check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Oceanfront Villa: snorkeling & Diving at Mangel Halto

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
villa
Sleeps
9
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Pos Chiquito Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

We are located on the gentle leeward west coast of Aruba at Mangel Halto, overlooking the Spanish Lagoon where the surf quietly surges upon the protective reef.

The villa is a few feet back from the shore and 50 meters to a sandy beach and a safe swimming area. It is a choice site for snorkeling, scuba diving and kayaking.

Offshore pelicans dive for fish, kayaks pass, fishing boats go through a passage in the reef, and in the distance freighters and cruise ships pass. Here children play, snorkelers gaze at fish, and scuba divers head out to the coral reef.

Windsong Villa is located 15 minutes from both Oranjestad and San Nicolaas. It is close to splendid restaurants and walking distance to grocery stores. Bus service is a 10 minute walk from the Villa. Car rental is available locally.

The kitchen, dining and living areas are large. Ceiling fans in these areas and almost constant breezes keep the area comfortable.

The fully equipped European kitchen includes stovetop, wall oven, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster oven, blender. The washer and dryer are in the laundry/utility room next to the kitchen.

The bathrooms are fully tiled with hot water in the showers.

Cable TV - 48' flat screen in the living room with a DVD player. The house has a monitored security system.

In the garden our air-conditioned guest cottage accommodates 2 more people on a queen size bed that can become twin beds. For the house and the cottage the total possible accommodation is 11. The cottage has a well equipped European kitchen with stovetop, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender and clothes washing machine. cable TV 28” flat screen with a built in DVD, Ceiling fan, fully tiled large washroom with shower.

The guest cottage can be rented with the house or separately. Prices quoted are for the house only. For more information on adding the cottage to the rental contact the owner. For a calendar showing guest cottage availability please see our vrbo website 224448.

We have a Suzuki Grand Vitari 2003 vehicle that may be available to renters for use at $30.00 per day.

To see more pictures of Windsong Villa and Guest Cottage visit our website.

We welcome you to Windsong Villa!

Michael and Lois Brown, Owners

Keywords: House and Guest Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Michael Brown
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016
Call Owner

About Michael Brown

We are Canadians residing in Central Ontario and Aruba. Our first visit to Aruba was a scuba diving holiday in January 2006. We fell in love with Aruba and its people then and in April 2006 purchased our home on Spaanslagoen Weg. Since then our villa and guest cottage have been completely renovated, the pool installed and pavers and garden put in. We've enjoyed several months living at Windsong Villa. Many weeks we have enjoyed the comfort and quietness of the guest cottage when the Villa has been rented to others. We love staying in the cottage.

We have done many shore dives at Mangel Halto in front of our house and at the Hole in the Wall dive site close by. Snorkeling and swimming are great too and just out the door!

Michael is a PADI certified Open Water Scuba Diving Instructor, # 211856. While in Aruba learn to dive with Mike Brown. Lessons can begin in the pool or in the sea across the road. You can even start the knowledge development portion by email. The rates are reasonable and competitive. If you are already a Scuba Diver and want to upgrade your qualifications to Advanced Open Water Diver, Rescue Diver, or Dive master. Then ask Mike. Children can learn to become Bubble makers in the pool. An 8 year old or older can become a Junior Open Water Diver. There are a lot of options for the whole family, including swim lessons for adults and learning to safely and effectively snorkel. Contact Mike Brown.

Michael Brown purchased this villa in 2006

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to Aruba with our family . We stayed at your Villa and enjoyed the location . Our first thoughts were that it was far from everything . After a few days being there we realized it really wasn't far from anything and it was nice and quiet when at the villa . As the days went by the view and location became better and better . Every morning was so enjoyable sitting in the front and getting the breeze and view of the Caribbean Sea .... Just perfect !
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 11

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront Villa: snorkeling & Diving at Mangel Halto
average rating of 4.707317 based on 52 reviews
5

Perfect location for Divers, Snorkelers, Fishemen or Families.

  • 5 of 5

The villa was clean and well maintained. We did not notice any of the negative things mentioned in the previous review. We were two families with four children ages 2-16 years. We had no concern for safety, quite the contrary, the neighbors are very nice. The beach is a short walk away. Diving and snorkeling are great right in front of the villa. Fresh caught, cooked on site seafood is right down the road. The property manager is one of the nicest people we've ever met and made sure that we were taken care of. We did have an issue with the refrigerator that was immediately taken care of. Thanks Juan! We were there during Christmas and had a wonderful time at the villa. I can see how some pretentious people may not like this villa, but that is also the reason we loved it. It's certainly not downtown amongst all the touristy chaos. The villa is just far enough away that you are not blinded by the casino lights, but can get there quickly if you so choose. Having visited Aruba on multiple occasions, staying in High Rise, Low Rise, Time Share, Condo, etc... We can say that this was our best experience yet.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Atlanta, GA
1

Needs updating

  • 1 of 5

We appreciate the owners working with us to give us a 3-night minimum instead of their usual 4-night minimum. However, the villa's hot tub was inoperable, the pool had a lot of unsightly rust, and a local greeted us by asking for money. The garden area looked dirty, though the rest of the house was clean enough. Just had a musty smell. One master sink was covered in blue tape. My kids did not feel safe there.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our pool has rust spots but the pool is serviced twice a week. The rust spots will be repaired. Unfortunately, their child was asked for money by a panhandler. This is the first time this has happened in eight years. This colored the rest of their review, subsequently they asked for a full refund. They knew our refund policy did not allow this. Further, there is no musty smell in our villa: it is completely made of tile, stucco and block. In addition, the one sink in the master bedroom, had blue tape on it, but it had been repaired and was waiting for it to be tested by our property manager. Our garden is serviced and cleaned every two weeks by a gardening service. How it could be described as being dirty, I do not know, since it contains stone covered earth, brick covered exterior, and manicured gardens. I think that the reviewers were on a hunt to justify their son's negative reaction. For example, they complained about a government work team resting on their break across the road as threatening. Please!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2
Florida
5

Visit too short!

  • 5 of 5

Brett and I just wanted to email you both and let you know how much we enjoyed our visit to Aruba! Being our first time there, we had no idea what to expect. Our expectations of the villa and Aruba were completely surpassed many times over! What can we say about Juan other than we just absolutely love the man! Such a genuine kind person and he was so helpful to us the entire trip. We miss him already! We went to several beaches during our stay (Baby, Arashi and Eagle) but our favorite spot was Mangel Halto right in your front yard! Just serenity! One thing we never could have expected was how nice and helpful the locals were and we were amazed that everyone we talked to spoke fluent English (among several other languages)!!! I have been to several other islands over the years and these people are the best all around to tourists by far.

Your villa was just absolutely beautiful and fantastic and we will be sharing it with our family and friends! We took many pictures during our stay so at least we can imagine we are still there! We cannot wait to come back to Aruba and we will return as soon as we can! Thank you again for all the great accommodations....best trip ever!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Vancouver, BC
3

Overall experience: Average

  • 3 of 5

Advantages:

Location is excellent (central, easy to go everywhere. very close to the beach)

Comments for improvement:

Some equipments need to improve/repair and should have good maintenance.

Overall: Average, upto our requirements.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Millersville, Maryland
5

Wind Song Villa

  • 5 of 5

The Villa was so nice we arrived back seven weeks after renting the cottage! The place is magnificent it is just the most relaxing vacation. The house boasts three large bedrooms and two full baths. There were five of us so it was alot of room. The kitchen, living room and dining area are spacious. There are actually two porches that overlook Mangel Halto one is enclosed. This time we discovered a bar to the left of the Mangel Halto pier that has the best homemade food that is so reasonably priced. The shrimp include nine shrimp cutlets (fried shrimp) coleslaw and FF for the low price of 10.00 US, the bar is family owned and the people are very nice. We went there one night and it was hard to leave everytime we turned around the locals were buying us another beer, we were strangers to them! The fish pier was buzzing with fish again Red Snapper and Grouper everyday, excluding Mondays. This trip we were with our Aunt and Uncle (they are our age) and their twenty year old daughter. The trip that we made was to Rogers Beach and Baby Beach we had a drink at the Rum Reef. The twenty year old wanted to go back to the house! The only thing on her bucket list was to buy a couple of souveniers. They had a splendid time and totally enjoyed the house. The birds are fun to watch pelicans, lots of iguanas just a fun time. You are centrally located and their are approximately ten dive sites close to the house. The property manager's name is Juan and he is very helpful, he picks you up at the airport and drops you back off, even if you don't want to go! Excursions are available and again the property is very centrally located so you have access to everything. I cannot recommend any restaurants because we went to the fish market and ate fresh fish everyday. The house is really nice and you will be totally happy! Heaven on Earth, what a view!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Millersville, Maryland
5

Wind Song Cottage

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was really cute and cozy! Perfect for two people, access to the pool, beach, tiki bar, jacuzzi and very private. the walk to the local fish market is very short and there is fresh fish on a daily basis, excluding Mondays they take a break. The boats come in at 9:00 AM and again at 5:00 PM. Clemente is the gentleman that sells the fish and everyone there is extremely helpful and nice. The girls are more than happy to scale the fish, fillet them or however you wish. The atmosphere is great you are totally surrounded by locals. The property is centrally located close to the tourist section (Oranjestad) or to the south of the island San Nicolas. My husband and I opted for a very laid back vacation so we walked to local stores Tio Peppe or Rei Hing Supermarket the owner's son at Rei Hing even gave us a ride back because we had alot of groceries. The beach is directly across the street and manby shades of blues and turquoise. There is a pier located to the left of the house that is frequented by the tourists that are practicing theis scuba skills and the tourists are brought there to snorkel. There are mango groves to the left of the pier and a very secluded beach that hardly anyone frequents, though it is very rocky perfect for a picnic lots of tiki's. Learning the culture and just being around the locals was a true learning experience. People are very down to earth and friendly. I booked the trip without consulting my husband and his response was this is Heaven on Earth!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Reina Beatrix, Oranjestad
Car: recommended

Spaanslagoen Weg goes along the shore. It is a lovely and interesting walk in either direction. The neighbourhood is safe and friendly to walk through. The beach is very close where you can soak in the sun or find shade under a palm umbrella.

The main area for shopping is in Oranjestad, however there are many stores throughout the island providing whatever one might need. Two grocery stores are nearby. A bar restaurant frequented by locals and visitors provides good food and a friendly welcome. It is right at Mangel Halto steps from Windsong.

There are many places we love to visit on the island. Among them are Arikok Park. Here you can enjoy a scenic drive to beautiful wild beaches (No swimming there!). Don't miss the visitors centre. Several trails are of great interest. It is best to go on them earlier in the morning to avoid the hottest part of the day. The Archeological Museum in Oranjestad is an excellent place to learn the history of the island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pos Chiquito Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Apr 15 2016 - Dec 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
High Season
Dec 15 2016 - Apr 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Payment is made through Paypal or Swift wire transfer.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pos Chiquito Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Demand hot water in shower.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Demand hot water in shower.
  • Ceramic tiled fully.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom. Single is window seat.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King size bed may be divided to become two singles.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , King size bed may be divided to become two singles.
  • Queen size Bed In Master Bedroom,King size beds in Bedrooms 2 and 3. Beds May Be Separated Into Twin Beds, Window Seat/Day Bed in Master Bedroom Two More Can Sleep on Our Air Mattresses.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
Notes:
A Private Paradise entirely enclosed by an 8’ wall colorful blossoms at all seasons.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties