Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing Water View. Great for Your Family Vacation , near Cavendish !

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Farmhouse, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Leave the stress in your life behind and enjoy our beautiful relaxing setting, in this quaint century farmhouse located on 10 acres of land overlooking the Stanley River. Five minutes from Cavendish and centered between the main cities of Summerside and Charlottetown.

The Farm house is tastefully decorated in a manner that compliments the Victorian interior. This cozy summer home is the perfect place to relax with your family or 2-3 couples. There are 2 queen size beds and 2 double bed with all linens provided. There is also an antique piano in the family room. We did several upgrades to the property since Spring of 2010 including a new larger deck ( with a vernada) which wraps around the front of the house + a screened in section , a bedroom extension -overlooking the river ( + sky light) , renos to the family room to make it more family friendly and a swing set for the children.

Cook up a feed of mussels or lobsters in the shed next to the house and enjoy the perfect picnic outside followed by a game of crochet or soccer. Enjoy the great golf courses, and beaches, antique shops and amusement parks which are minutes away then come back and relax on the deck and enjoy the amazing garden and water view.

The farm house is fully equipped with everything you need for the perfect vacation.

Keywords: Summer Home

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 6, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Anne of Gables will never read the same. Such a beautiful property
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Kilometres
Charlottetown Airport
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Sutherlands
Nearest Beach
7 Kilometres
Cavendish Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
227 Douglas Road
Nearest Point of Interest
Campbell's Stanley View Summer Home

10 minutes away from Cavendish Beach, Sandspit Amusement Park, Shining Waters Family Fun Park (Water Slides), Anne Of Green Gables, Delicious Lobster Suppers, and great golf courses.

Amenities

Kensington Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Jacuzzi tub in main bathroom + outdoor show with hot water
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (2) ( no foot boards) , Double Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) booster seat availible 2 play pens available - with bedding , Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Garage on site for storage of bikes, golf clubs etc, antique piano in the family room, Access available to dock -for swimming on the Stanley river, pedal boat and life jackets available, fully equipped kitchen including Paderno Pots, Mussel/ lobster cooker available for use in the garage, Crochet set and some board games available, 2 queen beds, 2 double beds, beautiful Perennial Gardens on site, very well maintained property. New Swing set -Spring 2010 . A complimentary Gift basket is provided to our guests + a free family pass to the National Parks.Outdoor Shower.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Amazing Water View. Great for Your Family Vacation , near Cavendish !
average rating of 4.7 based on 11 reviews
5

Excellent location

  • 5 of 5

This location was excellent and centrally located for exploring the island. The house had plenty of room and offered all the necessary elements for a home away from home. Can't beat the views and the use of the river and boats was a plus.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming, picturesque, family vacation

  • 5 of 5

The Campbell's farmhouse was such a beautiful and picturesque home that we didn't want to leave! The photos hardly do justice to the wonderful view of the Stanley River and the surrounding property and gardens. The home itself provided all that we needed (4 adults, 4 small children) to cook, clean, grill (brand new!), and enjoy ourselves throughout the grounds. Our kids loved the hillside, fire pit, and play structure, not to mention all the rec equipment (loved flying the kites at the beach) stored in the large shed - the adults loved the hot outdoor shower! We took advantage of the shared dock down the road and often jumped in the river or took the kayaks out. Our delicious meals were mostly enjoyed outside on the wraparound deck (there is no formal dining inside the home).

The Campbells were welcoming and prompt with communication. When we informed them of a wasp's nest underneath the porch steps, they took care of it the next day. We knew they would be accessible when needed but were never intrusive during our time at the house. This home is so close to all the attractions of Cavendish and provided the perfect base for our families to have a truly memorable vacation on the Island!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Nova Scotia
5

The perfect house for a great PEI family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

The Stanley View Summer Home was the perfect location for two young families to spend our summer holiday! Clean and comfortable with lots of room and so many amenities to keep us comfortable for the week - including the welcome basket, which was a lovely touch! The kids loved the big yard to run around in (especially through the sprinkler!), as well as jumping off the nearby wharf and going for canoe rides. The adults loved the spacious deck, where we ate breakfast and dinner each day (enjoying the spectacular view!), as well as the screened-in porch area, great for relaxing in the evenings after the little ones were in bed! The Campbell family were wonderful hosts - answering many questions prior to the visit, stopping by to ensure everything was okay and even setting up the sprinkler for our children to enjoy! Thank you Campbell family - we can't wait to come back again!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Edmonton, Alberta
5

Pristine home with to-be-seen water view, very close to Cavendish!

  • 5 of 5

The home was so pristine and charming. It was very spacious, with 3 sitting rooms/living rooms. There was a generous welcoming gift with both sweet and salty goodies. All kitchen appliances looked new and worked well, there were many dishes to use as well as oils, spices and condiments, even coffee and coffee filters! The beds were very comfortable and there were many fans to keep you cool at night. All the linens were very clean and of high quality. The deck was so welcoming and relaxing, even in the rain, and plenty of seating for many guests. We wish we could bring this water view to our own back yard! We had coffee and breakfast on the deck every morning. We had fun playing the board games found in the closet, especially Apples to Apples. It was a lovely vacation spot that brought relaxation to our small family group, aged 12-79! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Marcia , for your great review. We are very happy that your family enjoyed your vacation ( especially our board game closet) . The view from the deck is beautiful and the best place to enjoy your morning coffee /tea. Thanks again for choosing our rental property.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Ottawa
2

Great view but.......

  • 2 of 5

Great view and beautiful cottage as reviewed however disappointed to learn that by " access to dock' means walking to their other cottage down the road and sharing said dock with their family and neighbor's family. Definitely not what we were expecting. Lack of privacy also an issue, owners dropped by at least 4 times for various things and the day before we were leaving the female owner told us that they were moving in their stuff at 10am, so we took that as get out. We found that extremely rude, it seemed like that was where they spent their summer vacation and we were intruders. We have always rented through VRBO and have had great experiences but this time needed a bigger place for more family, all in all more cons than pros.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jennifer, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your vacation at our summer home and that you did not feel welcome. I usually pride myself on welcoming our guests including the offering of complimentary treats and beverages upon arrival. I have always informed all of our guests that we provide shared access to a dock which is just down the road and inform guests that they are more than welcome to drive down. Our Ad also shows the pictures of our home - quaint and small 4 bedrooms and I' m sorry it was too small for your family of 5. I do apologize again if you felt that we disrespected your privacy with the frequent visits. I dropped by to collect the rent, once I believe may have been to offer a boat ride, collect a water sample , and once to borrow our personal bikes which we loan to renters. I usually stop or call on the last night to thank renters and wish them a safe trip home and to kindly remind them of the regular check out time of 10 am - but I am sorry you felt otherwise but I did have very friendly conversations with your family members on those occasions. Looking back there were a few drops which I understand were not appreciated and yes we do use our property on occasion. I do wish you the best of luck in finding other vacation rentals on VRBO that meet all your needs, as it is a great site and will be much more conscious of respecting privacy. I am also sorry that you did not address your concerns earlier as I could certainly have suggested other rental properties for you. Thank you Bernadette
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2
5

Wonderfull time

  • 5 of 5

If you want to relax, this is the best place to be. The host are very thoughtfull, a very nice basket of treats was waiting for us. A nice farm house with a lot of charm. Extremely large lot for the kids to play and a wonderfull view.

everything clean cut and well maintained, would rent this house again.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 15.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.