Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LESS THAN 1 MIN. WALK TO ON THE BEACH!! Comfy and adorable home

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

OZ BY THE SEA HAS LOVELY OCEAN VIEWS FROM THE LIVING ROOM & DECK!

We call the house, Oz by the Sea. It’s beachside location and large decks make it perfect for dining al fresco. The view of the ocean and the sound of the surf from the deck and the Lanai, provide atmosphere and melody for entertaining.

If there are any little pirates, stargazers or porpoise spotters among you, they can climb up to the crow’s nest at the top of the house, facing the gulf, and have a little adventure. Sunbathers will love this area too.

The interior of our home has been nicely decorated, making you feel welcome, pampered and indulged. The living room is comfortable and cozy and even has a reading nook for the kids. This room is tastefully decorated and has a row of full length windows facing the deck and ocean, so the views are lovely!

The master bedroom has a pillow-top king size bed, and a bathroom with an over-sized shower. There is also a screened-in porch off the master bedroom, facing the gulf…great for nodding off while reading that summer novel or even for a dreamy night in the right weather. Plenty of comfortable seating for a family. I love having my morning coffee here...not to mention my evening wine.

The second bedroom has a full and a twin size bed. The third bedroom has a luxurious full sized bed.

The kitchen is fully stocked (all cooking utensils, pots and pans plus Panini press and waffle maker) for the chef in the family with all modern appliances, Corian countertops and bar seating for six.

All linens, paper towels and TP are provided. There are games and books for all ages. There is a flat screen TV and movies for the entire family—a great way to end a fun, sun-drenched day at the beach.

I have also provided oversized, quality beach towels for your use as well as oodles of beach toys. There are beach chairs and a small cooler for you to take out to the beach.

Oz by the Sea is on a quiet, dead-end road. The area is known as Palm Beach and is one of the oldest and most established on the island.

Automobiles are not allowed on the beach here, so your family is safe to frolic in the waves and build sand castles without dodging vehicles. If you are a horse lover, there is a place a few minutes away for you to rent one and go for a ride on the beach!

I think you’ll agree that all of this makes our beach home a wonderful place for your family to retreat to for their holiday in the sun. Plus, there are lovely restaurants nearby, golf, fishing, miniature golf, the seawall walkway, pedal carts that will carry a family of six, bicycle rentals, historic tours, sight-seeing boat rides, a historical air museum with classic plane rides available.

Moody Gardens (with the Aquarium Pyramid®; Rainforest Pyramid®; Discovery Museum; IMAX® 3D, 4D and Ridefilm theaters; or the Colonel Paddlewheel Boat)Schlitterbahn Waterpark Resort and the historic Strand area for dining and shopping.

Here are some comments from our guests:

'Oz by the Sea is definitely a cut above your typical beach house rental! The house has a carefully put-together feel. The furniture, lovely bedding and fully stocked kitchen are top notch. The spacious master suite, with it's screened in porch, is set away from the other bedrooms. This arrangement is perfect for the adults to enjoy some privacy and listen to the waves lap the shore. The large deck outside is perfect for al fresco meals. The beach is close enough for the children to dart to and fro from the house. Forget something? Not likely, because the house is so well stocked. If one has a craving for Fungyuns, there is a handy convenience store right up the road. I will happily return, sometime soon I hope. Oz by the Sea is a refreshingly modern house with the old-school charm of a simple beach vacation.' Heidi M., Easter Break 2009

'A big thank you for such a perfect beach house! You had absolutely everything available to all of us plus the wonderful surprises. Thanks again, for such a great few days!!! Kathy A. and family, 2008

'Your house is amazing, can we stay longer! Cole M., family and friends, 2008

'You decorated your home beautifully, perfect beach theme, but not overdone, and it had all the amenities we needed. The little touches you provided were perfect, such as sunscreen and lotions, water toys, shower outside, and board games.' Ferdinand A. and family, 2008

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Katherine
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

About Katherine

Katherine VanDewater and Lance Osborne

With 5 kids, 4 still at home to take care of, we lead exceptionally busy lives! What parents don't these days! So, when we need a little escape, to slow down and just enjoy our lives, we head to Oz by the Sea! We have wonderful neighbors there, amazing views and a clean, beautiful and QUIET beach.

Katherine purchased this house in 2008

Why Katherine chose Palm Beach

We chose the West End of Galveston Island because it was just far enough away from all the busy areas of SeaWall Blvd. yet close enough for us to go in for a nice dinner or lunch whenever I didn't feel like cooking! We also chose the West End for the quiet, private beaches and the family atmosphere of the area. Our beach is restricted from vehicles, so this also keeps the partying crowd away and thus makes our beach safe for children to wander and play on!

What makes this house unique

My most important goal for my guests at our beach home is for them to feel 'at home!' I try very hard to provide all the little extras, like beach towels, beach chairs, beach toys, boogie boards, loads of pales and spades to dig with...you name it, we probably have it at Oz! As a parent I know what a pain in the neck it is to tow all those things along with you on your journey to the beach, so if I can make your trip here more comfortable as well, then I am pleased!! I want to make going away to Oz for the weekend as easy, carefree and relaxing as possible. Likewise, my kitchen is also filled with all you need to cook like the chef you are!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed at Oz by the Sea over Christmas, and had a fabulous time, even with the less than good weather! The proximity to the beach was wonderful, since the grandchildren wanted to go several times a day. I was pleansantly surprised by all the toys and books for all ages.

The living and dining areas were spacious with enough seating for our group of 8. The deck provided a wonderful place for the adults to relax outdoors and for the children to blow bubbles.
Dec 2016
  • 1 of 1

Map

Amenities

Palm Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1),
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
LESS THAN 1 MIN. WALK TO ON THE BEACH!! Comfy and adorable home
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 12 reviews
5

Cutest Little Beach House in Texas

  • 5 of 5

Wow, what a difference a year makes. We've stayed at this house before and always loved it, but the work done recently to improve the deck and exterior--it's practically shiny now. The owner has always decorated the inside in such a cute, homey fashion. Now they've expanded some of the space so we had more room for all our big family's stuff. Love this house. Love Galveston's west end.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We've worked hard and invested heavily in the house to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Thanks for noticing ;-)
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
2

Not as Advertised

  • 2 of 5

My wife and I, along with our two-year old toddler, rented this beach house in early October 2015 for what was supposed to be a nice getaway. The pictures of the house were stunningly beautiful, and helped entice us to come here. What we actually saw, however, was completely different.

When opening the door for the first time and walking up the stairs, the stairs creaked somewhat, which was a little odd, but didn’t bother us all that much. It wasn’t until we got to the kitchen that we noticed that there was a large mess left un-cleaned, and there were several flies hovering over the sink. I called the owner about this, and she apologized and said the previous tenants threw a big party and basically trashed the place, and it took the cleaning ladies much longer than normal to clean everything. Understandable, although there were several places in the house that had not been swept. But then…

We noticed the deck. This was one of the main reasons we chose this beach house, after seeing several beautiful pictures of the deck with children having fun on it. The deck is in serious need of repair, and should probably be redone completely. There were loose boards, and one or two with significant holes. Moreover, in some places the railing wasn't attached, so if our toddler wanted to she could pull them away and risk falling off. Lastly, the deck had not been cleaned at all, because otherwise we would not have found some old fish hooks lying about, that our toddler could have picked up if we weren't careful. The deck posed a serious risk to our child, so we refused to let her walk on it, and instead kept her inside.

The last complaint I have was the mold that was visible in several spots along the ceiling of the beach house. The owner had said this was normal for beach houses in the area.

Despite the several things that went wrong during our stay, I did give two stars instead of one, for the very reason that the owner was understanding enough to refund our cleaning fee, and gave an apology (both verbal and written) for the condition of the beach house.

Lesson learned. From now on, we will make sure to inspect vacation rentals IN PERSON, before making a commitment to purchase a stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great news: We've invested thousands of dollars on upgrading the deck and entire exterior of this house (SEE RECENT PHOTOS.) We have also switched to a new cleaning service and brought in professionals to get rid of the typical beach house mildew challenges.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3
5

Perfect beach house!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house for a summer getaway for our family of 5. It was exactly as described! Stocked with everything you need for the beach, which was great! We didn't have to haul any sandy beach toys, gear, or even towels! The owners provided it all! The beach just is a short walk away and the house has great views. Highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you had everything you needed for adult and kids alike. Sounds like a rompin' good time by all!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Galveston, Tx, US
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5

This was an amazing beach house. It comes with everything you heart desires. It is an all in one of you are looking for family fun with kids excellent or if you are looking for a romantic stop with your companion this is the one. It is a hop skip and a jump from the beach. The master bedroom has a screened in deck attached for any occasion. The owner is also amazing and any questions concerns anything she is right on top of it to make sure your stay at Oz at the Sea is unforgettable. I am in love with this beach house. We will be returning quite often 😊

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am THRILLED you all had such a wonderful time at our home! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it is much appreciated. Making our home feel like 'your beach home' has always been my goal as a vacation rental owner. Working with lovely guests, such as you and your family is just icing on the cake of life! Cheers, and I look forward to your return! Katherine
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Dallas, TX
5

A great family beach vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect house for our family vacation. This was our first trip to Galveston, as both my husband & I are both from the east coast. It was an easy drive from Dallas, less than 4.5 hours, which was a nice change from flying, renting a car, etc. Our kids 4 & 7 LOVED the pirates crow's nest. The house provided everything we could have needed, beach chairs, sand toys, boogie boards, toys, games, books, etc. The walk to the beach took less than 5 minutes, and the kids never complained once. They even provided a cart to wheel everything there. We had the beach to ourselves most of the time. The owner was VERY helpful & accommodating, and always very quick to respond. The house was very clean & well maintained. The listing and photos were very accurate. Palm Beach is not the fanciest beach, but perfect for a quiet family vacation. One night we went to the new pleasure pier in Galveston & our kids had a BLAST riding the rides, which was about a 10-15 minute drive. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: June 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are honored by your kind words. Can't wait to see you back at Oz!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Cypress, TX
5

Spectacular and enchanting!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot express how much we loved the house. It was full of neat surprises and it was so beautifully decorated and it truly felt like we had gone to Oz. The home is so comfortable and relaxing, and our 7 days flew by in the blink of an eye. The furnishings are top of the line as are all the amenities! The owners could not have been lovelier to work with. My family of five, three boys age 7, 10, and 13 and my husband and I didn't want to leave and we made some wonderful family memories at this home. We can't wait to go back! If a family is searching for a calming, relaxing home, then you have found it.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: June 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. So glad you enjoyed it! See you next season!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $600
Cleaning fee $135
Tax Rate 15.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties