Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Black 'Beary' Cabin an incredible vacation retreat

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths2
Space 2,100 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, easily sleeps 6 to 8 people

Black “Beary” Cabin, an incredible vacation retreat, is located just off of Bear Wallow Mountain Road, near Hendersonville, North Carolina.

Now with High Speed Internet

Black “Beary” Cabin is a spacious 3 bed/2.5 bath log home that easily sleeps 8 people. A full basement game room provides entertainment for visitors of all ages. The covered front porch and open back porch deck complete with hot tub invites hours of outdoor conversation and the sounds of nature.

Recently constructed, Black “Beary” Cabin is a short scenic drive to many Western North Carolina wonders and attractions including: Chimney Rock, Lake Lure, Apple Valley, the Pisgah National Forest, the Biltmore Mansion and Asheville, to name a few. The altitude is approximately 2900 feet above sea level, which makes for a short climb up, however not too daunting for low landers. The town of Hendersonville is nearby and boasts many fine restaurants, shopping, antiques, parks, and street concerts.

Guest Book Comments: Richard, I just wanted to tell you that we had a wonderful time at your cabin. I was a little skeptical about renting a place we had never seen from someone we had never met, particularly with having to pay the full cost so far in advance. I am glad that I took the chance because the cabin and the location were all that I hoped for. We had a great time in the game room and really enjoyed the outdoor hot but. Actually, the cabin and surroundings were perfect and exactly as advertised. I hope to rent from you again next year. :)

We enjoyed our time in the mountains and at the cabin. It is very nice indeed!

Guest Book Comments: Mr. Singer,

I had to email to tell you how much my husband and I enjoyed our stay at your wonderful home!!! We were very impressed with the accommodations. The cabin was awesome and the surroundings were breathtaking! The time provided us with some much needed rest and relaxation. We are considering a return visit March 21st – 23rd, 2008. I see that the cabin is available during this time and I’d like to know what the cost would be. Thanks again so very much!

Just wanted to let you know we thought the cabin was great!! We really enjoyed the game room. Hope we can use it again sometime.

Thanks again!

Hi Richard,

We returned yesterday from a most wonderful stay in the NC mountains....perfect weather, glorious fall colors, not much traffic anywhere.....loved it! Drove back via the Smokies....I've never seen such RED before....so many sugar maples at their peak....what a treat! The drought scared us into thinking there wouldn't be any color ANY where, so we were thrilled!

Guest Book Comments: Richard, we had a great time at the cabin, very nice weather and the cabin was nice as promised. Had no problems at all, other than it took some time to figure out the fireplace….We really enjoyed the fact that it was “off the beaten path” and up a solitary winding mountain road after a scenic drive.

Just wanted to tell you want a wonderful time we had at your cabin this past weekend. It truly lived up to my expectations and beyond!!

More Details

Property Manager
Richard Singer
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2017

About Richard Singer

Madison, Richard & Pam Singer

Richard Singer purchased this cabin in 2006

Why Richard Singer chose Smoky Mountains

We built the cabin for retirement income. The Hendersonville area has alot to offer the short and long term visitor.

Amenities

Hendersonville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Half Bathroom -
  • Half bath in basement game room.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size sofa bed in game room
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Cancellations – A thirty (30) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations or changes that result in a shortened stay, that are made within 30 days of the arrival date will receive all monies returned. Within 30 days are subject to forfeit the full advance payment and damage/reservation deposit. Cancellation or early departure does not warrant any refund of rent or deposit. I highly suggest trip insurance. 7. http://www.insuremytrip.com/index.html?linkId=FN283002 12. Storm Policy - No refunds will be given for roads that are curvy and steep. Gravel drives are well maintained, however we recommend four wheel drive and or chains during the snow months as this is a mountain property. No monies are returned by owner. I highly suggest travel insurance.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
22% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Black 'Beary' Cabin an incredible vacation retreat
average rating of 4.559322 based on 59 reviews
New Port Richey, Florida
5

Pleasant Surprise!

  • 5 of 5

We found the cabin to be much nicer that what we expected. Everything was very clean and the bed in the master bedroom had a feather bed feel to it. Very nice touch. The hot tub on the private deck was also a nice extra. Location is close to downtown Hendersonville, as well as, Lake Lure and Chimney Rock. Easy to reach from I-26! Certainly will go back and would not hestiate to recommned this cabin to anyone looking for a vacation, or just a short getaway. Just can't say enough good things about it.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 2
4

Great cabin

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed a great weekend at the cabin. The property description regarding amenities etc. was everything it said it would be.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

BUY TRIP INSURANCE - PICTURES ARE VERY OLD

  • 1 of 5

The photos on your website are extremely old. Upon arrival we unloaded the dishwasher and were stunned at how dirty the cabin was. There was a load of very damp towels in the dryer that I dried and folded. I also noticed duct tape on one of the two stuffed red bucket chairs in the living room. The black recliners pictured are not there. We went to use the hot tub and the breaker kept cutting off. We called Richard the owner regarding this problem and also shared our disappointment at how dirty the cabin was. Richard told us to use the hairdryer, go outside and dry off the breakers next to the hot tub and see if that worked - IT DID. In regards to the dirty cabin he said the cleaner was by herself and if she hired somebody she would lose money, so she is always in a hurry. We were told he would give us a credit regarding these items.

On Tuesday morning at 1:10 am., hurricane Irma swept through with winds strong enough to cut out electricity and eliminate running water. When we called Richard and asked how he handled refunding this we were told, "This happens all the time, It's an act of God, I put it in the contract. If I refunded people's money it would have cost me over $4,000 last year. In the winter when there is a really big snow fall and people can't get up the road to even get to the cabin, I don't refund their money." This statement is inaccurate, as there is no "cost" to Richard, just a total loss to us renters for services not rendered.

In regards to the power, yesterday morning Richard said he would call us when he got word at what time the power would be restored. The next communication was an email to me, at 7:43 pm, wanting to know if the power was back on. We were unable to answer this question as my husband and I returned home Tuesday. This situation was so intolerable we opted to pay for Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights and chalk this up to a very expensive lesson learned. After sending this review with pictures of the cabin's cleanliness condition to Richard and VRBO, I have since received a refund from Richard along with two comments from him: 1) The hot tub works (it does) 2) He talked to cleaner regarding cobwebs (these were NOT cobwebs.)

.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To answer the complaint by the renter. My property is fully cleaned for every guest, there was a spider web in one corner of the living room. There is no odor in the cabin my cleaning crew and I have no idea what kind of odor the guest was speaking of. My cabin is on a mountain and in Summer there are bugs, we do have a pest control company that comes out regularly. The cost, my average cost is $160.00, Winter is $130.00, Fall is $170.00. The real problem was because of the hurricane the electricity went out. I have in my contract that I do not refund money for natural occurrences, like snow, hurricanes ect. I do suggest buying trip insurance. I have two reviews one before and one after the renters complaint below from Tripadvisor and Airbnb. So you know because of the electric problem I did return $618.75 to the renter, as felt badly for the renters without electricity. Below are before and after reviews of the Black Beary Cabin Review of Black Beary Cabin Swan Point, Maryland Cabin living on top of the mountain ***** Left on Sep 7, 2017 for a stay in Sep 2017 For those of you that really want to be in the land of the sky. Lovely cabin with everything you need for a wonderful getaway. We had a mini family reunion and thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, games, and accommodations. Plenty of room and the kitchen had everything you need to prepare a meal. The cabin was decorated appropriately. “I can't say enough nice things about the Black Beary Cabin! My boyfriend and I brought another couple with us to explore Asheville and some R&R in the mountains. Richard really has a true gem there, and the pictures don't do it justice. The cabin itself is very cozy and well equipped. Richard does a terrific job detailing the place and answering questions. Everything that we could've ever needed was here. This might be one of my favorites experiences down in the mountains surrounding Asheville, and we will definitely be back to Black Black "Beary" Cabin Check in Fri, Sep 15 Check out Sun, Sep 17
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautifully quite!

  • 4 of 5

Had a wonderful stay, and the homeowner kept us informed about everything on the house and out stay. It was quite and relaxing and only would been better to have a few more seating options in the living room. Everything was as expected and very nice and quite and very dark for sleeping.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Family summer vacation

  • 3 of 5

Nice house and very secluded. We had some issues (no sheets for beds, ants, leaky faucet) but the owner responded quickly and remedied what he could immediately. The road up to the cabin is tricky so be prepared for a very steep uphill/downhill to the cabin.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

We stayed here for my daughter's sweet 16. The cabin was absolutely amazing. Fun and relaxing.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Richard for an amazing vacation filled with memories. The cabin was perfect. The hot tub was my favorite part. The drive up the mountain was scary the first time but after we were used to it. Thank you for suggesting the trailblazer. Definitely recommend a truck/suv if you got one. I would definitely repeat this vacation and location!!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.75%

$200.00 reservation/damage deposit
Cleaning fee of $100.00 for the first six (6) people and $25.00 each additional person.
$40.00 dog fee per dog

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties