Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2 weekends now open in June! Email for reduced rates!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6)

The house is on the edge of town and the harbor is a 2 minutes from the front door. Shops and restaurants are an easy walk with no stairs or hills to climb. The house hosts a full kitchen with coffee maker, microwave and other assorted appliances. The living room and bedrooms each have a TV and DVD/VCR's with a selection of movies. The house provides beach chairs, toys and towels to make your vacation fun filled. There is also a selection of board and card games for your pleasure. Catalina Island features a wealth of activities for families and couples. Activities available on the Island include Zip lining throught Descanso Canyon, world class scuba diving and snorkling, challenging hiking trails, fabulous cocktails at Descanso Beach and a wealth of tours and special events throughout the year. This property can be rented by the week or for long weekends. I can now offer FREE Wi-Fi!

Keywords: Vacation Rental, Beach

More Details

Property Manager
Custom Travel Planning - Susan Waters
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 18, 2017

Amenities

Avalon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1),
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach Chairs, Beach Towels, Games, Beach Toys

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

2 weekends now open in June! Email for reduced rates!
average rating of 3.9411764 based on 17 reviews
1

Dirty & Damp

  • 1 of 5

Pros:

- VERY close to town and harbor. Great to just walk around everywhere.

- Plenty of towels.

- Useful that there were two bathrooms.

- Fully stocked kitchen with cooking items.

- Property Manager was accommodating to our housing needs.

Cons:

1. Floor was disgusting. Our feet were black after walking on it for 10 min.

2. Couch felt dirty, along with the fish pillows on it. There were small spiders crawling on us and I cringed when our kids would hold the pillows.

3. The dish sponge was disgustingly old and barely hanging on.

4. Bed sheets felt so damp.

5. Half of the lamps were out.

6. Spoons and spatulas in the drawers were dirty (gross).

7. One of the blinds were broken.

8. Doors were loud. Noise carried in the house easily.

9. Windows were thin. We could hear everything outside.

10. Kitchen was so small, pretty much only one person could be in it at one time.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cute little cottage style house

  • 5 of 5

Nice property, very inviting. We were traveling with 3 adults and 2 children. We thought it was the perfect size for us. The property is walking distance from EVERYTHING, which was a great plus! We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Great Birthday Getaway!!

  • 5 of 5

Had the best time! Could not have asked for a better location.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The light bulbs were pulled out in all the lamps and we had to put them all back in the lamps.

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at the house on Clarissa in Catalina. Although it was within walking distance to town, we found the house to be noisy because of the street traffic at night and the neighbors playing music. The house was dirty. There was sand in one of the beds as if the sheets had not been changed. Not sure if I could recommend this house. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry about the light bulbs. There was a misunderstanding with my cleaning lady in regards to the safety of light bulbs as I explained to you. The noise from the neighbors is very unusual and not the norm. I called the owner and the disruption was stopped immediately with no further problems. I wish you would have told me about the sheets as I would have had them changed.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just stayed here with our 4 children (ages 2-12), and we absolutely loved it! The place is perfect for a weekend getaway. The location is great. It's a very short walk to the boat, pier, beach, restaurants, and shops. The owner, Susan, was a wonderful host, and very accommodating. We made good use of the beach chairs and sand toys, along with a handy wagon to take it all down to the beach. There is also a nice selection of movies available that the kids really enjoyed. I'll definitely be recommending this place to friends, and hope to stay here again next time we visit the island.

  • Submitted: May 11, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Chris! I am happy that you were able to enjoy all the amenities offered. I hope to you see the next time you visit Avalon
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great weekend getaway for a small group!

  • 5 of 5

I booked this house for a weekend trip for a friend's birthday! It is in a great central location. We walked with our luggage to and from the boat, easy access to all the shops, restaurants and bars. We didn't do any beach time but if you do they have lots of fun beach toys and beach and towels. We rented two houses since our group was so large and ended up cooking at the other house but we did use the fridge and cups in the kitchen.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Cristen! I am so glad your group had a great time! I hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Avalon House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 16 2017 - Sep 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$350
$2,275
 
 
Fall
Sep 4 2017 - Nov 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning & Processing Fe $145 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable