Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Romantic Privacy. Honeymooners Hideaway. Nature Lovers Retreat.

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,250 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

The Gullhouse- isolated & private with ocean view shared only with the birds

"The views of the ocean right from your deck/living room/bedroom window will take your breath away immediately, and then you'll smile every morning waking up to seals on the rocks! " Guest review

The Gullhouse nestles in a secluded, intimate spot, rare on the popular Oregon Coast. The road ends in our driveway. Our guests love sitting in the hot tub (no neighbors other than the seals:) and watching the gulls, pelicans, bald eagles and magnificent gray whales, migrating 12,000 miles from Alaska to Baja and back. Many engagement, honeymoon and anniversary celebrations take place at the Gullhouse. (LGBTQ Friendly)

FEATURES

You will marvel at this astounding ocean view from the living room sofa, the ocean bedroom and even the kitchen. At low tide you can see with your naked eye, orange and purple sea stars clinging to the exposed rocks, and a dozen seals resting on these rocks. You don't have to leave the Gullhouse to experience the beauty of the Oregon Coast and many of our guests don't!

THE HOUSE

*fully equipped kitchen

*huge deck

*privacy that makes the hot tub clothing optional

*king beds (2)

*full bathrooms (2)

*gas BBQ

*flat screen TVs

*wireless internet

*private parking

*close to Newport and Waldport

*high chair

*pack n play

CHILDREN

The Gullhouse is not oceanfront, but is located across the street from the beach. It might be closer than many oceanfront properties, but there is a busy road to cross. Our teenagers had no problem with it, but for young children, there are 4 State Parks with easy beach access and parking for your vehicle within a 2 mile radius.

The Gullhouse is not baby-proofed, but we do have available a pack n'play, high chair, booster seat and room monitor.

A Note About Motorcycles:

The road ends in our driveway and offers spectacular privacy, but about 3 blocks away, the road becomes gravel. There is a significant hill into our block. In addition, we do not have either a carport or a garage where your vehicle can be parked.

More Details

Owner
Debi
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 20, 2017

About Debi

Rob and Debi Hertert originally bought the Gullhouse for family vacations.

We started renting it to co-workers at the VA Hospital; friends and family. The response was overwhelming, and we found that we really enjoyed sharing this incredible place. When Rob retired, we decided to rent it professionally, and he got his 'committee' together to help. We built the patio, installed the hot tub, replaced and cut in new windows. The deck was torn down and rebuilt, the foundation and underpinnings supported, even the plumbing was replaced! We all worked hard, and we love our special place.

We have had many Fathers Day Crab Feeds with our kids after a day out on Uncle Doug's boat in the Bay. Our middle son proposed to his wife on the beach in front of our house. Our oldest son and his wife honeymooned at the Gullhouse. Our daughter chooses to bring her husband here every chance she gets. Rob and I have had many lovely times for our own special Valentine's Days and anniversaries. The Gullhouse is well-loved by our entire family and friends. Our friendships grow every day, with every booking; our guests are always the kind of people that we enjoy and appreciate, even though we may only meet on-line!

Debi purchased this cottage in 2000

Why Debi chose Central Coast

The view is simply, completely and utterly outstanding.

What makes this cottage unique

The Gullhouse has a better view and is closer to the ocean than many oceanfront properties. When my mom (Debi, here) was ill and she couldn't go onto the beach, she could still see us from the living room couch, and without using the binoculars, even examine the starfish on the rocks. There is one particular flat rock that the seals will climb onto at the change of tide. Even though Mom has been gone over 10 years, we still lovingly call that rock 'Grandmom's Rock'.

Another attribute not to be taken for granted is the feeling of sitting in the hot tub, sparkling stars overhead, a magnificent sunset on the horizon and the sights and sounds of the ever-changing, crashing surf. My personal choice of a meditation spot in the morning and for quiet conversation and a cocktail in the evening sunset.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The weather was foul and then it was bright. We laughed, we danced, we also sang, and on the third day we yelled. Happy F.B. 64 -



Thank you for another great memory.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 160

Amenities

Seal Rock Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Shampoo, conditioner, body soap, hand soap, hairdryer
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Master with soaps, paper goods and hair dryer.
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , We have a Pack n'play instead of a full crib.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , High quality linens.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , The sofa bed is a double and is in the TV room. Not private.
  • King size beds (1) King bed in each bedroom., Child Beds (1) pack'n'play, children are also welcome to sleep on the sofa bed., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sofa bed - double
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

Romantic Privacy. Honeymooners Hideaway. Nature Lovers Retreat.
average rating of 4.8076925 based on 186 reviews
5

Very tidy and clean. It really feels like your own home on the beach.

  • 5 of 5

The pictures we saw on vrbo don't even come close to the reality of the gullhouse. We didn't want to leave. The views were nothing short of spectacular. Rob and Deb are one in a million for sharing this home and this little piece of heaven with us and so many others. We felt as if we were treated like royalty

There is not a doubt... we will return again and again.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brighton, CO
4

Great location with an amazing view!

  • 4 of 5

We appointed property that provided everything that we needed. Loved sitting in the hot tub listening to the waves.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One word. Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

This is such a gorgeous place, we loved it so much!! Great honeymoon spot!!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Beautiful home and Gorgeous view

  • 5 of 5

This place was amazing!!!! I would stay here again!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

The property was exactly as advertised.

  • 5 of 5

Great views and a fun place to stay. Spent two weeks there and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. While we were there, the DVD player failed. Debi quickly provided a replacement for us. We'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so happy to have you stay, Joe. And delighted that you enjoyed your time on our beautiful Oregon Coast. We would love to have you come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Silver Spring
5

We didn't want to leave!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had the most amazing week at Gull House. Where to start? The orange-pinks of spectacular sunsets from the deck; the sound of the surf through the windows at night; the misty view of the ocean in the mornings.

The house was so very comfortable and cozy. And the hot tub!!! Oh my, the hot tub, filled with fresh water for our visit, was just magic. (It wasn't fully heated up when we arrived, but a quick call to the owner confirmed it was because they'd changed the water that day, and also resulted in a host of extremely helpful tips for restaurants and whale watching - THANK YOU for being so responsive!) We were in the hot tub every morning AND every night. Love love love. :-)

The kitchen is well-appointed, with all the dishes and pots and pans we could have wished for. There were odds and ends of cooking oil, spices, and a selection of teas, too. We felt so very welcomed!

Gull House is definitely on our list of places we'll return to. We already miss it! Thanks to the owners for sharing this magical place.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Yuzen Japanese Restaurant
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Quail Street Beach
Car: necessary

Seal Rock is an unincorporated coastal community in Lincoln County, Oregon, United States, between Newport and Waldport on U.S. Route 101.

Seal Rock State Wayside (across the street) has large off-shore rock formations which are the habitat of seals, sea lions, sea birds and other marine life. The wayside includes interesting tide pools as well as excellent ocean views and a sandy beach. Developed for day-use, the picnic area is in a pleasant stand of shore pine, spruce and salal. Or you can picnic on the deck at the Gullhouse, and enjoy the splendid view from the privacy of your own deck.

The outstanding Newport Aquarium and Hatfield Marine Science Center area within a 15 minute drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Seal Rock Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 16 2017 - Aug 17 2017
4 night minimum stay
$239
$1,650
 
 
Eclipse!
Aug 18 2017 - Aug 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
$849
 
 
Summer
Aug 23 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$239
$1,600
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$259
 
 
September
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$239
 
 
October
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$189
From
$229
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$219
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $79 + Tax
Hot Tub $35 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.8%

Very strict 'No Pet' policy. No exceptions.
Signed rental agreement required. Esignature enabled.
Max 3 cars parking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties