Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

CUSTOM LOG HOME Quiet Mountain Setting, Close to Town..Pets OK!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,820 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Custom Log Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

For peace and quiet come to Sassafras Lodge. But if you want to 'see the sights' the Lodge is conveniently located just minutes from Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge, and very close to the Arts & Crafts Community.

Sassafras Lodge was constructed in 2007/08 as our second home with our own comfort and mountain living interests in mind. The Lodge is a authentic log house built with squared hewn timbers, mortised and chinked and is architecturally accurate for the locality of the Southern Highlands in the time period of the 1890's to early 1900's. Sassafras Lodge is furnished and decorated in accordance with that period utilizing items reflecting our life long interest in early Americana and with period antiques, art works and our other interior furnishings and collectibles . However, the Lodge is also fully equipped with all the modern living conveniences. Please enjoy our unique home and our local nature library, nature paths and forest friends.

Keywords:Secluded, Smoky Mountains, close to Gatlinburg, private, LODGE, Pets OK, Mountain Setting, Quiet, Close to Town

More Details

Owner
Martin Fairley, Owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 11, 2017

About Martin Fairley, Owner

The Fairley family's permanent home is in south Florida. The family includes Martin & Debbie and Scooter (Martin shown here in Taos, NM). Sassafras Lodge is our second home which we delight in sharing with you.

Martin Fairley, Owner purchased this lodge in 2008

Why Martin Fairley, Owner chose Sevierville

When we're not in our home in southwest Florida we're here in our second home in the Smoky Mountains. We both have New England roots and while Florida weather is great, we missed the four seasons!

When we found our 'dream' parcel of land with 'seclusion but close in to town' we took the plunge and built, not one but two, dream log homes. When we're not here you are most welcome to enjoy Sassafras Lodge or it's twin Trillium Lodge yourselves!

What makes this lodge unique

Located between Gatlinburg and Pittman Center, we're just minutes away from downtown Gatlinburg and the Arts & Crafts Center. We are on a loop road without through traffic. We are fairly secluded and can only see other cabins at a distance.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is a great cabin to stay in. A great place to relax. Very pretty up here. Plan on coming back with friends.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 82

Amenities

Sevierville Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1820 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • NO large gatherings, i.e. wedding parties, family reunions, etc
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Other (See Description) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , In Rec Room
    Bedroom Master Suite - 1 king
  • Master Suite with King Bed, Private Full Bath & Walk-In Closet- Great View. other Bedrooms have Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
Notes:
Three miles away is the Gatlinburg Community Center which welcomes our guests! Available is a heated indoor olympic sized swimming pool (with guard), Bowling Alleys, Handball Courts, Exercise room and many other available activities. Also, next door to the Community Center is the new Gatlinburg Public Library which is also available to our guests. Along with the books, etc are internet connected computer terminals for your use!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

53% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
CUSTOM LOG HOME Quiet Mountain Setting, Close to Town..Pets OK!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 97 reviews
5

VRBO Sassafras

  • 5 of 5

I absolutely loved this cabin! It felt like a tree house - not only outside, but inside also. Nature books, and a home-like feel that brought warmth to this precious spot. The touch of antiques and bird feeders added natural charm. Wonderful cabin.....I've stayed in MANY throughout our 20+ years coming to Gatlinburg, but this was my favorite!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted you had a good time! Please come again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful secluded cabin in the woods

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our stay! The cabin was well-stocked, rooms were spacious enough for 5 people and beds were comfy. The hot tub was an added bonus! Roads getting up to the house were a tad bit curvy for our taste, but we managed and it got a little easier after a few treks in and out. Sassafras Lodge signs were helpful to reassure us that we were heading in the right direction! Not too far into town, mileage wise, but takes a little longer due to the slow speed at which you must travel the roads. Steep walkway up to the cabin, so watch your steps! Overall, good value for price and location!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful

  • 4 of 5

We had a very relaxing week in TN. We really enjoyed the cabin .

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Harrisburg NC
1

Needs to cleaned, paper thin walls, stained sheets, etc etc etc

  • 1 of 5

The cabin itself is beautifully set. BUT, the walls are paper thin, cabin needs an overall cleaning, new towels & sheets (ours were stained). No Wifi service as advertised on VRBO. Jacuzzi smelled bad. The cabin had a musty smell, it was not cleaned (cup stains & crumbs on kitchen table, left over coffee in the coffee pot). We also found womens underwear on sofa/futon in the master & mildewed shower curtains. Met the cleaning guy, who informed us that his girlfriend/wife was gone & he was learning to clean. It is sad that this mans personal issues ruined our vacation. Unfortunately the condition of this cabin upon the first hour set the tone for our vacation. I am currently seeking some type of refund from owner/VRBO/HomeAway.

I would not rent this cabin again due to its cleaning & paper thin wall. I am not sure that will rent another cabin with VRBO either, that will depend on the compensation I receive for the ruined vacation.

I would not give any stars but a least 1 star is required to submit.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This "guest" is a liar, a cheat and a dishonest dissembler! HomeAway has already investigated her claim and closed the "case"! Neighbors have told us this group, who booked four adults, three children and one dog, had , over over six suvs and two trucks parked all the road on the lawn , and on neighbors' property. They estimate that over 20 people were staying overnight for the week in our three bedroom log cabin. The cleaning contractor needed two crews and 12 hours work to ready the property for the next guest! They hauled over four truck loads of trash to the waste collection station! No I didn't give them a refund!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice cabin! I really liked how everything we needed was provided. The porch was awesome and had gates put up at the stairs, which we really appreciated since we took our dog with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted you had a great time. Come back next year and you'll get a 10% discount (Call directly!).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Secluded & lovely

  • 4 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay at the lodge. We had absolutely everything we needed & the home was lovely. Fantastic covered porch, fully stocked kitchen, and plenty of room for all 8 of us. The hot tub wasn't working at the time but the Grands splashed around anyway. It is tucked back for sure, a long & windy road but absolutely worth the drive and we would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted your family had a fine time! Sorry about the hot tub. It got a new motor and pump for over $500.00!. Be sure to come back next year and get a 10% discount when you contact us directly!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Knoxville

You are seven miles from the Visitors' Center of the Great Smoky National Park. Close by is: Dolly World, Dolly's Splash World, Forbidden Caverns, NASCAR SpeedPark, Hillbilly Golf, OBER Gatlinburg, Earthquake Ride,Deer Farm Riding Stables, Adventure Raceway, Fantasy Golf, Rafting in the Smokies, Ripley's Believe It OR Not, Smoky Mountain Car Museum, Tennessee Museum of Aviation, Smoky Mountain Stables, Douglas Lake, The Track, Gem Mine of Pigeon Forge, Camp Thunder Fun Center, Aerial Tram, Winter Skiing, Alpine Slide and more...

Dolly Wood & Dolly Water World are only 7 miles away! are 6 miles away

ALL OUR 100+ CURRENT GUEST REVIEWS NOW CAN ONLY BE SEEN ON OUR WEBSITE.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

departure cleaning $140
Pet Fee $45
Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 10.0%

CANCELLATION POLICY: The "Advance Payment " of 50% is full refundable if guest cancels, for any reason, the reservation anytime prior to thirty days prior to the Start date. Balance is due 30 prior to the start and there is no refunds, for any reason after that date.

MINIMUM AGE TO RENT: Renter must be over 25 years of age.

USES: NO Wedding parties, family reunions or large gatherings;

NUMBER OF OVERNIGHT GUEST: A maximum of 8 over nights guest is allowed.

Christmas/new Years. The minimum stay for the holiday season is five nights.

Rental rates are subject to change without notice!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties