Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Large Contemporary House One Block from Ocean, 2 blocks from entry to the Beach!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms (twin or king size beds; sleeps 12), 3.5 Baths, 2 LRs & kitchs

Nothing really compares to this bright spacious contemporary family vacation getaway or corporate retreat. This unique house, with ocean views from 7 rooms, is laid out like 2 separate suites. It is a one family house, but each of its 2 levels has its own kitchen, living room, bedrooms, bathrooms, and deck. Thus making it a comfortable accommodation for families, au pair, in-laws or business associates. (Note: you must specify and arrange with owner in advance exactly who will be staying or visiting here and what the occasion is.)

There is a large yard within a stone-columned wrought iron fence - perfect for touch football and lawn games; volleyball net & some game equipment is provided, as is chalk (for drawing on the outdoor blacktop area) and a small sandbox. Plenty of parking is also available.

The house is located in the heart of Narragansett's North Pier Village area, one block from the historic Casino Towers & Coast Guard House on scenic Ocean Road. It is WALKING DISTANCE to: our library, surf shops, coffee, liquor store, shopping, ice cream, massage, surfing, tennis, playgrounds, dining out for breakfast, lunch and dinner (casual to 5-star), dancing, dance lessons, attorneys, dentist, police/fire/rescue departments, and boat launch.

Events: the fabulous Quonset Air Show planes rehearse right here over Narragansett Town Beach late afternoon the Friday before the show opens and you can comfortably watch it here on our deck; a Fine Art Festival is held across the street the last weekend every June; 4th of July has fireworks over the beach; Rhode Island Philharmonic plays a free concert at the beach one evening each July; every Friday in July there is live music in the gazebo on the village green (one block away from here); there's an annual Hot Air Balloon festival on URI campus; Blessing of the Fleet & 10K road race (that ends right here) the last weekend in July; various beach runs & triathlons all summer including the Frimman (a half Ironman here at our beach) every September.

There are now movies on the beach; Gansett Days with sand sculptures; the Charlestown Seafood Festival; Washington County Fair; plus water & land activities for all ages all summer; private club at the other end of the beach often has firework celebrations; area weddings taking place & more.

Not up for all that activity? Our two spacious ocean-facing decks allow you to stay here and relax. Weber propane gas grill available for your use, and outdoor tables and chairs.

Ample closet space, full laundry room with washer & dryer plus outdoor clothesline, electric range & gas range, 2 refrigerators, 2 microwaves, 2 dishwashers, 2 garbage disposals, recycling & composting containers provided.

Keywords: Single Family House

More Details

Owner
J. Galien
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 4, 2017

About J. Galien

This is our family home, not a "beach rental." Now that the grandchildren are grown, we enjoy having respectful people rent the house, creating memories as special as ours. It's such a great area. We have owned and maintained property for over 40 years and take pride in what we do. This house has also been a year-round Bed & Breakfast from time to time.

J. Galien purchased this house in 2002

Why J. Galien chose Narragansett

It is perfect in every way for extended families, reunion of friends or business retreats. Two kitchens allow vegetarians and meat-eaters to cook their preferred separate ways yet eat together in the large dining room. Large yard for volleyball, badminton, croquet. Walk to everything. Plenty for children to do. LOTS of good restaurants! Surfing, swimming, sunbathing. Beautiful ocean views in all seasons. You'll love it!

What makes this house unique

Police, fire, EMTs are only 2 blocks away. A great library, surf shop, top restaurants and the mile long beach. Ever get up early to see the sunrise over the ocean? Gorgeous! Full moon nights are breath-taking! A short drive from here is historic Westerly with one of the oldest carousels and Taylor Swift's house!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you, we had a fabulous weekend!
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 13

Amenities

Narragansett Pier House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , lower floor - large, has 2 sinks & 2 showers; + toilet & tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , also on lower floor - a convenient lavette w/ toilet & sink
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , typical sink, toilet, tub/shower with sliding glass doors
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , typical sink, toilet, tub/shower with sliding glass doors
  • There are a total of 3.5 bathrooms. The lower floor having 1 large, almost double bathroom & the half bath; the upper floor having 2 separate complete bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , all bedrooms can be either 1 king beds or 2 single twins
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , all bedrooms can be either 1 king beds or 2 single twins
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , all bedrooms can be either 1 king beds or 2 single twins
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , all bedrooms can be either 1 king beds or 2 single twins
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , all bedrooms can be either 1 king bed or 2 single twins
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , all bedrooms can be either 1 king beds or 2 single twins
  • You have a choice of what size bed to have in each bedroom! All 6 bedrooms have 2 single twin beds which can be apart from one another, placed side by side, or converted to one solid, secure and comfortable king-size bed. We can provide you with a floor plan and request that you decide room by room which type bed/s you want in each bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This one family house is unique in that it has 2 levels, each with its own kitchen, living area, bedrooms, bathrooms, and decks with tables & chairs. It is a one family home, with an open staircase between floors, like any normal home. Large yard (lot is 17,000 sq ft) has a net for volleyball, badminton & croquet also available. Coffee makers, toaster ovens & blenders on each floor.

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
Large Contemporary House One Block from Ocean, 2 blocks from entry to the Beach!
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 16 reviews
4

family vacation

  • 4 of 5

WE WERE LOOKING FOR A HOME THAT WE COULD HAVE A FAMILY GETAWAY TO CELEBRATE MY MOM'S 85TH BIRTHDAY. WHILE THE LOCATION AND THE HOUSE WERE PERFECT AND WE HAD A GREAT TIME WE WERE DISAPPOINTED IN HAVING $50 OF OUR SECURITY NOT RETURNED FOR NO GOOD REASON. SOME OF THE REASONS THAT WERE POINTED OUT IN OUR LETTER WAS SAND WAS FOUND IN THE BEACH CHAIRS AND HAD TO BE EMPTIED, THE SHOWERS WERE WET (AS SOME SHOWERED BEFORE WE LEFT) AND THE SHOWER DOOR WAS OFF THE TRACK (WHICH HAPPENED ALL WEEKEND) A FEW DISHES WERE WET THAT WERE PUT AWAY (I GUESS THEY WERE NOT DRIED WELL) ETC. WE FELT THESE WERE NOT ISSUES TO HOLD BACK ANY MONEY. WHEN WE ARRIVED WE WALKED THROUGH THE HOUSE WITH THE OWNER AS SHE REQUESTED BUT WHEN WE ASKED TO HER TO WALK THROUGH WITH US AT THE END SHE SAID SHE WOULD GO THROUGH LATER. WE ALSO HAD TO PAY $8 PP PER DAY AT THE BEACH WHEN I FELT SHE SHOULD HAVE PROVIDED A FEW PASSES. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOME BUT BE CAREFUL WHEN DEALING WITH THE OWNER AS FAR AS YOUR SECURITY IS CONCERNED

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The following is what appeared in the letter sent to the renters along with their security deposit refund. If is self-explanatory. Thank you for taking the time to read it. We have a book full of comments from satisfied renters. "Enclosed please find a bank check in the amount of the security deposit you paid less $50.00 for the things listed below that took extra time, effort & product for cleaning crew: 1 indoor chair & several indoor chair cushions were left outside on the deck; the beach chairs in the tote bags were put away full of sand & had to be hosed off & bags emptied; lower bathroom tub had one of its glass doors off its track & had to be put back in place, both that tub & the walk-in shower were soaking wet – even the rugs outside them; there were a couple black spots on two of the towels but they washed out with pre-laundry treatment; however, the sheets in bedrooms # 2 & #5 not only had spots on the fitted sheets, but whatever it was had soaked through to stain the mattress pads beneath – after pretreating & washing twice, the mattress pads are restored & one sheet, but the coral colored sheet’s black marks have not washed out & it has to be replaced; bedroom #2 had a soaking wet spot on the carpet near the closet as if something were spilled there & not cleaned up – we had to soak it up, wash it & direct a fan on it, luckily no discoloration; after finding some dishes put away wet we had to check all dishes & rewash the wet ones; a couple of the portable AC window shields were pulled loose; fridges were left turned up to their highest settings. Please note, the white tank top found on the floor of the laundry room near the rear of the clothes dryer is being returned to you, as per your text, in this package at no additional charge for the postage and cost of the mailing envelope, which together was over $5.00 (five dollars).
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
Connecticut
5

See the Guest book comments for more accurate reviews; we loved it and have returned again

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for this listing to rent again and were dismayed to see only one review and such a negative one, so wanted to add ours. Please scroll further down this listing to the GUESTBOOK postings which far more accurately portray this lovely home and owners. The review writer "Gigi" must have done something to forfeit part of the deposit and left disgruntled. There is a book on the premises with years of individual feedback forms, all expressing positive experiences, like the ones we've had. You will enjoy your stay here. Lovely in every way.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3
2

Don't Do It

  • 2 of 5

This house is near downtown Narragansett and the beach. It looks nice outside. Inside the house is dated and the furniture is a bit worn. The worst part of the experience is dealing with the owner so if your idea of a vacation is to relax...don't rent this house.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: No home owner makes money keeping security deposits; in fact, we love returning the full amounts, as it means the house was well taken care of. The following is taken from the letter sent to these renters with their security deposit refund check. Decide for yourself if you think things were left in the same good condition as when the renters arrived at our home; things were actually broken and missing and they did not mention either to us. “Enclosed is a bank check in the amount of the deposit you sent us less the amount retained for damages as explained herein (we also have 25 photos to email to you): Excessive cleaning: bathtub sand & hair; clothes dryer sand & lint; top floor coffee maker, kitchen cupboards, floor, rug & some dishes were put away wet so we had to check all of them; top floor bathroom sinks & one bathtub; lower floor really messy sinks; Weber grill; 2 indoor chairs & indoor chair cushions that were taken outside; kitchen dish towels, some bath towels and a stained Laura Ashley king size mattress pad from bedroom #3 on the lower floor. Damages: broken glass – replacement cost (we just charged you for one, not a whole new set to match), a kitchen ceramic floor tile was gouged & had to be replaced. Missing: one king size blanket from bedroom #3. You were not charged for vent fans, the hallway fan, or air conditioners that were left running.”
Did you find this review helpful?
18 3

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Theodore Francis Green Airport (PVD)
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
MANY choices casual to elegant 1-5 blocks
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Block Island or Martha's Vineyard Ferry
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Several to choose from
Nearest Train
10 Miles
South Kingstown train Depot
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
RI route 1 makes connections to Interstate 95 N&S
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
MANY choices: clam shack to 5 star 1-5 blocks
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Yawgoo Ski Area Exeter, RI
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Narragansett Town Beach 2 blocks from here
Nearest Point of Interest
ferry to Block Island
Nearest Point of Interest
Foxwoods Casino
Nearest Point of Interest
Newport !
Car: not necessary

Beaches, Beaches, Beaches & best food anywhere! Lots of other things to do, too; we keep an expandable file of things to do & sites to see. Oyster bars and oyster farm (just a short drive down rte 1, past the Nathan Hale homestead - open for tours!). Go antiquing, quilting, see historical sites & art - like 6 million dollars of Tiffany stained glass in a local church and where Jackie Kennedy Onassis once lived - both within walking distance. Take the bay lighthouse boat tour or the local trolley history tour. Historic Newport is a 15 min drive across 2 beautiful bridges with breathtakng views! Come stay in late August/early September when harmless tiny bioluminesent jellyfish are visible at the North end of the beach where the Narrow River inlets to the ocean. Neat to see the water light up at night as you gently step along the shoreline or kayak a little farther out. Come when the moon Is full for gorgeous nights!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Always reveal your intentions upon applying. We are a home, not a venue - so parties, rehearsal dinners, events, celebrations, etc. with more people attending are NOT ALLOWED. Any violation of the contracted number puts you at risk for immediate cancelation of the contract, vacating the property & forfeiture of all monies paid, etc. Thank you.

Security/Damage deposit is required with application. If your application is approved, full payment (including 8% RI state taxes) must be received by us one full month in advance of your arrival here. Note: full payment is in addition to the deposit paid with your application. If your application is denied, your deposit will be returned to you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties