check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Available Christmas and New Years!

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 31 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
31 nights

About the property

Fabulous View Home, 4 Bedroom + Loft, 2 & 1/2 Bath Sleeps 6

This home is on a private road that is so beautiful, you will think you are in a mountain resort with the ocean at your feet welcome to Top of the World.Like to hike, bike, jog, commune with nature it's right out your door. The natural beauty of 'Top of the World' known mostly by locals will take your breath away.

600 Thread Sheets,

Original Art,

65 inch 3D TV with surround sound in Moroccan Video Room

2 other flat screens

3 Fireplace,

2 Private decks for lounging


Gourmet Kitchen

outdoor BBQ's

Heated outdoor Bistro Table

Incredible view no extra charge!

Home: This Art filled home offers a 4 bedroom, 2.5 bath, Gourmet Kitchen, Moroccan Video Room with 60 in HDTV with surround sound system, 2 decks with incredible views gas BBQ.

Loft with sofa bed couch. Sleeps up to 6 people.

Luxury Linens

3 Fireplaces

World class mountain bike trails

Tennis and 2 parks within walking distance

Free Shuttle Bus during Summer


More Details

Property Manager
Janna MacDowall
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 28, 2016

About Janna MacDowall

It is my passion to create beautiful environments in vacation locations. Having fabulous affordable properties to share with others gives me extreme pleasure.I love to receive comments in my guest book about how much fun you had and having you return over and over again is the ultimate compliment.

Janna MacDowall purchased this house in 2000

Why Janna MacDowall chose Laguna Beach

As a world traveler, upon arriving in Laguna Beach, I discovered the most spectacular art influenced community. Laguna Beach is where I've chosen to live and enjoy my life, surrounded by it's natural beauty which draws artists and inspires there expressions. The art festival every summer is a not to be missed experience, people and my guests come from all over the world to appreciate it's ever changing wonder. This village offers world class restaurants, side walk cafes, one of a kind boutiques selling clothing to be worn as art. Exploring Laguna you will finding new creative endeavors popping up daily, truly there is never a dull moment. I would and could not choose a more perfect place in the world to live, I feel everyday is a vacation in this special place we call Paradise!


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Available Christmas and New Years!
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 21 reviews

Piece of heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5

The house was much more than I expected for the price I paid. It was a piece of heaven on earth. It is filled with beautiful arts and amazing views of canyon. We were a family of 6 two adults and 4 children ages 6 to 19 and we had a plenty of space for us. Janna ( the owner ) met us at the beginning of our stay and showed us here beautiful home explaining everything to us to make sure that we knew everything and enjoy our stay, at that moment I knew we would have a good time at this place. Location is excellent being at the top of the canyon. The quality of the furniture and linens was evident and that really shows how much care and pride the owner take in her property. Excellent decoration of the home, the decks on every floor overlooking the canyon are breathtaking. Every morning I enjoyed reading on the chairs of the decks enjoying the view and listening to the birds singing on top of the trees on top of the world, I realized I couldn’t remember when I last sat outside just to enjoy a good book. Everything during our stay was perfect; we did not want to leave. I always travel to Europe, Asia, U.S.A and Canada, it is among one of the best places in the world we have ever had the pleasure of staying and hoping to return one day. Words just can’t explain it enough.

My compliment to the owner- Janna - to her beautiful taste of her home and to her generosity in sharing her love of arts with us.

Ahmed Asiri

Riyadh, Saudi arabia

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2

Everything you could want!

  • 5 of 5

Very well appointed, clean, great location and a wonderful view, even from the shower! Janna was very helpful, thank you.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Laguna Hills "Top of the World" home

  • 5 of 5

Our family just stayed at the "Top of the World -Art Filled Home for a week and had a fabulous time. The home is as described. It is spacious, beautiful, comfortable and very eclectic and art filled.

The property was clean and well maintained. All of the linens and towels were very nice and we really enjoyed listening to all of our favorite tunes on the surround sound satellight radio like we do at home. The owner made sure that we knew how to use all equipment and provided excellent service.

The canyon view from the back windows and the balcony were incredible! Was able to do yoga on the patio in the mornings and we jogged through the neighborhood hills to the dirt/sand biking/hiking/jogging trails about 3/4 of mile from the house. It was absolutely wonderful and allowed us to continue our active lifestyles every day before hitting the beaches and activities.

The house does sit at the very top of the hill, which wasn't a problem for us but just be aware that you will have about a 4 minute drive down to the village and Coastal Hiway where all the shops, restaurants and beaches are located. You are able to park and hop on the free trolleys that take you to all the main spots.

Be sure to hit Tablerock Beach, the beach by the Montage resort, Crystal Cove Beach and the main Laguna Beach. We loved playing at a different beach with a different flavor every day. You also can't go wrong with going to the Sawdust Arts Festival and Dave's whale watching at Dana Point. We really enjoyed ourselves! We would recommend staying at this property to all. We can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Palm Springs, CA

Top of the World

  • 5 of 5

I have vacationed at two other properties offered by this owner: a condo in Honolulu, Hawaii, a beach front condo in Laguna Beach and now this hilltop home in Laguna Beach. As with the other properties; this home did not disappoint. I thoroughly enjoyed the location with beautiful open canyon views - a real getting away from it all feeling. My daughter loved the loft and Moroccan media room and I loved the huge windows overlooking the canyon and having coffee on the deck early in the morning. The home was very attractive, well maintained/equipped and had attractive art. The owners tips on restaurants were spot on and we had the best gourmet hamburgers for lunch at Maro's that we have ever had. What a pleasure to have the home exceed the photos and our expectations while we escaped the summer heat of Palm Springs! I wish the owner had properties in Colorado and Utah for ski season.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


  • 1 of 5

The second we walked into the house we felt we are entering into a sauna room, no air-condition and only couple small fans not even enough to cool a closet….talking about closets we had to keep our cloth for 21 days in the luggage since the owner kept her loads and loads of cloth in the closets with a sign on each door (do not open private) and a very small closet in one room was left empty. In general sofas are old and filthy with marks and strange spots, and strange insects in the attic which the owner considers as a bedroom where no human can sleep.

Beds are horrible smelly, and while it is says it 4 bedrooms home, and if I want to count the small kitchenette as bedroom then it is.

Beach is exactly 4 mile drive, and only if you are tall and lucky then you see some water far away from the front door only (you have to be standing).

I am not sure who had written the earlier reviews but for sure it had fooled me especially after 5 years of renting homes for vacations not to mention that the green photos you see is far from truth.

Out of the 21 days 5 nights we checked into a hotel and slept there and finally the owner did not return our deposit and wanted me to ask my insurance (since I purchased the rental insurance) to clean her dirty furniture which is filled with big spots of black mold that you can not even remove.

If any one is interested I have got some interesting photos which I will share with you.



  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I offer 7 luxury sold out vacation rentals between Laguna Beach and Waikiki. These properties have over a hundred travelers reviews; all positive until this renter. My cleaning crew and I were frankly shocked at the condition my home was left in upon these renter's departure after a 21 day stay. I feel the review is malicious, false and done because these renters feel no obligation to rectify/pay for any of the damage done to the property during their stay. I am sure they do have photos-the ones I e-mailed to them asking them what on earth did they do in my home! One example of the type of damage in just one room is having to replace the bed because the entire steel midbeam support on the bed was bent/unrepairable. Another disturbing item is that the owner's locked master bedroom closet was broken into. How would they write in their review that there were "loads and loads of clothes" in a locked closet if they had not broken into it, the list goes on. The whole disturbing experience is a first for me as I have never had any renters treat any of my properties with such disrespect. Janna MacDowall
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Medford Lakes, NJ

Heavenly hilltop home

  • 5 of 5

Photos do not do this property justice. The views were better than pictured, the ambience more inviting than shown, and the suitability for multiple families better than anticipated. My brother and sister (and their families with teens) truly enjoyed every minute of this spacious home.... and that is exactly what it felt like. It felt like home. Every detail was thoughtfully considered; every need was seamlessly foreseen. This is the perfect meeting of art and functionality. We fully expect to return to California and to this home next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words! We hope you and your family return to this special slice of paradise and one of our other properties soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2


Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Nearest Train
10 Miles
San Juan Capistrano
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Laguna Cayon Rd
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
Laguna Beach
Car: recommended

Other Activities: boating, spa, shopping, kayaking, basketball court, hot air ballooning, wildlife viewing


Rates & Availability

Top of the World House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Sep 8 2016 - Sep 7 2017
31 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
31 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

Only reason it says one night is the matrix will not allow you to see the daily rate. Plus Weekly cleaning of $175 is required. Holiday Rates (Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas) please inquire. Using a credit card +4%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Top of the World House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Romantic
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • fax
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Powder Room - toilet
    Master - toilet , shower , attached to master bedroom
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shared between Bedroom 4/5
  • 2.5 bathrooms 2 full baths, one powder room
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • House/mster - 1 queen , Sleeps 2
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , With Kitchenette
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Penthouse bedroom
    Loft - 1 queen , sleeps 2
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen , Lower level next to Master shared bath with bedroom #4
  • 4 bedrooms (with a loft) 4 queen beds and one futon in bedroom with Kitchenette
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties