Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Saltscapes Retreat - only minutes walk to the best beach in PEI.

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage


About the property

PEI Beach Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Full Bathroom, sleeps 6-8

Looking for a seaside getaway in a ultra modern cottage? Spend a week exploring one of the most picturesque areas on Prince Edward Island. Just a stroll away from Thunder Cove Beach, famous for its white stretching sands and massive dunes that leave you breathless. Indulge in a feed of world famous Malpeque oysters. Enjoy an outdoor lobster/corn boil (outdoor boiler provided) and a glass of wine by the fire pit. Minutes from golf courses, deep sea fishing, kayaking and other attractions such as Anne of Green Gables, The Haunted Mansion, Dairy Bar, Water parks, shopping and children's adventures. Treat yourself to one of Canada's Top 10 rated restaurants only 5 minutes away. Partake in a Malpeque Ceilidh (pronounced kay-lee) music festival at the Malpeque Women's Institute Hall - fiddling, stories, music and fresh Island ice cream and strawberries - every Wednesday evening just minutes from the cottage.

More Details

Property Manager
ed thompson
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 24, 2017


Darnley Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , balconey view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair accessible
  • caves
  • coin laundry
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
checkin after 2pm


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Saltscapes Retreat - only minutes walk to the best beach in PEI.
average rating of 4.730769 based on 26 reviews
San Antonio, TX USA

Fantastic Beach Retreat!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 (kids aged 15,13 & 9) plus Grandma stayed in the brand new cottage of this connected two-home complex in late July. Despite us being one of the first to rent this home, it was better equipped than most of the other vacation homes we've stayed in over the years. This cottage was very thoughtfully designed to get the most functionality out of a small space and take advantage of the view. Being only a 5 minute walk to the beach was ideal - we could come & go as we pleased. The room between the two cottages functioned as both a privacy buffer and a connecting point. We'd love to return with another family and rent the whole thing. We had a wonderful, relaxing time enjoying the beauty of the area and being unplugged from technology. Ed was great to work with and very responsive. Thanks for sharing your home with us - we hope to be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Raike Family. It was such a pleasure having you as guests this Summer. As one of the very first people in the NEW cottage, we were nervous that we had missed some "necessary" basics in the kitchen....and we are happy to hear that you were pleased with everything. We appreciated your tips for the few tips you left us of things that would have made your life easier. We went out and picked them up right away for the next guests. They were helpful, so thank you. Mother Nature was on your side and we were thrilled that you had a beautiful week at the beach. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, The Thompsons.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Halifax Nova Scotia

Beautiful cottage well equipped

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was perfect for our large family gathering. The two units allowed everyone lots of space and a area a for a little quiet time. We loved the common room with the doors opening on both ends - we used this common area for our large family meals and for playing lots of games. It was perfect when the weather didn't allow us to eat outside. The many decks allowed you to find a great spot should you want to be in the sun or shade. We loved the outside shower after a great day on one of the islands best beaches.

The units were very clean, well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. The owner and manager were very easy to deal with and quick to answer any questions we had.

We hope to return again to this amazing little piece of heaven and would definitely recommend this vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Merveilleux séjour à l'Ile du Prince Edouard

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week in the island and the chalet, the beach was perfect for our family of 5 adults.

Very well located for a beautiful and quiet beach, we all enjoyed it very much.

If we returned to the Island, Shure we will contact Ed, for that lovely retreat.

Joanne Ouellette, Frelighburg, QC

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved our stay at Saltscape!!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect cottage for our families stay in pei and a 2 minute walk to the BEST beach on the island! Ed was very helpful with any questions we had, cottage had everything we needed! It was a perfect week🙂

Holly P.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

PEI perfection!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this lovely home for 5 days, it's was absolutely perfect! It is renovated which was very nice and very very clean, Very spacious accommodated 5 adults and 4 kids ( all different ages) quite comfortably. The great room was amazing for our large family dinners! The beach was so close and the outdoor shower made it so convienant to clean of the sand. The beach is beautiful and quiet. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes and small appliances which made it that much easier especially when your traveling by car we didn't need to worry about brining all those extras, linens and towels were available for use. We will definately return, and bring another family with us, to take advantage of the adjoining cottage. kids had an awesome time from playing washers, board games (rain days) beach, and late night fires. We hope to return real soon!

The owner Ed was great to work with as well. Accommodating, and very responsive to all my questions in a prompt manner.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Misleading communication, then misery

  • 1 of 5

Our experience here was confusing and difficult, and we eventually left the cabin on our date of check-in to find other lodging. Our rental fee was *not* refunded.

When we booked the property, it was unclear it's actually 2 cabins: an older cabin and a new connected cabin. (This page at the time presented it as 1 property.) We booked the older cabin, but were asked after we signed the rental agreement whether we'd mind switching.

This was during a week of not knowing whether our rental agreement had been accepted or whether we should look elsewhere. When we finally heard back from the owners, we agreed over the phone, then crossed our fingers and left for Canada.

While we were traveling the owners told us we hadn't wired enough money -- they'd sent us the wrong amount in an email. It was a simple mistake, but we were already in Canada and couldn't wire more. We agreed to meet their agent at the property at a certain time, with cash.

When we arrived, that agent wasn't there. We waited hours, and she never showed up. In the meantime we realized the cabin wasn't ready for us. The doorknob hadn't been installed in the front door.

We were all hungry and tired (and there was no toilet paper), but we didn't feel we could leave the cabin -- the door wouldn't lock, and we didn't want to miss the property manager.

All this was frustrating and confusing, but not horrible.

It got horrible when we finally reached the owner. Mr. Thompson was very, very angry. He kept saying that no one had stayed in the cottage before -- so the door couldn't be broken. (What did he expect us to say? That we broke it? It hadn't even been installed.)

He was angry that the property manager hadn't arrived yet. (Which was also out of our control).

Then he was angry because he found out we'd taken our son to the emergency room that day with an unusual bug bite reaction. He said we should never have brought a kid with allergies to mosquito country.

I didn't know what to say. He kept scolding me. Was I supposed to explain my sons' allergies to this angry stranger? Was I supposed to tell him we

*live* in mosquito country? That our son never had a reaction like this before? It was so surreal. And upsetting.

That's when we decided to leave. Our entire trip thus far had been stressful because of this cabin. We never knew where we stood, and dealing with the owner was miserable. He refused to refund any of our money, but we're still very glad we left.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you experienced insurmountable personal issues that caused you so much anxiety prior to your arrival. However, we were pleased to hear that you were able to find more suitable accommodations elsewhere on our beautiful island after spending approximately 1 -2 hours at our property. We will let 100% of our past & recent reviews speak for themselves. All the best. Ed and Pam
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
50 Kilometres
Charlottetown Airport
Car: recommended

Other Activities: cave exploration, sand castle contests

Golf: 20 minute drive to some of the best Golf Courses in the province, PEI is rated Canada's #1 golf destination;

Green Gables, Eagles Glenn, Glasgow Hills, Andersons Creek, and Rustico Resort


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $156.76
Tax Rate 14.0%

You might like these similar properties