Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Water View Sleeps up to 12 max

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms + Office, 3 Baths, (Sleeps maximum of 12)

Experience the Pacific Northwest – Island Style with the wonderful ambiance of Rose Mountain Lodge Vacation Rental located in Friday Harbor on San Juan Island, Washington. The Lodge has been beautifully restored from top to bottom. Furnishings were professionally chosen to fit the surroundings. This home includes 4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Office, Great Room, Gourmet Kitchen, Dining, Breakfast, Complete Laundry and Sitting Area. This 3400+ square foot vacation rental is truly the Pacific Northwest at its finest located approximately 3 miles from the town of Friday Harbor.

It isn't often that we have snow in Friday Harbor, but when we do, it is spectacular! Come enjoy Christmas at the Lodge. It is all decorated for the holidays even with a 9ft. Christmas tree!

The Lodge is situated on 5 plus wooded acres and has a wonderful water view of San Juan Channel. Dine on the spacious cedar deck or take in the sunset with evening cocktails. Barbecue and teak deck furniture included.

The Great Room on the main floor incorporates a stone fireplace that encompasses the two floors. Situated next to the fireplace is a 46” flat panel HDTV. The upstairs balcony overlooks the Great Room from a pine log railing. Tucked away under the pine stairway is a twin sized daybed. Beside the daybed is an ottoman with a twin sized bed.

The Master Bedroom is located on the main floor and includes a King size bed and Master Bath with an over sized jetted tub and separate large tiled shower.

A Guest Bedroom is also on the main floor with twin beds and a Bathroom including shower.

Upstairs there are two additional bedrooms, each with a Queen bed, and an Office with a Full sized sofa bed and Internet access. Also on the second floor is a Bathroom which includes a shower.

Rose Mountain Lodge can accommodate a maximum of 12 guests (NO EXCEPTIONS) in complete comfort and is a Non-Smoking facility.

To provide adequate supervision, one adult per child please!

Keywords: Large Lodge Style Home with 4 bedrooms and one office with convertible double bed.

More Details

Ken & Bonnie Sliger
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 15, 2017

About Ken & Bonnie Sliger

Ken & Bonnie have lived in Friday Harbor on San Juan Island for over 26 years. WE LOVE IT! Ken is a retired builder and Bonnie works with the Seniors (who are fortunate to live on San Juan Island) We also both manage Sliger Properties LLC. We have 4 sons, 10 adorable grandchildren and 2 Boxers (also adorable).

Ken & Bonnie Sliger purchased this house in 2004

Why Ken & Bonnie Sliger chose San Juan Island

When we first saw the Lodge in 2004, we knew it would definitely be a work in progress. Ken and son Scott saw the possibilities. The renovation was a collaborative effort with Scott manning the helm. After 4 years of blood, sweat and tears, our project was completed and transformed into Rose Mountain Lodge.

What makes this house unique

With the waterview of San Juan Channel through the trees and the smell of the pines, we have a true Pacific Northwest experience. Deer walk the almost six private acres. There is something so comfortable and peaceful relaxing on the cedar deck. The Lodge was remodeled from top to bottom keeping the Pacific Northwest Lodge theme. The natural lodge pole logs were painstakingly sanded and sealed. Hardwood flooring and cabinetry installed. The interior was professionally detailed to keep the Lodge ambiance.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had a wonderful time on San Juan Island. We fished for salmon, ate, hiked, eta, kayaked, ate, saw the sites, ate, enjoyed the weather and view from the deck. Had a great BBQ, overcooked the ribs. Went to Roche Harbor several times. Saw the flag ceremony in the evening. Golfed at San Juan Golf Club . The shower in the Master Bathroon is fantastic. Thank you so much. Wonderful!
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 10


Friday Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1) Located in the Master Bedroom of the first floor, Queen size Beds (2) Each Queen Bed is in the two upstairs guest rooms., Twin or Single Beds (4) Twin beds are located on the first floor (two in the guest room, one daybed under the stairway and a twin bed in the ottoman), Baby Cribs (1) small wooden portable crib is located in the Master Bedroom, but is easy to move, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) This sofa bed is located in the upstairs office and converts to a double bed. Linens are provided
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

Water View Sleeps up to 12 max
average rating of 4.65625 based on 42 reviews
Milwaukie, OK

Nice property overall, but a few shortcomings

  • 3 of 5

Rose Mountain Lodge is a nice, well-appointed home which could comfortably fit 8-10 people. There is no water access in walking distance, and indeed you pretty much have to drive everywhere, but that is generally true of San Juan Island unless you stay right in Friday Harbor.

The house has most everything you could want in a kitchen, a good grill, fairly reliable wifi, and plenty of patio furniture. The house was mostly clean, although we did note some areas (e.g., microwave, fridge, and a couple of countertops) that needed more thorough cleaning, and we did encounter a few carpenter ants.

The jets in the tub and a few of the many lights didn't work. Also, the listing says there is both a DVD and a CD player -- neither of which was on hand. We contacted the owners about a DVD player, as we had brought DVDs to watch, but they were not responsive. We understand they are in the process of selling the home, so that may be a cautionary note for future renters.

The house was nice, but for the price, one could probably find a home closer to the water and with a hot tub, which is what we will be looking for on our next visit to the San Juans.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry you encountered problems with your stay at Rose Mountain Lodge. We take great care to make sure our guests have a wonderful experience at the Lodge. There is a DVD player in the first floor guest room (twin beds) located on the side of the TV. I am sorry, but I did not receive a call or message from you regarding this. As for the carpenter ants, San Juan Pest Control services the home regularly. I made a call regarding this and they tell me that the ants just completed their swarming so maybe this is what you experienced. The house is located in the woods. The hot tub also works. The knobs are continually turned off by our other guests so it's important that you check this. As for the lights, my husband (the maintenance man) will check it out. I will also be informing our cleaning crew of your dissatisfaction. Yes, the lodge has been sold. The closing date is 8/8/17 so any guests before that date will not be inconvenienced.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Too cool

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful thanksgiving at the Rose Mountain lodge, plenty of room for our party of seven. Great kitchen and really nice fireplace.

Weather was cool and a little rainy but the house has a good heating system, and plenty of firewood just outside. I would recommend any larger group check it out... you will like it. stewart

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Great House

  • 5 of 5

The transaction with the owners is very easy. Communication with them is super! The house itself is wonderful. It's cozy, spacious, and has everything you need. We were 5 couples on the island for a "Sibfest." We did not feel cramped at all. the Great room design allowed for plenty of "together time" and the bedrooms and a few tucked here and there chairs allowed for alone time. The deck is great, so is the view.

The futon like bed in the office room upstairs is a little small for two people, but the twin bed tucked under the stairs and the surprisingly comfortable ottoman twin sleeper next to it are great substitutes.

Any one of us couples would consider renting again for another "sibfest," or to spend time with our own kids and families. Make sure to go see the sculpture garden in Roche Harbor.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

2 stars

  • 2 of 5

We had issues

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4
Portland, Oregon

Good property for a large group

  • 3 of 5

San Juan Island is stunning. You can't go wrong there. We were a group of 8 women who spent a week at the lodge. The host was very responsive to questions prior to our stay and the check-in process was easy. The property is very close to Friday harbor, which is convenient. The lodge itself is on a gravel road, off of a main street on the Island. The kitchen is big enough for group cooking and was well stocked with cooking utensils, pots, etc... The fireplace (with a ton of pre-chopped dry crackling wood -- thank you!) is great for the cool evenings. The rooms were spacious. The beds are comfortable. The linens for the bathrooms and bedrooms were great. The TV/stereo system worked well. The property is gorgeous and so quiet. We routinely had deer visit us throughout the days and evening. It is definitely a safe place to stay and the pictures are realistic. I think the listing was very accurate. I would recommend it to others.

I'm giving it three stars because it was evident there hadn't been a solid cleaning in quite a while. These are all things that can easily be addressed. The ceiling fans were caked with dust. The kitchen counter sides were covered in food. The rugs in the kitchen stuck to the floor because it was so sticky and dirty. There was a sign in the lower floor bathroom warning us of a drip. It actually leaks heavily in the rain. The grill ran out of propane the night we tried to use it (the owners came to us with new propane within 10 minutes of a call to them -- again, really responsive). The house was completely unlocked when we arrived on day 1, despite the check-out instructions that mandate all doors, windows be locked). We only saw one smoke alarm in the whole place -- and it was dangling open without a battery in it. The jacuzzi tub was very, very, very dirty upon our arrival. The furniture in the living room smells strongly of wet dog. It was bad enough that we had to cover it with layers of bedding to mask the smell. The downstairs master shower was too hot to utilize. We even turned down the water heater setting, and it was still scalding.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Maggie, I can't tell you how distressing this review is. We have had the same cleaning people for years. They are a family from Bosnia and have always done a stellar job. I have forwarded your comments to them. I stayed at the Lodge with a group of high school girl friends Sept 14 thru 17 and we did not experience this. I am so sorry that your family and friends did. Please give us another try and we'll make sure it's as prestine as it should always be.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Mateo - just outside San Fransisco

A great vacation home for a large family

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the home. The property was very spacious and very well furnished for a vacation. We had five young children who had enough space to play different games and a lawn big enough for them run around. We even had deer that would come upto the house and look up at us when we were on the outside patio. Ken was kind enough to bring round a DVD player for the children during their quiet time. The are many outside activities for all ages including the highlight of watching whales just 20 minutes away at the beach. A full thumbs up from our family!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


San Juan Island enjoys an average of 247 days of sunshine and half the rainfall of Seattle, situated in the 'rain Shadow' of the Olympic and Cascade mountain ranges.

Enjoy whale watching or ride the ferry to Victoria BC Canada April through December (passports required). Fly to the Island by Kenmore Air or San Juan Airlines. Use San Juan Transit from the Airport and take the Ferry from Anacortes, WA. Car rentals available.


Rates & Availability

Friday Harbor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.3%

One well behaved pet $100.00 pet fee. Please call for prior approval. 360-298-13284
Deposit: 50% with reservation. Balance due prior to 30 days of your stay.
Cancellation: 80% refund is cancelled prior to 30 days of your stay. 0 refund if cancelled within 30 days of your stay unless property can be re-booked.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties