Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Real Log Home -'E-Z' ACCESS - Quiet, Comfortable & Connected

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

There is something about a log home experience ... rest and relax ... enter into a secure environment ... away from the noise and traffic of everyday life. We are located here in Lake Lure NC. This is a secure and quiet community with much privacy. As you approach the mountains you see the views all around. We are there. Our cabin is in the view! Enjoy peaceful evenings on any one of our 4 decks. Listen to the katydids . . . fire up the grill, enjoy your favorite team or a great movie on the big screen over the FIRE PLACE !! Read, relax, and enjoy your time away, here at the most 'peaceful place on the planet.' All bedrooms have satellite TV, hi-speed internet, and cell phone service is no problem. The cabin is almost new and so is the furniture.We now have three bedrooms with queen beds and a forth with one twin. There are also two twins in the loft.

The River-bend Development has two lakes, 'Little Mirror' and 'Big Mirror.' Both offer fantastic bass fishing. The Rocky Broad River rushes through the middle of Riverbend. Hiking trails and grilling areas are along the banks. Wildlife can easily be seen during the absence of leaves. Canoeing is also fun. The views from the lake are spectacular. Also, for the athletic type, hiking and trails are all around. PLEASE NOTE THAT OUR RATES HAVE REMAINED THE SAME, HOWEVER, TO COVER COST OF A HOLIDAY MAINTENANCE CALL, OVERLOAD DURING HOLIDAY, AND LOSS OF PERSONAL USE DURING A HOLIDAY, THE FOLLOWING HOLIDAYS REQUIRE A ONE TIME $200. HOLIDAY FEE - LABOR DAY, THANKSGIVING, JULY 4TH, AND CHRISTMAS...THANKS

Of course Riverbend is only 2 minutes from the Town of Lake Lure and the lake. Groceries, restaurants, road-side stands and antique shopping are all around. This location will give you every opportunity to dine out at some of the most reasonable restaurants yet quality food. Seafood, steaks, Italian, Mexican or simply pub style, there are menus galore within a 10 minute drive. Of course, all modern conveniences of home, including gas grill, are available for your cooking and food prep desire at the cabin.

Don't forget Chimney Rock and its quaint little town is only 15 minutes away.If you ride , Hwy 64 is the best motorcycle alley in NC..

Venture to nearby Ashville, Hendersonville, Greenville/Spartanburg, or Charlotte, only a short enjoyable ride of about an hour.

A great Location for a memorable get-a-way, professionally managed by a local firm.

Keywords: High Speed dsl Internet , Log Cabin , private , hospitable , well furnished , peaceful,

More Details

Owner
Marshall Seay
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2017

About Marshall Seay

I am Marshall Seay pictured here with my wife, Lori Jill at a South Carolina Gamecocks football game. We are in the construction business. We have built many log homes over western NC and the upstate SC. We thought that it would be nice to build a vacation getaway, not too far from Greenville, SC. We offer it to others as a vacation rental when we are not using it...It has been a great experience and we enjoy our times at the cabin. If you get up there and fall in love with the place, as many have, we can help you find just the right place and build you one. This has happened several times so visit at your own risk ! You may not want to leave...

Marshall Seay purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Marshall Seay chose Lake Lure

The affordability, scenery, security, location, and the Amenities...

What makes this cabin unique

Peace, quiet, decks, trails, etc...according to the time of year...All seasons have their times. Summer... swimming, fishing, homemade ice cream. Fall... leaves, football on the big screen, Thanksgiving. Winter... Ski retreats, hot cocoa by the fire. Spring...flowers, baseball, trails, football. Always the quaint towns and shops year around...Heck, watch the race on the Big Screen !

Map

Note that Mountain areas can be tricky with regard to cell phone service can be tricky. We are in an area where the signal is strong. There are miles of walking trails along the River in Riverbend. There is a "Zip Line" about 5 minutes from the cabin. The famous Biltmore House is 45 minutes away. Spartanburg , Asheville , Hendersonville , Greenville , are all close by....

Amenities

Lake Lure Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Queen size Beds (3). We now have Queen Beds in both upstairs bedrooms as well as the master downstairs. Twin or Single Beds (3). We have 3 twin beds, one in downstairs bedroom and two in the loft.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
This time of year wear a jacket and walk the trails along the 'Rocky Broad.'It is a very peaceful time of year , perfect for the' fireside on the inside'If you are wanting to Ski you can drive about 30 minutes to the nearest slopes. OR,Catch the sports on the flat screen , put on a pot of chili and CHILL....We will leave the light on for you...

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Real Log Home -'E-Z' ACCESS - Quiet, Comfortable & Connected
average rating of 4.6603775 based on 53 reviews
5

Nice, clean Cabin getaway

  • 5 of 5

The view was great, the Cabin was well layed out and the place was clean. I would definitely recommend this place and would like to try and rent this place again in the future

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks .... My wife and I have enjoyed nothing but good reviews ( except one ) since we started renting our cabin in 2009 . We try really hard to treat every concern seriously and take immediate action to remedy . We ask each guest not to hesitate to call us personally if you need help . We want your stay to be relaxing and fun . on another note , Remember , that special parking arrangements would be required for guest with more that 3 vehicles .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Met all our expectations.

  • 4 of 5

Property met all our expectations.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
South Daytona, Florida
5

Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5

We came to this log home at the last minute due to Hurricane Irma. Marshall Seay was so kind and helpful. We had a bunch of family and friends with us and Marshall brought extra towels. We used the charcoal grill and cooked every meal while we stayed. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I hope life is getting more normal as you have been through so much with the hurricane . I am praying for your life to get back back to business for you and your pals...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice house with beautiful private lake access!

  • 4 of 5

The house was very nice and had plenty of room. There weren't many lamps or night tables, which was odd. There was only one lamp and one night table in the master bedroom, none in the others. There was only one small lamp in the living room which made for odd evening visiting. We couldn't get the fan light to come on.

Otherwise, the house was well stocked, very pleasant, private, and very clean. We even saw two deer from the back porch on the first morning. There is no hot tub, just the jetted tub in the master bath. There weren't really mountain views, but the house is surrounded by beautiful woods.

I would recommend working with the owner to get check in information very early on to ensure you can get in the gate before the gate keeper leaves. There was really only a two hour window to check in since the gate keeper leaves at 6 and check in is at 4. This made for a very stressful day of arrival since we only found this out the morning we were to arrive and had a long drive. The owner did make arrangements for us with the help of the cleaning lady which we appreciated, but it took all day to arrange it. There is also only one gate key, so if people come and go separately, someone always has to drive back to the gate to let the other car in.

Almost every bed had a mattress pad which a previous guest had mentioned were lacking. There are no curtains upstairs. Luckily our friends brought some since we all had young children.

For the price, I would definitely recommend this house.

We especially loved the private lake with a beach that was included in our stay. The water was clear so we got to see the fish! Our young children loved swimming with the fish. We thought it might be more like a tiny pond, but were very excited once we saw how beautiful and peaceful it was!!

We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

Functional but much that should be improved. No guest information in house. As result we had trouble getting AC on when we arrived. Kitchen supplies and utensils barely adequate and we had to hint for enough glasses and tableware. No info available about how to access hiking, swimming, fishing, etc. Had find through chance encounter with another guest. No map or guide to these amenities was in the house. Beds did not have mattress pads. Gate entry system was a big hassle over the week we were there. No instructions about parking were provided. As we had 5 cars (3 rentals for people who flew) we parked alongside the road, completely on the shoulder. This led to a very unpleasant incident for my wife who was rudely scolded by a local resident who apparently felt empowered to advise about "rules" we knew nothing of. Again, a sheet of information about such things should have been provided. This is common practice in other properties we have stayed in. Cleaning appeared to have been done half-heartedly.l. Floors had not been thoroughly cleaned and definitely not under couches and chair in living room area.

All in all, we were not impressed and would not recommend this property to others.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest called me one time during the stay .When he arrive he called to inform me the air was not working . I immediately dispatched help . When I called him back about 15 minutes later I realized that he had mistaken a hand held remote for the thermostat which is in full view . I immediately called off maintainence and we never heard another word . I will immediately address these concerns of his and I would advise anyone planning to bring more than 3 cars to understand three cars in the driveway is the limit .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Had a great time !

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed this cabin. Liked the neighborhood . The swimming hole was a great place to swim. The house was perfect for our needs.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $110

THE FOLLOWING HOLIDAYS REQUIRE A ONE TIME $200. HOLIDAY FEE - LABOR DAY, THANKSGIVING, JULY 4TH, AND CHRISTMAS. If you don't see this specific fee listed on your quote and you have asked for time during one of these holidays, we will add it before accepting your reservation. THANKS

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties