Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Top Floor @ Kona Reef - Beautiful Sunsets - SUMMER 2018 Special Rates

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This top floor, corner Condominium in the beautifully maintained Kona Reef Condominiums awaits you!

• Relax on the private lanai and watch the wave, the surfers, the dolphins, the sunsets …. and BREATHE in that fresh ocean air!

• You can relax by the pool, in shade or sun, or sit on the grass (or on the comfy chaise lounge chairs) at the edge of the ocean.

• Use the immaculately cleaned barbecues (4) to grill up fresh fish or steaks and watch the sunset - ahhhhhhh!

• There is a public sandy beach bordering the Kona Reef to the south. We enjoy going into the ocean from this beach -- easier access for snorkeling than directly out front of the condo.

• The relaxing stroll along the waterfront into the quaint town of Kailua is wonderful - from early morning (there are a couple of great coffee shops that open early, allowing you to sit outside and watch the waves splash on shore) until late at night. No need to hassle with driving - the shops and restaurants, spas and even a luau - are all within easy walking distance from our condominium.

• You can keep busy from morn 'til midnight, exploring the Kona Coast - hiking, biking, birding, fishing, snorkeling, scuba diving, exploring remote beaches, the volcano, green and black sand beaches – or just sit and enjoy RELAXING!

• Come! Stay awhile - Relax, renew your energy and soak up the beauty of creation all around!

Note: We own another condo here at the Kona Reef -- check out our other listing (vrbo # 27574). We are OWNERS ... not property managers so we invite you to enjoy our Kona Home!


Please understand that cancellations after the deposit is made will forfeit the deposit (although some exceptions may apply). Cancellations made within 30 days of reservation are non-refundable unless unit is rented to another guest. There are no refunds for arriving late, early departure or ‘no shows’. We advise guests to purchase Trip interruption / Cancellation Insurance if you think it wise.

Keywords: Condominium, oceanview, one bedroom, top floor, King Bed, spectacular view, fully-stocked kitchen, remodeled bathroom, Air Dream hide-a-bed mattress, condo sleeps 4

More Details

Nancy Welfelt
Member since: 2003
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2018

About Nancy Welfelt

We LOVE IT HERE at the Kona Reef!

We have 2 condos here at the Kona Reef -- our only two in the world!! (our 2nd listing is vrbo listing # 27574).

We OWN this condo --we are not property managers or real estate agents. So this is our home ... and we invite you to enjoy it as we do.

PLEASE CONTACT ME by phone if you'd like. Call or text: 503-720-6144

Nancy Welfelt purchased this condo in 1995

Why Nancy Welfelt chose Kailua-Kona

The Kona Reef is located within walking distance of everything in Kona. The management of this complex is very attentive to detail, cleanliness and safety of all the guests

What makes this condo unique

We thrive on the beauty of the water and waves. It is incredibly relaxing and refreshing. We thoroughly enjoy the proximity to Kailua --we can walk everywhere we need to get to ... and we love it!


Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Newly renovated; walk-in shower stall; outside windows (above shower area) for great fresh air ventilation.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Hide-a-bed - QUEEN - 1 queen , We have a new Air Dream inflatable hide-a-bed- mattress
  • New King size bed in the bedroom; Also 1 Hide-a-bed Sleeper Sofa (in the living room) with a Queen size inflatable Air Dream mattress.
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
We have password protected wireless access for our guests. No Smoking in condo or on lanai please. We have pool area towels, sand chairs & mats for your use. The condo is outfitted with everything to make you feel right at home! We have a nice lanai patio set so you can sit for hours watching the waves if you so desire. There is refreshing access to side windows in each and every room of the condo - even on the lanai! The Hawaiian breezes are soothing - allowing freedom from the air conditioner's blast (if you so desire we DO have air conditioning as well). And we have a new King-sized bed for great slumber!


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(61 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Top Floor @ Kona Reef - Beautiful Sunsets - SUMMER 2018 Special Rates
average rating of 4.7704916 based on 61 reviews

Great location, personable owner, clean and quiet getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our visit to Kona included several days in this condo. It's location was perfect, so close to town while still considered quiet. The condo was very clean, very well supplied and the grounds were very well kept. My husband and I and our two middle school children had plenty of room. Debi was wonderful with her prompt, personal responses and was VERY flexible for our every changing dates!! Thank you. When we return to Kona, we hope to revisit this condo.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy that you all enjoyed yourselves in our condo -- and that you found the location and the complex grounds so suited to your needs. For all my guests, I understand the need for flexibility and I am glad to accommodate whenever I can. Let me know when YOU might want to come and ENJOY KONA! Mahalo Debi
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Kona Great Location

  • 2 of 5

Perfect location, great view, great little beach next door, short walk to town. Unfortunately the unit is old and in need of an update, as advertised the bathroom shower is far from being newly updated. It is in need of a total remodel compared to the other units in the complex. Plus side great grills, good pool, garage parking. The bed was comfortable, the unit was acceptable but certainly no more than 2 stars.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback on our Kona Reef Condo. We're sorry to hear that it wasn't all that you were expecting. The bathroom WAS recently updated removing the tub and adding a walk-in shower with new tile and glass bricks as the picture shows. All of the condo pictures are current and accurately depict what you will get when you stay with us - NO trick photography !! Thank you for noting the MANY things you did enjoy about our condo and your stay, however it was disappointing that you would only give us 2 stars.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location and view!

  • 5 of 5

My first visit ito Big Island and I am glad we were able to stay at this condo.

Convenient location to many nice beaches and downtown Kona.

Nice ocean view from Lanai. BBQ downstairs was nice to have.

Nancy was very accommodating.

We really enjoyed our stay.

We will definitely stay again when we visit Big Island soon hopefully.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We had an amazing stay - the condo was amazing!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful stay at this condo! It was the perfect location to be able to walk into town for shopping at eating! And same with getting to the beach - whether it was walking to the beach or driving to one that's further away! The condo was nice and clean and a perfect size for our little family - 2 adults and an 11 year old. The pool was amazing and the view!! WOW!!!! We would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend for others! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We had great time

  • 5 of 5

We will come back!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tacoma, WA

Very Nice

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Kona Reef. The condo was clean and well stocked. We appreciate it when we don't have to go out and purchase salt and pepper, as we have had to do at other condos. The owners were very helpful and answered all of our questions. The common areas are very nice and well kept. We enjoyed the view, the pool and hot tub, and of course, our lanai. We walked to lunch and dinner several times, the location is great for town access without being in the busy area.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Laulima Food Patch
Health Food Restaurant
Sushi Restaurant
Chubby's Diner
Hawaiian Restaurant
BAR CODE Karaoke & Grill
Bar & Grill
Kona Coffee & Tea Company
Royal Jade Garden Chinese
Chinese Restaurant
Loko Wraps
Ba-Le Sandwich Shop
Sandwich Shop
Jamba Juice Kona Coast Shopping Center
Juice Shop
Sumo Deli
Don's Chinese Kitchen
Chinese Restaurant
He'e Restaurant
Japanese Restaurant
Broke Da Mouth Grindz & Catering
Hawaiian Restaurant
Privateer's Cove
Trini's Mix Plate & Catering
Filipino Restaurant
Chirashi Sushi-Don By Jiro
Japanese Restaurant
El Mercadito Rincon Mexicano
Mexican Restaurant
Rolls With It
Asian Fusion Restaurant
Killer Tacos
Mexican Restaurant
Lava Bowls
Hawaiian Restaurant
808 Grindz Cafe
Hayama Japanese Restaurant
Japanese Restaurant
Ultimate Burger
Hamburger Restaurant
Original Thai Cuisine LLC
Thai Restaurant
Daiichi Ramen
Ramen Restaurant
Kona Chinese BBQ
Barbecue Restaurant
Krua Thai h
Thai Restaurant
Sushi Shop Kyotoya
Sushi Restaurant
Ocean Seafood Chinese Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Big Island Grill
American Restaurant
TK Shabu Shabu House Kona
Sukiyaki and Shabu Shabu Restaurant
Bangkok House
Thai Restaurant
TK Noodle House Kona
Asian Fusion Restaurant
Keopu Coffee
Coffee Shop
FOB's Polynesian Deli
Doutor Coffee
Mauka Meadows Coffee Farm
Coffee Shop
Mauka Meadows Coffee Farm
Coffee Shop
Quinn's Almost by the Sea
American Restaurant
Gertrude's Jazz Bar
Tunaichi Sushi & Noodle
Sushi Restaurant
Shimaichi Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Longboard Legends Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Mokuaikaua Church
Lemongrass Bistro
Thai Restaurant
Kona Korean BBQ
Barbecue Restaurant
Kalikala Cuisine
Fish Hopper
Seafood Restaurant
Umeke's Poke Bowls And Local Style Lunch Plates
Seafood Restaurant
Seiji's Sushi
Japanese Restaurant

Sightseeing (including an active volcano!), & Birding - and RELAXING with loved-ones!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
cleaning fee $115 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.42%

Hawaii Tax ID# 127-222-7840-01

Please understand that cancellations after the deposit is made will forfeit the deposit (although some exceptions may apply). Cancellations made within 30 days of reservation are non-refundable unless unit is rented to another guest. There are no refunds for arriving late, early departure or ‘no shows’. We advise guests to purchase Trip interruption / Cancellation Insurance if you think it wise.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties