Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 5
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 0 - 2 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

First floor bed rooms for the ones who don't like stairs. 2 bed rooms are in the main floor and 3 bed rooms are in upstairs.

Each bed room has own TV and total of 7 TVs in the house. All your worries behind and run off to a relaxing getaway in the Poconos. An 1 1/2 hour from NYC, this cedar and stone house has five bedrooms, and 3 full baths. It is fully equipped kitchen and a washer and dryer in the basement. WiFi is available.

It features 1 King size bed, 2 queen size beds, 4 full size beds and 1 twin bed (sleeps 12- 14 comfortably with a maximum of 14). Linens and towels are furnished by specific request at a nominal fee. There is a stone fireplace running all the way to the top of the cathedral ceiling and a large deck outside for your enjoyment.

Recently the Mt. Airy casino has opened within 20 minutes of our house for your enjoyment.

The house is located within easy driving distance of the Delaware River (Delaware Water Gap) and Shawnee Lake and there are canoes and rafting/tubing available for rent along the river. Other activities nearby include hiking, biking, horseback riding, tennis, basket ball. swimming,skiing is across the street at the Shawnee mountain and the area boasts some of the largest golf courses in the Poconos. You also have access to a community spa, pool and health club, although the house has it's own private jacuzzi.

Discount on some activities are available to guests. Please call Kay and Bud Macnew in Maryland at 410-322-9605 or 9609 for rmore information.

The owners speak English, Japanese and German.

Keywords: Vacation Chalet

More Details

Property Manager
Bud and Kay Macnew
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, german, Japanese (Nhongo)
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 14, 2018

About Bud and Kay Macnew

I was born in Tokyo Japan. I met my husband when I was studying in Germany at the same university.

Bud and Kay Macnew purchased this house in 1994

Why Bud and Kay Macnew chose East Stroudsburg

My husband used to come here for golfing since he was attending Fordham University in NY. Our favor vacation place has been always Poconos.

Finally we decided to build one instead of renting.

That how we got this beautiful comfortable house here in Shawnee.

What makes this house unique

Most of guests enjoyed that we have 2 living rooms( one we call a family room or den), as their children could watch own TV shows although each bed room has a TV or playing games etc.. while the adults enjoyed chatting with family or friends or watch their own show. Also, they liked the idea of having 2 bed rooms and a full bath on the 1st floor as some times they had older people who do not like stairs.

Also the guests like to have a TV in each room. Wd have total of 7 TVs in the house.

Guestbook comments from the manager

I wanted to thank you for letting my friends and I use your amazing

house! It was by far the best house I've ever rented in the

poconos!!! Your directions were very clear and i appreciate you being

so available for all my questions. I will definitely be looking to

rent from you again in the future as it seems many of your guests have

become returning friends.

Thank you so much

Nov 2012
  • 1 of 5


East Stroudsburg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • NoFire works No Bonfires No on street Parking
  • No illegal substances No loud noises music after 10 PM
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (4), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
31% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.368421 based on 24 reviews

Met all our expectations

  • 5 of 5

Great location, we walked to slopes. This house was perfect for our group of nine. Comfortable, roomy, had everything we needed i.e. kitchen items, very clean as well. In spite of rain we had fun staying in front of fire, playing board games, some took advantage of jacuzzi tub. Owners kept in touch which we appreciated. Short stay so did not get to take advantage of Shawnee Inn discounts.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying. We are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation at our house. You are very responsible and well prepared guests. We appreciate your thoughtfulness and good manner. Looking forward to hearing from you again. Bud and Kay
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A great weekend stay, thanks Kay!

  • 5 of 5

As always, Kay & Bud's home near Shawnee Mountain gave our family the perfect place to stay for a fun filled weekend ski trip. We have rented this home numerous times over the past 15 years or so and we keep coming back! Aside from the rain (which no one can help) we had a blast. We still were able to spend hours on the slopes and look forward to staying here again!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A great family ski vacation home

  • 5 of 5

The home is a minute away from Shawnee Ski Mountain which has an excellent ski school program. Skiing is available for beginners to experts. The home provides a card for considerable saving at the mountain. The home has an open floor plan with kitchen, dining and rec room with a beautiful fireplace. There was plenty of space for our three generations to enjoy, bedrooms are plenty. The many towels are plush. Dishes, glasses and silverware are more than adequate. The jacuzzi, new kitchen appliances, numerous tv’s and deck overlooking the woods make for a wonderful stay. The home is minutes from food and clothing shopping, restaurants of all type, tourist attractions, historical sites and churches. The owner responded to my one call within minutes. I would (and have) recommend this home to anyone. You have to try the Minisink Hotel, food is delicious and the atmosphere is friendly.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for coming back for so many years. You have been wonderful guests. my cleaning girls love to clean the house after you leave as the house has been always so neat. By the way, thanks for the next year's booking I will mark off the calender. See you next year ! Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amaizing location!!!

  • 4 of 5

We had a very good time in the house. Home owners Kay and Budd are very good and responsive. The house is very specious and equipped with all amenities. I would only recommend and upgrade in the kitchen counter and some equipments in the kitchen and require carpet wash in the ground floor.

It is walking distance to Ski area and 5-10 mins drive to restaurants and super market.

I would definitely make my summer vacation home.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cozy Home! Perfect layout for our family.

  • 4 of 5

Great location. Convenient to our favorite pocono activities like the Village Farmer & Bakery, the Deerhead Inn & Bushkill Falls. There were 10 of us but the house could easily accommodate more. Kitchen well appointed to prepare meals and snacks. Home owners were easily accessible if we had needed anything. My 6 year old grandson said that the house is even nicer in person than in pictures!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Outdated house and communication with owners not great

  • 2 of 5

My family and 2 other families stayed here about a month ago. No foosball table (description states there is), grill didn't work well at all, took over an hour to cook burgers, jacuzzi tub didn't work and weren't told ahead, shower curtain rod in upstairs bathroom is broken, downstairs shower door doesn't shut all the way, window shutters in bedrooms are broken. Should update the description of the house to include there is a Keurig machine. We think the owners should visit their house for a weekend and take a look at its condition and make some repairs/updates to make the house a better offer.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our vacation house.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Other Activities: Downhill/Alpine Skiing, Snowboarding, Tubing, Wildlife Viewing, Basketball Court, Miniature golf, shopping, and kayaking


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $115
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 7.0%

Call for any questions about the price at 410-322-9605 Kay.
We will be reasonable.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.