check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

CUSTOM LOG HOME Quiet Mountain Setting, Close to Town..Pets OK!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
lodge
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Sevierville Lodge Rental Photos and Description

Custom Log Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

For peace and quiet come to Sassafras Lodge. But if you want to 'see the sights' the Lodge is conveniently located just minutes from Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge, and very close to the Arts & Crafts Community.

Sassafras Lodge was constructed in 2007/08 as our second home with our own comfort and mountain living interests in mind. The Lodge is a authentic log house built with squared hewn timbers, mortised and chinked and is architecturally accurate for the locality of the Southern Highlands in the time period of the 1890's to early 1900's. Sassafras Lodge is furnished and decorated in accordance with that period utilizing items reflecting our life long interest in early Americana and with period antiques, art works and our other interior furnishings and collectibles . However, the Lodge is also fully equipped with all the modern living conveniences. Please enjoy our unique home and our local nature library, nature paths and forest friends.

Keywords:Secluded, Smoky Mountains, close to Gatlinburg, private, LODGE, Pets OK, Mountain Setting, Quiet, Close to Town

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Martin Fairley, Owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2016

About Martin Fairley, Owner

The Fairley family's permanent home is in south Florida. The family includes Martin & Debbie and Scooter (Martin shown here in Taos, NM). Sassafras Lodge is our second home which we delight in sharing with you.

Martin Fairley, Owner purchased this lodge in 2008

Why Martin Fairley, Owner chose East

When we're not in our home in southwest Florida we're here in our second home in the Smoky Mountains. We both have New England roots and while Florida weather is great, we missed the four seasons!

When we found our 'dream' parcel of land with 'seclusion but close in to town' we took the plunge and built, not one but two, dream log homes. When we're not here you are most welcome to enjoy Sassafras Lodge or it's twin Trillium Lodge yourselves!

What makes this lodge unique

Located between Gatlinburg and Pittman Center, we're just minutes away from downtown Gatlinburg and the Arts & Crafts Center. We are on a loop road without through traffic. We are fairly secluded and can only see other cabins at a distance.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is a great cabin to stay in. A great place to relax. Very pretty up here. Plan on coming back with friends.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 82

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

CUSTOM LOG HOME Quiet Mountain Setting, Close to Town..Pets OK!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 94 reviews
Washington, MI
5

Book it before someone else does!!!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was absolutely beautiful and had everything you could possibly need - even several televisions! Very peaceful to sit on the porch and close to so many places! We left at the crack of dawn and returned at dusk. We were there for a week and never ran out of things to do. Got to see a black bear up close at the smoky mountain national park. Definitely a great place to stay on vacation!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted you had a great time. Come back next year and become a "regular guest" and get a 10% discount on your rent!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Harrisburg NC
1

Needs to cleaned, paper thin walls, stained sheets, etc etc etc

  • 1 of 5

The cabin itself is beautifully set. BUT, the walls are paper thin, cabin needs an overall cleaning, new towels & sheets (ours were stained). No Wifi service as advertised on VRBO. Jacuzzi smelled bad. The cabin had a musty smell, it was not cleaned (cup stains & crumbs on kitchen table, left over coffee in the coffee pot). We also found womens underwear on sofa/futon in the master & mildewed shower curtains. Met the cleaning guy, who informed us that his girlfriend/wife was gone & he was learning to clean. It is sad that this mans personal issues ruined our vacation. Unfortunately the condition of this cabin upon the first hour set the tone for our vacation. I am currently seeking some type of refund from owner/VRBO/HomeAway.

I would not rent this cabin again due to its cleaning & paper thin wall. I am not sure that will rent another cabin with VRBO either, that will depend on the compensation I receive for the ruined vacation.

I would not give any stars but a least 1 star is required to submit.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This "guest" is a liar, a cheat and a dishonest dissembler! HomeAway has already investigated her claim and closed the "case"! Neighbors have told us this group, who booked four adults, three children and one dog, had , over over six suvs and two trucks parked all the road on the lawn , and on neighbors' property. They estimate that over 20 people were staying overnight for the week in our three bedroom log cabin. The cleaning contractor needed two crews and 12 hours work to ready the property for the next guest! They hauled over four truck loads of trash to the waste collection station! No I didn't give them a refund!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice cabin! I really liked how everything we needed was provided. The porch was awesome and had gates put up at the stairs, which we really appreciated since we took our dog with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted you had a great time. Come back next year and you'll get a 10% discount (Call directly!).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Secluded & lovely

  • 4 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay at the lodge. We had absolutely everything we needed & the home was lovely. Fantastic covered porch, fully stocked kitchen, and plenty of room for all 8 of us. The hot tub wasn't working at the time but the Grands splashed around anyway. It is tucked back for sure, a long & windy road but absolutely worth the drive and we would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted your family had a fine time! Sorry about the hot tub. It got a new motor and pump for over $500.00!. Be sure to come back next year and get a 10% discount when you contact us directly!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful home away from home

  • 5 of 5

First visit to Gatlinburg and absolutely loved it. Love this cabin, it's decorated beautifully and everything you need is provided. It was clean and well stocked. There are directions written down anywhere you might need them and the booking response was very fast. The master bedroom is huge and the other two bedrooms are plenty big. The beds are comfortable and there are plenty of pillows and blankets. Three bathrooms so multiple people can get ready. The wrap around porch is so relaxing with lots of seating and the hot tub worked great. There are lots of tvs, board games downstairs, pool table and even movies. The location is easy to find and close to all the shopping and attractions you would want. It's also pretty secluded which is really nice. There are a lot of hotels in the area but I couldn't imagine being in that hustle and bustle all the time. It was so nice to go through long days of sightseeing and come back to a home environment and relax. There was a problem with the air conditioning and it got fixed by the time we returned to the cabin which is really outstanding customer service. I recommend staying here for a great getaway, I loved it and so did my friend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted that your Smoky Mountain vacation was a success. Please come back next year and become a "regular" and get a 10% discount!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great relaxing cabin

  • 4 of 5

The cabin is super nice. LOVE the little reading nook upstairs. We were a bit surprised by the variety of the neighborhood. We were also glad that there wasn't any snow as driveway was pretty steep and it would have been tough in ice or snow without 4 wheel drive. The cleaning fee was kind of steep considering all we did when we left. It was a great stay -we hiked in the woods, soaked in the hot tub, played pool and cards and had a wonderful time with family. We appreciated being able to bring our little dog.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Knoxville

You are seven miles from the Visitors' Center of the Great Smoky National Park. Close by is: Dolly World, Dolly's Splash World, Forbidden Caverns, NASCAR SpeedPark, Hillbilly Golf, OBER Gatlinburg, Earthquake Ride,Deer Farm Riding Stables, Adventure Raceway, Fantasy Golf, Rafting in the Smokies, Ripley's Believe It OR Not, Smoky Mountain Car Museum, Tennessee Museum of Aviation, Smoky Mountain Stables, Douglas Lake, The Track, Gem Mine of Pigeon Forge, Camp Thunder Fun Center, Aerial Tram, Winter Skiing, Alpine Slide and more...

Dolly Wood & Dolly Water World are only 7 miles away! are 6 miles away

ALL OUR 100+ CURRENT GUEST REVIEWS NOW CAN ONLY BE SEEN ON OUR WEBSITE.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sevierville Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
WINTER/SPRING
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$160
$960
 
 
SUMMER/FALL
Apr 1 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$210
$1,260
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Pet Fee $45
departure cleaning $135
Tax Rate 10.0%

CANCELLATION POLICY: The "Advance Payment " of 50% is full refundable if guest cancels, for any reason, the reservation anytime prior to thirty days prior to the Start date. Balance is due 30 prior to the start and there is no refunds, for any reason after that date.

Christmas/new Years. The minimum stay for the holiday season is five nights.
Rental rates are subject to change without notice!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sevierville Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1820 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Other (See Description) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , In Rec Room
    Bedroom Master Suite - 1 king
  • Master Suite with King Bed, Private Full Bath & Walk-In Closet- Great View. other Bedrooms have Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
Notes:
Three miles away is the Gatlinburg Community Center which welcomes our guests! Available is a heated indoor olympic sized swimming pool (with guard), Bowling Alleys, Handball Courts, Exercise room and many other available activities. Also, next door to the Community Center is the new Gatlinburg Public Library which is also available to our guests. Along with the books, etc are internet connected computer terminals for your use!

Partner Offers