Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Kuhio Shores 201-Ocean front with FREE mid-size car

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Ocean front 1bd condo-awesome ocean views, beach next door

**Free mid-size car while cars are available. Not valid with any other special offers. Car can be upgraded for minimal fee. Includes Lihue airport pick up and drop off, unlimited mileage and taxes. Cars are on a 24-hour basis so if flight arrival and departure times exceed the number of days reserved, there will be an additional charge.

KUHIO SHORES 201

Treat yourself to a peaceful tropical vacation at this Kuhio Shores condo just steps from Lawai Beach, a local favorite snorkeling spot. The view from the shady lanai is classic Kauai: waves crashing and endless sky, with turtles and dolphins often appearing in the surf.

Inside, contemporary appointments like free high speed WiFi keep you connected, while the open-plan living area offers space for both of you to unwind comfortably. Re-charge for your next adventure on a sectional couch while you watch your favorite DVD on a 42” Smart TV with cable. Make meals in the fully equipped kitchen, and dine at a high-top glass table with four stools.

Drift off to sleep to the sound of waves in the bedroom’s queen-size bed. The room’s furnishings are all natural wicker, and the closets are lined with red cedar for classic island vibes. With a Bluetooth stereo and 19” TV with cable, you can enjoy your favorite music and shows from the comfort of your sheets. The renovated bathroom with tub/shower combination features gorgeous travertine tile.

All of our properties have modern amenities to make your stay as stress-free and enjoyable as possible. Bluetooth stereos and Smart TVs offer the latest in entertainment, and our electronic charging stations mean your group will never have to fight over outlets. Plus, you'll enjoy easy check-in and added security from our keyless Point Central Lock system.

Oceanfront

Lawai Beach and Popular PK’s surfing right next door

5 Minute Walk to Baby Beach

Fully Equipped Kitchen

Free WiFi

Free Parking

BBQ areas

Elevators

On the way to Spouting Horn and the National Tropical Botanical Gardens

30 minutes from the airport

Walk to Kukui’ula Shopping Center which boasts many restaurants, shops and galleries as well as a Wed. night Farmers Market

What makes Kuhio Shores 201 Special:

Oceanfront

Great Trade Wind breezes to cool you off

Corner Condo, not much foot traffic

Beautiful sunrise and moonrise over the bay

Nice quiet lanai

Located on the bay side of the ocean near Lawai Road. You will love sitting on your lanai to take in the ocean breezes and watch turtles in the bay just below you.

Club membership provides you with access to one of the island's only fitness centers with a cardio room and weight pavilion, use of the resort pool, waterslide, hot tub and sand-bottomed kiddie section, tennis, pickle ball and basketball courts, shuffleboard, water aerobic classes, yoga classes and more. Club memberships are available through Great Vacation Retreats only for a fee of $100 per weekper property (maximum of 2 guests per membership).

Amenities

42"Flat screen TV in living room and 19" in bedroom, both with cable

DVD player in living room

High Speed Wireless Internet

Hardwood floors, red cedar lined closets, plantation louvre doors

Renovated travertine bathroom with bath tub/shower

Ceiling Fans in every room

Complimentary Island Soap and CandleWorks toiletries

Starter kit of Kauai Coffee Company coffee and condiments, paper and cleaning products such as toilet paper, paper towels, laundry detergent provided

Coin operated laundry facilities on site - 2nd floor

All linens including beach towels provided

Sleeping Arrangements

Master Bedroom: Queen bed

More Details

Property Manager
Great Vacation Retreats
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2017

About Great Vacation Retreats

Aloha~

Thank you for viewing our properties! Great Vacation Retreats is a boutique family run vacation rental company located on the beautiful island of Kauai! We have been managing properties on the Garden Isle and Kona since 2009. It can be overwhelming trying to pick out the right property -- we can help. Someone from our office is available almost 24 hours/day to answer your questions and help you find the perfect place to call home during your tropical getaway. We take great pride in the properties we manage and believe that we truly have some of the best properties the island has to offer. We have been in each property numerous times and stayed in most so that we can give you an accurate description of what each property's amenities are, distances to the beach, sightseeing, restaurants, etc. We can also help you with any activities you might be interested in while on island such as surfing lessons, private boat charters, guided hikes, stand up paddling, personal chef, childcare and much more!

Mahalo for looking :)

Great Vacation Retreats purchased this condo in 2008

Why Great Vacation Retreats chose Poipu

Peace and Quiet—With a View: Get the privacy of a corner condo with the lanai’s amazing panorama. Watch sunrise over the bay, 50 feet from the water.

Ample Amenities: Enjoy access to the Kuhio Shores barbecue area with 2 grills. Free parking, coin-operated laundry, and elevators add to the convenience. Stroll to the Beach House restaurant next door for seafood and an oceanside atmosphere.

Sun and Surf: Walk just steps to Lawai Beach, known for surfing and snorkeling among the turtles and choke (fish). Baby Beach (5 minute walk) is also a secluded spot, great for families.

What makes this condo unique

Just 30 minutes from the airport, this condo puts you near Kukui’ula Shopping Center’s upscale grocery store, restaurants, shops, galleries, and a weekly farmers market (11-minute walk). Drive to the National Tropical Botanical Gardens and Spouting Horn Park (4 minutes) for hiking through native plants and to a stunning waterspout.

If you’re looking for a resort-style stay, we have you covered. For an additional fee you’ll have uninhibited access to the Poipu Beach Athletic Club, home to a fitness center, hot tub and sparkling pool with a waterslide and sand-bottomed kiddie section – everything you need to work out, cool off or wind down.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The description of the condo was accurate and the pictures were representative ! The place was clean and modern and really homey. The couch and TV setup were perfect for evening unwinding after a long day. The neighborhood was nice and there was the best snorkeling beach in Kauai (in my opinion!) within walking distance ! We were very pleased with our stay and we would def be back ! Thank you Amy !
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 16

Amenities

Poipu Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Ocean front unit

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

0% Complete
60% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Kuhio Shores 201-Ocean front with FREE mid-size car
average rating of 3.4 based on 21 reviews
Encinitas, CA
4

Great deal and location and view!

  • 4 of 5

The inside is well decorated and very clean, great spot in Poipu. Awesome lanai. Other units have better views but this is still awesome.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Oceanfront? Yes, but with the view on the road included

  • 3 of 5

We stayed for nine nights at this condo. I have visited South shore before so I knew the location would be good. The view from this particular unit is not ideal - it is definitely not an oceanfront view, but only partial - yes, you look at the ocean, but also at the road, and from the bedroom you listen not to the birds or ocean waves but to the noises of the cars. If you are fine with this, you would love the unit. It is very clean, spacious, with stylish furniture. The staff was friendly, and we found everything we needed there - except for the view.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and thanks for submitting a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the property. We hope the road wasn't a surprise for you when you checked in. We do try and be very upfront with the location during the booking process and on the listing details. Most guests tell us they can only hear the ocean and the road is very quiet at night. Maybe we can entice you to come back and try another property next time. Thanks again for your feedback!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
4

Enjoyable stay at Kuhio Shores

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for four nights at the very end of our 12-night Hawaii honeymoon.

We loved the lanai - it had lounge chairs and a great view of the water ahead (and the turtles who reside there!).

We were greeted with a welcome package from Great Vacation Rentals - complete with toilet paper, dishwasher soap, laundry detergent, coffee.. a great starter kit for anyone staying a long time, and just perfect for us who were only staying a few days. Soap, shampoo, conditioner and body wash were plentiful (always a plus!)

The condo is beautiful, but the photos don't always match it (for example, the shower looks the same but the toilet/sink have been changed). Also, lack of washer/dryer was a bit disappointing.

The bedroom has no real windows - the windows are to the walkway, with privacy screens. This made for very hot nights and uncomfortable sleeping. One suggestion I would have for the condo owner is to invest in a window AC unit. The fans don't cut it.

There were great beach chairs available, along with boogie boards, but a cooler would be very appreciated by future guests (we had to rent one).

Location is okay - you're next door to a snorkel beach and few minutes' drive from Poipu Beach.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are working on getting new photos as soon as the owner is finished with some great new upgrades to the property. We appreciate your suggestions and will make sure to pass them on:) Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Ontario, Canada
2

Vacation

  • 2 of 5

We have stayed at this building twice before and the condo we rented was perfect. We were a bit disappointed with this condo. The couch and chair need replaced. The cushions are broken down and worn out. The remote on the kitchen tv doesn't work - very frustrating. There are not many dishes and what's there are chipped and not microwave safe. There are no wine glasses or plastic glasses to be used outside. The bathroom is older and needs an update. The carpet has stains so appears dirty. Many of these things could be easily improved on and in my opinion would improve the overall impression of the condo. Also, when we rented the condo, we were told there was a washer and dryer in the unit but found when we arrived it had been removed. We justified paying more for this condo than we had paid in the past because of the washer and dryer so were disappointed to see it gone. We love the location and hope that this condo gets the TLC it deserves.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: January 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for posting a review. We take all reviews seriously and share them with the owners of the properties so they can see what guests are requesting. This particular property changed owners and the new owners are continuously making upgrades, they have just purchased a new King bed and bedding, new living room furniture, new kitchen items, etc…While that doesn't change the disappointment you had with the property while you were here we would love to be able to make it up to you on your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Nova Scotia, Canada
4

Love the location!

  • 4 of 5

This is our third time staying in this particular unit. It has a great location, you can see turtles right from the lani and this year was a particular great year for whale watching from the lani as well.

We were quite disappointed to find that that washer/dryer had been removed a week before we arrived as this was one of the main reasons we chose to return to this unit. Apparently both had broken down and the new owner has decided not to replace them. I requested a small refund which was given without question. There are little things that really need to be updated and replaced. Chips in the dishes and not a lot to choose from, the shower fixtures are looking their age, as well as the sofa really needs to be replaced. I had to put two pillows under the cushions so we wouldn't sink way down into it. The TV in the living room is finicky, the remote doesn't always work, while the TV in the bedroom seems to be new and works great.

The bed is very comfortable and we slept well with the sound of the ocean. The wooden louvered doors are a great way to keep the heat of the morning sun out of the unit while still being able to hear the ocean.

Once a few changes have been made, this unit will again be one of the best we have stayed in.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: January 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Map

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Lihue Airport (LIH)
Nearest Barpub
Beach House Restaurant
Nearest Restaurant
Beach House Restaurant
Nearest Beach
Lawai Beach
Car: recommended

Located on Kauai's beautiful South Shore. The world famous Poipu beach offers a beautiful beach perfect for swimming, snorkeling or laying out in the sunshine. Poipu beach also has a large grassy park with children's play area, showers, bathrooms, restaurants and shopping. Next door you will find Brennecke's beach and Shipwreck beach great for boogie boarding or surfing. Also right next door to Kuhio Shores is Lawai beach great for snorkeling and Baby beach perfect for little ones. Keep your eyes peeled for turtles and Hawaiian monk seals! Other nearby attractions include the award winning Anara spa, Two Shopping Centers, many restaurants, Koloa town, Spouting Horn, The National Tropical Botanical Garden and more! Poipu Beach Athletic Club includes a pool, waterslide, hot tub, gym, fitness classes, sports courts, restaurant and more! Memberships available for purchase thru Great Vacation Retreats.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135.41
Tax Rate 17.42%

Tax rate includes 14.416% HI state tax an 3% processing fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.