Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

OCEAN FRONT Cabin - Ancient Mariner - Brookings, OR

Bedrooms 2
Space 700 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Ocean Front Cabin: 1 King bedroom plus loft (2 twin beds), 1 full bath, sleeps 4



California Border near Brookings Oregon

Ocean front retreat (Ancient Mariner).

Enjoy your own private ocean front getaway overlooking the majestic Pacific Ocean where the views from both inside and out on the deck are breathtaking. If you were any closer you'd be IN the ocean! Winter storms and the pounding surf cuddled up by the cozy fireplace or out beachcombing and can have it all.

Just a few steps and you will be walking on miles of sandy beach. Your private deck provides a 4-person hot tub to watch the picturesque sunsets, distant twinkling lights along the coastline and starry nights.

This cabin is fully equipped and beautifully decorated. King bed with flatscreen television in bedroom and living room. Enjoy all the comforts of home while relaxing and taking in the spectacular view. Honeymoon, anniversary, birthday, reunion, or just some time away from it all... come, enjoy, relax... the beach awaits you. Enjoy the spa or barbecue with the fantastic view on the ocean front deck.

More Details

Marcia & Tim Evans
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Marcia & Tim Evans

We both grew up on the coast and enjoy the beautiful Pacific Ocean. We can hardly believe we now own a beach house of our own which we can share with others. The views are spectacular and the sunsets breathtaking--we always stop and watch the sunset.

Marcia & Tim Evans purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Marcia & Tim Evans chose White Rock Resort

This site is so spectacular we were hooked as soon as we saw it! Our getaway is so close to the ocean that everyone that visits is amazed at its proximity. The view is breathtaking and whether inside or out on the deck it feels like you're "on" the water. The sound of the surf and the pounding waves on the rocks below make this very mesmerizing. In addition to the rocks and beach area in front of the cabin, there are miles of sandy beach to enjoy walks, beachcombing, tidepools to the north and south. So you have the best of ocean, surf, rocks and beach to enjoy.


White Rock Resort Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Tiled Stove
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Loft with 2 twin beds, TV and Video
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , KING w/memory foam/ Flat screen TV DVD/ Large closet
  • Loft area for second bedroom is private (not open to living room below) and is a great place for kids but also accommodates 2 adults. 2 twin beds. Has TV and DVD/VHS player
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
Giant Redwood Forests and Trees of Mystery within 30 minutes.Brookings harbor with sport fishing 10 minutes away. River fishing 15 minutes away on Chetco or Smith Rivers. Ocean aquarium 20 minutes south in Cresent City. To the north 15 minutes is Harris Beach State Park and 1 hour away is Gold Beach where you can enjoy scenic jet boat tours on the beautiful Rouge River. Bicycling with superb views of the ocean along old highway or up the Winchuck river. Five minutes to the south is the Lucky 7 Casino. Or... stay at 'home' and enjoy the view, BBQ with the gas grill on your private deck, relax in the hot tub and listen to the surf!


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(89 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
OCEAN FRONT Cabin - Ancient Mariner - Brookings, OR
average rating of 4.9101124 based on 89 reviews

Second Stay and Spectacular!

  • 5 of 5

Our family came to the Ancient Mariner to celebrate our daughter’s sixth birthday. We had an incredible time! The cottage is cozy, clean, and very well maintained. The owners were responsive to even the smallest need or question. The views from the deck are breathtaking and you can hear the waves crashing as you sleep. We spent the bulk of our stay in the hot tub looking out at the ocean so grateful for the perfect setting. Brookings is only a short drive so you have access to restaurants and stores. The beach is just steps away and you can walk along the ocean for miles. We highly recommend the Ancient Mariner for your next getaway!

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful view!

  • 5 of 5

This is an amazing place! The view is unbelievable. I feel like I am at home very comfortable and relaxing. Always will go back

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Our family of four had a wonderful spring break at the Ancient Mariner! The cabin was comfortable, and the deck was amazing! We had easy access to surfing and hiking while enjoying a whole lot of sunshine!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our Oceanfront retreat! We think you might be the first Surfers that we've had stay with us. Surfing is good here at Pelican Beach and also South at Crescent City. Many people enjoy the Sandy Beach for walks and beachcombing. Others years are cabin as home base for exploring the Redwoods. Hope you can come back again! Tim and Marcia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What’s not to love

  • 5 of 5

This is my favorite place to stay. You can’t beat the location and comfort. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

My favorite place to stay at the Oregon coast

  • 5 of 5

Two other friends and myself had plenty of room, the kitchen was well stocked and of course the view is spectacular

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well maintained with exception of hot tub not working at first

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was well maintained, and very cozy. We loved the king-size bed - very comfortable. We have stayed in several cabins here and this one had more thoughtful provisions than we had seen before. The view is spectacular. The downside for us was that the new housekeeper had neglected to check on the hot tub and it was not heated so this delayed our use of it. The owners were very responsive to our call and after two days, we were able to use the tub. They did provide a small refund for our inconvenience however. We would stay here again I think.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of your stay at our Oceanfront Getaway. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the hot tub not being up to the correct temperature. We want our guests to experience the sight and sounds of the waves crashing while relaxing in the hot tub. Our new housekeeper is double checking the hot tub before each arrival. It was ready for use within 20 hours after you contacted us and it was reset. We are not sure if there was a power outage but we were glad you could get it resolved for your enjoyment during the rest of your stay. 20 hours is the reheat time from cold water to the 104 degrees that it is set to maintain. We felt the refund of $100 was a fair compensation for one day of downtime. We hope you will be able to return another time and take advantage of the additional discount we offer to returning guests. Thanks again for staying with us. It's always a great day at the beach! Tim and Marcia Evans
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Many options in Brookings or Harbor, OR
Car: recommended

Brookings, OR. is closest city, 5 miles away. Located in California, right on the CA/OR border.

Other Activities: Redwoods, kite flying, crabbing, tide pools, fishing, surfing

Golf: in California or Oregon




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $85
Tax Rate 8.0%

BEFORE YOU INQUIRE on the website CALL THE OWNER for special discounts
WINTER SPECIAL: $167 /night, 3rd night half off - Rent 2 nights, get 3rd night half off = $167/night
7 nights get 1 free night
SUMMER SPECIAL: stay 7 nights save 5%
CLEANING: $85 winter or summer
Holidays: 3 night minimum and no special


Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund