One Bedroom w balcony, walkable to everything, AC, hot H20, broadband internet
- english, spanish
About Deb Bennett
We live in Dallas, Texas and have owned vacation rental properties for many years. I have always been in love with Latin American culture and minored in Spanish in college. When we went to Cartagena in 2011 we fell in love with the city and bought 3 modern, renovated apartments in the old walled city on Calle de la Moneda. In 2015 we bought the unique corner historic Los Balcones building and renovated it! We divide our time between Dallas, Cartagena and our other properties on Ambergris Caye, Belize.
Deb Bennett purchased this Apartment in 2011
Why Deb Bennett chose Centro
Old Cartagena is simply magical! We fell in love with the city and wanted to buy immediately. We were delighted and excited when this property became available. It is now wonderfully renovated and perfectly situated to explore the walled city.
What makes this Apartment unique
The balconies are fantastic and our 3 apartments make up the entire second floor of this building. It is very private. The property is in the heart of the Old Walled City on the lively street of Calle de la Moneda. It's very typical of Old Cartagena- beautiful colonial buildings, vibrant and bustling, no need for a car, within walking distance of every site imaginable. One of the perks of this property is that it is wonderfully tranquil at night.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
great, convenient apartment
The location of this apartment was great. We could walk everywhere. It was clean and had a wonderful balcony to take in the street life.
Thank you so much for the great review! The balcony and location are definitely two of the studio's greatest assets.
I am so happy that you had a wonderful stay and I hope you have the opportunity to come back!
Great location, very good condition and excellent manager
The apartment is nicely set up, clean with everything working well - the AC is strong and silent - the hot water is very much appreciated and all the lights etc work. The location is ideal for exploring, you are right in the heart of the old town. Expect some street noise during the day, vendors, lots of people walking and traffic - but at night it is quiet - no restaurants or clubs in the immediate vicinity. Benjamin the manager is very punctual and helpful - all in all a great choice.
Thank you, Phillip, for the generous and thoughtful review! I am so glad you appreciated the apartment amenities and especially our wonderful manager, Benjamin. We couldn't do it without him. Because we are right in the heart of the Old City, there will certainly be noise during the day. I am glad that it was quiet at night which is my experience as well.
The one bedroom is nice because the bedroom is located at the back of the apartment and away from the street.
Thanks again for the terrific review. I hope you come back!
It was just perfect: immaculate, the manager met me there precisely on time when I checked in, great convenient location, nice balcony to watch the passing scene. If I get back to Cartagena, I will definitely stay there again!
Thanks for the wonderful review, Scott! Benjamin is a fantastic manager and the balcony is one of the terrific amenities of both the one bedroom and studio apartments. Great for people watching!
I am looking forward to your return.
Noisy & Small!
First off I must say I stayed in the studio. I originally booked the 2 bedroom but due to scheduling conflicts Deb contacted and asked if I could change my dates. There were only 2 of us staying and I thought the studio would be sufficient. It is very, very small. A queen bed, one outdoor chair, two night stands. Very sparse. The street noise is constant from 6am-9pm. On top of that, this is a busy busy street with cars & locals that makes it is difficult to sleep. By day 3, I was ready to go somewhere else as I was trying to work and it was difficult to do in this loud confining space.
The other apts look much larger with the bedrooms to the back. I do take responsibility for allowing myself to being switched to the smaller apartment that made my visit less than great.
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay in the Studio. It is our most booked apartment of the 3 and we have stayed there several times. Most of the shops open about 7:30 and close 6:30- 7:00. The local street noise does not bother us and we like the bustling location. If you return to Cartagena, you should stay in the one or two bedroom apartment. Both are much larger and have quiet bedrooms. You will sleep like a baby- 1 free night on us. Best, Deb
New to Cartagena
I always chose the best hotels when traveling, such as Four Seasons, Westin, overseas Marriott, Hyatt, etc. In Cartagena I wanted to try an apartment and stayed at the 2 bedroom unit.
Pluses include: Clean, comfortable and attractively decorated apartment in the middle of the best area in Cartagena. Very short and easy walking distance to the best areas, including restaurants and shopping areas. The caretaker, Henry, was both effervescent and helpful and immediately resolved any issues (an A/C remote needed help).
Cons include: Could have supplied a flat sheet on the beds rather than just fitted with blanket. Electricity was off for 1 hour one day, and 7 hours for another, although not the fault of the caretaker or owner. Cable TV reception not very good.
In summary, I would recommend your stay at this apartment.
Thanks Bill and I am really happy you decided to try an apartment instead of a hotel. We like the flexibility that offers. Not sure what happened with the flat sheet as there are plenty in the laundry room. The electric company has been a challenge and Henry thinks they will be replaced. Luckily we do not have outages often and we are looking into a generator for "just in case" . TV should have good reception so I will ask Henry to get the cable company out. Thanks for your help and come stay with us again. Best, Deb
Manager Henry was the best part of the apartment.
We stayed a week in the studio apt. It was just ok, but the manager Henry was great, very helpful when there was a problem. Çartagena was great to visit. Lots to do and some wonderful testaurants.
We virtually never get ratings this low. I am sorry you were disappointed in our Studio apartment in the old walled city. Most think it is a well equipped Studio and good value in the old walled city. What did you find lacking? We take feedback seriously and will do our best to incorporate your ideas for improvement. We agree our manager Henry is a national treasure. Thanks, Deb
The three apartments are centrally located in the historic walled city within easy walking distance of all attractions. The location is down the street from the University of Cartagena and around the corner from Plaza Fernandez de Madrid.