Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Smith Mountain Lake Luxury Estate -10,800 Sq Ft Vacation Rental

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 10,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Home, 5 Bedrooms, 6.5 Baths

SMITH POINTE ESTATE: Luxury Smith Mountain lake home rental.

INDULGE yourself at the most luxurious Lake home rental at Smith Mountain, Virginia. The architectural design and craftsmanship, are unparalleled, in this 10,000 sq. ft all brick estate. Heated Italian marble and hardwood floors. You will feel like you own your own private island with 800 ft of shoreline on 2 acres, surrounded by water on 3 sides, enjoying the privacy of an electric gated entrance. Professionally landscaped w/

formal gardens, water falls & pond.

2 master suites on first floor with large walk in showers, closets, and Jaquzzi tubs.

Fully equipped, huge kitchen for those who love to cook. For those who prefer to eat out, numerous fine restaurants are within minutes by boat or automobile.

Bring your own water craft and tie up to your private deep water 50 ft dock, or rent one from one of the local marinas.

Enjoy spectacular water views from all rooms, or lounge on either of your 2000 sq ft decks while watching 40-60 ft yachts cruise by Smith Pointe enroute to and from Smith Mountain Yacht Club.

Fully equipped commercial size fitness center w/modern equipment.

Dry sauna, 8 person hot tub.

Entertain in the Rec room with a beautyful custom wet bar, large flat screen TV with surround sound and marble gas fireplace.

Tend to business in your office w/custom made chestnut cabnitry & desk w/computor/fax/printer & WI-FI. Gaze out at the main channel while getting things done if need be.

Whether you want to 'DO IT ALL' -or 'NOTHING AT ALL...'

You will find Action or serenity at Smith Pointe Estate.

Smith Mountain lake va.

Pamper yourself with the ultimate relaxation. A certified massage therapist on call by appt. to give you to best massage of your life under the stars, overlooking the lake, or in the privacy of your suite.

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2016

About The Owner

Owner Donna Smith resides in the Philadelphia area.

Why The Owner chose Smith Mountain Lake

After vacationing at nearly every lake from Florida to New York,

we kept coming back to Smith Mtn Lake as our favorite.

The water quality and depth, along with being seasonal, but short mild winters

was an attraction. You typically dont find 50+ foot yachts on other east coast lakes.

SML was appealing with the surrounding mountains, as well as having over 500 miles of beautiful shoreline. We liked being away from it all, but having modern convieniences and shopping nearby.

Having many water front restaraunts and marinas was something most other lakes were lacking.

Having the name of SMITH just seamed to be a natural fit !

Guestbook comments from the owner

My husband and I celebrated our 60th wedding anniversary at Smith Pointe Estate. We enjoyed the views immensely and the home is everything described and THEN some.... !!! We didn't even care to leave to go to any of the local restaurants, as the best waterfront dining on the lake I believe was from the deck at Smith Pointe.
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 1


Moneta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 10800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (3)
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
10,800 sq ft. of pure luxury. Point peninsula lot w/800 ft shoreline, electric gated entrance, heated marble & hardwood floors throughout, State of the art appliances, all rooms have superb water view, complete custom office, full workout facilities w/ modern equip & dry sauna, 8 person hot tub, library, 4 fireplaces, outdoor pit, European wood stove, heated towel warmers, large flat screen TVs w/ surround sound, cable TV in all bedrooms, central digital music in all rooms. Premier- Smith Mountain lake rental.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Smith Mountain Lake Luxury Estate -10,800 Sq Ft Vacation Rental
average rating of 4.4 based on 11 reviews
South Charleston, WV

house is very dark

  • 2 of 5

The house is very nice. It was not as clean as one would expect a home of this caliber to be. It was dusty and we could not go barefoot in the house without having filthy feet. We could not get any outdoor lights on at all. We arrive late and the driveway and entry door had no lighting. We tried every switch we could find. The back of the house was also very dark, we could not find any switches that controlled any of the lights on any of the decks. We would go out to dinner via our boat and would return to a very dark house. Also, the pond in the front and the fountain out back was not working. The house if very beautiful and the view from the decks is amazing. We had a great time, but for the money I expected it to be cleaner and the lights to work.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay... We are sorry however you had a dark home. :( We have a timer relay that controls all of the outdoor lighting ( which is a lot ..) Unfortunately if there is a power interruption the relay disengages and must be reset to restore all outside lighting and garden pumps. There is an explanation of this in our rentals manual, however a simple phone call to either us, or our property management company would have solved your dilemma in 60 we are both available 24/7 and could have explained how to reset the relay switch. Thanks again for your business and we hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Denny & Donna Smith
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Parkland, Florida

Beautiful Home - Poor Housekeeping and Landscaping!

  • 2 of 5

The home is absolutely stunning! Upon arrival, the house seemed immaculate. We had so much fun touring the house and the property. Where I wasn't impressed was the millions of cob webs just outside every door, including the front. Even the bushes have a blanket of cob webs covering them, which makes for a great haunted house - but maybe not year round. There was even a crew working on the landscaping for many hours while we were there, but I guess cob webs don't count. We couldn't figure out what they even did for that many hours. With only 24 hrs on my side before the rest of my family showed up for a long over due reunion, I personally took it upon myself to clean up the cob webs (except the ones in bushes) around the entire property, which included the dock.

Everything was great from there, until departure day ...

At 10:00 am, on the dot, an incredibly rude cleaning lady and her team set out to get started cleaning the house. I have never felt so disrespected in my life. The way this "cleaning lady" spoke to my family and I was incredibly uncalled for and made for an unpleasant departure. We actually lost some of our deposit on the home because we weren't physically already out of there at the exact time of departure.

If they actually looked around, they would of noticed how much "cleaning" already went into this property, making them out to look like they did their job! Ugh ... the nerve some people have.

Negative, unhappy housekeeper(s) do not deserve business what-so-ever. I hope the property managers here do a better job of selecting a cleaning crew and maintenance covering the grounds! NOT Good - I would only recommend if the property management team screened their maintenance crews! Too much deep cleaning on my own vaca!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments Jamie. I apologize for the inconvienience of the spider webs. For about a week, every May they pop up everywhere daily and the home was cleaned a week before your arrival. That is a first for any guest to mention this and you were just there the wrong week unfortunately. As to the house cleaners we always have the same cleaning crew and believe they were away that weekend, and had to use a substitute. The contract specifically states that guests must be out by 10 am Sharp with NO exceptions. If there is no other renters coming in that day, they are flexible with late check out, however there was a guest checking in at 3 that day and it takes ALL of 5 hours to clean a 10,000 sq ft home. The house cleaner should not of been disrespectful however, and as I said was a temp for that week only. My apologize again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Rockville, MD

gorgeous place

  • 5 of 5

The most beautiful house we have been stayed during our vocations: truly amazing! The location was peaceful, intimate, memorable, and all amenities were superb. We would highly recommend Smith Point to everyone. We definitely will be back.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charlottesville, Va

Very Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time during our stay at Smith Pointe. The setting is absolutely beautiful and private. It is one of the few homes at Smith Mountain Lake that has a big, flat yard that was great for family games. The home had everything we needed for our family and friends and there was plenty of room for everyone. Adults had space to relax, while the kids had plenty of space to play. It was a good balance. We always love coming to Smith Mountain Lake and this house helped make our vacation even more special. I look forward to spending another vacation at Smith Pointe.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lumberton, NJ United States

B & P

  • 5 of 5

We loved our vacation at Smith Pointe. The home was amazing. Besides being beautiful, the location was peaceful, very intimate, and so memorable. We just love Smith Mountain Lake vacations, we wish you were a little closer, so we could go all the time. A wonderful destination home for the family. We were there a few years ago, and would go back if closer.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Best family vacation in years

  • 5 of 5

I would like to offer my very sincerest thank you to both Denny & Donna for providing such a pristine palace for us to have our 2014 family vacation. For many years we have skipped the family vacation in lieu of more adult fun time at motorcycle rally's such as Myrtle Beach and Sturgis. However, after hearing of a local gem, Smith Mountain Lake, I began to realize we had neglected a family vacation for far too long. So began my research for accommodations. I am as meticulous as they come when doing my research, and on paper and via web advertising, nothing came close to what Smith Point Estate had to offer. And when we actually arrived, it was like you see in those commercials with the kids all running around in frenzied amazement and the wife shining eyes of approval. Seriously, the web site doesn't do it justice. It is worth every penny spent. And the week was as great a family vacation can be. The house just gives off the best vibe enhancing everyone's mood throughout the entire week. You know how you wish you could go on vacation after coming back from vacation, not with this house. Each hour feels like 4 and when the week was up, you know you were on vacation and it was the house that made it feel as such. If I can offer any advise, throw money aside and treat yourself to a week at Smith Point Estate, you will never regret it.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
SML airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mariners Landing
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Liberty all season snow skiing


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning, Linens, Towels $295
Refundable damage deposit $50
Tax Rate 12.3%

No Pets allowed.

Limit to 5 vehicles and one Boat trailer on property...

HOLIDAYS 4 night minimum 795 night

$500 Deposit

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties