expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Beautifull Smokey Mountain Poplar Ridge Cabin a mile from Lake Nantahala

Topton, NC, USA
  • Cabin1200 sqft
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay1 - 5 nights

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Sliding glass doors lead from the spacious Great Room to the wraparound deck. An ideal spot for reading, picnicking, or just whiling away the hours. The Great Room features a native stone fireplace - just the place for warming up on those cool mountain nights. Gather 'round for a cup of steaming cocoa, an Irish Coffee, or whatever suits your taste. Snuggle with that special someone to the crackling of the fire, while outside, the crickets chirp a serenade. Twenty-seven inch TV with DVD players are provided for family evenings, with a healthy library of movies for your enjoyment. Upstairs, overlooking the Great Room, the roomy Master Suite offers sweeping views of mountains and nearby stream. The Master Suite has its own bath. Linens are included, and for your convenience, a washer and dryer are provided.

We are just 1 mile from Lake Nantahala and 5 miles from the Appalachian Trail for hiking and exploring

Keywords: smokey mountain rustic cabin less than 1 mile away from beautiful lake Nantahala and the lakes end marina. Rent boats, kayaks and enjoy the lake.


Greg or Donna

Member Since 2004
Response rate:
Response time:
within two days
english, spanish, limited amount of spanish
Calendar last updated:
Mar 16, 2018
Why Greg or Donna chose Aquone

secluded and peaceful and minutes from the marina on lake Nantahala


    • Pets Welcome
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
      • Bedroom 1
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 2
        2 double
      • Convertible bed(s)
        1 sleep sofa /futon
      • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)


      • 2 Bathrooms
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, combination tub/shower
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, combination tub/shower
      • 2 full

      Location Type

        • Mountain View


            • Adventure
            • Away From It All
            • Family
            • Romantic
            • Sports & Activities
            • Tourist Attractions


                • Guests provide their own meals


                    • Parking
                    • Air Conditioning
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Heating
                    • Linens Provided
                    • Living Room
                    • Clothes Dryer
                    • Parking Off Street
                    • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
                    • Telephone
                    • Towels Provided
                    • Washing Machine
                    • Wood Fireplace


                        • Microwave
                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Ice Maker
                        • Kitchen
                        • Cooking Utensils
                        • Oven
                        • Pantry Items
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster


                            • Dining
                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 6 people


                                • CD Player
                                • DVD Player
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                • Television
                                • Video Library


                                    • Balcony
                                    • Deck / Patio
                                    • Lanai / Gazebo
                                    • Outdoor Grill


                                        • Long-term Renters Welcome


                                            • cinemas
                                            • marina
                                            • museums
                                            • restaurants
                                            • theme parks
                                            • winery tours
                                            • zoo

                                              Leisure Activities

                                                • scenic drives
                                                • antiquing
                                                • boating
                                                • eco tourism
                                                • horseback riding
                                                • miniature golf
                                                • bird watching
                                                • shopping
                                                • sight seeing
                                                • sledding
                                                • walking
                                                • wildlife viewing

                                                  Local Services & Businesses

                                                    • ATM/bank
                                                    • groceries
                                                    • medical services

                                                      Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                        • mountain climbing
                                                        • cross country skiing
                                                        • fishing
                                                        • fly fishing
                                                        • freshwater fishing
                                                        • golf
                                                        • hiking
                                                        • hunting
                                                        • jet skiing
                                                        • kayaking
                                                        • mountain biking
                                                        • cycling
                                                        • mountaineering
                                                        • rafting
                                                        • rock climbing
                                                        • sailing
                                                        • skiing
                                                        • snowboarding
                                                        • spelunking
                                                        • swimming
                                                        • water skiing
                                                        • water tubing
                                                        • whitewater rafting


                                                            • Great family or romantic cabin

                                                              House Rules

                                                              Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                              Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                              Cancellation Policy

                                                              100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                              10 Reviews


                                                              Latest reviews

                                                              Great weekend get-a-way!!!

                                                              Susan P.

                                                              Our family of 4 (parents and adult children) really enjoyed our weekend get-a-way. The house had everything we needed and was clean and very nice. The only complaints were that the girls could not close their bedroom door due to the bed inching into the doorway. Therefore, they could hear us "snoring" and talking upstairs. And the afternoon/evening sun made it very difficult to be in the living room since there was no way to cover the large upper windows. We just made plans not to be there during that time of day. All and all, we would stay there again. Everyone was GREAT to work with and a real blessing to us. Thanks so much for sharing your cabin with us!!!

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed you 3 night stay at the Cabin in Nantahala area. The door does close in the downstairs bedroom, but the bed shifted forward enough to not let the door close all the way. Our maintenance man fixed it. We look forward to having you back soon!

                                                              We love ❀️ the cabin 🏑Is was a great clean place and we come back ty so much

                                                              Stephan P.

                                                              Hi πŸ™‹

                                                              We love the stay was a really great place πŸ‘πŸ»

                                                              Then our family is from here 20 min down the road and live too see them only kids like wifi would be so much better the place is clean even we just sleep 😴 in it we was most day with family I would be back when visiting my dad mom a gain ty for a great πŸ‘πŸ» cabin to stay in Thank you Stephan Manuela victoria and Virginia πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ»β›°πŸ˜€

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that everyone enjoyed their stay at the Poplar Ridge Cabin in Nantahala and hope you will be back soon.

                                                              Poplar Ridge Cabin, Topton, NC

                                                              Pam E.

                                                              The cabin is beautiful, However, it is in serious need of an upgrade. The living room furniture is extremely worn out and uncomfortable. The TV's are the old, bulky, tube TVs. The pictures are not clear at all. The coffee pot and toaster are stained and dirty looking. The dishes are disappearing from year to year.

                                                              We have stayed in this cabin several. Each time it has been something. The man in charge of this property, does not take very good care of the property. One time upon arrive, the hot water heater was out. Another time the place was dirty, had to have them come clean the place after we had arrived. Out door furniture was green with mold.

                                                              This past week end, to start, we could not get to the cabin because a tree had fallen across the drive way. We tried to move it but is was to tightly rooted. Could not get in touch with Steve to get help. Called Donna and she tried to get him too. Finally was able to find some one with a chainsaw to help us. It was cold Thursday.so we had to use heat. Friday it was 89 degrees. We were out and about and when we came in it was 87 degrees in side. We called Steve several times, he finally called us 2 1/2 hours later. His reason for him taking so long to get back with us was, "He had to Work for a living". and was not coming out nor getting any one to come out. Explained the health issues I had, it didn't make any difference. Unfortunately, we had to bother Donna again. Fortunately, the mountain night air cools off pretty quickly. We were able to sleep, it was not unbearable, not comfortable. Donna called at 8:30 Saturday, and said some one would be out in 2 1/2 hours. By this time, we had already packed up and left, even though we had planned to stay through Sunday. Even if the HVAC guy did show up, there was guarantee he would be have to fix it. Again if they had some one taking care of their properties properly, this to could have been avoided. He is supposed to change the filters and make sure every thing is working properly. We pulled the filter out, and it us so dirty, it looked as if it had not been changed in a year.

                                                              With all that said. I fill sorry for Donna & Greg, because with being so far away and depending on some one to take care of their properties. They are being poorly represented.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              We have 2 houses that are under contract to be updated this year. Our Contractor has been trying to get us started while trying to work us in between Rentals. Thanks

                                                              Great house

                                                              Diana J.

                                                              The house was just like in the pictures and very clean. Google maps gave us good directions. The only minor complaint is the recent rain prevented us from being able to drive up the driveway as it is not paved. Thanks for sharing your home!

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our poplar ridge cabin. Thank you for letting us know about road. They have finally gotten some much needed rain in the mountains. We will have our grader fix any washouts that developed from the storms rains. Hope to see you again. Thanks Greg

                                                              Wonderful trip!

                                                              Bridget S.

                                                              We came out for a spontaneous 3-day getaway and enjoyed it very much. The cabin is just beautiful and Donna was wonderful to work with and immediately resolved a small issue at had on arrival. We will be back in the future!

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Thank you for your very nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed the Poplar Cabin. We hope to see you all back soon!

                                                              Awesome Cabin

                                                              Danny W.S. Carolina

                                                              I just loved the layout of this cabin. And how clean and well maintained it is. It's location is central to so many opportunities such as fishing, hiking, rafting, exploring by car etc.. Some local highlites are Nantahala Outdoor Center, Wayah Bald and Trail of Tears. Not to mention the lake, rivers and streams. Donna is great to work with. She will answer your questions in a timely manner and just make the arrangements very easy. I would recommend this cabin and working with Donna and Greg for vacation rentals.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Thank you for your wonderful review Danny. We try to make the Cabins as comfortable as we can for when you are away from home. Glad you were able to do the activities you did that the Nantahala area is so well known for. We look forward to having you back again soon!


                                                              Topton, NC, USA

                                                              We are less than a mile from the marina at lake nantahala and 20 minutes from river rafting..

                                                              Rates & Availability

                                                              Additional information about rental rates

                                                              Pet Fee
                                                              Damage Deposit
                                                              10 Reviews
                                                              Excellent 4.6/5
                                                              Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                              For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                              Property # 177060