Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Seaside by Side Beachfront Sapphire Beach Condos

Bedrooms 1
Space 510 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


VRBO Bear stayed here

We found this property to be beary special

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Seaside By Side beach condominiums on World famous Sapphire Beach just steps from the water. Fantastic views of St. John and the British Virgin Islands.

Awaken to one of the most beautiful views on the planet. Enjoy a fantastic sunrise over neighboring St. John. Or simply bask in the refreshing trade winds blowing in from Africa. White sand beaches, wonderful swimming and snorkeling, and a 2-level pool awaits you.

The condo is completely furnished - fully equipped kitchen with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances. The unit accommodates 4 people. New king bed and queen-size sofa sleeper has select number mattress for a totally comfortable night's sleep.

Let the ocean breezes lull you to sleep in the hammock on your private balcony. Or take advantage of the many, many activities and sightseeing opportunities that surround this magnificent location.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 29, 2017

About Sheila

I lived in St. Thomas for two years from 1978- 1980. I am an avid traveller but didn't make it back to the Virgin Islands until 2001. Having been around the world, I appreciated the beauty of St. Thomas much more. The view from my balcony is more beautiful than anywhere I have been. I now live here year round and have never tired of the views, the wonderful weather or the crystal clear warm water.

Sheila purchased this condo in 2007

Why Sheila chose East End

Sapphire Beach is one of the best beaches on St. Thomas and in the world. The views are beyond compare. The snorkeling is great.

What makes this condo unique

This is a great place to enjoy the beautiful swimming beach and great snorkeling right outside your door. It is conveniently located just 3 minutes from Red Hook with great restaurants, shopping and the ferry to St. John and the British Virgin Islands.


Estate Smith Bay Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 510 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) New Heavenly Bed is very, very comfortable., Queen size Beds (1) Select Comfort sleeper couch, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Select Comfort
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Tennis courts, hammock, free beach chairs, snorkel equipment and non-motorized sports available at dive shop, provisioning available for extra cost, transportation to and from airport available for extra cost, cleaning available at beginning, middle and end of stay. Daily cleaning available at additional cost.


Enjoy the ocean breeze and breathtaking views while relaxing at the condo!

VRBO Bear stayed here

Nov 26, 2015

Heavenly! Our stay at Sheila and Jim’s condo on Sapphire Beach was fantastic! The owners were extremely responsive and helpful. The views we awoke to every morning were absolutely breathtaking and we could take in the waves right from our deck, and enjoy the wonderful breeze. We could see several islands including a beautiful view of St. John. The Banana Cabana around the corner serves you right on the beach and they have some of the best cocktails! There was great snorkeling right near the condo and the beach had white sand and crystal blue water. The condo was only a 2 minute cab ride to Red Hook where there were several great places to eat, grab a drink and jump on the ferry to St. John or on one of their amazing catamaran tours. There are several excursions to find at Sapphire Marina, right next to the condo. Thanks to Sheila’s extensive list of places to go and activities, we saw 6 different islands altogether! They also offered free wifi which was great and it’s very easy to get transportation to wherever you’re going. The condo also came with beach towels and snorkel gear. It had wood floors and a great kitchen, as well as a flat screen tv and plenty of cooking utensils and coffee condiments. Overall, it was such a relaxing experience with a fabulous view. We plan on staying at this condo again the next time we venture to the Virgin Islands!

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Seaside by Side Beachfront Sapphire Beach Condos
average rating of 4.909091 based on 22 reviews

Great 40th Anniversary Celebration!

  • 5 of 5

We are so grateful that we found this lovely home to celebrate our 40th anniversary and see St. Thomas for our very first time. The host, Sheila and her husband Jim, offered warmth, assistance when needed and hospitality for this very memorable trip. We especially loved the location of the condo with cool trade winds that made almost every night's sleep with doors open to hear the surf on the the beautiful beach, coral and seascape. The unit is very quite and we almost thought we were the only visitors in the complex, but the parking lot said something different. We rented a car so proximity to Red Hook ferry and shopping/eating area was just about a mile. A great pizza place is within walking distance near the harbor within the complex. Oh, don't miss the day trip on the New Horizon Snorkeling and Sailing for the day -- great fun, value and made it easy to commute all of 20 or so paces. The unit Sheila offers is second floor, which we decided is ideal for quite ambiance, breezes and privacy. We utilized the space by enjoying balcony almost every morning and evening. Sunrise and bay view of surrounding island with sapphire to turquoise waters makes St. Thomas and this property a MUST to return! Thank you for all you do to make these Okies really comfortable and rested.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm so glad that you had such a good time. Congratulations on your 40th anniversary. I think you should spend all your anniversaries in St. Thomas! You were wonderful guests. We enjoyed running into you at the restaurant and the opportunity to chat. Thanks so much, Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not Quite What Expected

  • 3 of 5

There were certainly reasons to love this property - its right on the beach, the unit was clean and the view from the balcony was priceless; however, it fell short on what we expected for several reasons:

1) The unit was deceptively advertised as a 1 bedroom which is a stretch given the fact that there is no real wall to separate the living room/kitchen and bedroom other than the retractable screen that you have to pull to separate the rooms. This would not be a problem for a couple BUT we bought our teenage daughter and I booked thinking that we would have a little more privacy than a typical hotel room - not so! Even if we had closed the partition, she would have to walk through the "bedroom to get to the bathroom".

2) The owner's initial response to my inquiry was very quick and payment was processed almost immediately which I can appreciate. I recieved a very detailed email about checking-in and things in the area but I sent an email asking about car rentals and after returning from the trip, I am still awaiting a response.

3) Sapphire Beach was small yet beautiful; however, the "resort" seems to be hanging on by threads.

There is a great guy Simon or Scott (can't remember exact name) distributing beach chairs and a little dive shop and bar. The two level pool area is usuable but partially boarded up by big pieces of plywood and a bar/towel area that is no longer used. There was a sign near the entrance by Bldg A that said "under renovation" but we came across signs like that all around the island and never saw any work in progress.

4) The parking lot is desperately in need of repair. The huge, axle-braking craters made you flinch each time you came in and out but that's a problem island-wide.

5) A car is highly recommended at this property unless you're ok w doing takeout and/or using taxis for everything because nothing is walking distance besides the limited bar food that is available a couple hrs per day. There is an expensive pizzeria up the hill but not easy to walk, especially with kids.

I previously lived in Antigua for 8 years and I have visited several islands, so I have a pretty good sense of what to expect. The infrastructure on St.Thomas was awful and the "resort" and unit were a disappointment.

This unit would be an appropriate place for an individual or couple, not a family. It would be ok for one who wants to getaway to write a book or heal from trauma because its quiet and not much to do but not much else.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Katoya, I'm so sorry that you were disappointed with the property at Sapphire Beach. You are correct about the parking lot. We don't own the parking lot and the owner will not allow us at this time to pave it. Sapphire Beach is one of the largest beaches on St. Thomas. It is not considered small as it is 1/2 mile long. The condos at Sapphire have been entirely renovated and are in good shape. However, it is not the Ritz which is why it doesn't cost $450 to over $1000 per night. You can find properties of equal price to Sapphire Beach, but they will not be on the water. The Suites (that's what you rented) are referred to as one bedroom to distinguish them from the Villas with an upstairs bedroom. Again, I'm sorry that the condo and the property were not what you expected. I hope that your future trips will meet your expectations. Sincerely, Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property, right on the beach

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay! The home was clean and comfortable. Good sized bed and kitchen stocked with all the appliances you need. We made breakfast at home everyday and spent many hours on the beach, which was amazing. It feels like a private beach because it's mostly just the people from the condo units, they give you free lounge chairs, and the four condo buildings are pretty much the only ones on this beach. We especially liked being in this building D because it's on the quieter side of the beach so not much foot traffic outside. We could sit on our balcony for hours just feasting our eyes on the beach and ocean.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. We love it here too! Every morning we gaze out at the ocean and feel amazed all over again. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time. Come back soon! Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great host, great location, great condo

  • 5 of 5

The condo is well located with a beautiful view and all you need for a relaxing holiday. The beach is lovely and only a short trip from other great beaches as well.

The host was really helpful and gave lots of information before we arrived.

Great stay and I'll definitely go back if I get the opportunity.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. I enjoyed meeting you and your family. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your vacation and hope to see you again someday. Stay warm! Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Paradise Awaits You

  • 5 of 5

We have vacationed at Sapphire Beach 8 times in the past 12 years. This location is by far the best on the Island for sun, breeze, access to nightlife, ferries and othe Islands. This villa is the best one we have stayed in based on condition, deck space and value. The additional deck space created by being a corner unit is fantastic as well as the panoramic view it creates. All of the reviews for this unit ring true and we will definitly spend our time at this location and this unit in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in our piece of paradise. We think it's a great find. Look forward to your return. Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Amherst, New York

What a find!!

  • 5 of 5

Just got home from Sheila and Jim's villa. I have been to St. Thomas many, many times but this has to be the best trip ever. Loved the location. It's right on the beach and next to the pool. The pictures are right on and every imaginable amenity is there. While deciding on our dates, the owners were very helpful answering questions and giving us ideas for dining and activities. Can't wait to return. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Michael K, Amherst, N.Y.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Michael! I always love hearing that our guests have enjoyed themselves and we do what we can to make that happen. Glad you had a great time and hope to see you again soon. Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
7.5 Miles
Cyril King Airport (STT)
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Sapphire Bar and Grille
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Red Hook
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mahogany Run
Nearest Beach
Sapphire Beach
Car: recommended

Other Activities: shopping, kayaking, parasailing, boating, paddle boarding


Rates & Availability

Estate Smith Bay Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer Season
Jun 7 2017 - Jul 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Shoulder Season
Aug 1 2017 - Nov 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
Fall Season
Nov 4 2017 - Dec 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Holiday Season
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 10 2018
4 night minimum stay
2018 High Season
Jan 11 2018 - Mar 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
2018 Spring
Apr 1 2018 - Jun 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
2018 Summer
Jun 7 2018 - Jul 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
2018 Shoulder Season
Aug 1 2018 - Nov 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
2018 Fall Season
Nov 4 2018 - Dec 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
2018 Holiday Season
Dec 16 2018 - Jan 10 2019
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $145 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties