Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Chef Dave's Lodge, 9 bedroom/5 bath

Sleeps22
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms5
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 9 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 22)

9 bedroom, 5 full bath, private contemporary two level Mountain home, located on 3/4th of an acre in the Heavenly Valley area of South Lake Tahoe, NV. With almost 3000 sq feet, this home is perfect for large groups, sleeping up to 22. Bedding includes 2 king beds, 6 queen beds, 2 double beds, 3 twin beds. Six bedrooms are private, with two bedrooms have a king and the other four a queen, the other three bedrooms have multiple beds.

After a day of fun in the snow or on the beach, enjoy a secluded evening with friends and family while soaking in the large outdoor hot tub, grilling on the gas BBQ, playing pool, watching the flames in the gas fireplace, or your favorite TV show on one of the7 TV's, or staying connected with free wireless DSL.

Known as Chef Dave's Lodge because of the fantastic kitchen, that includes a 6 burner gas cook top, double ovens, microwave, dishwasher and a large refrigerator.

This home also has full size washer and dryer in the laundry room, double car garage, with parking for an additional 4 to 5 cars, or RV in the driveway. Beautiful maple hardwood floors through out, showers in all five bathrooms, with 2 of the bathrooms also having a tub.

Just a short downhill walk to Heavenly Valley Ski Resort's Boulder ski lift, or hop on the shuttle to Heavenly.

4 mile drive to the downtown casinos, shopping, beaches and restaurants. Pets are welcome with owner's approval. Non-Smoking please.

Permit # 05-161

PER NIGHT RATES AND MINIMUMS ARE HIGHER

DURING THE FOLLOWING HOLIDAY PERIODS

MLK JR, PRESIDENTS, JULY 4TH, LABOR DAY, THANKSGIVING, CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEARS

Keywords: Private Mountain Home, Chalet, Cabin, Lodge, hot tub, pool table, wifi, walk to skiing, shuttle route to Heavenly, minutes from casinos and shopping

More Details

Property Manager
Tahoe Management Services Co, LLC
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2018

About Tahoe Management Services Co, LLC

I am a chef instructor at a culinary school in the San Francisco Bay Area, my passion is cooking and skiing! We also like to entertain and cook for large groups sometimes as many as 27

We have two large dogs and take them with us, they love Tahoe!

Tahoe Management Services Co, LLC purchased this house in 1995

Why Tahoe Management Services Co, LLC chose Tahoe Village

We are just a short 3 hour drive from our home in the Bay Area to our home in Tahoe. We appreciate the privacy of being on almost 3/4th of an acre. We can invite a lot of friends, and have celebrated family reunions, birthdays, retirement parties, and weddings.

What makes this house unique

The quiet, the conveniece of Heavenly's shuttle stopping to pick us up at the driveway and dropping us off after skiing, close enough to shopping and the casino area, yet far enough to feel that you are truly in the mountains.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Very nice place - family had an awesome time! Thank you!
May 2011
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Tahoe Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 22
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 5
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • King size beds (2) each king is in a private bedroom, Queen size Beds (6) 4 queens are in private bedrooms, 1 queen shares a bedroom with a double bed and 1 queen shares a bedroom with two twin beds, Double Beds (2) 1 double shares a bedroom with a twin bed and 1 double shares a bedroom with a queen bed, Twin or Single Beds (3) 2 twins share a bedroom with a queen bed and 1 twin shares a bedroom with a double bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) 2 queen sofa sleepers in living room
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Chef Dave's Lodge, 9 bedroom/5 bath
average rating of 4.357143 based on 17 reviews
5

Birthday Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

I'm very happy it can accommodate 5 families and still have a lot of room. Minor cosmetics needs to be worked on but overall we had a great weekend. Also pet friendly we were able to bring our maltipoo! I will definitely return to this property in the near future. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed our home.....We will be doing touch up painting the first weekend in June.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
California
3

Superbowl weekend at Chef Dave's Lodge

  • 3 of 5

Chef Dave's lodge has several nice ammenties. The kitchen appliances, bathrooms are very nice. The house basically is set up as a skiers dormitory. Lots of bedrooms. We slept in the master bedroom which was okay. Our family/guests felt the beds in their rooms were uncomfortable and probably should be replaced. The televisions definitely should be replaced.

Only 3 of them actually had cable boxes and they were very small. None of them are smart tv's which meant nobody could connect to wifi to watch anything.

The family room was poorly furnished and not much room. The furniture wasn't very comfortable, the tv is small and the pool table is in an akward position. We tried many times to light the gas fireplace unsuccessfully. The gas grill isn't the greatest and is outside the master bedroom on the deck. That being said, this home has the potential of being a beautiful vacation spot. We had a great time with our family and friends, which is what counts. So, if Dave decides to take my advice :) We'll definitely rent this house again!

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Christy for the review and yes we are going to take your advice!! We are replaced the gas grill with 2 new ones, they were delivered February 8th, the reason the grill is set up on the deck off of the master bedroom is because that is the largest deck, but also access to that deck is from the dining room slider off the kitchen. We added two new 50" smart tv's from Costco, also on February 8th. The gas fireplace was unplugged and the gas turned to off, we are guessing that the last guests prior to you possibly did this because of small children, so the fireplace does work properly unfortunately, it was just turned off. We have not had any issues with the beds, but since you have let us know that some of them were uncomfortable, we will check and replace with new mattresses if needed, thank you for that heads up! Checked out the sofa sleeper and replaced some springs. Again thanks for your review, we depend on our guests to let us know what needs to be done and we hope you do come back again! Chef Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Overall a great vacation

  • 4 of 5

Overall, our stay was a lot of fun. There were plenty of beds to accommodate everyone and lots of parking. The kitchen is very well stocked and has just about anything you could possibly need. Lots of towels and plenty of toiletries to go around (you can always pick up more at their office). However, there were a couple hiccups. The kitchen faucet barely ran any water. The pullout couch in the living room was broken. The gas part of the grill leaked gas. The stairs are also very steep and we had at least 5 people slip and fall on them, one of whom needed chiropractic care. Also the living room space is pretty small considering how many people the house is meant for. But all in all we had a great stay and made it work. Tip for future renters, bring games for kids. Besides a pool table there is nothing to entertain the kids with.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Even though you had a few hiccups.....So glad you enjoyed your stay...and do hope you come back again! The kitchen faucet was replaced in January, the mesh screen in the faucet is very fine, we are replacing with larger mesh, this will increase the water flow. We do not advertise the 2 couches in the living room as beds for sleeping, however, if they are broken and not repairable, we will replace with new. With regards to the gas grill, we replace propane tanks quite often and could have gotten a tank that is not shutting off completely, will check it out. The stairs are carpeted and we do have a hand rail for safety. Thank you for the heads up on these issues, we really appreciate your feed back. Evie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Stockton, California
4

House needs some work

  • 4 of 5

We have a family get together every year with 12 adults and 6 children. Finding a place that has enough rooms for everyone isn't easy so I was really excited when I saw this rental on VRBO because it had more than enough rooms. On the surface the house looks good but there are several issues that need to be taken care of. 1. dishwasher top rack comes right off the rail if you aren't careful. 2. some of the lighting is out in the family room 3. although there are enough rooms the living space is just too small for a family of 18, the pool table takes up way too much space. 4. the drain for the shower next to the kitchen does not drain properly. 5. the light for the oven does not work. Many of these items are minor and can be taken care of right away by the property manager.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the heads up, I just spoke to the property management company and they have scheduled all maintenance items to be done tomorrow 12/14/17.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location and space for families

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a long weekend with our extended family, 14 adults and 3 kids under 5. The rooms and space were as described, the kitchen was well equipped for all the meals we cooked. We also liked the location, we were close to beaches and casinos. It was a special treat to walk around the neighborhood and see a family of deer!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

overall a good deal

  • 3 of 5

we had a couple maintenance issues when we arrived. None of the TV's worked. after spending some time we were able to get them going... the wall outlets did not work downstairs it took a bit to find the RFI reset, and tis the season we had ants on the bottom floor little sugar ants. Other then that we all enjoyed our stay

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately we have had some power outages and they do cause problems with TV's and GRI's/RFI's, glad you were able to find the box and reset. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Reno Cannon Internation Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Fox and Hound
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Edgewood
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The Fox and Hound
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Heavenly Boulder Lift walking distance
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Nevada Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $500
Pet Fee $25
Damage Insurance $59

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Memorial and Labor Day holiday 10% higher than posted rate.
if reservation canceled 60 days or less prior to arrival all money paid is non refundable unless we can rebook days canceled

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties