Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lovely Lenox Colonial with mountain views yet one mile from center of town

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,976 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms, 3 baths, Sleeps 9 -10

Lovely Colonial in quiet neighborhood offers peace and tranquility yet just over one mile to center of town. Huge renovated island kitchen with five-burner gas cook-top and double ovens, butcher-block counter seating, sitting area and brick fireplace. Screen porch off kitchen. Washer/dryer off kitchen. Large Master suite bedroom has King size bed, skylight, fireplace, tiled bath and walk-in closet. Family room with leather sofas, fireplace and flat screen HDTV and piano. First floor bedroom/bath with Queen size bed and french doors to outdoor patio area. Air conditioning in all bedrooms. There are ceiling fans in the bedrooms, family room and kitchen. Hot tub patio in back yard. Professionally landscaped one+ acre property with patio area for entertaining and enjoying the serenity and the perennial gardens. Mountain views enjoyed from kitchen, deck, patio, and Master bedroom. DVD, VCR movies and CD collection plus many games/puzzles for your entertainment.

There are 3 full baths and the house is fully equipped with sheets and towels.

More Details

Kathleen Cleary, Rental Manager
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

This home was the perfect house for six girlfriends to have a fall getaway! It was even nicer than we had expected! The kitchen was well equipped, open floor plan with a large island and plenty of room for us to cook and drink wine together! The dining table had lots of room for us to all sit comfortably and we found ourselves sitting and talking long after the meals...enjoying the beautiful views from the expansive windows. The bedrooms were wonderful…. Plenty of room for all six of us, and we all had very comfortable beds! This home was very clean, spacious, decorated nicely and well maintained. We enjoyed a spa day at Cranwell and some of us did some shopping in Great Barrington. Our Host gave us lots of advice on things to do and places to go! We are already talking about booking again for next fall!
Oct 2017
  • 1 of 1


Lenox House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2976 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , twin sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , twin sinks
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Master bath is a beautiful tiled bath with radient floor heating and twin sinks, jetted tub and shower. Upstairs guest bath has twin sinks and a combination tub/shower. First floor bath has shower. Laundry is separate area on first floor.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Master bedroom with air conditioning has a King bed and a single sleeper sofa. One upstairs bedroom has two twins and one large upstairs bedroom has a four-poster Queen with room for an aerobed. House has one King aerobed (or raised single aerobed). First floor bedroom has Queen size bed. All bedrooms have ceiling fans and window air conditioners.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
The spacious kitchen, family room and outdoor patio provide the dominant areas for groups to gather. There is an outdoor table in screen porch. The basement level is carpeted and supplied with card table, some small dumbells, an exercise band and a physioball for home workouts. Large table for games and puzzles. perfect area for teens and kids. Window air conditioning is in all bedrooms.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lovely Lenox Colonial with mountain views yet one mile from center of town
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 13 reviews
Boston, MA

Spacious home in beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here in Lenox. Great home and superb location, close to downtown Lenox. Huge bedrooms and kitchen, plenty of space for my family. We really enjoyed sitting out on the porch and in the chairs outside while drinking coffee and playing cards and listening to all the birds. It was such a relaxing time we didn't want to leave! Kathleen was very responsive and wonderful.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed the house. It's really great for families! Thanks for taking such good care of our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing in Lenox

  • 5 of 5

What a terrific girls get-away in the country we had in this perfect home. Large, beautiful and comfortable…with 3 fireplaces and a gorgeous kitchen! It was the perfect place to enjoy being together cooking, knitting, laughing, watching movies and touring the local attractions.

The owners, Michael and Kathleen, were extremely helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat as well as being sure our every need was met.

I would highly recommend this beautiful house in the woods.

A perfect 10!


  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2018
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A perfect country getaway

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed this absolutely lovely home with 6 friends in the Fall. We had a terrific time both in the home and enjoying the Berkshires. The property is only a mile from the center of the village of Lenox.

The house is beautiful and spacious and well cared for and beautifully appointed.

Really enjoyed the owners who were so helpful, delightful and accommodating. A perfect country get away!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2018
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well appointed house

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely house with plenty of room. Large kitchen. Well appointed, had a decorated fresh cut Christmas tree. Multiple fireplaces. Good location , easy access to downtown Lenox. Owners were very easy to deal with.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, NY

A gorgeous Berkshires sanctuary

  • 5 of 5

Could not have been more pleased with this lovely and spotless house. A group of us were staying here while attending a wedding at The Mount, and it was the perfect place to relax and recharge before a long night of celebrating! The house was spacious, easily housing 9 people, and felt very homey. We enjoyed a breakfast in the screened in porch, and tended to our weary dancing feet in the hot tub after coming home at night. The kitchen is gorgeous, the beds are comfortable, and the scenery is so beautiful. This house is tucked away so that from the backyard, the porch, and most of the house, you really feel like you're secluded, the only one for miles in the beautiful Berkshires. Would recommend this house to anyone!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
boca raton, fl

beautiful property, beautiful looking house - the property is but the house very poorly maintained

  • 3 of 5

we arrived for a 2 month stay to find the BBQ filthy - nasty according to the guys who delivered a new one. they said they forgot to clean it. it was never cleaned. The front screen door was completely smashed in and hard to open. The refrigerator was really dirty, the freezer on one side filthy. Before we arrived I asked if they had a slow cooker. the slow cooker had burned on food. the owner told me her husband is a chef and doesn't clean pots so well. I wound up ordering a new one. in fact most of the pots had to be washed before using. had no dishwasher for 5 weeks because it leaked all over the floor every time i tried to use it. the owners did call but then dropped the ball and it took 5 weeks. the fans in every room had layers of dust. the cleaning service i used said there were dust balls all over the house, under and around the beds. the vents in bathrooms were filthy. the entire right side of the house was peeling or missing paint. it looked like a house that belonged in a slum, not Lenox. the screen fell out of the MB window. I put it back using a Q-tip. They looked and said it would be fixed - two months we lived with a Q-tip in the screen. Owner will say I agreed to have it done after we left. Untrue. I don't live with Q-tips holding screens in my house. after a rain, the garage was flooded. i called them and the owner said, "We're lucky, it doesn't go into the basement." Really? fix the garage doors which were totally misaligned, put rubber between the floor and the garage door so water doesn't get in. The garage smelled so badly I stopped parking my car there. Besides, I needed boots to walk in it after a rain. I had to put the lawn chairs in the shower they were so dirty. The towels in the MB were disgusting, raggy and completely discolored. For what they charge a night, they should have the best towels, not what they had.

The house has the potential to be wonderful. I rented it because of the kitchen and dining room. They are beautiful. The master bedroom is beautiful. But they take care of nothing. It isn't worth half what they charge. I told the owners about all of this, some of it as we were getting ready to leave. But they certainly know about the smashed front door, the peeling paint all over the side of the house. I took pictures of everything but unfortunately HomeAway will not allow posting. I did give them to the owners.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This tenant arrived on Saturday and had a beautiful brand new BBQ grill delivered by Tuesday morning. We knew we were putting the house on the market at the end of 2017, so we chose to have the house painted, deck power washed and re-stained and screen door replaced in the Fall so the updates would be fresh for market. When the tenant notified us that the dishwasher was leaking-a problem we had never had-I called around immediately and found one company that dealt with our brand. They come to Lenox ONE day a week. The 5 week delay was waiting for the part and then waiting for the company to be able to replace. It was completely out of our control. This tenant's review totally ignores how responsive and attentive we were to any issue brought to our attention. Her comment about the window screen that broke was "It's a house; things happen with houses" and we DID say we'd deal with it after the tenancy. our handyman promptly dealt with some minor issues such as a stuck kitchen drawer and a drain problem. The only unhappy tenant we have ever had in over ten years of renting this property.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Pittsfield, MA
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Massachusetts Turnpike
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
local lakes
Car: necessary

Lenox is in the heart of the Berkshires, known for such cultural offerings as Tanglewood, summer home of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival, Berkshire Theatre Festival, Shakespeare & Co, Williamstown Theatre Festival, Barrington Stage Company, the Berkshire Botanical Garden, Norman Rockwell Museum, the Colonial Theatre and more! Known for the many quality dining choices as well as great shopping and antiquing. With lakes, hiking trails, golf courses, several day spas and luxury resorts, five local ski resorts, biking, mountains and beaches, it is a vacationer's wonderland.

The house is just over a mile from shops and restaurants of Lenox and 2.5 miles from Tanglewood. Close to 4 ski areas.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125

Cleaning fee is for house cleaning: dust, vacuum, bathrooms. Tenants clean used dishes, pots, etc. Cleaning fee is $125.
October weekend rates are $950 per night. Some weekend rentals are available for $650 per night during the months other than July and August. Call or email for availability and 3 day wkend/holiday rates.
Electricity is paid by monthly tenants and taken out of security deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.