before we left we noticed that one of the bed frames was broken and to fix it they used a cement block. Then to top off our dissappointment the owners had the nerve to tell us if we gave them a 5 star review that we would get a $20 bill! Needless to say we were disappointed....I would not recommend this vrbo!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Where do I begin? I'm not even going to dignify their individual complaints with a response. It seems every couple years we get one of these kinds of renters, unfortunately. They don't say one word at checkin about anything being wrong/dirty/broken - or complain about anything during their stay - and then they have a great stay. Weeks later after they get their deposit back (which of course they got 100% back - like almost all our renters do) THEN they come up with a bunch of bogus lies and DEMAND a full refund and threaten to write a crummy review if we don't give them all their money back. So of course I told them sorry you are not getting a refund - if you had any issues you should of told us at checkin - which we make CRYSTAL clear - that is the time to voice any concerns. TOTAL SCAMMERS. Just read all of our other great reviews from this Summer/Fall. Yes I do offer $20 to encourage people to post a nice review - since everyone loves this property. If I really wanted to 'bribe' them to write 5 star reviews I would offer a LOT more than $20 - it's just a little thank you for folks taking the time out of their busy day to post a quick review. Unfortunately, the folks at vrbo are extremely inflexible to deal with and don't investigate lying renters who try to extort landlords - I guess that's just a function of a website that is trying to service both landlords and travelers. If you have ANY questions about the quality of our home or the high level service we provide just give us a call and we can send you a half dozen recent excellent references from good folks who don't try to extort us vrbo landlords. Thanks for taking the time to read our response and beware of the SCAMMERS from SD!
Did you find this review helpful?
17 2
5

Beautiful place on big bass lake

  • 5 of 5

This was a 4 generation vacation. What a beautiful place! It has everything you need and want . Kaylee is 1 1/2. She loved sitting on the steps watching the fish. I delt with Kathy and everything went so smooth. The up keep and the few was fantastic. It was easy to get to Hayward to shop...great places to eat if you don't want to cook. All I have to say is beautiful place and wold highly recommend to everyone

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Duluth, MN
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Gruzy's Buck-N-Wing
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Black Bear Golf & Tennis
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Hwy 77
Nearest Beach
Right at the Dock
Car: recommended

Excellent Canoeing on Namekagon River just 5 minutes away (St, Croix National Scenic Riverway), Several Golf Courses less than 20 minutes away (Black Bear is 5 minutes away), Great Fishing on Big Bass Lake and surrounding lakes (fishing boat/motor has trailer), Wildlife Viewing (Lots of Eagles, Deer, Bear, Loons, Geese, etc, ), Great Swimming ON SITE ON THE SANDY BEACH WITH VERY GRADUAL DEPTH, GREAT FOR KIDS OF ALL AGES, very few weeds (don't be fooled by many other properties that are 'vague' when describing their 'beach' - or others that don't mention the 'swimmers itch' that some other lakes near Hayward can get -it could ruin your vacation), Boating on Lake Superior just 45 minutes away, 4-Wheeling, lots of local festivals/activities including the Birkebeiner cross-country ski race, Hayward Muskyfest and Lumberjack festivals, Spooner Rodeo, Minong Summerdays just to name a few

Photos

Rates & Availability

Minong House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
July - Aug 2017
Jul 15 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$3,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
End Summer 2017
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.5%

SEE BELOW OR OUR RENTAL AGREEMENT FOR CANCELLATION POLICY (WE DO INDEED PERMIT CANCELLATIONS - BUT VRBO ONLY GIVES US A FEW PREWRITTEN OPTIONS TO CHOOSE FROM ON THEIR MENU - NONE OF WHICH APPLY TO OUR PROPERTY - THEY DO NOT GIVE US THE OPTION TO STATE OUR POLICY IN DETAIL IN THE CANCELLATION SECTION EITHER, UNFORTUNATELY). CANCELLATION POLICY: FULL REFUND IF 120+ DAY NOTICE PROVIDED, MINUS $100 REBOOKING FEE DEDUCTED FROM DEPOSIT. IF LESS THAN 120 DAY NOTICE PROVIDED THEN DEPOSIT IS FORFEITED AND YOU ARE STILL RESPONSIBLE FOR 80% OF THE RENTAL AMOUNT IF THE PROPERTY CANNOT BE RENTED TO ANOTHER PARTY (in 10+ years we have always been able to re-rent the home as long as plenty of notice is given - especially in the Summer months). Additional Charge applies for parties of 5 or more - inquire for details - additional charge varies based on time of year. FROM MID JUNE TO LATE AUGUST THIS PROPERTY ONLY RENTS BY THE 'WEEK' WHICH RUNS FROM 9AM SAT CHECKIN TO NOON FRIDAY CHECKOUT - NO EXCEPTIONS SORRY - DUE TO CLEANING STAFF SCHEDULE.

Damage Deposit Due Immediately to Confirm Reservation (via check which we cash immediately - or via credit card for additional fee). 99% Full Damage Deposits returned as of Dec 2016. You will have to sign/return our Rental Agreement to confirm your reservation as well. You can find this at www.haywardvacationrentals.com Payment is due 90 days in advance for summer and 30 days for off season.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable