Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

AWESOME VALLEY, CITY VIEWS Mountainside Estate

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

WOW Take a look at the 3D VIRTUAL TOUR (click on "Owner Info" and scroll down to"additional Links" and click on 3D VIRTUAL TOUR) This is a luxurious single-level million dollar home with nearly 4,000 square feet. Exquisite decor everywhere! Huge master suite with wall-mounted TV and more of the stunning views that are found all around the property! As you'll see, IT'S ALL ABOUT THE VIEWS!!! None better anywhere in the valley, and only a 15 minute drive to the airport, downtown, or the Convention Center

Sophisticated entertaining is easy - besides the gourmet kitchen there is a central sound system, w/complete surround sound in the TV room. The private enclosed front entrance courtyard is perfect for relaxing, or you can unwind in the heated spa or swim in the pool while enjoying the spectacular cityscape and the natural desert landscape. First Class all the way.

There are no adjacent properties ... this truly feels like a private estate!

The nearby preserve area can be accessed easily for you to hike, bike, horse ride and explore /photograph in an unspoiled mountain setting. We'll have all sorts of guides and resources are available to you .. you might not have enough time to do everything that is possible!

This is vacation living at its finest – a perfect southwestern experience with just the right amount of privacy and still close enough to everything this area has to offer.

SPECIAL NOTE: this property may NOT be used for parties or functions involving anyone NOT included on the list of renters. No more than three cars are EVER allowed to be parked at the property. This is done in accordance with neighborhood regulations. No wedding parties. no groups larger than 10 at any time. Thanks

Keywords: House, villa, mini resort, luxury home, private home, executive home

More Details

Owner
Marvin Green
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

About Marvin Green

I am a 58 year old native of Idaho. I have lived all over the world and have been living here in Phoenix for the past 19 years. I am currently working as a real estate consultant - mostly in residential real estate. I love sharing this very unique property with friends from all over the world and am always happy to help you make your stay in Phoenix the BEST ever.

Marvin Green purchased this house in 2004

Why Marvin Green chose Phoenix

This location offers the best view of the city and of the valley in the entire valley. It is stone quiet at night, and the stars are bright - all the best of our Southwest living. It is also fantastic to see the monsoons move in over the valley from this location. All of my guest love the house - but the view is what it's all about - you can't stop looking.

What makes this house unique

If you'd like to experience real Southwest living - this is a great opportunity. This property is surrounded by natural Sonoran Desert in all it's beauty. Watch incredible sunsets and hear the coyotes howl at night. Trailheads into South Mountain Park - a 22,000 acre preserve are just steps away from the house. Try taking horses on the trails - also available close by.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a short 2-day stay but is was so much fun! We spent a whole day at the pool/hot tub & the view was spectacular. Also went horseback riding! The house is amazing, comfortable and fun.
Sep 2009
  • 1 of 27

Amenities

South Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , Very large walk-in shower is also a steam room
    Hallway - toilet , combination tub/shower , Hallway shared by Library and bonus room bedrooms
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jack n Jill between 2 guest bdrms, Each bdrm has priv. sink
    Powder Room - toilet , Located near living, family, dining and Kitchen
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master - 1 king
    Middle (Pine) - 1 queen
    Front (Walnut) - 1 double
    Library - 1 queen
    Bonus Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa bed -( very comfortable)
  • King size beds (1) King bed in Master Bedroom, Queen size Beds (3) Queen bed in Bedroom #2 Queen pullout in Bonus Room, extra queen set up in Library., Double Beds (1) Double in Bedroom 3 & Double sofabed in Bonus Room, Twin or Single Beds (4) Four twin mattresses are available to be placed anywhere you wish, Baby Cribs (1) portable play pen/bed available for infants, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
AWESOME VALLEY, CITY VIEWS Mountainside Estate
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 46 reviews
5

Phoenix Hill Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Nicest home I have ever been in!!!! Super views, spacious, and I'd call it a mansion. Two dishwashers in the kitchen, big washer and dryer in the laundry room and even a washer and dryer in the master bedroom. Marvin was a great host and we enjoyed every minute of our stay at his wonderous home.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice community with views

  • 3 of 5

Nice community that feels safe and secure. House is very large and the backyard pool area is very nice. However, the house is run down a bit ( repairs needing to be done) and could be cleaner (very dusty, old food in the fridge and dirty rugs)

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the input. Spring cleaning is now on the schedule. We're having the place detailed to the max. We are used to having it in nothing but the best of condition. We are now at the end of our busy season - much easier to take a few days to do that. Additionally, we are having the entire exterior of the property repainted in June 2017. Thanks again, and HAPPY TRAVELS!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome house!

  • 5 of 5

What a great house with incredible views, privacy, and all the eminities our family thoroughly enjoyed! I would definitely stayed there again. Aaron S.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful home, gorgeous views, extremely quiet neighborhood. nice pool/hot tub. Enjoyed kitchen.

  • 5 of 5

Great location for Phoenix activities, hiking South Mountain, nice to hear quail and see other wildlife off the patio. Home was very spacious. Well-stocked!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place, nice views

  • 4 of 5

Pros:

1. nice house (enough rooms and bed for our large group)

2. nice location (right by a mountain with trails and close enough to drive into city)

3. nice amenities (big kitchen, nice pool and hot tub, tv's, wifi)

Cons:

1.Cleanliness - Not dirty, but not kept well. For being such a nice house, the owner should really invest in someone to come clean the house and not leave it to the renters to clean up.

A. Not sure what our cleaning fee is used for. we walked in and it was like a whole tub cleaning supplies had spilled over the house, we had to open all the doors and windows due to the smell.

B. There was a thin film of dust everywhere. Looked like none of the counters or tables had been wiped down for a while

C. The dishwashers were full of dishes, some clean, some dirty, mostly just tossed in there (glasses were thrown on it's side, plates were horizontal), we had to rewash everything we wanted to use.

D. We were told to wash all our towels and linens before we left. we had a 6am flight, that was really difficult.

2. It took over a month to get our refundable deposit back. Homeaway had to call him twice to release the funds.

overall: if we want to stay at such a nice place, we don't mind cleaning up after ourselves, but we are on vacation, we do not want to clean when we get there. The place was nice and the owner was easy to contact.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Housekeeping staff has been upgraded, and we appreciate your input. We should also make it clear we do not expect all linens to be cleaned before leaving - we mean only to start one load - easy enough even if leaving early. We strive to make each stay better and better - hope you'll try us again - we are much more mindful of quality control
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Beautiful house!

  • 5 of 5

The house is beautiful, clean, and well maintained. We were a group of five ladies looking for a place for a long, relaxing weekend and this was perfect. The hot tub was our favorite spot! Steam room in master shower was a nice after a long hike. Owner was friendly and helpful. Would stay again!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Phoenix Sky Harbor International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Silver Spur
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Raven
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Los Dos Molinos (Mexican)
Car: recommended

many diverse activities within a few hours drive from Phoenix including alpine activities in northern Arizona (and of course the Grand Canyon!), lakes, archeological sites, Karchner Caverns (2 hrs to Tucson), and more!

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Mountain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
HIGH SEASON
Jan 4 2018 - May 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,380
$7,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,850
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Damage Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties