Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 1
Space 550 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 0 - 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Enjoy the rich beauty of this completely rehabbed and redesigned condo with top of the line hardwood cherry cabinets, granite tile counter tops, high level appliances, and unique bathroom fixtures. Amenities include a Select Comfort sleeper sofa bed. Adjust the firmness to your comfort level. The queen size bed is a Heavenly Comfort bed and is the bed choice of top hotels.

This is the only unit at Sapphire that encloses the bed for privacy; this is truly a one bedroom unit. The entire unit has been redone with quality materials. The pictures tell the story. This corner unit has a large, wrap around balcony with fantastic views of St. John and the British Virgin Islands. The condo is right on the beach with gorgeous flamboyant trees, palm trees and seagrape trees lining the shore, only steps from the crystal clear swimming beach and magnificent snorkeling.

Sapphire Beach Marina provides opportunities for deep sea fishing, sunset sailing, cruising to the British Virgin Islands, and jet skis. A variety of water sports are available at Sapphire Beach. Located at the eastern end of St. Thomas, Sapphire enjoys the cooling tradewinds providing a comfortable tropical environment. Red Hook is 5 minutes away with shopping, restaurants and night clubs. The Ferry from Red Hook to St. John, Tortola, Jost Van Dyke and Virgin Gorda is also minutes away.

Pretty Klip Point, located beyond the pool is the perfect wedding location (recommend a dvd video of the event instead of photos). Then enjoy your honeymoon in this beautiful unit.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Sheila Morrison
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 27, 2018

About Sheila Morrison

Sunset cruise in paradise. Jim is a civil engineer who leaped at the chance to work in his adopted home. Sheila is a retired psychologist returning to St. Thomas for the beauty, the weather and the incredible waters.

Sheila Morrison purchased this condo in 2007

Why Sheila Morrison chose Estate Smith Bay

We have traveled the world over, and there is no combination of climate and views to compare anywhere.

What makes this condo unique

The views of the islands, the warm Carribean Ocean, the constant temperatures between 65 and 92 degrees year round.


Estate Smith Bay Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Walk in shower. Vanity and counter top imported from Italy.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1) Heavenly mattress, used by top hotels., Baby Cribs (1) Graco playpen / crib available. Sleep Sofa (1) Select comfort queen takes 13 minutes to fill very, very comfortable.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Water saving appliances. Sony Playstation 3 has built in internet browser. Select comfort sofa bed - very comfortable. 42' flat screen TV


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
average rating of 4.785714 based on 28 reviews
Summerville, Georgia USA

Could not go due to storm 😩

  • 1 of 5

The day before we were supposed to leave Delta canceled our flight. The owner was informed and said she would refund our money due to the storm and safety issues. She said she has made VRBO aware of this. So far I have not been refunded any money. Would not do business through VRBO and will tell family and friends not to useVRBO. We were looking forward to our trip but Mother Nature decided we could not go. Would like to hear from VRBO about this. The owner has been very helpful.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Melinda, I am very sorry that you have not been refunded as yet. I think VRBO must be overwhelmed with requests for refunds. Considering the magnitude of these hurricanes and the destruction they have caused across the Caribbean, it may take some time to get your refund. I will call them to see if there's a problem that I can resolve quickly. Communications to the island is very sporadic and that may have also caused the problem. I will contact you after speaking to VRBO. Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice condo right on the beach.

  • 4 of 5

Close to everything a lot of restaurants a lot to do. Condo was clean and well-kept. Felt at home. Actually was very surprised at how much fish and wildlife there was to see snorkeling right in front of the condo.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Bay City Michigan


  • 5 of 5

We had another wonderful time at Sheila's condo. Our 2nd yr/the weather & accommodations were splendid. Great views from balcony & nice tropical breezes-able to leave AC off. Beach is awesome & swimming is perfect. Recommend going to St Johns for a few days - awesome beaches sand & sun. The food in town is great anywhere you desire to eat/no fast-food chains-hard to believe who needs them with local restaurants. Condo once again was amazing/has everything you need & then some-just need beach/two chairs/picture of Mai Tai's.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

The condo was absolutely perfect for our wedding getaway/honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5

What an AMAZING time we had in St. Thomas! Sheila and Jim were the best!

The condo was perfectly located on Sapphire Beach right near the swimming beach which was the cleanest sand with plenty of shade if desired as well as sunbathing area. The balcony was a great spot to relax, people watch, enjoy views, have a quick bite to eat, or just enjoy the sights/sounds of the ocean! Hammock was a bonus! Inside of the condo was 100% perfection! Not only beautifully decorated with the top amenities but also felt like home away from home as it had EVERYTHING we needed. We got married while on our trip and there was only one thing I had wished I had...a full length mirror. It didn't make or break the trip but one thing I'm used to having. Entertainment area stocked with movies and Play station and a fully stocked kitchen. Jim even had a few drinks in the fridge waiting for our arrival.

Sapphire Beach had great snorkeling. My husband saw stingrays, eels, barracudas, sea urchents, a zillion fish!! He stayed out for hours one day exploring the underwater! Great walks on beach morning and night!

A few things we highly recommend: Go to Melt in Red Hook for HUGE awesome burritos! If you like pizza, go check out Slice right up the hill from Sapphire, or Senor Pizza is good too, we got a large with 5 toppings delivered for $26. Off the Grid is a must eat, super cool spot! Great smoked mussels and a Mac and cheese burger to die for w/sweet potato fries and ginger ketchup. Go to downtown Charlotte Amalie and shop! Jewelry galore and the prices are great! We ate at Bumpas...they had the best fish tacos I have ever had! Had breakfast at Fish Tails one day, it was great food and great bloody Mary's. We also did all our grocery shopping at Moes market right in Red Hook. Must go to Coki Beach for a day and enjoy the true island vibe. Gets busy in the afternoon so head over early for a great spot with chairs and umbrella. Ask for dog biscuits and go out snorkeling, the fish are abundant and they will eat right out of your hand. And you have to get a fresh coconut and have them fill with a yummy rum drink! Take a few hours and go swim with the Sea Lions at Coral world. It was an awesome experience. For something more quiet and laid back, spend a day and take the ferry over to St John. If you want a beautiful sunset, head to Limetree Beach, over to the right at the end of the beach! Gorgeous!

All in all, an AMAZING time, we will be back!

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Sugar Hill, GA

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful visit to Sapphire Beach. The condo was perfect for our family of 4 and provided easy access to the beach. We all enjoyed breakfast on the deck! This condo is in a great location - so close to the marina for our trip to BVI and parasailing, and to the ferry to get to St. John. Sheila provided a ton of information about things to do in the area, and we enjoyed beach hopping to many she suggested - Coki Beach was our favorite for snorkeling! The condo was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your wonderful review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your vacation. I love sharing this wonderful spot on earth with others. Hope to see you again some day. Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect location - Relax all day or take a short trip to Red Hook's attractions and ferry.

  • 5 of 5

Sheila's corner unit on Sapphire Beach was perfect. Great view and proximity to the nicest part of the beach. It had everything needed and more (snorkel gear, DVD selection, games). The location on St. Thomas also worked very well for us. We could stay on property and have everything needed, but the town of Red Hook was also a short taxi ride away and had a lot of fun restaurants. The ferry was also right in Red Hook and we used that one day to cross to St. John's. I highly recommend doing the Kayak, Hike, Sea Turtle Snorkel tour at Honeymoon Beach on St. John's. Overall we were very pleased with the entire trip and can't wait to get back some day.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. It was great having you as a guest and I hope you'll be back some day. Thanks again, Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cyril King Airport STT
Nearest Barpub
Sapphire Bar and Grille, Banana Cabana
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Red Hook Ferry
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mahogany Run
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sapphire Bar & Grille/ Many restraunts in Red Hook
Nearest Beach
Sapphire Beach

The marina provides many activities from deep sea fishing to parasailing and ski jets. Also sailing opportunities and trips to the British Virgin Islands. Many more activities in nearby resorts. Sapphire Beach is a gated condo community with 24 hour security.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Exit Cleaning Fee $145
Tax Rate 12.5%

Holiday Rates are higher: Memorial Day, Labor Day, July 4, Thanksgiving - $300 each night for 2 nights
Easter, Christmas, New Year - $350 each night for 2 nights.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties