Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakefront Getaway Cabin, Camp 'Soleil' 204 Georges Pond Rd."""

Bedrooms 2
Space 1 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Cozy Maine Cabin with screened porch, Camp 'Soleil', sits directly on beautiful Georges Pond. Breathtaking sunrises and sunsets with swimming, boating, kayaking, fishing, and hiking right at your doorstep. Acadia National Park (Mt Desert Island and Schoodic Peninsula) approximately 20 minutes drive.

What better way to start or end your day, than listening to the loons, star gazing and frequent sightings of eagles and other wildlife.

Keywords: Cabin

Dana Shaw
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 31, 2018


Franklin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Television
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Beautiful scenery with bald eagles, loons and an abundance of wonderful wildlife. Also a great little bunk house for kids to sleep in if needed.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Lakefront Getaway Cabin, Camp 'Soleil' 204 Georges Pond Rd.
average rating of 4.65 based on 20 reviews

Beautiful location, well-taken-care-of property, wonderful owner!

  • 5 of 5

We are looking forward to next year's stay! What a beautiful and comfortable location. The camp had all great accommodations, and everything was so clean! Mr. Dana Shaw is very attentive, plus he supplied the wood for us to use the wood burning stove! Being on the lake was a great way to spend our vacation. The view is gorgeous, and he even provided kayaks and a boat for us to enjoy! We are definitely returning again!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. I always try to do everything I can to make my guests stay enjoyable and comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs Alot of Help!

  • 1 of 5

We were not prepared for HOW rustic this camp would be! The flooring was subflooring, not finished flooring. The shower was very small and was all rust inside of it. The two chairs to sit in where all torn up. The only place to sit in the living room was a futon that was not very comfortable. Every now and then you could smell fumes from the propane gas stove. It got down to 40 degrees at night and we had to go out and find fire wood and kindling to burn in the wood stove. There were mice in the kitchen. Very tight space to move around, no closets to hang clothes, and limited space for storing clothes. Sitting on the porch you could not get a clear view of the water, you looked at trees. Two weeks were booked for us to stay but we only stayed eight days. A waste of money!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I don't know what to say. I am very sorry you were disappointed. This is a typical camp in Maine. I came over to check on your parents they said everything was fine. I stated multiple times that if there was anything they needed or I could do to make it more comfortable, all they had to do was ask me. I am available 24/7. I offered wood for the wood stove. but they said they were leaving. Mr. Gray said that they would be back again so, this is quite confusing. I'm not even sure who is writing this review as Christine Gray booked the camp for her elderly parents, but I never even spoke to her here. When I went over to check on the camp after they left, the refrigerator door was left wide open with food in it spoiling. I'm not sure why this happened? I think the expectation of it being a house verses being a camp is the problem here. When food is left out, obviously it will attract field mice into the camp. There is also a rocking chair in the living room which is very comfortable. The chairs on the screened in porch have towels on the seat to cover up the torn spots because a lot of times renters sit on them after swimming and they have partially torn, but the chairs are comfortable and usable. I have multiple reviews which express their delight and joy in "Camping" in a rustic camp in Maine. Everything works perfectly and is what most people are looking for. Again I am sorry for your disappointment. Camping isn't for everyone.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Serene Treasure

  • 5 of 5

When I walked into Camp Soleil I felt at home, like I had been there before. It was comfortable and pleasant. I most enjoyed sitting in the screened in porch reading a book but also looking out at the beautiful lake for wildlife. A pair of binoculars are there for visitor's use. I was thrilled to see a bald eagle high in a tree across the lake from the cabin, and at night the eerie calls of the loons were mesmerizing, giving me thoughts of the wonders of nature.

The kitchen is stocked with pretty much anything you may need to cook a nice dinner or just microwave something quick. It was very clean, organized and even had a good stock of spices

Dana is a wonderfully pleasant man who makes you feel much at home, making sure I had everything I needed. The highlight of my dog's stay was running around the yard with his labs.

The highlight of mine was experiencing the peace and feeling of well being this place gave me. I can say I could have looked out at that lake all day long. I hope I will see it again and I hope you will too.

Best wishes to Dana and the pups.

Beth D.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Beth for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed being here. I hope you will come back again 😊
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very serene setting. This is a true Main "camp" with lots of rustic character.

  • 5 of 5

Great camp. Right on water. Owner who lives next door is very friendly and attentive to your needs. Fishing and swimming was great. Sitting in rockers on screen room porch sipppjng coffee was worth the trip.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!! I loved seeing the pictures of all the fish you caught!! Hope to see you again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful, quiet, rustic. You won't want to leave.

  • 5 of 5

This was our family of four's fifth year spending two weeks at Camp Soliel. We love everything about it! George's Pond is beautiful and the perfect place to swim, paddle and fish. Kids will LOVE the diving board in the middle of the lake. Sunsets from the dock are a very special part of the day. You are guaranteed to see loons, osprey and bald eagles. If you like to fish, you'll catch bass, silver perch and pumpkin seed. There are lake trout here as well.

Dana is a wonderful host and great company but respectful of his guest's privacy. Everything you could possibly need is provided. Sheets, towels (even beach towels) and a fully stocked kitchen. Keep in mind that the place is rustic (but well kept and clean). Dana is very accommodating, willing to meet the needs of his guests and generous with the use of his kayaks.

It is close to Acadia and some really great hikes if you can tear yourself away from the lake. The Schoodic Peninsula is also a short drive - Acadia National Park without the crowds! Franklin is a quiet, rural town with many little-known treasures close by. It's an easy drive into Ellsworth for the items that can't be found at the Trading Post in Franklin (which has many necessities).

Our kids are 10 & 12 and have looked forward to coming here for the past five years!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alicea and Family. Thank you so much for your kind remarks. It's always such a pleasure to have all of you as guests and especially your dog!! So sweet, kind and well mannered! Hope to see you again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

camp Soleil

  • 4 of 5

We just returned from our wonderful vacation in Maine. We were fortunate enough to find Camp Soleil un VRBO. We have never stayed in a rental that was as well stocked as this one. Yes, the cabin is rustic but that is what we were looking for and the weekly price was more than reasonable. The screened porch was a wonderful place to sit and watch the wild life, sunrises and sunsets. One early morning, as we were on the porch with our coffee, a bald eagle flew into the tree directly in front of us. We had never seen one up close before and felt very lucky to be there at the right moment. We loved kayaking on the pond and listening to the loons at night. On a rainy evening I couldn't get the DVD player to work (my own ineptitude!) so the owner came over and set it up for us. He was extremely responsive to our needs and checked in to make sure everything was all right. We hope to be back to Camp Soleil again and have recommended it to our friends. Thank you, Dana, for a great experience. Kathleen and Tim. Wellesley MA

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Bar Harbor Airport


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties