Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pet-Friendly, Oceanside, Pool, Hot Tub, Walk2beach&Sound

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 14-16)

Hi! So glad you stopped by! 2 quick items

1. Please email me so that I can send you a website with a TON of photos and more details!

2. Please check our calendar first, it is always up to date.

The hot tub is up and running through the winter, but the pool opens on April 15, 2017 and closes September 30, 2017. Please also know that the pool does have a salt system instead of a traditional chlorine system. Salt systems are equally effective and much kinder on eyes, skin and clothes. The pool is not heated.

Starting May 1, we are Sunday to Sunday only until September 30th.

Please email for rates and information. We are a NOT a rental agency, we are the actual house owners. You WILL receive a rapid response! Also, please go to our website link below, and click on Photos & Amenities. You'll see more shots of our bedrooms and interior, as well as hear about things like free towel and linen service - which is included in EVERY rental!

Duck Tape is a fantastic, family-friendly, pet-friendly beach house that truly has it all: one of the largest private pools you'll find anywhere in Duck (and a huge pool deck for easy entertaining), a private hot tub (on it's own deck level, with open, starlight views), a wraparound deck, gorgeous, clean interiors, FREE internet, FREE long distance, and a media center that boasts a 42' flat panel TV with DVD, VCR and surround sound.

The inside of the home has a 'cottage' feel to it, comes with a gourmet-equipped kitchen, and is beautifully decorated and clean. With 5 bedrooms, spacious decking areas full of lounging nooks, a host of features and amenities, this home is ideal for an extended family with children of all. We replace pillows, sheets and towels on an annual basis, and professionally shampoo the carpets several times per year.

The street that this home is on is a quiet road, less than 1 mile long between the Sound and the beach, and right in the middle of the town of Duck. It's an easy, 5 minute walk to the heartbeat of Duck and the boardwalk shops - where you will find some of the best shopping and dining in Duck!

*** EMAIL ME FOR A WEBSITE FULL OF PHOTOS~ I have a website with a full listing of bedrooms, more photos, activities, virtual tours, restaurants and activities so you can plan your vacation accordingly. We spend a lot of the off-season in Duck, so we can give you an 'insider's view'!

The short walk to the beach (~200 yards) makes it easy to hop back and forth between beach and house in case you've forgotten something, or in case you prefer the pool over the ocean.

Duck Tape is designed to make a week at the beach a well-deserved, peaceful, and easy vacation spot. Come and relax in this terrific home, perfectly located between the beach, the shops, restaurants, and galleries of Duck. This is definitely the Outer Banks family vacation getaway that you are looking for.

Ok, so what are the top 5 things to know about us?:

- We are pet-friendly

- We are a Sunday-Sunday rental

- Without traffic, it is 1 hr 15 minutes from Norfolk airport, and 4.5 hours from DC Metro area

- Every rental INCLUDES cleaning, towel and linen service

- We prefer to rent to families

********************OFFSEASON GETAWAY SPECIALS!!*****************

From October 18th, 2016 until April 3, 2017 we are offering DEEP DISCOUNT GETAWAY SPECIALS, email us for more details and a custom quote. Please note - these specials are not valid for the weeks of Thanksgiving or Christmas/New Year's Eve. For both Thanksgiving and Christmas/New Year stays - we will only rent by the week (or longer). You don't have to stay the entire week - but the fee remains the same.

Also, we require a 3 NIGHT MINIMUM in the off-season (to cover our basic costs), but can tailor the dates completely to your needs (EG; 5 NIGHTS, 8 NIGHTS, 11 NIGHTS, ETC). We can negotiate better per-night pricing for longer stays.

Thanks for looking. And please, don't hesitate to email us with any questions!

Keywords: House pool hot tub OBX Duck ocean pet-friendly sanderling corolla outer banks dog outer banks beach

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 9, 2017

About The Owner

My family has been vacationing in the Outer Banks for over 15 years. It's our second home, our place to unwind and reconnect - with ourselves and with each other. We love this house, and this location. Just a short 1 minute walk to the beach AND a quick 5 minute walk to town.

Why The Owner chose Duck

I love waking up at 5:30, grabbing a cup of coffee, and meandering down (a 1 minute walk) to the beach and seeing the sun rise. I also love being able to walk (5 minutes) into town and eating or shopping. Really, this house is in the PERFECT location.

What makes this house unique

Imagine this when you arrive:

- Beds made for you when you arrive (no fussing with linens after a long drive!)

- A refreshing dip in our pool that has NO chlorine (we use a salt chlorinator, no stinging eyes!)

- A bottle of wine under the stars in our hot tub that can seat 6-8, with FOOT JETS!

It's all about relax, relax, relax...

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Norfolk

Town of Duck has a 10 acre property that was just built in 2007. It contains an amphitheatre, covered picnic area, playground, and 1 mile boardwalk along the sound. This house is within easy walking distance to this great feature. In addition, this property is perfectly situated between the beach, and the town - making it easy to walk everywhere! There are also plenty of pool toys, beach chairs, rafts and boogie boards at your disposal!

Amenities

Duck House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 3rd Floor Bathroom - toilet , shower
    2nd Floor Bath-Tub - toilet , tub
    2nd Floor Bath - Shower - toilet , shower
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • 2nd Floor Twin Over Full Bunk w/ Trundle - 1 bunk bed , Sleeps 4: Twin over Full bunk, w/ a Twin trundle
    Twin Bunk Room - 2 bunk bed , Sleeps 4: 2 sets of Twin/Twin bunks
    2nd Floor Queen #2 - 1 queen , Sleeps 2. Pack n Play for a baby is in this closet
    2nd Floor Queen #1 - 1 queen , Sleeps 2
    3rd Floor Master BR King - 1 king , Sleeps 2
  • King Bed (1) Queen size Beds (2), Baby Pack-n-Play (1), Bunk Beds (3 sets): There is one bedroom with 2 sets of twin/twin bunk beds (sleeps 4), and one bedroom that has a twin over full size bunk bed and trundle (sleeps 4).
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor horse shoe pit, covered sand play area, dry bar with mini-fridge, 2 huge hammocks, HUGE outdoor pool, outdoor picnic table and furniture, beach furniture and umbrellas, cart and cooler with wheels for easy beach hauling (all of 200 yards or so!), dartboard, walking distance to the town's 10-acre site which contains a great playground, 1 mile boardwalk on the Sound, amphitheatre, covered picnic area -- a great family place!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Pet-Friendly, Oceanside, Pool, Hot Tub, Walk2beach&Sound
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

A group of us stayed here for one of our 30th birthdays and we had so much fun! The location is perfect; only a 3 minute walk to the beach access ramp and about a 10-13 minute walk from a lot of the great spots in Duck (Duck Deli, Sunset Grille, Blue Point, Coastal Cravings, etc.).

The house was great and had everything we needed; the outdoor shower is a must. The hot tub is fairly large and the pool is a good size too. The house even has a Red Rider Wagon to haul things back and forth between the beach! It also has a keypad access lock which made things so much simpler. It is a typical vacation style home- some wear and tear and a little discoloration in a spot or two but comfortable and clean with lots of beachy decor. And don't let the photo fool you; the paint of the house is VERY blue.

We bought things like garbage bags/dishwasher tabs thinking the house wouldn't have any but they were already there. I'd suggest stopping at the house first to look at the inventory and then head to Wee Winks (2 minute drive) or Harris Teeter (10 minute drive) for what you need. Note to the wise- if you want to do Tiki torches on the beach at night, you need to go to Home Deport or Lowes as they did not have them in the places we looked in Duck.

I would definitely stay at this house again. A lot of reviews I read said it's perfect for families but we were a group of adults in our late 20s and it worked for us too (in addition to the regular fridge, there are two smaller fridges for drinks. Genius). I also saw a review with criticism about the checking-in process/contacting the owner. This was not the case for me. The most important thing to check-in was the keypad code and everything else is pretty self-explanatory (don't break anything, keep the receipt if you refill the gas grill, throw out all used/perishable items when you leave, etc.) I got the key code a few days before and did not have a problem contacting the owner even though she is in a different time zone. She even let us use the pool the first week of October (it was 80 degrees!) and contacted me within a few hours of check-out to let me know she was mailing my whole security deposit that day.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are so happy that you had a wonderful time. We work really hard to be both flexible and responsive to our guests' needs! We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love

  • 5 of 5

We have a great stay with our dog. That made the trip so special. Also, my son loved the salt water pool! It was a great week. Thanks so much!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you had a good time. We loved having you! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family week

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic vacation at Duck Tape. The house is very well equipped with everything you need from pool, beach and kitchen. We had an some broken outdoor furniture the first night. We contacted the owners and had new furniture the next day. Owners were great. We enjoyed walking into Duck and the boardwalk. The pool was a huge hit.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful week and that you felt you had everything you needed. We work hard to keep the house well-stocked with quality items. Apologies again for the picnic table - thank you for letting us know as quickly as you did. It definitely helped us to make sure we could get a new one out to you the next day. Thanks again for choosing Duck Tape, we are looking forward to your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Solid beach house with a few opportunities....

  • 4 of 5

First my positives: the house was the perfect size and location for me and my family of 7 (which includes my Frenchie). Our four boys had a blast being within walking distance to the boardwalk and ended up there each day! The location to the beach, sound, and shops was perfect! The weather was awesome, pool and hot tub were great and everything that we could have needed was there. This definitely is a family house.

Now for the only reasons I couldn't give it a 5 star: the house was in need of a good cleaning. There were crumbs under the rugs, some of the dishes were dirty (so I ended up washing them all before using them), the windows were grimy which took away from being able to truly enjoy the views that they provided. The second and last slightly negative comment is that the owner was not very responsive. I've rented from VRBO many times before and have always had owners who responded immediately so maybe I've been spoiled, but I found myself having to send multiple messages to follow up on things (including how to check in). That said, a couple days prior to my stay, she did give me her cell number. I didn't end up having to use it but it made me feel as though I could get a rapid response during my stay should it have been needed.

Overall I would still highly recommend this house to families with children and pets as it is a great house in a great location and the things I discounted it for are easily fixed!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I’m so glad that you had a wonderful week at Duck Tape and enjoyed all of our amenities. And yes, every guest has access to my cell phone (in the check-in instructions) so that they can get a hold of me immediately. I like to be able to offer that level of responsiveness. That said, I’m sorry to hear that your experience with me was not as you would have hoped. Unfortunately, I do travel a bit for my “day job”, and so occasionally my response times are a little slower than I would like. But I try to be as responsive as I can be, and my guests usually do not have a problem getting the information that they need. I reviewed our conversation thread and noticed that with the exception of 1 email, I believe I had replied to each of your emails within 24-48 hours. But - there is always room for improvement and I will see what I can do in order to automate more information so that renters are able to access whatever they need whenever they want it. I am surprised to hear the issue about cleaning, and have taken it up with my maintenance team already. The windows are scrubbed each spring and fall, and the house is thoroughly cleaned at the end of each stay. My carpets are cleaned at least 4x per year. We usually get really high marks on cleanliness, and I take all feedback about that very seriously. That said, occasionally we’ll have a previous renter that does not clean the dishes well (and puts them away somewhat dirty). I wish we could say that we’d be able to inspect every plate and glass in the cupboard between renters, but with a house that sleeps 14, that isn’t always possible! But again, I’ve let my cleaners know to be on the lookout for that! Thanks again for your feedback and rating, we are always striving to keep Duck Tape fresh, inviting and new!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
North East, MD
5

Race stay in the Spring!

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent time staying at DuckTape! There were 7 adults and we felt like we had great space. We were down for the half marathon in April so it was important for us to have the pool and hot tub. :) They were both open and operating as stated in the description. We felt it was a great deal for our money and it was very easy to communicate with the owner! We had no issues and would certainly stay here again! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Beth, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. When guests ask us to open the pool a little earlier or keep it running a little later, we are always more than happy to make it happen if at all possible. Looking forward to hosting you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Location, location, location

  • 5 of 5

Excellent house that exceeded our expectations. Very short walk to the beach, and a nice easy stroll to the boardwalk shops and restaurants located in Duck. The bedrooms were very comfortable, and we had more than enough space for our family of 5. The pool was our children's favorite feature by far. As she mentioned, this is a nice size pool unlike the tiny pools we are accustomed to at the beach. All in all, I would highly recommend spending your vacation at this house. We hope to return for many years to come.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christine, I"m so very glad that you enjoyed your stay! The pool is definitely one of my favorite parts of the house. I hope to host you again in the near future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $100
Per Pet Fee ($100 per pet) $100

Guests pay 50% upfront and then 50% (2) weeks prior to arrival along with a separate check for $300 for security deposit. We do not deposit the security deposit unless there is damage - we mail it back to the guests upon checkout. We prefer our guests to pay by check.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.