Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Life's a Beach....3BR/2BA Private Pool; Best Value

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)


St. George Island is a barrier island that has become a favorite place for families and friends and is rated among the top beaches in the US. Natural beauty, relaxing atmosphere, great seafood, and charming fishing town make it a great vacation destination.

Our home is on the east gulf beaches, directly across from the beach. With a beautiful view of the beach, a large swimming pool and one of the least crowded beaches you will ever be on, it truly makes you believe that Life's A Beach!

Our home is conveniently located near restaurants, grocery store, playground, basketball court and right off the much traveled bike path. It is also one of THE best VALUE on the island. There are no homes located behind our house. Guests return year after year.

Whether surf fishing or on a guided deep sea or Bay charter, anglers are sure to bring home the "catch of the day". And we have the ideal fish cleaning area to get it ready for the grill! The gulf waters are renowned for producing the sweetest oysters and the plumpest shrimp. You can cook it up in our home or visit one of the restaurants on the island or in nearby Apalachicola.

There are many things to do in the area besides relaxing on the beach or water sports and they include bars and grills with live musical entertainment; boutiques, art galleries, antique shops; tour of historic homes, the beautiful state parks, and historic museums. You can rent bicycles, scooters, sun trikes, and surreys from our local shops. Bird watching and sea shelling are some favorite ways to relax and enjoy yourself.

Come to our home and see why Life's A Beach!

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 11, 2017


Gulf Beaches House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Outdoor shower; Fish Cleaning Area


4.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Life's a Beach....3BR/2BA Private Pool; Best Value
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
Newman GA

Life is a Beach was perfect

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Beach. Everything was better than expected. Well stocked and in great shape and maintained. Owner was away so we dwelt with Collins Rentals. checkin and checkout was a breeze. Weather was a little overcast first two days but did not keep us from enjoying the Area. Visit the State Park was fantastic. Red Pirate in EastPoint, FL. turn out to be our favorite restaurant. We Bought seafood from Doug's trailer, good reasonable fresh seafood!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun vacation beach home!

  • 5 of 5

The house is a cute beach home which we thoroughly enjoyed. Very relaxing. Spotless and well equipped! We had a great time. This home will definitely be a return if we come to St. George Island again and we will recommend to friends. The owners needs to update their photos to show the white kitchen and granite counter tops and reflect the open airy feeling of the open concept living/dining/kitchen area with cathedral ceilings. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in. The split plan bedrooms provide wonderful privacy. Our grandchildren loved the pool and of course the beach just across from the house. Wonderful ocean view. Biking was fun for all of us due to the proximity to the center of town: basketball courts,playground, lighthouse, restaurants, shopping and visiting a wonderful gallery of local artists. We enjoyed the bike path which runs along the lot in back of home and we rode to the state park and several other areas. The outdoor shower and hose were great to wash the dog and grands after a day at the beach!!! The dog has as much fun as we did. Apalachicola was a fun town full of great restaurants and galleries...interesting museums. Advise: buy your food before coming on the island (island stores very pricey)....except for sea food....seafood trucks sell fresh seafood daily. Thanks for sharing your enjoyable home.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

not what we had hoped for

  • 2 of 5

We arrived to Life's A Beach on Sunday, July 27 for a week long vacation. The house, although sufficient, did not live up to the expectations. The interior, from the counters and cabinets to the bathrooms are extremely dated. Upon arrival we immediately found that five light bulbs were burned out in bedrooms, bathrooms and the kitchen. The light in the utility room worked for about five minutes after the bulb was replaced. The dresser drawers in the guest bedrooms were not on any sort of track and one drawer was completely missing. The lamp shades were broken and night stands are very unstable. The kitchen is very small and cramped. You can't open the freezer door if the utility door is open. The cooking utensils are extremely cheap and worn out. The blender was literally the same one that my parents had when I grew up as a child and only one button worked. The mattress in the master bedroom is very worn out and leans to one side. The sofas were covered in the gaudiest denim covers I've ever seen. The carpet was very worn. The rental agency handles the maintenance, housekeeping and reservations. They did replace the light bulbs but the bath towels were covered in a sticky residue. The best parts of this house was the proximity to the beach and the swimming pool.

Sadly, it's obvious that very little money if any is actually reinvested into the property. Also, with all the broken items in the house it's a little suspicious as to why people pay for the property insurance if nothing gets replaced. We made a good time with what we had. The beach is beautiful. The grocery stores on the Island charge about twice as much as you will pay for on the mainland. No recommendation. We won't be returning.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our management company is responsible for keeping our property in order. It is inevitable that things like light bulbs and blenders need replacement for which they are unaware unless someone tells them and it appears that once items needed correction, they responded to your needs. We have not had any other complaints relative to our furniture that you have mentioned. Of course, we will investigate anything that needs to be replaced. Our home is decorated and maintained as a warm and welcoming family beach home where folks can come in from the pool or beach and relax, not a five star luxury hotel. We put plenty of money into our home and the carpet, tile and living room furniture are all new within the last few years and we rotate areas of updating and replacing areas as needed. Our home looks as it is advertised. We have owned this home for over 10 years and consistently have repeat visitors, including a couple that uses it as their winter home for 3 months every year. St. George Island is a beautiful beach and a great place to visit. We sincerely hope you find a vacation spot that better suits your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Cuyahoga Falls


  • 5 of 5

Here for a few more days and enjoying every minute! Thank you so much for making this vacation a wonderful time! The house, pool, location and people are so nice! Even our Boxer/Shepherd mix is loving the ocean and walks!

My only complaint is the coffee pot takes forever to percolate when you need a cup! lol

Thank you again :) OH-IO

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Rydal, Georgia

Life's a Beach was awesome!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, daughter, father-in-law, and family dog all traveled down to St. George Island from North of Atlanta, Georgia to stay in "Life's a Beach" on St. George Island over Spring Break. From the minute we walked into this home, we felt like we were already at home. The location was perfect as you only had to walk about 500 feet and you were on the beach! The swimming pool was perfect for our 13 year old daughter and everything about the house was immaculate. The rental process was a breeze and the entire vacation was peaceful and relaxing. If I were going to give any constructive criticism, I would suggest that the living room couch be replaced as the pull out bed was very uncomfortable for my 63 year old mother who came to stay a couple of nights. Also, the living room television remote control didn't work properly and the air conditioning unit is very loud at times. These were not issues that lessened our enjoyment in any way, just worth mentioning for the future. Thanks Schmeling Family for an incredible vacation and we were honored to stay in your home!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay! We will check into replacing the mattress for the sofa. Just as a note, the AC is brand new. For future reference, make sure all vents remain open. a few could have been closed.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0



Rates & Availability

Gulf Beaches House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Spring 2017
Apr 16 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
Fall 2017
Aug 13 2017 - Nov 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Winter 2017
Nov 5 2017 - Nov 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
Winter 2017
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Holidays 2017
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
Winter 2018
Jan 7 2018 - Mar 1 2018
4 night minimum stay
Spring 2018
Mar 2 2018 - Mar 22 2018
7 night minimum stay
Spring Break 2018
Mar 23 2018 - Apr 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
Spring 2018
Apr 8 2018 - May 24 2018
7 night minimum stay
Summer 2018
May 25 2018 - Aug 18 2018
7 night minimum stay
Fall 2018
Aug 19 2018 - Nov 24 2018
7 night minimum stay
Winter 2018
Nov 25 2018 - Dec 20 2018
4 night minimum stay
Holidays 2018
Dec 21 2018 - Jan 5 2019
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed. 50% deposit due when reservation is made. 100% due if reservation is made within 30 days of arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing


You might like these similar properties