check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Island Home - Family & Pet Friendly - Major Updates - Spring/Summer 2017 Avail

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6 max)

**Spring 2017 Rental SPECIAL**

Any FULL week April 1-May 19 = $800/wk. See rate schedule for details -Rate DOES NOT include taxes, post rental cleaning, or security deposit. Weekly special cannot be pro-rated for partial week rental - partial week rentals will be calculated at the posted nightly rate ($125/nt).

Upgrades continue! New Family Room furniture, all new stainless steel appliances, cleaned carpets (replaced 2015), a new roof, and a completely rebuilt master bathroom - the cottage is refreshed and ready to greet you for your next beach escape.

YOU RENT DIRECTLY FROM THE OWNERS... be aware that some properties on VRBO are managed by commercial property managers.

*We DO NOT use the VRBO/Homeaway Online Booking service (and prefer old fashioned checks/cashiers checks instead of credit card payments). To secure a vacation reservation, you must complete and mail to the owners a rental agreement along with a deposit. Sending an online inquiry is no guarantee of reservation. We do our best to honor requests for reservations on a first come, first served basis. Please allow AT LEAST 5 days to book a rental due to the paperwork and pre-payment process.

Non-peak (Sept-May) = 3-night minimum (no exceptions).

Peak season (June-Aug) = WEEKLY ONLY (Sat-Sat).

*****

Come enjoy a vacation at Sunset Beach, NC! The two-lane bridge to the island makes coming and going a breeze. We are 'dog friendly' - your small (under 35 lbs), well-behaved, kennel trained pup is welcome to join you for your beach vacation. (some breed exceptions apply).

This house not available? Check out or other home on the island (VRBO listing #196164). Note this alternative location does not allow dogs.

***

Fee Detail:

Off season = $125/nt (3 night min). We're flexible on non-peak season weekly rental start/end dates and will offer discounts for non-peak multi-week/monthly rentals. For off season rentals, there is a post-rental cleaning fee of $70 in addition to the rental fee. Taxes and security deposit are in addition to rental fee.

Peak season (Summer) - WEEKLY RENTALS ONLY (Sat-Sat); See rate table for rental rates. Note taxes and security deposit are in addition to the weekly rental rate.

Security Deposit of $200 applies to ALL rentals. Pet friendly rentals eligible for a 50% deposit refund after the rental period. All other rentals receive a full deposit refund, assuming no damage to the property during tenancy.

*****

Dreaming of a quiet getaway to the North Carolina coast? This light, airy 3 bedroom/2 bath beach cottage is perfect for your next family vacation, getaway w/friends, or retreat.

The cottage is quaint and tastefully furnished. The kitchen is well-equipped, and there are games and activities galore. Extensive decks surround the home and rooftop, allowing guests to enjoy the peaceful surroundings and renowned sunsets of Sunset Beach. The yard / under house area is completely fenced in and beach access is less than 300 feet from the house. Note this is a NO SMOKING home - small, well behaved, kennel-trained dogs are allowed. We welcome rentals from families and responsible adults over the age of 25.

Sunset Beach is the Southern-most island on the North Carolina coast and just 20 minutes from North Myrtle Beach. Sunset Beach is one of North Carolina’s most peaceful beaches with over 200 feet of natural dunes before the first row of homes. The atmosphere is quiet and family-oriented, even during peak season months. One of the Nation’s most beautiful wildlife preserves –Bird Island – is just a short walk down the beach. Observe deer, wild goats, sea turtles, and other sea life as well as enjoy miles of undeveloped dunes and marsh areas.

If you're a golfer, there are dozens of gorgeous courses on the mainland, just minutes from the island. Also, we're close to many local conference centers (Sea Trail is one), making our home a nice alternative to hotel lodging.

Keywords: Beach House

More Details

Owner
Jeannette - owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

About Jeannette - owner

Welcome to our quaint beach cottage at Sunset Beach! This older cottage was our first home at Sunset (we now have a second home on Canal A on the East End of the island). It was purchased when our children and our two yellow labs were all very young, so we know the home is well suited for families and dogs. The home was given a full update - no more dark wood panelling, olive green linoleum floors, or blue shag carpet! It is bright, cozy, airy, and just a great place to relax.

As of Jan 2017 - The master bathroom has been completely rebuilt from the floor joists on up. It is gorgeous! Also, the house boasts all new stainless steel appliances, new family room furniture, new cookware and glassware, and a NEW roof/rebuilt rooftop deck! Beds and AC unit also updated in the last two years.

Jeannette - owner purchased this house in 2004

Why Jeannette - owner chose Southern Coast

o Sunset Beach is an incredibly relaxing and nature-filled beach destination.

o A great family-friendly island atmosphere - no large hotels on the island.

o Extensive dunes and broad, flat beach make for great walks and biking.

o The West End (where the cottage is located) has less rental home traffic, thus the streets and beach area tend to be quieter, even in summer months.

o Bird Island, a nature preserve, is a short walk down the beach.

o Explore the marsh for an alternative to a day at the beach.

o More 'commercial' activities are a short drive onto the mainland - mini golf, regular golf, dining, movies, etc.

What makes this house unique

You rent directly from the owners. No property manager or middle man service to secure your rental or prepare for your vacation.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just a reminder to guests that beginning with Summer 2011, our peak season weekly rental period is Saturday to Saturday. Please make sure you are viewing the correct dates on the calendar when planning your Sunset Beach getaway. We look foward to sharing our island cottate with you and your family!
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Island Home - Family & Pet Friendly - Major Updates - Spring/Summer 2017 Avail
average rating of 4.9 based on 22 reviews
5

Perfect house for family beach week

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house! We spent a week there as a family getaway, 2 couples and a single slept comfortably. Great location, half a block away from the beach. Great communication with the owners. They checked in with us by email to make sure everything was OK, and they answered any questions we had while we were there promptly, they were very responsive. Property is well-maintained and clean. Check out the "poop deck" at the top of the house, the stars at night are amazing! Kitchen was well-equipped. Sunset Beach is great because it's a quiet beach, not built up. Couldn't have asked for anything more, highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review! Since your visit, we've done some upgrades - all new stainless steel appliances in the kitchen, new family room furniture, and a new roof and updated 'poop deck'! Please visit again!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Perfect for our family

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing week at the Bugg Property. It was exactly what our family needed. We really appreciated the simplicity of the home since we had 3 children (6 and under) and a dog. It had all that we needed to enjoy our week at the beach. Fenced in yard was perfect for the kids and the dog. Swings, basketball hoop, and toys were also great for our kids. The location was also great, not that far of a walk for us. We really appreciated the responsiveness the owners provided and the call the day we arrived to make sure that everything was ok.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for selecting our beach cottage at Sunset for your recent family vacation. We work hard to make sure the property is as comfortable and family friendly (and pet friendly) as possible. Please do consider a repeat visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC
5

Excellent Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at the Bugg House with our two kids. We had a great time. Sunset Beach is a great place for families and the Bugg House is perfectly located. The beach is a short walk from the house. The house was clean and had plenty of things for the kids to do other than watch TV when we weren't at the beach. The decks are awesome. The owners were responsive and easy to get in touch with if we had questions. We hope to stay here again soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A belated thank you for your kind review of our property at Sunset Beach. We enjoyed working with you on the vacation reservation and welcome you back in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hoschton, GA (50 miles N of Atlanta)
5

Excellent location

  • 5 of 5

My family of 3 and 2 small dogs had a great time at the Bugg House. The location was perfect to have quiet time and to walk back and forth from the beach to the house which is good when you have small dogs. Do prepare to drive far if you like quality fresh seafood to bring to the house to cook. The one nearby (Bill's something) was just not good. The fence downstairs was the main reason I rented, even though, my dogs only go out to potty and quickly come back inside. I don't like to take them potty by the leash. Things I would change in the house: replace fridge with an ice maker and get new pots and pans. We didn't eat at any restaurants. The bathroom in the master bedroom is very small, so I would add more hooks/towel holders in the bathroom and/or bedroom. Also, plan on keeping most of your toiletries in the bedroom or take the hall bedroom/bathroom and put your kid in the master suite. The hall bath had plenty of space for everything, for 2 people, and would have been easier to share. Both bathrooms had amazing water pressure in the shower heads. That was great! We were comfortable and I would rent again. The owners are great people.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for selecting our home and enjoying Sunset Beach. It is a remote island, so anything commercial can be a drive. Disappointed Bill's was not up to your liking :(...we have also gone into nearby Calabash and bought seafood right from the boats as they come in from the ocean. As to the house itself, we make updates every year and this year we replaced all the beds/mattresses and painted inside. Thank you for the additional suggestions for improvements.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Perfect House

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from our first trip to Sunset Beach and it was perfect! The owners were so accommodating and responsive. It was a perfect house for our family and dog.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great first trip to Sunset - Hurricane Arthur and all! Thank YOU for being so helpful in prepping for a storm - and grateful the storm passed by with nothing more than wind and rain and a gorgeous day after at the beach for your family. And your pup is always welcome too! Please visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Knoxville, TN
5

Just the Best

  • 5 of 5

My daughter, husband, and most importantly our dog and I spent a great week together! Perfect house for us and wonderful owners. Just like home rather than a place to stay...

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for selecting our beach cottage for your extended family vacation. We also appreciate your willingness to allow us to do a few updates to the home while you were at the beach. (It's always nice to meet our guests in person - a bonus to having a second house on the island and sharing a vacation week.) Your four legged family member was so charming and well behaved - what a cutie! Please do consider a vacation at our place again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Bird Island
Nearest Point of Interest
Restaurants & Seafood Shop
Nearest Point of Interest
Grocery / Drug Stores
Nearest Point of Interest
Julie's Ice Cream
Nearest Point of Interest
The Bugg House (too)
Car: recommended

One of the Nation’s most beautiful wildlife preserves – Bird Island – is just a short walk down the beach. Observe deer, wild goats, sea turtles, and other sea life as well as enjoy miles of undeveloped dunes and marsh areas.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sunset Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SPRING 2017 special
Apr 1 2017 - May 19 2017
4 night minimum stay
$125
$800
 
 
Early Summer 2017
May 20 2017 - Jun 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,075
 
 
June 2017
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,295
 
 
July 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,495
 
 
August 2017
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,295
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,075
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Cleaning (off season) $70
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 12.75%

Rates subject to change until reservation confirmed. No reservation final until signed paperwork and rental deposit received. Taxes in addition to quoted rental rates. Cleaning fee included w/peak season weekly rentals only (June/July/Aug). Contact owners w/questions-we try to make the process as simple as possible.Total deposit for pet friendly rentals $200 ($100 eligible for refund).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sunset Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1008 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1/Master - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2/Hall - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outside Shower - outdoor shower , Hot water shower - great for after a day at the beach!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Private bath off master bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • All beds are NEW as of Spring 2014. Master - Queen; Bedroom #2 - 2 Twins; Bedroom #3 - Queen. Room in all bedrooms to accommodate a small crib or pack-n-play (tenant to provide).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
indoor & outdoor games, beach toys, high chair, swings, hammock

Partner Offers