Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Tranquility, privicy and beautiful ocean views. Two person jetted tub with view.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

1BR/1BTH Sleeps 2 Oceanview Vacation Rental Captain Cook, Hawaii USA

If we have two or three nights between bookings we offer a great discount if you pay with a check, or cash. Send us an inquiry.

We are a member of the Better Business Bureau, A+ rating.

Check out our Video on the Links & Video tab.

Additional GUEST BOOK reviews under Owner Info.

The pictures don't do it justice, our guests say. Nicely surprised when they walk in.

This property is an ideal couple getaway for any occasion. It is secluded on an old coffee plantation above Kealakekua Bay, with a dramatic sweeping ocean view of the coastline to the south. Kealakekua Bay is renowned for its terrific marine life.

You can kayak, hike, or horseback ride to the Captain Cook Monument on beautiful Kealakekua Bay. Escape the noise and traffic of Kona, stay at The Captain's Suite located just a six minute drive from Kealakekua Bay also located in the historic and rural agricultural district of Captain Cook.

This property located above Kealakekua Bay and the Place of Refuge is a great place from which to explore the rest of the Island and then return home to your own private quiet hideaway. Snorkel Kealakekua Bay, visit the Place of Refuge State Park, take a day trip to Volcanoes National Park and the East side of the Island, visit the rain forest, beautiful Waipio Valley and a whole lot more.

The many tropical flowers, trees, and fruits on the property offer a delight to the nature lover.

The tropical art deco style of the 'Captains Suite' is pleasing to our guests. It is situated privately just north of the main house, and it also has a 180-degree sweeping ocean view.

The Captain's Suite has private parking close to its own double-door entry, which opens to raja slate floors throughout.

Other special features include granite counter tops, a full bath with double sinks, a double walk-in shower, and two person jetted tub, which is privately situated to enjoy swaying bamboo, nature and coastline view.

Additional amenities include cooking facilities, a dishwasher, a refrigerator, filtered water, a King-size bed, an kitchen island, a lounge area, free laundry facilities (separate from the main house, soap & softener incl.), ironing board & iron, bath robes, (Bring your own slippers), paper towels, TP, baggies, wax paper, foil, coffee filters, salt & pepper & sugar.

Beach towels, mats, beach chairs and coolers provided. These accommodations are equipped with everything you'll need for a comfortable stay, including abundant storage, a coffee grinder, cable TV, a DVD, and a CD player. Entry is at ground level with no steps. However, the rental is not otherwise handicapped equipped.

This is a smoke-free environment for your enjoyment. Sorry, no pets.

The owner of this vacation rental property is Greg Gerard, a Realtor, licensed in the State of Hawaii and member of the National Association of Realtors, he is an Associate Broker with Clark Realty Corporation, 75-5722 Kuakini Hwy, Suite 102, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, 808-987-7720, however for vacation rental information please contact Nancy, locally at 808-987-9748.

Tax # W01652994-02

10 additional guest book reviews under Owner Info.

More Details

Owner
Nancy
Member since: 2001
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Nancy

We purchased this property in 1988. We built the main house and carport.

In 2000 we enclosed the garage and added two units to our 1 acre property.

We loved the large stand of bamboo, so it was a focal point in the design of the jetted tub for the Captain's Suite.

To achieve the feel of the outside we built large screened lanai's and double sliders and windows to let in light and the views of water, flora and fauna. However always with privacy in mind. Each unit has its own parking area close to the front door.

Nancy purchased this apartment in 1988

Why Nancy chose Captain Cook

This property is in the beautiful coffee belt of Hawaii. Green and lush with beautiful

ocean views. We love the tropical plants and animal life here. Birds and gecko's alike love the papaya and bananas. Turkeys and pigs roam the macadamia orchids beside us, as well and below us. We also have a small shopping center that provides a grocery store, hardware store and post office just up to the hwy and to the North.

We don't get any hwy noise unless a siren occasionally, from police or ambulance.

We love the rural-ness of the location, yet the convenience of a grocery store and hardware store.

What makes this apartment unique

It's only a 15 min. drive to Keauhou Shopping Center where you'll find restaurants, grocery store, shops and movie theater.

Also only about 12 min. down to Two Step for snorkeling and kayaking.

Many coffee farms and macadamia farms to visit and a must visit is the Japanese

living coffee farm. Several very good restaurants here in the area as well as fresh fish as the local market and fish market. Sundays is the local outdoor market just down the road.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This evening marks our 12th sunset on the islands--5 on Big and 7 in Kaua'i. It is hard to imagine a more opportune location for a sunset than this, Last evening - the Winter's Solstice - the sun fell into the Pacific on a clear horizon illuminating a clouded band above, with a fiery glow that would make Pele proud. The sun this evening looks to promise another dazzling show. Tomorrow we return to Hilo and then begin our journey home to Atlantic Canada, the close of a wonderful vacation that included swimming with sea turtles and cruising the Napal'i coast. Much to remember including this fine suite and lanai. The gecko's were a treat to watch scamper about and munch on insects out by the barbecue light. We're very happy with this location, as it proved to be both a great launch point for west-side dy trips and for ond day off doing absolutely nothing in particular. Mahalo! Bill & Gail
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 10

Amenities

Captain Cook Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 14
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Confirming our Cancellation Policy. 60 days prior to arrival-April thru Sept. 90 day prior to arrival--Oct. thru March Refund of only ngts re-booked.
  • 1. Upon leaving please clean out all refrigerator containers and wash all dishes. 2. Please use rags supplied to clean up, not the white wash cloths.
  • Honor policy: You are responsible for lost or damaged items. A $ amount will be given to replace it with a matching item or one of our choosing.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • 2 nd floor view of ocean and bamboo. Private. Double head shower, double sinks.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • The TV is situated in the corner of the living room so you can watch it from the bedroom. The bedroom also has a ceiling fan. Bath robes are provided but not slippers.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Washer and dryer are free for you use as well as soap and softener, in the attached garage area, as well as the iron and ironing board. The unit has no land line phone. Most guests bring their cell phones. Verizon works great. You may use our phone if need be. In lue of air conditioning: We are located at 1100 ft above sea level with Mauka, Makai (mountain-ocean )breezes which allows us to not need air conditioning. We have ceiling fans, and a tower fan for those unexpected still days or nights to move the air. The unit also has a security screen door so that you can enjoy the breeze all night with security.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Tranquility, privicy and beautiful ocean views. Two person jetted tub with view.
average rating of 4.861111 based on 46 reviews
5

The property is amazing...perfect in almost every way

  • 5 of 5

We loved it..its basically your own small hideaway on a beautiful property with spectacular views.. why would anyone want to pay 2x as much at a hotel and have to be around the chaos of tourists and everything else? There are so many sites to see on this island and almost none of them are at the local hotels _You will find all your beach gear including snorkeling,boogie boards,chairs, umbrellas, coolers and towels waiting for u..just load up and head out and explore the island.. our next trip to Kona we will definitely come back and stay here! Andy and Caroline

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We try to provide all that anyone needs to, as you say, load up and head out, for a fabulous time. Yes, the Island is very diverse with much to do or just to relax and chill out, (really warm out) !! Will look forward to your next visit. Aloha Greg and Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wausau WI / Yuma AZ
5

Perfect Hawaiian Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Quiet accommodations in a peaceful location. Close enough to do all the tourist routines, but away from the noise and crowds. A most perfect place with great hosts. Thank you Greg and Nancy....we will be back!!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

We just loved this spot. So relaxing, spacious, comfortable, quiet, clean and thoughtfully designed. We slept with the screen doors to the lanai open every night and fell asleep to the meditative lull of tree frogs and birds. The location is perfect, so much to see and do, but the unit is also ideal for meal prep (with a goodly supply of basics) for dining while watching the sun set. Thank you so much for a memorable stay!

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful home

  • 4 of 5

The facility was beautifully decorated, spacious, and very comfortable, plus the view was awesome. Although not air-conditioned, it was for the most part comfortable for sleeping. We spent most days sightseeing and attending different activities. At night we planned to relax and watch television or read. Unfortunately after attempting the directions that were left several times, the television did not work. When we asked the persons responsible for house sitting next door, they also couldn't help.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry the TV wasn’t accessible. I’ve been in that situation myself and didn’t appreciate it. To correct the situation we’ve rewritten the instructions so they’re easier to understand. I wish you had contacted us so we could have resolved the problem at the time. In the future any house sitter, must either be able to correct a problem or contact us so we can. We’re glad the property was enjoyable for you otherwise. We enjoy sharing it and hope you have the opportunity to return. Aloha, Greg & Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sussex, WI
5

Slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful property, owners are wonderful to work with. Property well maintained with gorgeous flowers and vegetation. Would recommend a stay here. Thank you

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, amazing views!!!

  • 5 of 5

Amazing property, away from downtown Kona but close to everything . Property is beautiful and the view even better. You want want to go home! Nancy and Greg are available if needed but give you all the privacy you want. Will definitely stay again when we come back to the big island!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Renowned Kealakekua Bay and Place of Refuge National Park are just below this unique property. A short 12 min. drive will put you at the waters edge. Kayak over the the Captain Cook monument, have lunch and snorkel along the coast line for unbelievable views of beautiful fish, eels, turtles and frolicking dolphins if your lucky.

Visit a coffee farm, botanical garden and have dinner at the renowned Keei Cafe.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Exit cleaning fee. $90 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

Our special rates for 2/3 nights is for that number of nights between bookings. We wish to fill those nights so are give a discount per night of $90.00 plus tax and cleaning. Otherwise we require a min. of 4 nights, at regular nightly price. Mahalo.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.