Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

BEACHFRONT Villa @ Wyndham Rio Mar Resort- SPECIAL SALE!!!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

VRBO Bear stayed here

We found this property to be beary special

About the property

2 BEDROOM, 2 FULL BATHROOMS WITH BEACH VIEWS

Our villa is located in an exclusive BEACHFRONT refuge of privately-owned villas inside the grounds of the Rio Mar Beach & Golf Club, a Wyndham Grand Resort (formerly the Westin Rio Mar Resort). You can't get a property closer to the beach as these! It is also literally next to the main hotel building so you are within easy walking distance, instead of a mile++ away like most other villas at the resort!

Our villa is about 1,400 square feet and is tastefully furnished, fully air conditioned, has wifi, and cable tv in the living room and each of the bedrooms. It features 2 bedrooms (one with king bed and the other with 2 full size beds) separate living area (with sofa bed) and dinning area, two full bathrooms, a fully-equipped kitchen with all major appliances (including washer/dryer) and furnished balcony where you not only can see the beach, but also hear its soothing sound. Not only are we villa owners but we also own a vacation rental agency for several other properties, which allows us to offer the best prices and provide some hotel-like services such as airport transfers, concierge, maid service, baby sitters, handyman, among other services. These are exclusive to our guests.

Discover all the comforts of a luxury home while being inside a 500 acre security-gated world class resort offering a 2 mile long beach, different pools, 13 tennis courts, two 18-hole championship golf courses, multiple restaurants and lounges, bars, casino, spa, gym, kid's camp, water-sports, and many other activities without actually having to leave the resort!

The Resort has been recognized by the Connoisseur's guide of Resorts and Great Hotels as one of the world's best and the picture of the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach Resort lobby was in the cover of the 15th anniversary edition of the guide.

More Details

Owner
Xavier Cautino, Esq.
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 12, 2017

About Xavier Cautino, Esq.

We bought our first property at Rio Mar over 25 years ago. Soon after, we started renting it when not using it, and people began asking if we had larger properties or additional villas to accommodate several families traveling together. As a result, we spoke with our neighbors and friends at Rio Mar and started offering their villas for rent as well. With this, a little business started, and we have continued to purchase properties for rent, as well as manage others owned by family and friends. Since we are long-time owners at Rio Mar, we know the area well and care for it very much. In addition, since we have made a business out of it, we have our own desk at the lobby of the Ocean Villas building where we provide Concierge Services and assistance exclusively to our guest, as well as employing a full-time handyman so that constant maintenance is performed to our properties.

Xavier Cautino, Esq. purchased this condo in 2007

Why Xavier Cautino, Esq. chose Rio Grande

Rio Mar is a beautiful 500-acre security gated community with manicured gardens, golf courses, tennis courts, beach, pools, restaurants, etc., etc. The Ocean Villas (where this villa is located) is directly in front of the beach and right next to the main hotel building. There is no better location than this at the resort!

Amenities

Mameyes II Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Filtered Water
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master bedroom with king size bed, Second bedroom with 2 double beds, Living room with full-size sofabed.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Boat
  • Canoe
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Sailboat
  • Sand Box
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Car Optional
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fully-Equipped Kitchens complete with Major Appliances, Dinnerware, Flatware, and Cookware, Spacious Well-Appointed Living and Dining Areas, Fresh Linens and Towels, Fully Air Conditioned, DVD Players, Available upon request at an extra fee, Airport transfers, Daily Maid Service, Roll away beds, Baby Cribs, and Personal Chef, etc

Reviews

Relaxing on the balcony

VRBO Bear stayed here

Mar 19, 2007

My trip to Puerto Rico got off to a great start when I saw this beautiful development right on the beach, just a two minute walk to the luxurious Westin Rio Mar Resort and Casino. The drive from the San Juan Airport took only 45 minutes in heavy afternoon traffic (and only 25 minutes off rush hour), and we discovered that you really need a car to see everything near this beautiful property. The villa was private and quiet; noisy college students on Spring Break were no where to be found. In fact, the beach at the Ocean Villas was practically deserted, even at this peak travel time. It was a perfect place for my beary big family of seven (including one small bear.) Two large bedrooms separated by a living, dining and kitchen area, left everyone a place to sleep, although I spent most of my time perched on a piano looking out to the ocean below. I visited El Yunke, a beautiful rain forest where we hiked and learned about the unique animals that live there, including the little Coqui frog. I didn’t see one, but I could hear them everywhere. The only problem with El Yunke was that no bears live there; that makes no sense to me! The beach was less than 40 feet from the villa. It was well appointed with free chairs and umbrellas for beachcombers. The water was very warm, even in March. When we got tired of being on the beach, we could go to the pool and watch iquanas and other lizards sunning next to us. This condo was quiet, beautiful and well appointed. My nine year old bear handler and his sixteen year old brother had just as much fun as the two 22 year old college students and their parents. All of us found things to do on the beach in Puerto Rico. I bet you can too. Signed, The VRBO Bear

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

BEACHFRONT Villa @ Wyndham Rio Mar Resort- SPECIAL SALE!!!
average rating of 4.6 based on 25 reviews
4

What a view

  • 4 of 5

The view from the balconies are amazing, we ate most breakfasts and lunches out there. Xavier's recommendations for food places and excursions was also very helpful. It's a great property and my family definitely wants to return here, we practically had all 3 pools to ourselves the week we were there.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the review. We are very happy you enjoyed our villa and our recommendations for restaurants and excursions. We look forward on having you back with us! Xavier.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Property. Great Location. Pools are amazing.

  • 5 of 5

Xavier was very responsive to all needs. Luis on site took care of any issue that came up.. already planning our next stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Lyon, Michigan
4

Nice accommodations with amazing view

  • 4 of 5

The proximity to the ocean and amazing views are the best part of this condo. The grounds are beautiful, and well maintained, and you can see the ocean from one side, and the mountains and rain forest from the other. We were blown away at how nice the property was, and felt like we had the place to ourselves. We rarely saw other people, and the hotel/resort amenities were a short walk away if needed.

The furniture in the pictures is slightly different then what was in the condo, but they were nicer if anything. The view is as pictured, and perfect.

The condo comes with your first rolls of toilet paper, paper towels, and small shampoo, everything else is self serve. There is a grocery store close by were we were able to get dish soap, trash bags, extra toilet paper and shampoo, as well as food. The kitchen was stocked with necessary items to cook, however they were a bit worn and old.

The main beds were nice and comfortable, however the pull out couch sheets were pretty gross and stained. Perhaps missed by the cleaning crew and not changed in awhile?

Xavier and the on site concierge Luis were great. They responded quickly when things were needed, and were very helpful. If we would have let them know about the pull out couch sheets, they would have most likely rushed over to replace with clean ones, we just didn't get the chance.

Overall great experience! I highly recommend staying here, we were so shocked with how few people were around, and how nice the grounds were. Perhaps we shouldn't share the secret!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Audrey, Thanks so much for the detailed review! I am so sorry to have found out now about the sheets in the sofabed and the worn pots/pans. The sofabed sheets would have been replaced immediately and we would have sent out to purchase the pots/pans that needed to be replaced. In fact, I have instructed our maid to do so now, and also had a talk with them since they should not have used those sheets in the first place. Please, come back since we want to earn that 5th star! :-) We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our villa and the resort. One of the nicest things of the Ocean Villas where our villa is located is that it is always super relaxed and feels empty (even when then the place is full). This is so because the pool area is so large and is exclusive for the use of owners of guests of the Ocean Villas that people spread out. Some other people also choose to go to the beach or play tennis or golf, or go to the hotel's beach or pools. I, like you, prefer the relaxed atmosphere of the pools and beach area of the Ocean Villas, but like knowing that if I want a bit more action, you can always go to the hotel's pools or beach where you will find lots of people! Thank you, again, for taking the time to review our property. We look forward in welcoming you again in the future! Warm regards, Xavier.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bethany Beach, DE
5

Perfect location for an Awesome Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Xavier's Wyndham Rio Mar condo our first visit to Puerto Rico, and found it to be the ideal place to enjoy a wonderful week. The views from the balcony are priceless. The overall Wyndham Rio Mar resort is safe and beautiful, and the beach, pools and amenities for the villas were well maintained and perfect for our needs. Communications with Xavier were quick and thorough, and we found his list of suggested restaurants and activities invaluable to our having an awesome week. We highly recommend this vacation rental, and can't wait to get back.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Everything we want in a vacation rental!

  • 5 of 5

Can't beat the location! Amazing view from balcony! Clean, well kept condo that had everything we needed to make us feel at home.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disgusting, dilapidated conditions; dont believe any photos

  • 1 of 5

This condo is disgusting. The photos are probably 15 years old and the place hasn't been cleaned in that whole time. There is water damage, mold, open wood rot, rust on the appliances, plaster falling off the walls, broken tile, broken door locks. The carpet is so dirty I felt like needed a shower after walking thru. The bed linens were filthy dirty and disgusting. We saw bugs in more than one place. My wife and kids were so appalled by the conditions that they refused to spend a single night there.

We talked to Xavier, who I think should be ashamed of himself for misrepresenting this property so egregiously. He at first said he would process a credit back to our credit card "in a couple weeks after her returned from a two week vacation in Europe." Yea, right. Now he doesnt respond to our repeated messages and emails.

The photos on VRBO look beautiful, but this place is a filthy dirty dump. The whole condo building (elevators, common areas, etc) is dilapidated and in disrepair.

My family moved to the next resort over, the Gran Melia. It is beautiful, well maintained, less expensive and CLEAN ... none of which apply to this property.

Based on our experience, we would never, ever trust Xavier again for anything. I see the other reviews and I have to believe that they are not legitimate because this place is a dump.

I don't see a place to upload photos here, which is disappointing because we have about 25 photos of how gross this place is and we will be using them to pursue remedies. We will be posting the photos on other sites in case you want to see them check all the other travel sites.

He should be ashamed of himself for misrepresenting this property and taking advantage of families spending their hard earned dollars on one big vacation per year.

VRBO should also institute a policy to stop unscrupulous misrepresentations like this one so that other families will not be taken advantage of as my family has been.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are not surprised at this review since this family never intended to stay at our property and used any excuse to get a refund. Luckily, our other reviews speak for themselves. If our property was what this person claims it is, there would have been more negative reviews. Reviews on this site are 100% independent. If we had any control over them, this one would have not been posted.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
San Juan International Airport (SJU)
Nearest Barpub
30 Metres
Hotel bar is just a 5 min walk
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
to go to Vieques, Culebra, and St.Thomas
Nearest Golf
10 Metres
Rio Mar Golf (back of property is on golf course)
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Route 66
Nearest Restaurant
30 Metres
Several al the hotel (5 mins walk)
Nearest Beach
9 Metres
Rio Mar Beach (property is beachfront)
Car: not necessary

Palm-lined sandy Beach, Four Beachfront Pools, Pool Slide, Whirlpool/Hot Tub, Sauna and Spa, 11 Restaurants & Lounges, Two 18-Hole Golf Courses, 13-Court Tennis Center, Bicycle Trails, Scuba Diving, Sailing/Rentals, Casino, Bar/Cocktail Lounge, Live Entertainment, Beauty Salon, Exercise Equipment, Auto Rental, Business Center, Concierge, Shopping Area, Laundry, Children, Babysitting Referral, Kid's Club Program, Children's Pool, Playground Area, and Arcade/Game Room, Nearby, DVD Rentals, Grocery Store, Drug Store, and Great Local Restaurants

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mameyes II Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,275
 
 
Fall Rate
Sep 4 2017 - Nov 16 2017
4 night minimum stay
$295
$1,995
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 25 2017
6 night minimum stay
$385
$2,275
 
 
Pre-Holidays
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$285
$1,995
 
 
December Holidays
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 6 2018
6 night minimum stay
$915
$5,495
 
 
Winter
Jan 7 2018 - Apr 27 2018
5 night minimum stay
$550
$3,475
 
 
Summer
Apr 29 2018 - Sep 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
$325
$2,275
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Check-out cleaning fee $65
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates and availability are subject to change without notice. Holiday rentals (i.e., Thanksgiving, Dec. Holidays, President's week, Easter, etc., have a 7 night minimum stay).
Cancellations Policy: Up to 60 days prior to the arrival date have a 20% fee, Between 30 and 60 days prior to the arrival date 40% fee, Less than 30 days prior to the arrival date 100% fee (from total rental)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable