Sleeps 6. 2 Bedrooms. 2 Baths.
- english, italian, greek
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Look elsewhere. This one is a dud. Smells like paint fumes.
The owner has some nice reviews here, but something must have changed. We found her to be dishonest and unhelpful. She still has not sent the money she promised as compensation, despite several requests.
The house itself could be nice, but it smelled of paint fumes and we had to air it out for an hour when we arrived. One mattress is comfortable, but the other is basically a box-spring. The comforters on the beds are for single beds, but the beds are double (two single mattresses pushed together). The sheets are polyester. The furniture upstairs in the living room is nice. The kitchen is like someone went to a garage sale and just bought a large box of kitchen-like stuff without much thought about what kind of stuff -- mostly it is silverware. Some of the pots are rusted on the inside.
The house had been vacant for nearly two months prior to our arrival and because it is old, dirt and debris from the ceiling was sprinkled on most surfaces. The beds were not made. The linens were tucked away in a drawer somewhere. There were no bath towels.
We cleaned the place ourselves, made the beds, took several trips to the vodafone store to get a data plan for my phone, which I used as a router, bought bath towels for ourselves, turned on the refrigerator and waited for it to get cool before we could use it.
The wireless (which used to be in the description) was a big reason we chose this property because I needed to work while in Skopelos. It was not working because the owner's husband had taken the router with him when he left. The owner's response was for us to fix it ourselves.
To be fair, the owner had been called away on a family emergency, but it is not an excuse for leaving a dirty house when it could have been cleaned by someone in town prior to our arrival. The owner kept offering to have someone clean it, but by then we had already cleaned it ourselves. She made no offer to fix the wireless router. Or rather, she did but when I asked her to actually do it, she made up a lot of excuses and eventually did nothing. She offered to refund the cleaning fee and compensate us for the money we spent at vodafone. We have received no money despite several requests.
On the plus side, the house is well situated in town, the air conditioning is superb, and the neighbors are friendly.
Mad people, and really, really unpolite. My parents had an accident with their car here in Italy, so I could not go to Skopelos in time. I send a friend of mine to lead the family to the house and show them everything. He was ALWAYS available to go there for anything they could need, but they ALWAYS SAID NO, we will arrange everything on our own. They made problems with the cleaning: the house had been cleand just a few days before, maybe there was a little dust from the outside because I asked my friend to open the window and air the rooms. I said them, do you want a new cleaning (obviously without paying anything more)? They said, NO. They mad proboems with the internet: I said them, it is a traditional house with thick walls, so the internet works better on the last floor (the one with the view); anyway, it is not an internet whit which you can work all day long. There are a lot of cafes with free wifi on the port promenade, if you need a faster internet all day long, please go there. I wrote them every day, sorry for everything but my parents are not well, but they answered that they wanted 400 euros back (for what??????) because in US they gained 100 euros for each hour of work (are not they mad????). Obviously, I answered no, because I had sent them so many messages and my friend was so available but they had always said no. If yoi read all the other reviews, you will understand that these people is not normal. It was the first time, and I hope the last, I had so unpleasant guests.
It was a dream !
I stayed a week in this beautifully and tastily restored old town house. Nothing is missing in this house to make your life great. The view from the living room on the last floor is really beautiful and it was a real joy to stay in this house.
Many thanks to Alessandra and Achilles for their kindness and their great hospitality. I regret not having been able to see them more but it will be for the next time without doubt.
Dear Jean, you are the kindness made person! We wouldn't desire a best guest and a best person to talk with.. a cultivated person, a real "traveller". We really hope to meet you again, anywhere you prefer. With our best regards, Alessandra and Achilleas.
Superbe maison, belle situation
Très jolie maison ancienne sur 3 niveaux, tres bien équipée
Située a 10 mns a pied du port, superbe vue du grand balcon
Accueil attentionné et bons conseils
Perfect guests. So gentle. I really would be very happy to have them again in the house. Thank you for enjoying your stay!
Wunderschöne Unterkunft in Altstadt
Wir haben mit unseren Töchtern (16 und 19) eine herrliche Woche in der Unterkunft verbracht. Das Haus liegt mitten in der Altstadt, alles ist fußläufig erreichbar und trotzdem war es nachts total ruhig. Die Angaben im Internet entsprachen absolut der Realität. Das Haus ist ausgesprochen liebevoll und individuell eingerichtet, vom Balkon hat man einen tollen Blick über das Meer. Die drei Etagen im Inneren sind über steile Holztreppen verbunden, das ist vermutlich nichts für kleine Kinder oder gebrechliche Menschen.
Alessandra und Achilleas sind wunderbare Gastgeber. Wir haben uns sehr wohl dort gefühlt und können die Unterkunft nur wärmstens empfehlen.
Thank you so much, Birgit, for what you wrote about you stay in the House and about us. We knew you and husband had the culture and the sensitiveness to understand the unique atmosphere of this House and of the town and the island of Skopelos. It is always a pleasure to know people like you.. I really hope we'll meet again, here or in Germany! And I will send you my books, of course :)
Alessandra and Achilleas
Traumhafte Lage, sehr schönes Haus
Ein sehr schönes, frisch renoviertes Haus mitten im schönen Städtchen Skopelos.
Sehr nette Vermieter, welche wirklich sehr bemüht sind den Aufenthalt zu einer tollen, angenehmen Zeit zu machen. Ein grosser Salon in der obersten Etage mit Balkon und traumhaftem Blick über die Bucht lädt auch mal dazu ein einfach nur "zuhause" zu bleiben. Die Ausstattung ließ keine Wünsche offen, alle Räume sind dazu noch mit Klimaanlagen ausgestattet.
Wir reisten als 4-köpfige Familie und hatten mehr als ausreichend Platz.
Auch das Badezimmer war von angenehmer Größe, sodass man sich nicht gegenseitig auf die Zehen tritt.
Wir können diese Unterkunft nur wärmstens empfehlen.
Thank you very much for your hospitality Alessandra and Achilleas!
Thank you so much for what you wrote about us and the House! you are the perfect guests to have, we couldn't imagine to have people so kind and open-minded like you in our house, really. We hope to have you here again, and I suggest every owner to invite you in his house or apartment :)
Alessandra and Achilleas
Every year in August in Skopelos takes place the Skopelos Festival where you can listen to traditional music and see traditional dances, drinking and eating greek food without pay anything! Many people always come from many places to participate and enjoy this festival.